If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(IGN)   The first review of Black Panther is in. 90% of the time it works all the time   ( ign.com) divider line
    More: Cool  
•       •       •

1655 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 06 Feb 2018 at 2:45 PM (23 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



72 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2018-02-06 10:30:00 AM  
linked farked
 
2018-02-06 10:40:01 AM  
media.ignimgs.comView Full Size


That bad, huh?
 
2018-02-06 10:56:02 AM  
Looks like IGN yanked it for some reason. Here's a google capture of it.

screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-06 11:27:31 AM  
There's one review on RT.  Confirms the buzz.  Movie's black AF and the women steal the show.  Got my tickets.

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/blac​k​_panther_2018
 
2018-02-06 02:40:05 PM  
Review is back. I'm guessing IGN had a premature e-publication.

Currently sitting at 100% on RT w/ 51 reviews.

Only enemy that could take down the Black Panther now is a White, Armond.
 
2018-02-06 02:46:52 PM  
Taking off of work to see it since everything else was sold out. No ragrets.
 
2018-02-06 02:50:39 PM  
Marvel is woke AF
 
2018-02-06 02:53:29 PM  

scottydoesntknow: Review is back. I'm guessing IGN had a premature e-publication.

Currently sitting at 100% on RT w/ 51 reviews.

Only enemy that could take down the Black Panther now is a White, Armond.


I thought no one takes that guy seriously, unless it's to hear a review that is the complete inverse to the truth, which actually can be a handy guide. "Always do the opposite of what Bart says" kinda thing.
 
2018-02-06 03:00:53 PM  
and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.
 
2018-02-06 03:02:19 PM  

Fano: Marvel is woke AF


I'm betting the alt-right is not going to love this.
 
2018-02-06 03:03:37 PM  

ArkPanda: Fano: Marvel is woke AF

I'm betting the alt-right is not going to love this.


The alt-right has been hating since the first black asgardian.
 
2018-02-06 03:08:15 PM  

Fano: Marvel is woke AF


Wokeaf?  Is that some new Star Wars character?
 
2018-02-06 03:08:19 PM  

TheMarchHare: ArkPanda: Fano: Marvel is woke AF

I'm betting the alt-right is not going to love this.

The alt-right has been hating since the first black asgardian president public official social activist freed slave person came into sight.


There, that's a bit more accurate.
 
2018-02-06 03:19:16 PM  

headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.


I smell an Oscar sweep.
 
2018-02-06 03:19:44 PM  

blackminded: Taking off of work to see it since everything else was sold out. No ragrets.


First showing, like I've done for everything since CA:WS. Also did that for Jurassic World, SW Ep 7, 8, Rogue One, Wonder Woman...
 
2018-02-06 03:20:55 PM  

sex_and_drugs_for_ian: headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.

I smell an Oscar sweep.


This is a Marvel film not Suicide Squad
 
2018-02-06 03:21:22 PM  
Now the DCEU trolls in 3....2....
 
2018-02-06 03:23:51 PM  

Subtonic: scottydoesntknow: Review is back. I'm guessing IGN had a premature e-publication.

Currently sitting at 100% on RT w/ 51 reviews.

Only enemy that could take down the Black Panther now is a White, Armond.

I thought no one takes that guy seriously, unless it's to hear a review that is the complete inverse to the truth, which actually can be a handy guide. "Always do the opposite of what Bart says" kinda thing.


True, but his reviews are still counted in the aggregate. He's brought down a couple movies from 100% to 99%.
 
2018-02-06 03:25:07 PM  

Nefarious: This is a Marvel film not Suicide Squad


I thought that movie was kind of fun, but then I had seen the reviews before hand and was expecting Show Girls levels of bad.
 
2018-02-06 03:29:44 PM  

scottydoesntknow: Looks like IGN yanked it for some reason. Here's a google capture of it.

[screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.com image 600x155]


I'm guessing the review embargo hasn't passed yet, as the movie is still 10 days out. Guy probably wrote the article ahead of time and it got accidentally put up early.
 
Ant
2018-02-06 03:33:29 PM  

headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.


Not necessarily, but you can't deny that there's an entire subculture of people who hate anything and everything that has a non-white and/or non-male lead.
 
