Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(SFGate)   Give your restaurant a generic name? Enjoy the flood of hate-reviews and screaming phone calls   (sfgate.com) divider line
    More: Followup, Police, new North Beach restaurant, Constable, Police officer, San Francisco Police Department, restaurant's Yelp page, North Beach Restaurant, Weekend  
•       •       •

6320 clicks; posted to Main » on 08 Dec 2021 at 1:30 AM (7 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



60 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2021-12-07 8:36:12 PM  
This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.
 
2021-12-07 8:47:04 PM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.


And, unfortunately because California Cops, there's a good chance the city will shutdown this restaurant in the next week or two.

I mean North Beach Restaurant, not the North Beach restaurant.
 
2021-12-07 8:52:42 PM  
the restaurant's general manager told KRON4 that they've been bombarded with hateful reviews and phone calls.

Those hateful reviewers are in for it now!  KRON4 has been alerted!

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-07 9:30:10 PM  
 FTFA    "It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.

[welcome_to_fark.jpg]
 
2021-12-07 9:36:23 PM  

Notabunny: FTFA    "It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.


Reporters really need to carry around a stack of business-card-sized printouts of

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-07 9:36:24 PM  
Derps gonna derp. Never looked up anything on Yelp. No reason to start.
 
2021-12-07 11:54:33 PM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.


Yeah.
 
2021-12-08 1:35:01 AM  
The Michael Bolton problem.
 
2021-12-08 1:43:38 AM  
So you're saying that MAGA people are uninformed hateful angry toddlers?  I don't know, seems like a stretch!
 
2021-12-08 1:44:40 AM  

wildcardjack: The Michael Bolton problem.


memegenerator.netView Full Size
 
2021-12-08 1:49:32 AM  
Long ago, the company I worked for had the same name as a company that sold subscription pills of various sorts.  Weight loss, hair gain, etc.  They were based in another country so we couldn't do much about it.  People would call us demanding we stop charging their credit cards.  Our receptionist was a saint and would patiently explain to them that they had the wrong place and gave them the correct contact info.  (The contact info that was on their packing slips, FFS.)  It was one of those shady setups where the company would sell them a month's supply for "only shipping and handling" then slip in the monthly subscription in the speedily-spoken fine print.  Then they'd jerk people around for a couple billing cycles when they tried to cancel the subscription.

Fast-forward a bit and we wanted to create a web site but this furrin' company had the domain name we wanted.  Yada, yada, yada, a couple bigwigs from that company flew in to negotiate a deal to sell us the domain name.  Spoiler alert:  We [allegedly] weren't gonna pay those shady pricks a penny for the name.  A sensible chuckle was had by all.
 
2021-12-08 1:52:16 AM  
My restaurant's name is spelled solely with non-printing characters.  We don't have to worry about yelp abuse, customers.
 
2021-12-08 1:55:40 AM  
I always think of Mike Judge talking about coming up with Boomhauer's voice by some dude who left an angry message on this voicemail about Beavis and Butthead, that was largely gibberish, except for 'Porky's Butthole'.

On another note, probably zero of all those 'bad reviews' were ever going to go there anyways.

Although the city shutting the place down is another.  You know, left wing tyranny getting in the way of business.
 
2021-12-08 1:58:44 AM  
People will now flood it with positive reviews, raving about the delicious bacon...
 
2021-12-08 1:58:51 AM  

BigNumber12: Notabunny: FTFA    "It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.

Reporters really need to carry around a stack of business-card-sized printouts of

[Fark user image 298x167]


Or, if they just want to show a video on their phones:

laugh harder
Youtube _n5E7feJHw0
 
2021-12-08 2:06:52 AM  

Lsherm: Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.

Yeah.


People that make this "argument" about both sides being bad are either dumber than a bag of hammers or disingenuous as hell. The long history of riots surrounding the ongoing systemic racism in America is awful, no doubt.  But they almost always follow events so egregious and blatantly racist that on the crowd level it becomes apparent that breaking shiat is the only way to get the rest of us to care.  And it works, because we are still talking about it.  It would be great if people gave a shiat without businesses going up in flames, but this is the country you voted for.  Maybe if some of the grievances were actually addressed it wouldn't come to riots, but that's a bridge to farking far for some people.

And on the other side of the argument, you put up.... people making fun of a politician.  farking brilliant.
 
