Skip to content
Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Some Guy)   Days Gone director blames game's poor reviews on "woke" reviewers. Oh, and all the bugs   (videogameschronicle.com) divider line
    More: Dumbass, David Jaffe, John Garvin, Garvin's latest claim, Play, Game, God of War, game's middling critical reception, Metacritic  
•       •       •

914 clicks; posted to Fandom » on 07 Dec 2022 at 9:30 PM (8 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



36 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2022-12-07 7:41:53 PM  
While I enjoyed the game, I'd say the Metacritic score of 71 was about right. Creator just sounds like a whiner to me.
 
2022-12-07 7:53:47 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-12-07 9:39:29 PM  
I'm sure if the guy was black, he'd say the reviewers were racist.

If the guy were a girl, she'd probably blame the patriarchy.

If the guy were a sentient walrus, he'd blame the penguins.

If he were all three, we'd say Fark the game and wonder how the heck a black transgender walrus could learn coding.
 
2022-12-07 9:40:51 PM  
Garvin is now leading Ashfall, which is described as "the first true Web 3.0 AAA title for PC, console, and the Hedera network", which uses a "native, energy-efficient cryptocurrency" called HBAR.

This butthole.
 
2022-12-07 9:45:50 PM  
I enjoyed it, but I played the PC port just recently. I didn't notice any more bugs than any other game. Didn't realize until I was nearly done that there wasn't going to be a sequel and was disappointed.
 
2022-12-07 9:47:47 PM  
It wasn't bad, I just couldnt get into it.
 
2022-12-07 10:04:03 PM  
Now that I know the developer unironically uses terms like "woke", i don't even need to play it to know it's garbage.
 
2022-12-07 10:06:42 PM  
It's the grownup's version of "the dog ate my  homework".
 
2022-12-07 10:10:36 PM  
what the fark is days gone
can't anyone just name a game something normal
when has anyone ever said "Days gone" on its own
some of these american game titles put the bizarre japanese titles like Bravely Second or Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE to shame
 
2022-12-07 10:32:00 PM  
You put out a giant open world zombie game when both genres had already peaked and then offered nothing new.  Putting another growling white space marine equivalent as the protagonist was just the cherry on top.  It wasn't terrible, it was just aggressively average.
 
2022-12-07 10:35:14 PM  
It was a middle of the road 7/10, with some good gameplay elements let down by some mediocre writing, a raging asshole of a protaganist, an uninteresting Princess-in-another-castle, and some interminable and wholly unnecessary backstory made worse by having to stop the game dead to "play" through the flashbacks. It's not a surprise at all that it wouldn't be tolerable to a wide audience. A sequel might have given it all a chance to improve.
 
2022-12-07 10:47:13 PM  
He's just concerned about bias in gaming journalism.
 
2022-12-07 10:47:37 PM  
It was thoroughly mediocre.

Like I would've preferred it if it was a worse game at least it would've inspired some emotion other than apathy.
 
2022-12-07 11:46:01 PM  

rjakobi: If the guy were a sentient walrus, he'd blame the penguins.


Wrong hemispheres, the others weren't too horrible.
 
2022-12-07 11:54:00 PM  

2wolves: rjakobi: If the guy were a sentient walrus, he'd blame the penguins.

Wrong hemispheres, the others weren't too horrible.


a penguin put you up to this, didnt the.
DIDNT THEY!
 
2022-12-08 12:02:24 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-12-08 12:07:02 AM  
Some games are better with bugs.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-12-08 12:07:36 AM  
Wasn't he originally biatching months ago that it was because people weren't paying full price for it and buying it on sale instead?
 
2022-12-08 12:39:39 AM  

farbekrieg: 2wolves: rjakobi: If the guy were a sentient walrus, he'd blame the penguins.

Wrong hemispheres, the others weren't too horrible.

a penguin put you up to this, didnt the.
DIDNT THEY!



Fark user imageView Full Size

OK, it's true.

 
2022-12-08 1:09:28 AM  

skyotter: Some games are better with bugs.
[Fark user image image 850x478]


Those aren't bugs, they're monsters. And those bipedal "Frogs" aren't frogs, they look just like us!
 
2022-12-08 2:01:29 AM  

replacementcool: Now that I know the developer unironically uses terms like "woke", i don't even need to play it to know it's garbage.


Well, not necessarily that it's garbage. More "now I won't buy the game because I'm not giving this dipshiat money".

It'd been languishing on my Steam wish list for months--mostly to remind me it exists if it ever happened to be on sale at a point where I thought I'd actually put some time into it right away.

/does this still count as clearing one off the Steam queue?
 
2022-12-08 3:26:45 AM  
I was already sick of zombie games when I downloaded Days Gone for free via PS plus because I didn't know anything about it. As soon as I saw zombies, I rolled my eyes and shut the game off. It didn't help that the protagonist was a completely unrelatable ass.

