Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Some Guy)   Thanks to Dakota Fanning's rape scene, the government now wants to review all movie scripts before filming starts. Step right up, asshats: Plenty of blame to go around   (wilmingtonstar.com) divider line
    More: Dumbass  
•       •       •

25262 clicks; posted to Main » and Entertainment » on 26 Jan 2007 at 3:19 PM (14 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



390 Comments     (+0 »)


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2007-01-26 2:22:03 PM  
I am sure the j000 controlled, hollywood run and democratically controlled congress wont have problem with that at all. Sure. And well all get free handguns with our next tax returns.

/had to throw j000 in there cause I'm missing Tats.
 
2007-01-26 2:22:37 PM  
State gov't must review film before it is shot in that state.

Not federal gov't.
 
2007-01-26 2:23:40 PM  
...is the dumbass proposal.
 
2007-01-26 2:25:29 PM  
..still a dumbass proposal.

Another step in Orwell's direction, no?
 
2007-01-26 2:27:45 PM  
This country is starting to suck.
 
2007-01-26 2:27:46 PM  
If you are going to excise any material that "North Carolinians find objectionable," then North Carolina can expect to see a steady production of films that amount to nothing more than two hours of a hound dog sleeping on a porch.

Good luck North Carolina filmmakers!
 
2007-01-26 2:28:13 PM  
"Why should North Carolina taxpayers pay for something they find objectionable?" said Berger, who is having proposed legislation drafted.


I agree 100%. Disband the entire Government.
 
2007-01-26 2:32:03 PM  
I have a new movie that starts production soon. It's called "Eat a Bag of Dicks".
 
2007-01-26 2:34:48 PM  
That system, said state Sen. Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, would apply only to films seeking the state's lucrative filmmaker incentive, which refunds as much as 15 percent of what productions spend in North Carolina from the state treasury.

Not so dumb, same compaint as millions of people have about the NEA. It's one thing to film whatever you want, it's anothing to give a government hand out to it.
 
2007-01-26 2:38:29 PM  
If they're using state money to make the film, I think it's well within' the state's rights to review the film before they fund it... sounds reasonable to me.

Don't want to get your film reviewed by the state, don't ask them for money! :D
 
2007-01-26 2:40:40 PM  
This guy's a censorious asshat.

But in a small way, he's got a point. This isn't about government review, it's about whether or not the government should give incentives to people to make films in NC.

The problem is that such laws eventually lead to more and more checks and reviews and at some point cross the line. It's a pretty small step from determining if you get money from the state to whether you get a permit from the state to film in the first place.

Another argument is this: should the government be in the position of determining the worth of something like film or art? I don't think so- if you have an incentive, it must go to everyone based on only basic criteria, and not be withheld on content or vague ideas of "worth".

Or it goes to no one and you scrap it. I leave it to the reader to decide which one of these two courses is correct.
 
2007-01-26 2:43:27 PM  
Mr Guy: Not so dumb...

Really? So, you think the first time the Government tells a Muslim, or gay, or black, or female or lesbian black Muslim film-maker that her movie titled The Homo-erotic adventures of Allah and Jesus is "objectionable" and she's not getting the kickback, there won't be any problems?

Private entities can discriminate. The Government can't, ethically or legally. With them, it's either everyone gets it, or no one does.
 
2007-01-26 2:46:02 PM  
The first script they should review is "1984".
 
2007-01-26 2:50:22 PM  
Well I'm sure film crews will be lining up to film in NC now.

Dumbass.
 
2007-01-26 2:57:44 PM  
The state should not be in the business of giving rebates anyway.
 
2007-01-26 2:57:57 PM  
I wonder if he would feel the same way about having the government review the business plans and internal operations of businesses the state tries to attract through subsidies and tax cuts. Somehow, I think he wouldn't...
 
2007-01-26 3:00:13 PM  
Eat_More_Possum

If it's a good investment, sure they should. Films bring in huge amounts of money and having your state in a major motion picture brings in tourist dollars.

They wouldn't do it if they didn't make more money than they spent.
 
2007-01-26 3:01:10 PM  
America the prude....


We are the laughing stock of the world people...
 
2007-01-26 3:02:46 PM  
Does every asshat in america think that the rape scene actually had her in it. It was put together in editing they probably were not even in the same room at the same time for the scene.

It's Fiction people, Keep your #^#*^$@(*)(&$ nose outta peoples 1st ammendment rights.
 
2007-01-26 3:05:10 PM  
JohnnyC: Don't want to get your film reviewed by the state, don't ask them for money!

/bears repeating
 
2007-01-26 3:06:04 PM  
Note to self: do not submit script treatment to North Carolina legislature concerning wacky road comedy where three French F1 fans travel around the state searching for Dale Earnhardt's grave so they can dig up the corpse and have sex with it.
 
2007-01-26 3:06:22 PM  
thelunatik

I've been particularly enjoying the people who haven't seen anything of the film, and only read about it on the intertubes, going after the movie, the production company, Fanning's family and Fanning herself.

Bunch of hypocritical bastards, all of them.
 