2018-02-06 03:33:33 PM  
Article opened fine for me just now.  Everything sold out here in presale...have to wait till following week :(
 
2018-02-06 03:35:35 PM  
I never pictured the ruler of Wakanda as black.  Gotta admit, it kind of ruins it for me.
 
2018-02-06 03:36:54 PM  

Neeek: scottydoesntknow: Looks like IGN yanked it for some reason. Here's a google capture of it.

[screenshotscdn.firefoxusercontent.com image 600x155]

I'm guessing the review embargo hasn't passed yet, as the movie is still 10 days out. Guy probably wrote the article ahead of time and it got accidentally put up early.


Hmm. Nevermind, Just saw a bunch of them.
 
2018-02-06 03:37:31 PM  

Ant: headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.

Not necessarily, but you can't deny that there's an entire subculture of people who hate anything and everything that has a non-white and/or non-male lead.


Agreed, as long you wont deny any negative review of this movie will be explained away with the comment you're replying to.  Obviously, it's lazy, ridiculous, stupid, and counterproductive, but it's there.
 
2018-02-06 03:39:59 PM  
I'm sure the rest of these comments will be a disaster, but for what it's worth, that's a great headline.  Bravo, subby.
 
2018-02-06 03:40:38 PM  
I, for one, look forward to this documentary on 60's activism instead of yet another comic-book action mov-
WHAT?
 
2018-02-06 03:40:41 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
img.fark.netView Full Size


//self reported
 
2018-02-06 03:43:44 PM  

sirrerun: [img.fark.net image 268x477][img.fark.net image 809x292]

//self reported


Billy Dee looks like one of the dolls/muppets/nightmare fuel dolls from the Land of Confusion music video.
 
2018-02-06 03:44:36 PM  

TheMarchHare: ArkPanda: Fano: Marvel is woke AF

I'm betting the alt-right is not going to love this.

The alt-right has been hating since the first black asgardian.


Hardly. The Black Panther an alt-right hero...

i.imgur.comView Full Size
 
2018-02-06 03:44:48 PM  

unicron702: sirrerun: [img.fark.net image 268x477][img.fark.net image 809x292]

//self reported

Billy Dee looks like one of the dolls/muppets/nightmare fuel dolls from the Land of Confusion music video.


This is the Colt we're drinkin
And these are the odds we're given
 
2018-02-06 03:48:18 PM  

headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.


If you have legitimate critiques about the film's pacing, acting, direction or lack of properly done "mis en scene" (whatever that is), and you're a well-established public film critic, by all means detail them in your "review."

If you're just some Dick Spencer lookalike in your mother's basement giving the movie 1- or 0-stars sight unseen, yeah, I think people might have a little problem with that.
 
2018-02-06 03:48:27 PM  
Has Armand White shiat the bed yet and killed the 100% the film is currently getting on RT?
 
2018-02-06 03:50:11 PM  

foo monkey: There's one review on RT.  Confirms the buzz.  Movie's black AF and the women steal the show.  Got my tickets.

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/black​_panther_2018


100% with 54 reviews now.

/the hype is real
//already have tickets
///but is it as good as Paddington 2?
 
2018-02-06 03:53:32 PM  
Perfect landing! This is great.
 
2018-02-06 03:55:16 PM  
Just the right amount of Ant Man?
 
2018-02-06 03:56:48 PM  
Nice headline, subby.
 
2018-02-06 03:58:15 PM  

carnifex2005: Perfect landing! This is great.


Doh! Meant to post that in the Falcon thread.
 
2018-02-06 03:59:24 PM  
The best villains are said to be the ones the audience can sympathize with, and Killmonger certainly fits that bill. He is the strongest villain (figuratively speaking) the MCU has produced since Loki.

I dunno, I thought Michael Keaton's Vulture from Spider-Man Homecoming was pretty sympathetic. What, the working man isn't allowed to lie, cheat and steal to get ahead just like the rich man does? I was honestly pulling for the guy for most of the movie.
 
2018-02-06 04:00:53 PM  

ArkPanda: Fano: Marvel is woke AF

I'm betting the alt-right is not going to love this.