2021-12-08 2:13:33 AM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-08 2:19:35 AM  
Wait, I thought that if you are for the cops you are supposed to be against cancel culture.  Did I miss a memo? Where should I place my outrage? JP Sears, where are you? I need your help and guidance.
 
2021-12-08 2:21:08 AM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.


You are the bottom.  Problem solved.
 
2021-12-08 3:02:45 AM  
This is not uncommon. Remember the chicken restaurant Huckabee was kicked out of? It was in MD and one in DC was threatened as was one in Canada.
 
2021-12-08 3:23:42 AM  
This is why Yelp reviews are about as useful as going to Facebook for medical advice.
 
2021-12-08 3:23:47 AM  
The owners of Jesse and Hilda are named Kristina and Rachel.

Explain that!
 
2021-12-08 3:34:42 AM  
Give your restaurant a generic name?


Carla: If this place is so hot, how come they can't think of a better name than "The Cafe"?
Diane: Oh, Carla, if you had any sense of style, you would know that a simple name connotes the very best of taste.
Norm: Hey, you're right about that, Diane. There's this joint out on Route One called "Eat". Don't miss it. It's great.
 
2021-12-08 3:47:14 AM  

Excelsior: wildcardjack: The Michael Bolton problem.

[memegenerator.net image 720x336]


FIFY

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-08 3:48:43 AM  
The bay area may very well be the most well educated large metro area on the planet. That said, we still have plenty of morons here, as this story shows. I suspect some (not all) of the bad reviews and phone calls are coming from outside the area. This story went national.
 
2021-12-08 4:14:19 AM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent.


So, all the time?
 
2021-12-08 4:35:20 AM  

PyroStock: Give your restaurant a generic name?


Carla: If this place is so hot, how come they can't think of a better name than "The Cafe"?
Diane: Oh, Carla, if you had any sense of style, you would know that a simple name connotes the very best of taste.
Norm: Hey, you're right about that, Diane. There's this joint out on Route One called "Eat". Don't miss it. It's great.


Heck, we had a restaurant locally that was actually named "EAT"
 
2021-12-08 4:56:42 AM  

Pextor: PyroStock: Give your restaurant a generic name?


Carla: If this place is so hot, how come they can't think of a better name than "The Cafe"?
Diane: Oh, Carla, if you had any sense of style, you would know that a simple name connotes the very best of taste.
Norm: Hey, you're right about that, Diane. There's this joint out on Route One called "Eat". Don't miss it. It's great.

Heck, we had a restaurant locally that was actually named "EAT"


The legend behind the name "Enid" for the little Oklahoma town my grandfather came from was that there was a diner there, with the word "Dine" in big letters facing both directions on the road through town. At some point a tornado blew through and knocked part of the sign down and, being in the middle of the Great Depression the owners couldn't afford to have the sign fixed. So the sign said "DINE" from the west side, and "ENID" from the east side, and the name just stuck.
 
433 [TotalFark]
2021-12-08 5:00:29 AM  

Pextor: Heck, we had a restaurant locally that was actually named "EAT"


Oh?  And how did they label the toilets?
 
2021-12-08 5:00:34 AM  

Gordon Bennett: This is what happens when the stupidest members of society are also the most belligerent. I remember a story on Fark a few years ago about a production of Julius Caesar in the park in New York. Their tradition was to depict Caesar as the current President. At the time it was Trump.

Trumpanzees responded to the news of their porcine god being mocked by sending death threats. To Shakespearean theatres all over North America.

The barrel has no bottom.


I got the impression that Antony was being sarcastic when he said Brutus was an honorable man, so doesn't make Trump kind of the tragic hero or something?
 
2021-12-08 5:23:57 AM  

433: Pextor: Heck, we had a restaurant locally that was actually named "EAT"

Oh?  And how did they label the toilets?


"Pointers" and "Setters".
 
2021-12-08 6:07:49 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-08 6:14:05 AM  

My Sober Alt: I got the impression that Antony was being sarcastic when he said Brutus was an honorable man, so doesn't make Trump kind of the tragic hero or something?


No sarcasm. He was an honourable man loyal to the people who was carrying out the tradition of his ancestor Lucius Junius Brutus who had overthrown the monarchy and established the Roman Republic centuries earlier. Brutus betrayed Caesar because Caesar threatened the Republic.
 
