If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Fox 5 Las Vegas)   Couple keeps getting mysterious packages from Amazon in order to boost seller's ratings. *gasp* You mean there is such a thing as a fake review on Amazon??? I blame sugar-free gummi bears   ( fox5vegas.com) divider line
    More: Amusing, Associated Press, free mystery packages, Amazon buyer reviews, Kelly Gallivan, All rights reserved, Copyright, anonymous sender, Massachusetts couple  
•       •       •

5330 clicks; posted to Main » on 08 Feb 2018 at 11:35 AM (23 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



54 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2018-02-08 10:27:07 AM  
static1.businessinsider.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 10:55:37 AM  
I have a friend who keeps getting sent products for her to review. She didn't ask for it or anything, apparently just submitted enough reviews of things she owns that she started getting all kinds of crap for free.
 
2018-02-08 10:58:33 AM  
Amazon reviews have a rating system behind it. People who submit a lot of reviews (and have gotten upvoted) often have their email address sent to prospective sellers, who then contact you to try and get you to review your product. Even though Amazon changed the rules on how reviews worked on the site to try and combat the influx of non-"verified purchase" reviews, these sellers get around that. People like free stuff.
 
2018-02-08 11:01:01 AM  
I've noticed quite a few tech products with blatantly fake/inflated reviews, mostly on knockoff Chinese products. They basically create an account, buy their own product, and then write a review so they can have a 'verified purchase' next to the review. You'll notice the same spelling/grammatical errors (usually because they're running it through a translation software) between all of them.

My rule is if it has over 4 stars and under 100 reviews, they're probably mostly fake.
 
2018-02-08 11:03:51 AM  

Pangit: [static1.businessinsider.com image 836x732]


For the snarkiest and most sarcastic reviews, might I recommend...

The Banana Slicer
 
2018-02-08 11:07:00 AM  

harleyquinnical: Pangit: [static1.businessinsider.com image 836x732]

For the snarkiest and most sarcastic reviews, might I recommend...

The Banana Slicer


I was always a fan of the 105" $100,000 Curved Samsung TV

screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 11:21:10 AM  
The sugar-free gummi bears that contained Lycasin worked as promised.  If the promise was gas, bloating, and diarrhea.
 
2018-02-08 11:34:44 AM  
that's what they get for having an amazon wishlist in their profile
 
2018-02-08 11:36:49 AM  
What a terrible problem.
 
2018-02-08 11:39:18 AM  

scottydoesntknow: I've noticed quite a few tech products with blatantly fake/inflated reviews, mostly on knockoff Chinese products. They basically create an account, buy their own product, and then write a review so they can have a 'verified purchase' next to the review. You'll notice the same spelling/grammatical errors (usually because they're running it through a translation software) between all of them.

My rule is if it has over 4 stars and under 100 reviews, they're probably mostly fake.


My rule is ignore all 1-star and 5-star reviews. Those ratings are a sign that the reviewer probably doesn't have a nuanced view of the product.
 
2018-02-08 11:40:18 AM  
<---- Free Stuff
 
2018-02-08 11:40:55 AM  

scottydoesntknow: harleyquinnical: Pangit: [static1.businessinsider.com image 836x732]

For the snarkiest and most sarcastic reviews, might I recommend...

The Banana Slicer

I was always a fan of the 105" $100,000 Curved Samsung TV

[screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.com image 826x156]


I've always been quite fond of this one:
i.imgur.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 11:41:03 AM  

Dr.Fey: The sugar-free gummi bears that contained Lycasin worked as promised.  If the promise was gas, bloating, and diarrhea.


Anyone who has eaten Sugar free candies knows you take it easy the first time until you know what your internal gut bacteria does with "sugar alcohols"   for some most people, especially diabetics they are a good way to have a sweet treat that doesn't raise your blood sugar or have the awful cloying artificial sweetener taste to it.  But ONE serving, maybe TWO if you are feeling lucky is all you want to have or that big warning that "excess consumption may have a laxative effect"  WILL come true
 
2018-02-08 11:41:51 AM  
i.ytimg.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 11:42:06 AM  
They should open an Amazon store and sell the stuff.
 
