Skip to content
Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Me)   Any Farkers have an opinion on the not-yet-released wowcube? I'm considering preordering one for my (8 year old) grandson. Preorder $300, otherwise $350   (wowcube.com) divider line
    More: Interesting, WOWCUBE  
•       •       •

453 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 26 Sep 2022 at 5:20 PM (10 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



41 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2022-09-26 4:55:04 PM  
This seems like it's cool. But, I don't want it to be an expensive paperweight. Any thoughts, Farkers? The link goes to wowcube.
 
2022-09-26 4:57:05 PM  
ih1.redbubble.netView Full Size
 
2022-09-26 4:58:25 PM  
WOW.

CUBE!
 
jbc [TotalFark]
2022-09-26 5:05:09 PM  
Truth is Cubic. Time is Cubic... Life is Cubic.... Form is Cubic.. Family is Cubic.. Village is Cubic.. Evil is cubeless. Self is cubeless. God is cubeless. Language is a human invention of an evil cubeless singularity.
 
2022-09-26 5:09:03 PM  
While waiting for real, useful responses, I'll join in on the fun.

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-09-26 5:10:27 PM  
That's a lot of scratch for what amounts to 2/3 of a Rubik's cube.
 
2022-09-26 5:10:31 PM  
Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

WOWCube Review - $300?! What are they thinking?!?
Youtube Ju4tbZLX5QU
 
2022-09-26 5:12:17 PM  

Marcus Aurelius: That's a lot of scratch for what amounts to 2/3 of a Rubik's cube.


bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[Youtube-video https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU]


You're both giving me what I need. The hard truth. Thanks.
 
2022-09-26 5:13:21 PM  
Looks... gimmicky.

It could be the next Wii, or it could be the next Ouya.  Given that it doesn't have Nintendo level marketing behind it, I would assume the latter.  Still might be fun, but don't expect many games to be developed other than the ones it ships with unless it takes off.
 
2022-09-26 5:13:21 PM  

bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[iFrame https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU?autoplay=1&widget_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fark.com&start=0&enablejsapi=1&origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fark.com&widgetid=1]


I'm watching right now 😁
 
2022-09-26 5:14:13 PM  
 
2022-09-26 5:17:42 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-09-26 5:24:20 PM  
looks like a gofundme scam vaporware situation
 
2022-09-26 5:24:58 PM  
I don't need this, I have log.

It's big, it's heavy, it's wood.

It's better than bad, it's good.
 
2022-09-26 5:25:16 PM  
Don't preorder anything.  For any reason.  Ever.

Other than that, have fun man.
 
2022-09-26 5:33:42 PM  
Tell them you write for the prestigious FARK Tech and Entertainment Guide and get them to send you a freebie review unit.

If at any point it resembles the Lament Configuration, set it down and walk away.
 
2022-09-26 5:36:18 PM  

bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[Youtube-video https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU]


I just finished watching the review. Totally not worth $300. Done.
 
2022-09-26 5:39:59 PM  

Grumpy Cat: bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[Youtube-video https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU]

I just finished watching the review. Totally not worth $300. Done.


Yeah, I dunno, I watched that same video and I'd spend $350 for that on an xmas present (if I knew any 8 year olds)
 
2022-09-26 5:42:49 PM  
I had never heard of this product until this thread, and I spend a lot of time on the internet.
 
2022-09-26 5:45:07 PM  
Honestly, the grandkid is pissing me off. He's such a brat, sometimes. I was originally just going to buy him joke gifts like snake in a can and stuff like that for Christmas. Or, a piece of fake coal. But, of course, I'd feel bad if I didn't get him something really fun, as well. Too bad this wasn't $100. Maybe I would have gotten for him. If he didn't like it, I'd use it.
 
2022-09-26 5:56:59 PM  

kudayta: Grumpy Cat: bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[Youtube-video https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU]

I just finished watching the review. Totally not worth $300. Done.

Yeah, I dunno, I watched that same video and I'd spend $350 for that on an xmas present (if I knew any 8 year olds)


I see potential in this. But, for me, it seems a bit much now.
 
2022-09-26 6:01:45 PM  
An 8 year old would be much happier with a switch and some games for $350, or $350 in switch games or whatever the console they have.

My 7 year old would have this turned into a pile of $350 worth of broken plastic before Christmas dinner.
 
2022-09-26 6:16:42 PM  

Hooker with a Penis: An 8 year old would be much happier with a switch and some games for $350, or $350 in switch games or whatever the console they have.


A Switch Lite sells for $200 on the Nintendo website.
 