This game felt very much like a pot pourri of ideas borrowed from other games. A bit of Farcry, a bit of just about every zombie game, a bit of... you know what, I'll stop here, I'm already bored with thinking about this game again.
 
2022-12-08 4:45:13 AM  
Free market, biatches!
 
2022-12-08 7:04:19 AM  
In recent times, however, it's been adopted as a catch-all term by right-leaning people to refer to those who favour progressive political ideas.

Guess again.

To right-leaning people the term "woke" is used to describe anyone who isn't an asshole.
 
2022-12-08 7:14:44 AM  

moothemagiccow: what the fark is days gone
can't anyone just name a game something normal
when has anyone ever said "Days gone" on its own
some of these american game titles put the bizarre japanese titles like Bravely Second or Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE to shame


Sons of anarchy in the zombie apocalypse
 
2022-12-08 7:15:57 AM  
The game is still in plastic in my house.

And he says "woke" unironically.
Thanks asshole, you are now where EA and Blizzard lives.

The game was treading well worn territory, and would have been better received
if it had been released years earlier.

As far as PS exclusives, "Biker vs Zombies" was weak compared to Spidey and his Amazing Super suits, Dad of War, and Red Headed Future Cavewoman fights Dinomechs.

/generic ass protagonist facing off against generic ass antagonists in a generic ass setting with generic ass mechanics.
//it will probably go unplayed and I'll open up "Dead Island 3" instead.
 
2022-12-08 7:19:37 AM  

moothemagiccow: what the fark is days gone
can't anyone just name a game something normal
when has anyone ever said "Days gone" on its own
some of these american game titles put the bizarre japanese titles like Bravely Second or Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE to shame


Nothing tops the '90's.
/what's a "Syphon Filter" and what does it have to do with spycraft.
 
2022-12-08 8:06:01 AM  
Yes, it's the "woke people" who review bomb games, not gamergate incels mad about the shade of a characters skin texture.
 
2022-12-08 9:13:24 AM  
'Woke' is a term that originally referred to those aware of social injustices such as racism, sexism and all other forms of discrimination. In recent times, however, it's been adopted as a catch-all term by right-leaning people to refer to those who favour progressive political ideas.

No, it was originally "stay woke", and it was a cautionary warning in the Black community to be continuously alert to how the system was stacked against them. White progressives would later co-opt and redefine it to mean awareness of a broader spectrum of social injustices. Both mainstream usages of "woke" are distortions.
 
2022-12-08 10:36:30 AM  
We need a sequel to Sleeping Dogs ASAP and can ignore days gone until then
 
2022-12-08 10:55:29 AM  
The game supposedly sold 8 million copies and he's biatching about it? People are dumb.
 
2022-12-08 12:52:30 PM  

portnoyd: The game supposedly sold 8 million copies and he's biatching about it? People are dumb.


well yes people are dumb for buying it, I suppose. He's singularly dumb for complaining about its reception though.
 
2022-12-08 3:05:29 PM  
He's right though. It's been famously difficult to find a game with a gruff white guy protagonist these days. Oh no wait. There have been like five in the last week.

Moron.
 
2022-12-08 5:10:07 PM  
It was... fine. My complaints were that the story was boring, the last act came outta nowhere just as it felt like the plot was wrapping up and it was the most generic of zombie plots, and the different camps became unimportant halfway into the game.

That said, I did enjoy riding around exploring places and shooting zombies. Outside of the story and it's bland protagonist, it was fun. I think the game would have been better if it had dropped the plot and gone procedurally generated. You're a biker and you keep driving from town to town, camp to camp, trying to stay alive. Every stop you make, you'd make a new friend, but you can't stay for long, just turn around you're gone again. Maybe tomorrow, you'll be able to settle down. Until tomorrow, you'll have to keep moving on.

/ would probably have been turned into an MMO if they went that direction
 
2022-12-08 7:37:19 PM  
I remember thinking it was technically sound and still the concept of BIKER GANG VS ZOMBIES is fun but overall the whole deal was fairly bland
 
2022-12-09 12:36:09 AM  
Yeah this guy is an idiot.

The game was ok, just ok, and quite frankly the 7/10 that he is whining about was generous.

As for the "waaah no-one likes my protagonist because he stares at his girlfriend's arse,"  Well you are right about the protagonist being terrible, but it had nothing to do with butt ogling.

Actually the only time the protagonist wasn't a complete arsehole was in about 50% of his interactions with his love interest.  Everyone else he treated like crap and should have been shot in the face long before the zombies even showed up.

It was the worst case of a "I'm the lead character so everything I do must be better than everyone else and always right, regardless of how ridiculous that is and how many people I screw over to get my selfish goals." Mary Sue I have seen in a game for a long time.

If you haven't played the game, imagine Steven Seagal writing himself as a biker fighting zombies.
 
Displayed 36 of 36 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.