2021-12-08 6:46:28 AM  
Wait. So the restaurant now receiving the hate is directing people back to the place they meant to call?

This is all wrong. What a crummy city.
 
2021-12-08 7:11:42 AM  
I find it funny that these places who refuse service to cops because they feel "uncomfortable" quickly call for the cops whenever they get robbed or have an altercation with a customer.
 
2021-12-08 7:23:48 AM  
While Yelp put their disclaimer on the page about unusual activity, it also did nothing about all the 1 star fake reviews that dropped the rating of the place the morons have confused with another.  Google however doesn't seem to have allowed any fake reviews.
 
2021-12-08 7:28:55 AM  
FTA: "It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.

No, it's really, really, really not.
 
2021-12-08 7:30:24 AM  

skybird659: Never looked up anything on Yelp. No reason to start.


Where do you get your reviews? Google?
 
2021-12-08 7:34:40 AM  

Invalid Litter Dept: People that make this "argument" about both sides being bad are either dumber than a bag of hammers or disingenuous as hell.


Both sides are bad.

One side is just much worse.
 
2021-12-08 7:35:47 AM  

MythDragon: I find it funny that these places who refuse service to cops because they feel "uncomfortable" quickly call for the cops whenever they get robbed or have an altercation with a customer.


You can smell the self-righteousness from here.
 
2021-12-08 7:38:02 AM  

SimonElectric: Wait, I thought that if you are for the cops you are supposed to be against cancel culture.  Did I miss a memo? Where should I place my outrage? JP Sears, where are you? I need your help and guidance.


It's only Cancel Culture when the liberals do it.

When the GQP do it they consider it attacking commie traitors who hate America.
 
2021-12-08 8:11:11 AM  
Shouldn't pigs have to eat outside from the slop bucket anyways?
 
2021-12-08 8:16:07 AM  
The police have always been willing to harass anyone hey don't like.
 
2021-12-08 8:19:17 AM  
"It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.

Welcome to the 21st century and the age of the Internet.
 
2021-12-08 8:24:15 AM  
Can't they have one meal without a gun on their hips?
 
2021-12-08 8:51:42 AM  

Permanent Solutions For Permanent Problems: Invalid Litter Dept: People that make this "argument" about both sides being bad are either dumber than a bag of hammers or disingenuous as hell.

Both sides are bad.

One side is just much worse.


Yep.  They'll go back later and burn the building, if not the entire block down for reasons that have nothing to do with the restaurant itself.
 
2021-12-08 8:52:45 AM  

Mouser: MythDragon: I find it funny that these places who refuse service to cops because they feel "uncomfortable" quickly call for the cops whenever they get robbed or have an altercation with a customer.

You can smell the self-righteousness from here.


I think that's the restaurant cooks burning the food.
 
2021-12-08 9:10:09 AM  

jtown: Long ago, the company I worked for had the same name as a company that sold subscription pills of various sorts.  Weight loss, hair gain, etc.  They were based in another country so we couldn't do much about it.  People would call us demanding we stop charging their credit cards.  Our receptionist was a saint and would patiently explain to them that they had the wrong place and gave them the correct contact info.  (The contact info that was on their packing slips, FFS.)  It was one of those shady setups where the company would sell them a month's supply for "only shipping and handling" then slip in the monthly subscription in the speedily-spoken fine print.  Then they'd jerk people around for a couple billing cycles when they tried to cancel the subscription.

Fast-forward a bit and we wanted to create a web site but this furrin' company had the domain name we wanted.  Yada, yada, yada, a couple bigwigs from that company flew in to negotiate a deal to sell us the domain name.  Spoiler alert:  We [allegedly] weren't gonna pay those shady pricks a penny for the name.  A sensible chuckle was had by all.


Well, I guess it was your turn to waste their time then.
 
2021-12-08 9:12:06 AM  
FTA : "It's shocking that people don't read all of the information and just assume," she added.

It should not be, my experience is that even so called intelligent individuals do not bother verifying their information in most cases, and I have seen to many people stray way from the point or facts due to making an assumption and not looking back.
 
2021-12-08 9:20:10 AM  
Whats all this bullcrap about "people" being confused.  This was all done by the cops.
 
Displayed 50 of 60 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.