Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Sci Tech Daily)   Can a telescope almost bring you to tears? We'll find out next week. Early reviews indicate it might   (scitechdaily.com) divider line
    More: Cool, Hubble Space Telescope, Big Bang, first images, Universe, James Webb Space Telescope, Redshift, Cosmic microwave background radiation, Dark matter  
•       •       •

4257 clicks; posted to Main » and STEM » on 05 Jul 2022 at 7:55 PM (5 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



55 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2022-07-05 7:57:40 PM  
I guess it depends how hard you bump into it.
 
2022-07-05 7:57:48 PM  
Don't overhype it... I swear to god at this point if the JWST doesn't cure cancer while discovering god has an anus then it's going to be a disappointment with the way some people are selling it.

Yes it should be amazing and way better than anything we ever had but it's just a fancy camera, let's keep expectations in the atmosphere so it can actually blow them away.
 
2022-07-05 7:59:51 PM  
Just in case, is Al Bean around to whack it with a hammer?
 
2022-07-05 7:59:55 PM  
I welcome the images with my whole heart.
 
2022-07-05 8:00:32 PM  
Well that  depends how hard you...

Lumber Jack Off: I guess it depends how hard you bump into it.


<damnit>
 
2022-07-05 8:02:32 PM  
Hubble made them rewrite the cosmology books. JWST will do the same.
 
2022-07-05 8:05:40 PM  

Best in this World: I welcome the images with my whole heart.


encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.comView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 8:06:12 PM  
I cried a little over the telescope subplot in Jupiter Ascending. They were tears of laughter, but that still counts, right?
 
2022-07-05 8:07:16 PM  
Radiative cooling sure is farking slow.
 
2022-07-05 8:07:57 PM  
Is it a smell-o-scope and I have to smell Uranus?  Or Urectum?
 
2022-07-05 8:08:06 PM  
i am very excited about this release.

i assume the only reason to withhold release is to shop out the aliens?
 
2022-07-05 8:08:14 PM  

fat boy: Best in this World: I welcome the images with my whole heart.

[encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com image 299x168]


People always seem to remember The Kentucky Fried Movie over that one.
 
2022-07-05 8:09:29 PM  
It really doesn't, because I have no sense of scale.  It could be 40 miles away, but instead it's 4 light years.  I can't make sense of that.  It looks really cool.
 
2022-07-05 8:10:44 PM  

keldaria: Don't overhype it... I swear to god at this point if the JWST doesn't cure cancer while discovering god has an anus then it's going to be a disappointment with the way some people are selling it.

Yes it should be amazing and way better than anything we ever had but it's just a fancy camera, let's keep expectations in the atmosphere so it can actually blow them away.


"Not only have we found life in other solar systems, we've managed to photograph them solar-bathing topless."
 
2022-07-05 8:11:40 PM  
I was tearing up a little at the launch, so... Probably?
 
2022-07-05 8:12:28 PM  
Just when I thought I had a handle on how small and insignificant I am, a bunch of nerds come along and rub it in.
 
2022-07-05 8:13:02 PM  

Circusdog320: Hubble made them rewrite the cosmology books. JWST will do the same.


Should have seen them before...


Fark user imageView Full Size


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 8:13:24 PM  

Circusdog320: Hubble made them rewrite the cosmology books. JWST will do the same.


what does hair and make-up have to do with it? oh. cosmetology. never mind.
 
2022-07-05 8:13:55 PM  
I only hope they can find some way to service the Hubble. The thought of having it burn up in the atmosphere is depressing.
 
2022-07-05 8:16:52 PM  

Lumber Jack Off: I guess it depends how hard you bump into it.


alchetron.comView Full Size


There were tears involved, I guarantee it.
 
2022-07-05 8:18:12 PM  
I'll let Bad Astronomer tell me how excited to get.  Though I fully expect that he'll have to do a reveal each month for a year.
 
2022-07-05 8:18:20 PM  

Toxophil: Lumber Jack Off: I guess it depends how hard you bump into it.

[alchetron.com image 432x281]

There were tears involved, I guarantee it.


And pink slips
 
2022-07-05 8:21:12 PM  

Glorious Golden Ass: keldaria: Don't overhype it... I swear to god at this point if the JWST doesn't cure cancer while discovering god has an anus then it's going to be a disappointment with the way some people are selling it.

Yes it should be amazing and way better than anything we ever had but it's just a fancy camera, let's keep expectations in the atmosphere so it can actually blow them away.

"Not only have we found life in other solar systems, we've managed to photograph them solar-bathing topless."


Fark user imageView Full Size


Great! Now if that doesn't happen I'm going to be disappointed for sure... common Captain Kirk, I wanna see Orion nipples.
 
2022-07-05 8:21:27 PM  

Pointy Tail of Satan: I only hope they can find some way to service the Hubble. The thought of having it burn up in the atmosphere is depressing.


It's a tool. It served It's purpose well, now it's obsolete. Celebrate it, don't mourn. As a craftsman, I get it, but it's all about perspective. Choose happiness.
 
2022-07-05 8:23:17 PM  

Omnivorous: I'll let Bad Astronomer tell me how excited to get.  Though I fully expect that he'll have to do a reveal each month for a year.


I trust Phil.
 
2022-07-05 8:37:09 PM  
James Webb Space Telescope (JWST)

Just the facts, ma'am.

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 8:52:17 PM  
Depends on if it's possessed by a small child?

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 8:57:05 PM  
Who cares? Dorks in a Star Trek costume that's who. Farking nerds.
 
