Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Blaze)   Father at school board meeting: "I'm not sure this book is appropriate for my daughter to read." School board: "That's interesting, because we're sure you're under arrest for having an opinion about it"   (theblaze.com) divider line
    More: Asinine, school boards, WMUR-TV, sadomasochists, WCVB-TV  
•       •       •

21232 clicks; posted to Main » on 07 May 2014 at 1:45 AM (6 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



364 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2014-05-07 12:06:46 AM  
"You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."
 
2014-05-07 12:10:49 AM  
Maybe if he got out of his helicopter he might be a better parent.
 
2014-05-07 12:18:53 AM  
Non-Breitbart link or the exact opposite happened.
 
2014-05-07 1:04:02 AM  
Is this another thread where we pretend that time limits at board meetings are somehow new and outrageous?
 
2014-05-07 1:42:45 AM  

fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might. and they don't just shoot you, you're lucky


Perspective
 
2014-05-07 1:48:14 AM  

BSABSVR: Is this another thread where we pretend that time limits at board meetings are somehow new and outrageous?


Yup.
 
2014-05-07 1:50:17 AM  
The two minute rule is so that everyone gets a chance to speak... so ya, you need to follow it... your first amendment rights do not trump everyone elses... they all came because they had stuff to say too. Once you stepped it up by not leaving when the officer asked you too.... well, ya, you're gonna get arrested for that no matter what your opinion is.
 
2014-05-07 1:50:25 AM  

fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."


I lol'ed. That's just shiatty writing.
 
2014-05-07 1:51:13 AM  

fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."


Go on. . .

/kidding
 
2014-05-07 1:52:34 AM  

fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."


It was a dark and steamy night...
 
2014-05-07 1:54:56 AM  

BSABSVR: Is this another thread where we pretend that time limits at board meetings are somehow new and outrageous?


This is another thread where we make fun of a stupidly indignant parent.
 
2014-05-07 1:55:38 AM  
"Feel safe with the amazing credit card knife! Transforms from a 'credit card' into a sharp knife!"

What a bizarre ad about a disorderly conduct arrest at a school.
 
2014-05-07 1:56:51 AM  
*ad inserted into an article about...yaddayaddayadda
 
2014-05-07 1:59:54 AM  
Do you know who I am??

I'll have your badge!!!!

Two other things you shouldn't say to a cop
 
2014-05-07 2:00:24 AM  

zerkalo: It was a dark and steamy night...


The night was sultry.
 
2014-05-07 2:04:59 AM  
Welcome to Obama's America. Your children will be forced to read about explicit sex and if you question us, you will be arrested.

/sarcasm
 
2014-05-07 2:06:38 AM  
totalfratmove.s3.amazonaws.comView Full Size
 
2014-05-07 2:06:48 AM  
A troll headline which in no way reflects the actual events in the story in my Fark?
 
2014-05-07 2:07:15 AM  
The School Board should just have all the students scratch out the word "erection" and replace it with "walkie talkie."
 
2014-05-07 2:08:01 AM  

King Something: Non-Breitbart link or the exact opposite happened.


I am so stealing this line. :)
 
2014-05-07 2:09:15 AM  

Yes this is dog: A troll headline which in no way reflects the actual events in the story in my Fark?


next thing you know someone will come along and take the headline at face value then comment without reading the thread or the article.
 
2014-05-07 2:09:25 AM  

meat0918: BSABSVR: Is this another thread where we pretend that time limits at board meetings are somehow new and outrageous?

Yup.


$1 zillion dollars says this was the first time this guy ever went to a school board meeting.

/like a boss
 
2014-05-07 2:09:46 AM  
This link redirected me to download a shiatty app.
 
2014-05-07 2:14:05 AM  
"Man Arrested for calling Oprah a coont."  My headline only slightly less accurate than subby's.  fark You, Subby.
 
2014-05-07 2:14:38 AM  

Cerebral Ballsy: This link redirected me to download a shiatty app.


The redirect saved you from visiting Glenn Beck's shiatty site.  Consider yourself lucky.
 
2014-05-07 2:14:54 AM  
9th grade is a little young for required reading involving an explicit sex scene. That's more like junior year material.

/yeah, yeah, I know the kids are already looking at stuff more explicit than that on their own time
//the real crime is how shiatty the writing is
 
2014-05-07 2:24:21 AM  
This is a great story, covers all my favourite areas;clueless parenting, idiots complaining about books, petty functionaries who don't know how to deal with dissent and cops arresting people for non-crimes

+1 would read again
 
2014-05-07 2:25:15 AM  
If I had a kid, I wouldn't want them reading that either. I'd prefer them read:

img.fark.netView Full Size


myvintagemagazines.comView Full Size


upload.wikimedia.orgView Full Size


justanotherbookworm.files.wordpress.comView Full Size


juliasmexicocity.typepad.comView Full Size


img1.imagesbn.comView Full Size
 
2014-05-07 2:25:43 AM  

Circusdog320: Do you know who I am??

