Skip to content
Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Scientific American)   Congratulations to the 2022 Kavli Prize winners for their pioneering work in helio- and asteroseismology. Subby predicts the name of one of them, Jørgen Christensen-Dalsgaard, will soon be up in lights- if they can find enough bulbs   ( divider line
    More: Interesting, Milky Way, Earth, Sun, Andromeda Galaxy, Atmosphere, Galaxy, Star formation, Supernova  
•       •       •

312 clicks; posted to STEM » on 04 Feb 2023 at 11:05 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook

7 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
2023-02-04 9:23:26 PM  
Cool stuff.
2023-02-04 11:29:52 PM  
Well, it's their aster... isk.
2023-02-04 11:50:39 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
2023-02-05 12:42:33 AM  
I found the idea that you could hear the mass of a star by converting the irregularity of its light output to sound amazing.  Bigger stars being more stable, they produce an easily distinguishable sound from smaller stars.

You give a scientist a telescope and a lot of time, they come up with some fascinating ideas.
2023-02-05 9:32:42 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me can't get fooled again; that's a slice of chorizo.
2023-02-05 3:04:02 PM  
Congratulations, it looks amazing!
2023-02-05 5:13:23 PM  
My son is part of a helio seismology research project using an instrument at Mt Wilson observatory.  His professor is the lead investigator and is a contemporary of these dudes
Displayed 7 of 7 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter

  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.