2022-09-26 6:19:08 PM  

Hooker with a Penis: My 7 year old would have this turned into a pile of $350 worth of broken plastic before Christmas dinner.


Speaking of which, what's the warranty?
 
2022-09-26 6:24:20 PM  

2wolves: Hooker with a Penis: My 7 year old would have this turned into a pile of $350 worth of broken plastic before Christmas dinner.

Speaking of which, what's the warranty?


Doesn't ship with one; it will be a DLC puzzle you have to download and solve before sending in any warranty claims. Due out Q2, 2023.
 
2022-09-26 6:27:01 PM  
Are you comfortable with him going 'neat' and playing with it for 20 minutes before finding something else to do and it winding up in a drawer somewhere and him occasionally being reminded to pull it out before grampa comes over?
 
2022-09-26 6:31:17 PM  

Grumpy Cat: This seems like it's cool. But, I don't want it to be an expensive paperweight. Any thoughts, Farkers? The link goes to wowcube.


Those games will give you 5 minutes of fun, after that it will be an expensive paperweight if the 8 year-old doesn't drop it first.
 
2022-09-26 6:44:10 PM  

bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[YouTube video: WOWCube Review - $300?! What are they thinking?!?]


It's too unrefined from what I could tell from that.

Just another thing that'll never have anymore apps too.
 
2022-09-26 6:44:52 PM  
This looks like one of those things that'd be awesome to have for an hour, and after that would probably be a paperweight or something.

And $350? Hahaha, no...
 
2022-09-26 8:52:41 PM  

bloobeary: Looks a bit overpriced. Also seems a little flaky, on the tech side of things.

[iFrame https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ju4tbZLX5QU?autoplay=1&widget_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fark.com&start=0&enablejsapi=1&origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.fark.com&widgetid=1]


Wow, it is even worse than I thought it would be.  Tiny high rez screens that you can play pipe dream on in a new way for only 300 dollars, awesome.
 
2022-09-26 9:07:51 PM  
I follow gaming closely.  I have never heard of this, and a design this wild should have gotten a lot of attention from the gaming news sphere just based on the design alone.
 
2022-09-26 9:52:48 PM  
I think it looks like an interesting novelty that isn't remotely worth the asking price. There simply isn't enough that you can do with it. It can play some variants on common puzzle games and that's about it.

I recently bought an Android-based portable media player for $80.

Fark user imageView Full Size


As an entertainment device I think it's a much better buy. It plays audio and video files plus streaming, has support for ebooks and plays a good assortment of Android games. The one negative with this is that it doesn't have the Google Play store installed and can't run it. I installed Aurora Store on it to access my Google Play library, which mostly works. Some apps use an authentication scheme that won't work without Google Play installed.
 
2022-09-26 9:57:53 PM  
I'm old and had admittedly never heard of it. But I am a parent of two boys who have spent their time with gaming and gadgets.

That being said, it appears to be way too much of a novelty and will likely sit there after a few uses.

I'd wait.
 
2022-09-26 10:42:26 PM  
Preordering anything is just begging to be scammed.
 
2022-09-26 11:41:17 PM  

2wolves: Hooker with a Penis: My 7 year old would have this turned into a pile of $350 worth of broken plastic before Christmas dinner.

Speaking of which, what's the warranty?


save yoself 50 clams and get a pair of boxing gloves
 
2022-09-27 1:56:30 AM  
Just buy legos
 
2022-09-27 9:49:35 AM  
If you eventually get it ....

And if it actually works....

He'll be bored with it later that same day.
 
2022-09-27 12:49:53 PM  

Grumpy Cat: This seems like it's cool. But, I don't want it to be an expensive paperweight. Any thoughts, Farkers? The link goes to wowcube.


Cut the subterfuge. You want this for yourself, don't you?
 
2022-09-27 2:14:13 PM  
Nah, go with the classics. Unicycle, jumping stilts, RC car/plane/helicopter, longboard, bow and arrow, mountain bike, paddle board, badminton set. All those and more could be had for the same price or less than that unproven cube thingy and they will get the kid to go outside.
 
2022-09-27 4:22:31 PM  

Nonpo: they will get the kid to go outside.


"and don't come in until it's dark."
 
2022-09-27 6:19:20 PM  

Nonpo: Nah, go with the classics. Unicycle, jumping stilts, RC car/plane/helicopter, longboard, bow and arrow, mountain bike, paddle board, badminton set. All those and more could be had for the same price or less than that unproven cube thingy and they will get the kid to go outside.


I've bought him a couple of those things you listed. I'm not a clueless person. This was something different. But, trust me. I'm not buying the wowcube.
 
Displayed 41 of 41 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.