Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(WRCB)   Dirty dishes marked as clean, bulk food products not covered, food stored on the floor, dirty areas throughout, bugs crawling around everywhere, will still get you a passing grade for a Chattanooga restaurant inspection   (wrcbtv.com) divider line
    More: Facepalm, Copyright, All rights reserved, Privacy, Tropical cyclone, EEO Reports, Public file, Privacy Policy, Weather  
•       •       •

500 clicks; posted to Food » on 09 Dec 2021 at 9:35 AM (5 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



23 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-12-09 9:43:09 AM  
I assumed it would be Popeyes
 
2021-12-09 9:46:04 AM  
CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  It was next to a little bayou and was subject to the critters and bugs therein.  One day, in the middle of the night, the burglar alarm went off.  When the cops showed up, the shined a light in one of the large front windows and saw a bunch of rats milling around one of the buffet tables.  One of the trays had not been cleaned out and the rats were congregated enough to set off motion detectors.

The restaurant was cited and locked.  This made local news for days.  It was the talk of the town.  Local radio stations were constantly making jokes about it.  For a month, the owners went to work corrected the many violations.  At one point, there was a gigantic tent over the entire restaurant for days.  When it re-opened, under the same ownership, there was over an hour wait for lunch with a line out the door.  Everyone figured it would be the cleanest restaurant in town.

/And they were probably correct.
 
2021-12-09 9:52:20 AM  
The best barbecue place in St. Pete, before it gentrified, was Big Tim's.  Big Tim was known to deal drugs, so it probably got its start as a good money laundering project.  Anyway, it was great barbecue, but absolutely filthy.  The top of the soda machine was covered in dead bugs and so were most of the window sills.  I think they closed shortly after I moved away, but eating there made me tolerate filth a little better.
 
2021-12-09 9:56:57 AM  
Basil Fawlty would be proud. All they need is a Siberian hamster.
 
2021-12-09 10:01:35 AM  
Remember, if you have a question about a restaurant, hotel, pool or gym -- call your local health department.

...why? I mean, you just gave a restaurant with dirty dishes, exposed dry goods, & live bugs a passing grade... what are you gonna do, exactly?
 
2021-12-09 10:06:10 AM  
"Almost" closed?

I can't think of a part of the country I want to stay further away from.
 
2021-12-09 10:09:51 AM  
Well, 73 is still a C, right?
 
2021-12-09 10:46:17 AM  

FormlessOne: Remember, if you have a question about a restaurant, hotel, pool or gym -- call your local health department.

...why? I mean, you just gave a restaurant with dirty dishes, exposed dry goods, & live bugs a passing grade... what are you gonna do, exactly?


To be fair, my question is "what the fark is wrong w/ you assholes?" That's a question worth asking over voice, not text.
 
2021-12-09 11:07:35 AM  

UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...


I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.
 
2021-12-09 11:31:46 AM  

justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.


A sister was executive steward for years at Westin hotels, and her purview included their restaurants.

She told me to never, EVER look into an Asian restaurant kitchen, for my own mental health.
 
2021-12-09 11:33:08 AM  
Obviously, the answer is to stop testing.  Then there would be no vermin spread disease or food poisoning from filthy restaurants.

/I am a very stable genius.
 
2021-12-09 11:36:51 AM  
Dirty dishes marked as clean, bulk food products not covered, food stored on the floor, dirty areas throughout, bugs crawling around everywhere... sounds like my first marriage!

I'm here all week folks, remember to tip your waitresses, just not my ex!
 
2021-12-09 12:04:03 PM  

Cafe Threads: justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.

A sister was executive steward for years at Westin hotels, and her purview included their restaurants.

She told me to never, EVER look into an Asian restaurant kitchen, for my own mental health.


Ah. That brings back memories of my visit to Hong Kong in the 90's. The little shops off from the main roads had awesome food. Just don't look around too closely!
 
2021-12-09 12:45:50 PM  

End_Of_Line: Cafe Threads: justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.

A sister was executive steward for years at Westin hotels, and her purview included their restaurants.

She told me to never, EVER look into an Asian restaurant kitchen, for my own mental health.

Ah. That brings back memories of my visit to Hong Kong in the 90's. The little shops off from the main roads had awesome food. Just don't look around too closely!


My job took me into a number of good old American restaurants that were just foul beyond belief.  I assume that every single restaurant is this way.
 
2021-12-09 2:23:21 PM  
WTF?  if i had been the inspector and had it been with in my power i would have shut the place down on the spot.
 
