Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Major League Baseball)   Twins rookie pitcher makes MLB debut, but never throws a pitch   (mlb.com) divider line
    More: Weird, Major League Baseball, Yennier Cano, Wednesday evening, National League, Major League debut, strange twist, official record books, Baseball  
•       •       •

718 clicks; posted to Sports » on 12 May 2022 at 1:48 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



21 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2022-05-12 12:08:29 PM  
That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.
 
2022-05-12 1:36:53 PM  
He's gone 1-2-3 in two innings today.
 
2022-05-12 2:09:08 PM  
At least he wasn't injured. TFA made me feel really sorry for Larry Yount.

// also remembering Dustin Fowler, who debuted for the Yankees in 2017, got hurt chasing down a fly ball in the first inning, and went on the DL without even getting an at-bat. He did eventually get back to the majors, but not with the Yankees.
 
2022-05-12 2:12:11 PM  
isn't the rain delayed game on Thursday still part of Weds game?  So he did throw during his first game just 24 hours later?

/technically correct, the best kind of correct
 
2022-05-12 2:37:41 PM  
Yount took the mound on Sept. 15, 1971, for the Houston Astros but injured himself during his warmup pitches. He never appeared in a big league game again.

Oof, that has gotta hurt.
 
2022-05-12 2:39:10 PM  
Brian Mazone is jealous.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-05-12 2:49:25 PM  

dstanley: He's gone 1-2-3 in two innings today.


Got into a spot of trouble in his 3rd inning, though.
 
2022-05-12 3:02:20 PM  

SirDigbyChickenCaesar: isn't the rain delayed game on Thursday still part of Weds game?  So he did throw during his first game just 24 hours later?

/technically correct, the best kind of correct


Yes. According to the box score, any pitches he throws in the resumed game will have happened yesterday.
 
2022-05-12 3:15:47 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-05-12 3:37:43 PM  

ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]


"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."
 
2022-05-12 3:39:58 PM  

nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.


Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?
 
2022-05-12 4:18:21 PM  

buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."


Hey rookie, you were good!
 
2022-05-12 5:16:20 PM  

CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?


It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore
 
2022-05-12 5:34:51 PM  

Trainspotr: CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?

It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore


That doesn't really count.  The 2003 Tigers were a dumpster fire.

/Tigers fan
//It ain't much better now
///Slashies come in threes
 
2022-05-12 7:27:51 PM  

buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."


The scene in his office is a cinematic masterpiece.
 
2022-05-12 7:28:54 PM  

buckeyebrain: Trainspotr: CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?

It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore

That doesn't really count.  The 2003 Tigers were a dumpster fire.

/Tigers fan
//It ain't much better now
///Slashies come in threes


At least you got Miggie.
 
2022-05-12 7:42:16 PM  

Trainspotr: CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?

It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore


At least he has 0.1 inning pitched. I am trying to think of a way it could be possible to be the winning pitcher with 0 innings pitched. I don't think it is possible. The closest would be the starter going less than 5 innings with the lead, a reliever coming in and in but not getting an out, and the team going on to win. But that would pretty clearly be a brief and ineffective appearance so the win would go to the next effective pitcher.
 
2022-05-12 7:45:57 PM  

dywed88: Trainspotr: CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?

It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore

At least he has 0.1 inning pitched. I am trying to think of a way it could be possible to be the winning pitcher with 0 innings pitched. I don't think it is possible. The closest would be the starter going less than 5 innings with the lead, a reliever coming in and in but not getting an out, and the team going on to win. But that would pretty clearly be a brief and ineffective appearance so the win would go to the next effective pitcher.


I don't think it is possible, because an out has to end the inning so that his team can come to bat and take the lead.  The only situation where an out doesn't end the inning is a walk-off, and no way for a pitcher on the mound to get the win with that.
 
2022-05-12 8:27:23 PM  

buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."


hugram: buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."

Hey rookie, you were good!


My favorite thing about the movie vs. the book (if you haven't read it) is that in the book, Moonlight gets in games, gets at bats, gets hits, runs, etc.  But in the movie (at least what they show us) he DOES get to get a plate appearance and wink at the pitcher, like he wanted, but because the one plate appearance they show us is a sac fly, his official stat line is still 0 ABs.  I definitely felt that was either completely lucky editing, or somebody who knew a little baseball and making it more poignant.
 
2022-05-12 10:08:54 PM  

ToastmasterGeneral: buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."

hugram: buckeyebrain: ToastmasterGeneral: [Fark user image 300x168]

"I gotta go.  Alicia will begin to think I've got a girlfrend."

Hey rookie, you were good!

My favorite thing about the movie vs. the book (if you haven't read it) is that in the book, Moonlight gets in games, gets at bats, gets hits, runs, etc.  But in the movie (at least what they show us) he DOES get to get a plate appearance and wink at the pitcher, like he wanted, but because the one plate appearance they show us is a sac fly, his official stat line is still 0 ABs.  I definitely felt that was either completely lucky editing, or somebody who knew a little baseball and making it more poignant.


I haven't read the book and did not know that.  It does make the scene even more poignant now.
 
2022-05-12 10:58:58 PM  

buckeyebrain: dywed88: Trainspotr: CrosswordWithAPen: nmrsnr: That's worse than my guess, which was he took the mound as a reliever in the 9th with 2 outs and picked off someone on the bases.

At least that would have meant he did something other than have his name announced.

Has any pitcher ever recorded a win without throwing a pitch?  This scenario, with a tie score and the top of the 9th, could result in a W for the pitcher of record, though the pitcher never threw a single pitch.  That is if his team scores in the bottom of the 9th to win.
Has any game ended like this?

It wasn't in the 9th, but BJ Ryan won a game without a single pitch by picking off a runner to end the 7th inning. The Orioles took the lead in the 8th, Ryan was removed for Buddy Groom before the bottom of the 8th, and the O's ended up winning the game. Boxscore

At least he has 0.1 inning pitched. I am trying to think of a way it could be possible to be the winning pitcher with 0 innings pitched. I don't think it is possible. The closest would be the starter going less than 5 innings with the lead, a reliever coming in and in but not getting an out, and the team going on to win. But that would pretty clearly be a brief and ineffective appearance so the win would go to the next effective pitcher.

I don't think it is possible, because an out has to end the inning so that his team can come to bat and take the lead.  The only situation where an out doesn't end the inning is a walk-off, and no way for a pitcher on the mound to get the win with that.


Yeah, I was thinking some shenanigans where the starter was denied a win due to not going five innings, but the rule book seems to have that covered.

The craziest pitching decision that I want to see is the same pitcher both winning and losing a game. That is technically possible, a pitcher is on the mound for the third out of an inning in a tied game. The game then gets suspended with him the pitcher of record for his team. Before the game is resumed a trade sends him to the other team. In the resumed game, he takes the mound and gives up the go ahead run in the first half inning of the resumption.
 
Displayed 21 of 21 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.