2018-02-08 11:43:38 AM  
On a tangent, this came up on Amazon when I was looking for a fridge part. WTF?
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 11:43:51 AM  
Send me all the free stuff you want amazon! I'll just sell it on ebay.

/no dildos
//I don't want to think about the ebay market for dildos
 
2018-02-08 11:44:40 AM  
 
2018-02-08 11:47:08 AM  
As Sam Kinison used to say about women getting breast reduction surgery...

WOULD MEN DO THIS?

It's free stuff. If you don't like free stuff give it to someone who does.

That's Jiro Dreams Of McRibs, PO Box 4, Just Outside of Hell, Arizona.

Please no barrels of lube. It just draws patriots.
 
2018-02-08 11:47:50 AM  

Dr.Fey: The sugar-free gummi bears that contained Lycasin worked as promised.  If the promise was gas, bloating, and diarrhea.


They are a wonderful weight loss product and I stand by that claim.
 
2018-02-08 11:49:06 AM  

Walker: It's called "brushing" and can be traced back to China, or "Gyna" if you're the President.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/wadeshepa​rd/2017/11/27/americans-are-receiving-​unordered-parcels-from-chinese-e-crimi​nals-and-cant-do-anything-about-it/#6f​3d7b0273da

img.fark.netView Full Size

 
2018-02-08 11:52:30 AM  

harleyquinnical: Pangit: [static1.businessinsider.com image 836x732]

For the snarkiest and most sarcastic reviews, might I recommend...

The Banana Slicer


Also recommended: Wattgate 381 audio-grade duplex socket
 
2018-02-08 11:53:15 AM  

scottydoesntknow: I've noticed quite a few tech products with blatantly fake/inflated reviews, mostly on knockoff Chinese products. They basically create an account, buy their own product, and then write a review so they can have a 'verified purchase' next to the review. You'll notice the same spelling/grammatical errors (usually because they're running it through a translation software) between all of them.

My rule is if it has over 4 stars and under 100 reviews, they're probably mostly fake.


Also check the review dates. If they are close together, likely fakes.
 
2018-02-08 11:58:07 AM  
Use this for any major purchase on Amazon...

https://www.fakespot.com/

/welcome
 
2018-02-08 12:07:19 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 12:10:36 PM  

70Ford: [img.fark.net image 850x340]


AudioQuest Diamond reviews are THE BEST!!
 
2018-02-08 12:12:01 PM  
People cheat?

(swoon)
 
2018-02-08 12:15:13 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 12:21:55 PM  

HailRobonia: On a tangent, this came up on Amazon when I was looking for a fridge part. WTF?
[img.fark.net image 835x450]


The white earbud headphones let you listen to the vegetables while they are in the crisper.
Is wonderful technilogy!!!!
 
2018-02-08 12:22:13 PM  
 
2018-02-08 12:25:09 PM  

Dangerous_sociopath: scottydoesntknow: I've noticed quite a few tech products with blatantly fake/inflated reviews, mostly on knockoff Chinese products. They basically create an account, buy their own product, and then write a review so they can have a 'verified purchase' next to the review. You'll notice the same spelling/grammatical errors (usually because they're running it through a translation software) between all of them.

My rule is if it has over 4 stars and under 100 reviews, they're probably mostly fake.

Also check the review dates. If they are close together, likely fakes.


You can also check the review history of the reviewer. If they give nothing but 5 stars and/or if all the products they've reviewed come from the same 2 or 3 companies.
 
2018-02-08 12:27:18 PM  

harleyquinnical: Pangit: [static1.businessinsider.com image 836x732]

For the snarkiest and most sarcastic reviews, might I recommend...

The Banana Slicer


I particularly enjoyed this one, "I can't believe this slicer is listed as "great for cereal." I tried slicing Cheerios, Trix, Corn Flakes, and Chex, and each ended up crumily smashed, not neatly sliced. What's worse, this thing is nigh useless on Cream of Wheat."
 
