Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Entrepreneur)   Small restaurant chain is shocked, SHOCKED, that a manager would require five star Google reviews for employees or be terminated. Farkers will be pleased to note this story has a happy ending- for the employees, that is. Hence the Ironic tag   (entrepreneur.com) divider line
    More: Ironic, New Jersey, Employment, T Hospitality Group, Tio's location, Chief Marketing Officer of Triple T, minimum number of five-star Google reviews, given review site, Tommy's Tavern  
•       •       •

1976 clicks; posted to Business » on 26 Jan 2022 at 11:04 PM (16 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



27 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2022-01-26 9:19:30 PM  
Jersey. 'nuff said.
 
2022-01-26 10:48:09 PM  
"We will have monthly Google review contests each month to promote health[y] competition. You must have a minimum of 15 reviews to qualify for the prizes. 1st place winner gets first pick out of five potential prizes and 2nd place gets to choose from the left-over prizes."

Second price is a set of steak knives.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-01-26 11:27:46 PM  
Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management
 
2022-01-26 11:38:41 PM  

My Second Fark Account: Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management


And they didn't notice the toxic management until it was posted on Reddit.

I call that Management By Reddit (MBR).
 
2022-01-26 11:50:33 PM  
As opposed to reddit's historical playbook, decision by media (DBM). Or other companies where the entire leadership is toxic anyway so just crash and burn.
 
2022-01-27 12:04:45 AM  
Best Buy used to make all employees sign up for the free trial for MSN.
 
2022-01-27 12:43:29 AM  

TedCruz'sCrazyDad: My Second Fark Account: Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management

And they didn't notice the toxic management until it was posted on Reddit.

I call that Management By Reddit (MBR).


When you get right down to it, it's slightly better than no management at all.  Slightly
 
2022-01-27 12:46:26 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2022-01-27 12:53:34 AM  

TedCruz'sCrazyDad: My Second Fark Account: Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management

And they didn't notice the toxic management until it was posted on Reddit.

I call that Management By Reddit (MBR).



One suspects that this wasn't the first red flag from this manager, but that's just speculation. With regard to this particular farkup, the off-site owners literally didn't have an opportunity to act before the reddit posting; the employee chose to immediately contact reddit rather than corporate. The policy was disavowed the same day it was posted, and the manager fired the next day. Often management has to be embarrassed into grudgingly doing the right thing after trying everything else, but that doesn't sound like it's what happened here.
 
2022-01-27 12:54:06 AM  
Before becoming head writer/editor at my last full time job with a luxury retailer, one of my first tasks was to write 2,000 online product reviews as customers. I crafted lives about newlyweds whose parents bought them a Sub-Zero/Wolf kitchen or a recent law school grad who spoiled themselves with an induction cooktop after making associate at a large firm.

Screw this amateur hour bullshiat.
 
2022-01-27 1:11:00 AM  
"In the restaurant business, we're not firing anyone, we're still trying to hire people," ...
Both the general and assistant manager who admitted that they posted the policy were fired following the incident.


Okay, we're not firing anyone... else.
 
2022-01-27 1:42:11 AM  

Madman drummers bummers: "In the restaurant business, we're not firing anyone, we're still trying to hire people," ...
Both the general and assistant manager who admitted that they posted the policy were fired following the incident.

Okay, we're not firing anyone... else.


... today.
 
2022-01-27 3:05:47 AM  
c.tenor.comView Full Size
 
2022-01-27 6:25:09 AM  
Just for the record, this is what every customer service etity that asks you to do a survey does.

Anything less than 90 percent can make their pay go down or lose a bonus/ h Ave a smaller bonus. It doesn't matter if the survey is scored more as an indictment on the company as a whole, the csr rep gets screwed.
 
2022-01-27 6:25:59 AM  
"Every service employee for FOH is required to get a minimum of 5 Google reviews per month to remain employed at the Edison location starting February 2022. The review must include your first name and five stars in order to count,

Why do I think whoever typed this out didn't think their cunning plan through.
 
2022-01-27 7:15:23 AM  

Carter Pewterschmidt: "We will have monthly Google review contests each month to promote health[y] competition. You must have a minimum of 15 reviews to qualify for the prizes. 1st place winner gets first pick out of five potential prizes and 2nd place gets to choose from the left-over prizes."