2021-12-09 2:54:57 PM  

FormlessOne: Remember, if you have a question about a restaurant, hotel, pool or gym -- call your local health department.

...why? I mean, you just gave a restaurant with dirty dishes, exposed dry goods, & live bugs a passing grade... what are you gonna do, exactly?


You should adopt smilies.

media2.avisen.dkView Full Size

Like in Denmark. There's no "just passed", its just smilies, which has to be posted at the entrance. Customers can see right away if it's happy smily, or concerned smily. A lot easier to deal with than Passed/Number.
 
2021-12-09 3:25:52 PM  

justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.


I once bussed tables at a Chinese restaurant in the 70s. I would bring back the big bowl of white rice that they set out on the table for each meal and when Grandma Ming was in the kitchen, she would scrape the uneaten rice back in the big pot.
 
2021-12-09 4:45:53 PM  

fsufan: justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.

I once bussed tables at a Chinese restaurant in the 70s. I would bring back the big bowl of white rice that they set out on the table for each meal and when Grandma Ming was in the kitchen, she would scrape the uneaten rice back in the big pot.


Given that Grandma Ming likely lived through the Great Famine on mice and barkbread, I'm inclined to cut her some slack.
 
2021-12-09 5:54:27 PM  
My local paper publishes the health inspection reports for local restaurants and it always makes for interesting reading. The best was when one joint got their water turned off but kept operating, and the entire report was item after item of "Dishes unclean to sight and touch DUE TO WATER BEING TURNED OFF" "Hand washing sink for employees unavailable DUE TO WATER BEING TURNED OFF".

I think they were still only found out of compliance and not shut down. Keep track of your local health inspections, and make your dining choices appropriately
 
2021-12-09 6:36:26 PM  

Cafe Threads: justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.

A sister was executive steward for years at Westin hotels, and her purview included their restaurants.

She told me to never, EVER look into an Asian restaurant kitchen, for my own mental health.


In high school I delivered for a Chinese restaurant. It was pretty common to see Lim cooking over the wok with a full cigarette's worth of ash hanging, and then the next second, no ash...
 
2021-12-09 7:46:28 PM  
Tennessee = Tehnastee


justanotherfarkinfarker: UberDave: CSB: In the 90s, in Shreveport, LA, there was a buffet restaurant called "Taste of China".  ...

I know this sounds wacest, but the most citations for health code violations per business I see are Chinese restaurants. I guess the old ways are hard to break.


I have to agree. The only time I got REAL food poisoning was from a Chinese place across the street from the burger joint I was managing. Phoenix Dragon = 3 days of peeing out of my butt with a 5 gallon bucket between my legs.
After I had recovered, I went over and talked with the owner, telling him of my expereince (stating that I didn't want anything other to inform him). He was in complete denial, but about a year later the health department locked his doors. Something about duck and chicken hanging sans refrigeration, things not dated/labeled, and an ecosystem thriving there.

I go to a lot of Asian stores, and there are some I won't even walk into to buy dried goods, because they stink so badly.
It's not wasist, it is reality.
For example, I won't eat anything my MIL makes unless it is deep fried... unless it has meat in it.
Why? I have seen her kitchen...
 
2021-12-09 9:20:16 PM  

Ketchuponsteak: FormlessOne: Remember, if you have a question about a restaurant, hotel, pool or gym -- call your local health department.

...why? I mean, you just gave a restaurant with dirty dishes, exposed dry goods, & live bugs a passing grade... what are you gonna do, exactly?

You should adopt smilies.

[media2.avisen.dk image 850x425]
Like in Denmark. There's no "just passed", its just smilies, which has to be posted at the entrance. Customers can see right away if it's happy smily, or concerned smily. A lot easier to deal with than Passed/Number.


image.shutterstock.comView Full Size
 
2021-12-10 7:35:50 AM  

Trocadero: Ketchuponsteak: FormlessOne: Remember, if you have a question about a restaurant, hotel, pool or gym -- call your local health department.

...why? I mean, you just gave a restaurant with dirty dishes, exposed dry goods, & live bugs a passing grade... what are you gonna do, exactly?

You should adopt smilies.

[media2.avisen.dk image 850x425]
Like in Denmark. There's no "just passed", its just smilies, which has to be posted at the entrance. Customers can see right away if it's happy smily, or concerned smily. A lot easier to deal with than Passed/Number.

[image.shutterstock.com image 298x280]


Indeed, it tells me more than a score of 79 and a lenghty review.
 
Displayed 23 of 23 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.