2007-01-26 3:12:45 PM  
I'm sure they'd have found nothing at all wrong with Deliverance's script.
 
2007-01-26 3:18:33 PM  
I don't see why we shouldn't give this a shot. It works great in Iran.
 
2007-01-26 3:19:37 PM  
If they rubberstamp the movies like they do the laws, then we won't really see a difference... maybe a rise in ticket prices to so the studios can grease the wheels a bit.
 
2007-01-26 3:21:35 PM  
Is it illegal to destroy the government?
 
2007-01-26 3:21:42 PM  
The government meaning North Carolina's. And I can give a fark what they do down there.
 
2007-01-26 3:23:45 PM  
This is only in North Carolina and only if the filmmaker wants to get the 15% refund of filming costs that they offer in NC
 
2007-01-26 3:24:10 PM  
The state government wants to ensure it is fostering creative filmmaking that is not out of line with the wishes of those who pay the money.

Time to panic?
 
2007-01-26 3:24:38 PM  
Ahahaha, what a bunch of rubes.

\Hopes it gets overturned it court
 
2007-01-26 3:25:06 PM  
Nice misleading sensationalized headline! Turns out the actual article is a whole lot less troubling. You may now cease panic and GBTW.
 
2007-01-26 3:26:11 PM  
Because of the success of a recent film, I'm planning to make a lot of snuff films with Aramaic dialog. Good luck reviewing those scripts!
 
2007-01-26 3:26:12 PM  
While I love Orwell, I have to say I wish more Farkers were noticing all the "Brave New World" things happening in society too...
Huxley's vision of the future seemed much more plausible than Orwell's.
/Just keep on taking the Soma.
 
2007-01-26 3:26:14 PM  
That system, said state Sen. Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, would apply only to films seeking the state's lucrative filmmaker incentive, which refunds as much as 15 percent of what productions spend in North Carolina from the state treasury.

"Why should North Carolina taxpayers pay for something they find objectionable?" said Berger, who is having proposed legislation drafted.


It's a way of ensuring the state's right to say "We don't want your business." Stop acting like it's some Orwellian crap. Lack of a handout does not equate to censorship.
 
2007-01-26 3:26:36 PM  
Big Brother wants to rape us sooner or later. Oh noes!
 
2007-01-26 3:26:39 PM  
subby: the government now wants to review all movie scripts before filming starts

uh, no...

That system, said state Sen. Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, would apply only to films seeking the state's lucrative filmmaker incentive, which refunds as much as 15 percent of what productions spend in North Carolina from the state treasury.

"Why should North Carolina taxpayers pay for something they find objectionable?" said Berger


Got a point -- they have this program in place to attract business to the state. If they don't want that business, they can restrict or eliminate this incentive as they wish.

you fail it, subby
 
2007-01-26 3:26:55 PM  
Don't want to get your film reviewed by the state, don't ask them for money!

What he said.
 
2007-01-26 3:27:14 PM  
you know this will never happen right?
 
2007-01-26 3:27:28 PM  
Most misleading headline in quite some time.
 
2007-01-26 3:27:40 PM  
Gecko Gingrich
You jerk, you owe me a new keyboard..
 
2007-01-26 3:27:42 PM  
Deliverance was filed in Georgia, not NC.
 
2007-01-26 3:28:09 PM  
Why should North Carolina taxpayers pay for something they find objectionable?

That would probably mean you don't understand how an *incentive* should be constructed. An incentive only be applied if the incoming money would outweigh the money going out, in which case the tax payers shouldn't have to pay for anything. However, if you make it a government duty to review scripts, then yes, now the tax payers are paying for it - even if the movie doesn't film there. Dipshiat.
 
2007-01-26 3:28:09 PM  
Did you even read the article, submitter?
 
2007-01-26 3:28:18 PM  
[image from ernieputto.de too old to be available]

Oh please, dear? For your information, the Supreme Court has roundly rejected prior restraint.

/I don't care what the asshole from North Carolina says. I'm finishing my coffee
 
2007-01-26 3:28:22 PM  
further proving republicans are morons.
 
2007-01-26 3:28:32 PM  
Cease panicking, this only withholds public funds from horrid films.
 
2007-01-26 3:28:35 PM  
So, what's wrong with THAT, comrade?
 
2007-01-26 3:28:50 PM  
Wow. That headline's not even close.

A Republican Senator from North Carolina wants the North Carolina state government to review scripts before movies are filmed in North Carolina.

That's a far cry from what the implication of the headline, which is that the federal government, as a whole, wants to review all movie scripts before filming. It's also an impossible 'rule' to enforce, because the script that exists before filming rarely remains intact during production. Hell, post production alone can radically alert a film.

Looks like subby gets a nice chunk of that blame all for his onesies.
 
2007-01-26 3:29:08 PM  
Forget North Carolina, boys.

Flim Springfield.
 
2007-01-26 3:29:29 PM  
wicked pissah. i'm sure all of whitie's friends on beacon hill would have loved to see the depahted script ahead of time
 
Displayed 50 of 390 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Newest | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.