Second price is a set of steak knives.
[Fark user image 742x555]


ALWAYS BE WRAPPING SILVERWARE!!
 
2022-01-27 8:39:23 AM  

My Second Fark Account: Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management


I am not convinced that this was not ultimately the fault of owners with unachievable expectations.  I am not going to jump on the bandwagon of bad reviews because this could be just a single toxic manager but it could also be a toxic company in general and this was just a lazy manager.
 
2022-01-27 8:50:35 AM  
Wait. They're requiring a 5 star review before they can terminate employees? Or they're terminating some program that involves giving their employees 5 star reviews?
 
2022-01-27 9:01:39 AM  
"You must have a minimum of 15 reviews to qualify for the prizes. 1st place winner gets first pick out of five potential prizes and 2nd place gets to choose from the left-over prizes.""

Third prize is you're fired.

miro.medium.comView Full Size
 
2022-01-27 9:01:57 AM  

hoodiowithtudio: Just for the record, this is what every customer service etity that asks you to do a survey does.

Anything less than 90 percent can make their pay go down or lose a bonus/ h Ave a smaller bonus. It doesn't matter if the survey is scored more as an indictment on the company as a whole, the csr rep gets screwed.


That shiat's stupid. I go to a restaurant to eat something that I don't want to cook or don't have the time or aptitude, sometimes for a social event (but the latter hasn't been a thing in the past few years of course). I don't go out so i can write performance reviews for people, especially not if I have to go download more apps just to do it. Just give me my chipotle chicken nuggets and I'll give you $4.95 and we'll call it good.
 
2022-01-27 11:13:35 AM  

sensitive yet dangerous: hoodiowithtudio: Just for the record, this is what every customer service etity that asks you to do a survey does.

Anything less than 90 percent can make their pay go down or lose a bonus/ h Ave a smaller bonus. It doesn't matter if the survey is scored more as an indictment on the company as a whole, the csr rep gets screwed.

That shiat's stupid. I go to a restaurant to eat something that I don't want to cook or don't have the time or aptitude, sometimes for a social event (but the latter hasn't been a thing in the past few years of course). I don't go out so i can write performance reviews for people, especially not if I have to go download more apps just to do it. Just give me my chipotle chicken nuggets and I'll give you $4.95 and we'll call it good.


"We don't need to bring ink and paper into this."
 
2022-01-27 1:04:44 PM  

My Second Fark Account: Good on the owners for doing the right thing and getting rid of toxic management


I wonder if manager knows google has all the porning hes been doing online??
 
2022-01-27 1:05:24 PM  

ongbok: Best Buy used to make all employees sign up for the free trial for MSN.


Better to gather your data with my dear....
 
2022-01-27 1:06:40 PM  

Ragin' Asian: Before becoming head writer/editor at my last full time job with a luxury retailer, one of my first tasks was to write 2,000 online product reviews as customers. I crafted lives about newlyweds whose parents bought them a Sub-Zero/Wolf kitchen or a recent law school grad who spoiled themselves with an induction cooktop after making associate at a large firm.

Screw this amateur hour bullshiat.


Enough to make a movie with i bet!
 
2022-01-27 1:07:48 PM  
A few weeks ago, I counted how many survey requests, popup asking for input, etc I got over the course of a week.

57.

If someone wants to match my salary, I'll become a full-time reviewer.
 
2022-01-27 1:07:57 PM  

hoodiowithtudio: Just for the record, this is what every customer service etity that asks you to do a survey does.

Anything less than 90 percent can make their pay go down or lose a bonus/ h Ave a smaller bonus. It doesn't matter if the survey is scored more as an indictment on the company as a whole, the csr rep gets screwed.


The customer always cums second.

The lazy sit at home stock owners cum first.
 
2022-01-27 1:08:48 PM  

hoodiowithtudio: Just for the record, this is what every customer service etity that asks you to do a survey does.

Anything less than 90 percent can make their pay go down or lose a bonus/ h Ave a smaller bonus. It doesn't matter if the survey is scored more as an indictment on the company as a whole, the csr rep gets screwed.


Employees get facials
 
Displayed 27 of 27 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.