2018-02-08 12:27:58 PM  

RedRudy: Use this for any major purchase on Amazon...

https://www.fakespot.com/

/welcome


I cannot smart this enough

so many products with lots of purchases and great reviews turn out to be total chinese fakes

I'm getting sick to death of amazon, and I am fast running out of reasons to shop there
 
2018-02-08 12:28:30 PM  
Cool, free Bobcat in a Box subscription.
 
2018-02-08 12:31:43 PM  

HailRobonia: On a tangent, this came up on Amazon when I was looking for a fridge part. WTF?
[img.fark.net image 835x450]


I hope it comes with $120 of drugs.
 
2018-02-08 12:43:59 PM  
oddee.comView Full Size


For reference, here's what a "mysterious package" looks like.
 
2018-02-08 12:45:44 PM  

voodoomedic: Where is the Tuscan Milk review, Fark?


Came here to post that
 
2018-02-08 12:48:47 PM  
If I buy a new electric guitar from Amazon, will some Chinese company please send me more?
 
2018-02-08 12:51:18 PM  

Gubbo: I have a friend who keeps getting sent products for her to review. She didn't ask for it or anything, apparently just submitted enough reviews of things she owns that she started getting all kinds of crap for free.


I want to get in on that racket, but from all I've read it's "invitation only."
 
2018-02-08 01:03:10 PM  
I just received one of these unsolicited packages, an ozone generator and wireless earbuds. When I contacted Amazon, they knew who sent it but wouldn't tell me. But I was able to return them.
 
2018-02-08 01:05:04 PM  

Barricaded Gunman: Gubbo: I have a friend who keeps getting sent products for her to review. She didn't ask for it or anything, apparently just submitted enough reviews of things she owns that she started getting all kinds of crap for free.

I want to get in on that racket, but from all I've read it's "invitation only."


It's called 'Amazon Vine'. I used to be a member. I lost interest when they asked for my SS#, so they could report the freebies as income.
 
2018-02-08 01:06:47 PM  

voodoomedic: Where is the Tuscan Milk review, Fark?


Important information
Ingredients
Milk, Vitamin D3.

Directions
Keep refrigerated.

Legal Disclaimer
DO NOT DRINK

Don't even need to get to the review to find the WTF there.
 
2018-02-08 01:23:17 PM  
My buddy got a bidet toilet sent to him to review.
 
2018-02-08 01:41:11 PM  

Tillmaster: Barricaded Gunman: Gubbo: I have a friend who keeps getting sent products for her to review. She didn't ask for it or anything, apparently just submitted enough reviews of things she owns that she started getting all kinds of crap for free.

I want to get in on that racket, but from all I've read it's "invitation only."

It's called 'Amazon Vine'. I used to be a member. I lost interest when they asked for my SS#, so they could report the freebies as income.


Heh. Nope.
 
2018-02-08 02:23:02 PM  
Well if anyone wants to send me free Hookers.
 
2018-02-08 02:39:09 PM  

stuffy: Well if anyone wants to send me free Hookers.


img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-02-08 02:44:28 PM  
I could use some free stuff.
 
2018-02-08 02:56:58 PM  
If an unscrupulous seller wants to write their own GPU reviews using a scam like this, they can feel free to send the video card to my address.  Just sayin.
 
2018-02-08 03:17:13 PM  

HailRobonia: On a tangent, this came up on Amazon when I was looking for a fridge part. WTF?
[img.fark.net image 835x450]


Third party sellers will throw in a cheap item so they end up as a separate listing. I see this with board games & puzzles a lot where you get a free drawstring bag.
 
2018-02-08 03:18:24 PM  

winedrinkingman: Dr.Fey: The sugar-free gummi bears that contained Lycasin worked as promised.  If the promise was gas, bloating, and diarrhea.

They are a wonderful weight loss product and I stand by that claim.


If you like sushi, I highly recommend eating lots of Escolar (sometimes called "super white tuna" or "butterfish").  Works great for the same purpose.
 
Displayed 50 of 54 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report