2022-07-05 8:59:56 PM  

Lumber Jack Off: I guess it depends how hard you bump into it.


Hit it hard enough and you'll see stars.
 
2022-07-05 9:04:46 PM  
"We Apologise for the Inconvenience"
 
2022-07-05 9:19:19 PM  
Didn't the mirror get hit by a space rock a couple of weeks ago?
 
2022-07-05 9:23:57 PM  
I dunno about a telescope, but a smelloscope certainly can.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 9:24:19 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size



Bad but accurate graph.
 
2022-07-05 9:25:58 PM  

Circusdog320: Hubble made them rewrite the cosmology books. JWST will do the same.


Really both Hubbles forced them to rewrite cosmology.

/didn't even need to lead decades long purges of gay people either.
//fingers crossed, don't google
 
2022-07-05 9:26:23 PM  

Riche: Didn't the mirror get hit by a space rock a couple of weeks ago?


Yes.
 
2022-07-05 9:29:33 PM  

Mock26: Riche: Didn't the mirror get hit by a space rock a couple of weeks ago?

Yes.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-07-05 9:36:41 PM  

cryinoutloud: It really doesn't, because I have no sense of scale.  It could be 40 miles away, but instead it's 4 light years.  I can't make sense of that.  It looks really cool.


A billion billion Rhode Islands away.
 
2022-07-05 9:51:04 PM  

Pointy Tail of Satan: I only hope they can find some way to service the Hubble. The thought of having it burn up in the atmosphere is depressing.


Starship is large enough that if you remove the PV panels from Hubble, it can bring it back to Earth for overhaul. There is the question of putting all instrumentation in safe states.  Or as has been pointed out, you could swap it out with a scope over double the width and put Hubble in the Space museum.
 
2022-07-05 10:04:17 PM  
Rachet forward into the future. Baby steps then big boy steps..
 
2022-07-05 10:10:10 PM  

keldaria: Don't overhype it... I swear to god at this point if the JWST doesn't cure cancer while discovering god has an anus then it's going to be a disappointment with the way some people are selling it.

Yes it should be amazing and way better than anything we ever had but it's just a fancy camera, let's keep expectations in the atmosphere so it can actually blow them away.


wait till you see all the hidden mickeys
 
2022-07-05 11:13:05 PM  

natazha: Pointy Tail of Satan: I only hope they can find some way to service the Hubble. The thought of having it burn up in the atmosphere is depressing.

Starship is large enough that if you remove the PV panels from Hubble, it can bring it back to Earth for overhaul. There is the question of putting all instrumentation in safe states.  Or as has been pointed out, you could swap it out with a scope over double the width and put Hubble in the Space museum.


At which point they might as well launch a new one due to complexity, risk, and cost.

Oh wait, they did that last Christmas.
 
2022-07-05 11:15:09 PM  

keldaria: Don't overhype it... I swear to god at this point if the JWST doesn't cure cancer while discovering god has an anus then it's going to be a disappointment with the way some people are selling it.

Yes it should be amazing and way better than anything we ever had but it's just a fancy camera, let's keep expectations in the atmosphere so it can actually blow them away.


I'm gonna look at the pictures on my cellphone screen, just to make sure I get good color and resolution, and a real immersion experience.  I don't wanna mess up viewing this.
 
2022-07-05 11:24:40 PM  
I can't wait to see the pics!

I hope that seeing these pictures can show that if we can do what it takes to keep working together we can keep doing amazing things. Were 7.5 billion people on a tiny rock floating around in the endless universe, but when we work together we can do amazing things like per into the beginning of time.

And that is just simply amazing.
 
2022-07-05 11:40:27 PM  
I wish it were lights on the dark side of an exoplanet in the Goldilocks zone. I would scream to the religious zealots that we were never alone in the first place and that none of their books ever covered this obvious scenario. But, it's probably just some really awesome pics of galaxies and stars, and that will make me tear up, too. Yet another huge win for science. Rock on!
 
2022-07-05 11:47:29 PM  
I've gotten misty-eyed looking through my various scopes. The first time I saw M22 from a dark sky... spotting Neptune's moon Triton... catching billion-year-old light from the Corona Borealis Galaxy Cluster... if there are people who aren't moved by those things, I don't want to know them.
 
2022-07-05 11:50:29 PM  

FarkerMcFarkface: natazha: Pointy Tail of Satan: I only hope they can find some way to service the Hubble. The thought of having it burn up in the atmosphere is depressing.

Starship is large enough that if you remove the PV panels from Hubble, it can bring it back to Earth for overhaul. There is the question of putting all instrumentation in safe states.  Or as has been pointed out, you could swap it out with a scope over double the width and put Hubble in the Space museum.

At which point they might as well launch a new one due to complexity, risk, and cost.

Oh wait, they did that last Christmas.


Webb operates in a different part of the spectrum (with some overlap). It doesn't replace Hubble.
 
2022-07-06 12:11:50 AM  
Pointing it at the sun might do it.
 
2022-07-06 1:19:16 AM  
We can do some really cool shiat when we're not being farking idiots.
 
2022-07-06 1:22:43 AM  

Isitoveryet: i am very excited about this release.

i assume the only reason to withhold release is to shop out the aliens?


Catching all those neon signs can be tricky
 
2022-07-06 1:24:46 AM  

Zul the Magnificent: We can do some really cool shiat when we're not being farking idiots.


Humanity's motto
 
Displayed 50 of 55 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.