I'll have your badge!!!!

Two other things you shouldn't say to a cop


Telling them that you pay their salary is also not to be recommended.
 
2014-05-07 2:28:52 AM  
Would he object to the kids reading 'The Fountainhead'?
 
2014-05-07 2:29:22 AM  

fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."


We know how to read.
 
2014-05-07 2:30:20 AM  

kling_klang_bed: If I had a kid, I wouldn't want them reading that either. I'd prefer them read:


[img.fark.net image 183x276]


[www.myvintagemagazines.com image 300x300]


[upload.wikimedia.org image 250x346]


[justanotherbookworm.files.wordpress.com image 333x500]


[juliasmexicocity.typepad.com image 500x500]


[img1.imagesbn.com image 260x347]



This was quite the eye-opener for me when I was about 12 or so.
facsimilemagazine.comView Full Size
 
2014-05-07 2:30:52 AM  
Here's a better article from the local news.  Warning: auto-play video
http://www.wmur.com/news/man-says-free-speech-rights-violated-in-arr es t-over-book/25834676
 
2014-05-07 2:32:00 AM  

Caffeine Induced Diarrhea: BSABSVR:

Is this another thread where we pretend that time limits at board meetings are somehow new and outrageous?

This is another thread where we make fun of a stupidly indignant parent.


I don't agree with his opinion--I think that's silly, not salacious--but he shouldn't be arrested for expressing it. The article doesn't say he yelled or threw anything or punched anybody, just that he violated a two-minute rule. (By how much? An hour? Three days?) Now their heavy-handedness has made the guy a "martyr" to to the other parents of conservative bent, which is spreading as I type, so now they've got themselves A Controversy.

As for the passage in question I can see their point: 9th graders should not be required to read such stuff. But from a different angle: in what's essentially Reagan's 9th term in office you don't give such parents a weapon against you. Instead you find a book by the same author that's not so "pornographic," and you let slip that there's another book by her whose title you won't mention that they won't be assigned because there's a passage that some people find pornographic but that you think is just hilariously bad writing, and then leave the little buggers to explore things on their own.

Besides, I picture most normal 9th grade girls getting yucked out by it. Even some of my sluttier girlfriends had prudish tastes. And you don't want 9th grade girls being revolted by sexual imagery or where will the next generation of strippers Communications majors come from?
 
2014-05-07 2:32:09 AM  
A New Hampshire parent was arrested at a Monday night school board meeting after he voiced outrage his ninth grade daughter was assigned a book that contains a page detailing a graphic sexual encounter.

Good. He sounds like a farking asshole.
 
2014-05-07 2:32:23 AM  
I so want to post this on the comments page of the article, but that means I have to sign in and then get their crappy news service e-mailed to me.  Instead, I'll leave it here...

Also, he was arrested for violating the time limit on the subject.  They needed to cover other concerns by other parents, and he wouldn't shut up.  Why don't people in the comments section of the article get that?  Sheesh, now they're all paranoid about indoctrination camps by the gub'ment.  These people are nuts.
 
2014-05-07 2:33:56 AM  
Er, I should have said "Made to leave by violating the two minute rule."  He was arrested for being a jerk to an officer.
 
2014-05-07 2:34:18 AM  

NerdCoreRageQuit: Sheesh, now they're all paranoid about indoctrination camps by the gub'ment.  These people are nuts.


Where they make you sign up for health care and make you buy flatscreen TVs for poor people.. The HORROR.
 
2014-05-07 2:35:13 AM  

RatMaster999: Here's a better article from the local news.  Warning: auto-play video


How to stop autplaying ads/vids:

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/internet/3497991/how-stop-autoplay in g-ads-videos-media-on-web-pages/
 
2014-05-07 2:37:03 AM  
Outrageous parent is outrageous. Much ado about nothing imho.

I was reading these inelementary school.My parents never read anything I did, my mom was too doped up on drugs and booze after work and my dad worked 7 days a week on second shift, so I was handed a library card and dropped off at the library in town after school by the school bus. I was fascinated with archaeology and paleontology at the time, and thought "Oh cool, cave bears!" and it was all uphill from there.

I turned out completely normal. Mostly.

girliegossip.comView Full Size
 
2014-05-07 2:37:31 AM  

The One True TheDavid: As for the passage in question I can see their point: 9th graders should not be required to read such stuff.


Dude, whatever. You don't think someone 14 is ready to read about sex? It's in all the culture they're already familiar with.
 