They've already started FB groups to shred it on RT and elsewhere.....and FB has already canned the groups
 
2018-02-06 04:03:18 PM  

Ishkur: The best villains are said to be the ones the audience can sympathize with, and Killmonger certainly fits that bill. He is the strongest villain (figuratively speaking) the MCU has produced since Loki.

I dunno, I thought Michael Keaton's Vulture from Spider-Man Homecoming was pretty sympathetic. What, the working man isn't allowed to lie, cheat and steal to get ahead just like the rich man does? I was honestly pulling for the guy for most of the movie.


He was screwed out of a big contract that would've set his family and company up for years, too. I thought he was really good too.
 
2018-02-06 04:08:38 PM  

Ant: headshot1485: and if you're part of the 10%, you're racist.

Not necessarily, but you can't deny that there's an entire subculture of people who hate anything and everything that has a non-white and/or non-male lead.


Like the people who freaked out about a black stormtrooper?
 
2018-02-06 04:10:08 PM  
and in other Disney news:


David Benioff and D.B. Weiss have been contracted to write and produce a new Star Wars trilogy* (following the conclusion of Game Of Thrones [so...sometime around the year 2088.])


http://www.starwars.com/news/game-of-t​hrones-creators-david-benioff-and-d-b-​weiss-to-write-and-produce-a-new-serie​s-of-star-wars-films

*separate from the recently-announced Rian Johnson trilogy and Star Wars Main "Episodes".
 
2018-02-06 04:11:55 PM  

Ishkur: The best villains are said to be the ones the audience can sympathize with, and Killmonger certainly fits that bill. He is the strongest villain (figuratively speaking) the MCU has produced since Loki.

I dunno, I thought Michael Keaton's Vulture from Spider-Man Homecoming was pretty sympathetic. What, the working man isn't allowed to lie, cheat and steal to get ahead just like the rich man does? I was honestly pulling for the guy for most of the movie.


And he managed to be menacing at the same time. That was an awesome performance.

I'm excited to see this one too, so far I haven't been let down by the MCU, even though I do get a little superhero fatigued.
 
2018-02-06 04:16:32 PM  

Ishkur: The best villains are said to be the ones the audience can sympathize with, and Killmonger certainly fits that bill. He is the strongest villain (figuratively speaking) the MCU has produced since Loki.

I dunno, I thought Michael Keaton's Vulture from Spider-Man Homecoming was pretty sympathetic. What, the working man isn't allowed to lie, cheat and steal to get ahead just like the rich man does? I was honestly pulling for the guy for most of the movie.


I legit felt bad for him at the end of the movie. And mad props for not giving up spidy to Scorpion in jail.
I want more of his character, but its probably not going to happen.
 
2018-02-06 04:18:27 PM  

foo monkey: There's one review on RT.  Confirms the buzz.  Movie's black AF and the women steal the show.  Got my tickets.

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/black​_panther_2018


I do not have the time to read the review, how many Antman sightings in the film was there, it must have been awesome scenes with him, they have army ants in Africa.  I imagine him leading a huge swarm of army ants alongside of the Wakandans to share some of the spotlight with Black Panther.
 
2018-02-06 04:20:58 PM  

Fano: Marvel is woke AF


according to coogler, feige really encouraged him to push the envelope. he'd turn in a draft and kevin would say "do more, go further." they all agreed that social, political, and racial commentary is inherent to the character and to not shy away from it. looks like that's paying off.
 
2018-02-06 04:23:03 PM  

carnifex2005: carnifex2005: Perfect landing! This is great.

Doh! Meant to post that in the Falcon thread.


Pretty sure it works here too.
 
2018-02-06 04:27:04 PM  

Susan'sLittleAdamsApple: foo monkey: There's one review on RT.  Confirms the buzz.  Movie's black AF and the women steal the show.  Got my tickets.

https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/black​_panther_2018

I do not have the time to read the review, how many Antman sightings in the film was there, it must have been awesome scenes with him, they have army ants in Africa.  I imagine him leading a huge swarm of army ants alongside of the Wakandans to share some of the spotlight with Black Panther.


Pretty sure he was in every shot, you probably just couldn't see him. ;)
 
2018-02-06 04:41:44 PM  

sirrerun: [img.fark.net image 268x477][img.fark.net image 809x292]

//self reported


i.pinimg.comView Full Size
 
Displayed 50 of 72 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report