2014-05-07 2:37:34 AM  
nice to see Gilford making the map, in a state filled with gun-toting morons all about personal freedom.  This should make for interesting further headlines in the future...

/from NH
//Amherst ... or rather, Ahm'st, on the border with Mont Vernon ... not Mount, Mont
 
2014-05-07 2:39:03 AM  

Kalashinator: "Feel safe with the amazing credit card knife! Transforms from a 'credit card' into a sharp knife!"

What a bizarre ad about a disorderly conduct arrest at a school.


"PLEASE NOTE: These blades are steel and they will set off any metal detectors. This product is not easily smuggled onto airlines."

Free, just pay $2.95 S&H.

But I'm not sure that's not a Concealed Weapon under KY law. Or would it count as a pocket knife?
 
2014-05-07 2:39:20 AM  

King Something: Non-Breitbart link or the exact opposite happened.


Here ya go!
 
2014-05-07 2:40:40 AM  

firefly212: The two minute rule is so that everyone gets a chance to speak... so ya, you need to follow it... your first amendment rights do not trump everyone elses... they all came because they had stuff to say too. Once you stepped it up by not leaving when the officer asked you too.... well, ya, you're gonna get arrested for that no matter what your opinion is.


whidbey: Good. He sounds like a farking asshole.


This and THIS.

And comon, that scene really isn't that hot. Just two teens farking on a carpet and the dude spooges. That's it. It's not even as hot as the sex scene in Judy Blume's Forever, a book I had to read. So yeah. Besides, William Baer, your 9th grade daughter has certainly seen, heard, or experienced worse first-hand. And if she hasn't, then, bro, then your kids are too damn sheltered to be worth a damn in this society. Parents like you are the reason why Millenials have extended adolescences that annoyingly last beyond college.
 
2014-05-07 2:40:49 AM  

andyofne: fusillade762: "You are going to arrest me because I violated the two-minute rule?" the father said. "I guess you are going to have to arrest me."

News Flash: if you dare a cop to arrest you they just might.


William Baer was charged with disorderly conduct.

Having an opinion, disorderly conduct. Potayto, potahto.


Here's the passage in question for anyone interested:

"'Relax,' Matt murmured, and then he sank his teeth into her shoulder. He pinned her hands over her head and ground his hips against hers. She could feel his erection, hot against her stomach.

" ... She couldn't remember ever feeling so heavy, as if her heart were beating between her legs. She clawed at Matt's back to bring him closer.

"'Yeah,' he groaned, and her pushed her thighs apart. And then suddenly Matt was inside her, pumping so hard that she scooted backward on the carpet, burning the backs of her legs. ... (H)e clamped his hand over her mouth and drove harder and harder until Josie felt him come.

"Semen, sticky and hot, pooled on the carpet beneath her."

We know how to read.

4.bp.blogspot.comView Full Size
 
2014-05-07 2:43:49 AM  

Wessoman: firefly212: The two minute rule is so that everyone gets a chance to speak... so ya, you need to follow it... your first amendment rights do not trump everyone elses... they all came because they had stuff to say too. Once you stepped it up by not leaving when the officer asked you too.... well, ya, you're gonna get arrested for that no matter what your opinion is.

whidbey: Good. He sounds like a farking asshole.

This and THIS.

And comon, that scene really isn't that hot. Just two teens farking on a carpet and the dude spooges. That's it. It's not even as hot as the sex scene in Judy Blume's Forever, a book I had to read. So yeah. Besides, William Baer, your 9th grade daughter has certainly seen, heard, or experienced worse first-hand. And if she hasn't, then, bro, then your kids are too damn sheltered to be worth a damn in this society. Parents like you are the reason why Millenials have extended adolescences that annoyingly last beyond college.


http://www.nerve.com/content/jacks-naughty-bits-judy-blume-forever

See, men?
 
2014-05-07 2:44:02 AM  

The One True TheDavid: don't agree with his opinion--I think that's silly, not salacious--but he shouldn't be arrested for expressing it. The article doesn't say he yelled or threw anything or punched anybody, just that he violated a two-minute rule.


He didn't get arrested for expressing his opinion.  He got arrested for being a dick and refusing to leave when asked.
 
2014-05-07 2:45:06 AM  

whidbey: The One True TheDavid:

As for the passage in question I can see their point: 9th graders should not be required to read such stuff.

Dude, whatever. You don't think someone 14 is ready to read about sex? It's in all the culture they're already familiar with.


Go back and re-read that paragraph of my comment with the emphasized part in mind. After that figure out what I was really saying.
 
2014-05-07 2:45:51 AM  

Cthulhu_is_my_homeboy: 9th grade is a little young for required reading involving an explicit sex scene. That's more like junior year material.


No it isn't. Jesus.
 
Displayed 50 of 364 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.