Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Some Guy)   Pillow Talk: Can anyone please recommend a good, soft pillow? Every time I read the 1-star reviews, I find myself back at square one. Any recommendations would be much appreciated   (goodhousekeeping.com) divider line
    More: Misc, Pillow, Mattress, supportive bed pillow, Tester notes, Bed, best pillow, Throw pillow, home testers  
•       •       •

183 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 04 Dec 2021 at 7:41 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



34 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-12-04 4:09:00 PM  
th.bing.comView Full Size


You said "any"....
 
2021-12-04 4:47:25 PM  

Billy Liar: [th.bing.com image 245x180]

You said "any"....


username checks out
 
2021-12-04 5:53:34 PM  
I love these. You'll think "HELL NO" when they puff up because they seem too hard.  But they conform beautifully and they are really soft.  Supportive, but soft.
 
2021-12-04 6:26:58 PM  
Bought some from a hotel I stayed at because they were amazing. IHG pillows. (I think you might have to be a hotel representative to buy them)

(International Hotel Group)

/The one in Denver
 
2021-12-04 6:41:04 PM  
So I remember hearing a talk radio segment about pillows and thinking it was hilarious that people would actually look for advice on buying them, and not just pick the most comfortable one available at the store.

I forget what point I'm trying to make other than this is in no way a bookmark for later reading.
 
2021-12-04 7:13:30 PM  
Goose down pillows. I have had my two for 18 years. So I bought two full size sized ones and then took out over half the down in each. I take them whenever I travel. It saves my neck that is farked from too much heavy lifting. If you like a fuller pillow then don't take out the down.
 
2021-12-04 7:22:35 PM  
I just spent two months living in hotels and my neck seemed okay with the pillows. The fancier ones I bought for home don't seem as nice now.
 
2021-12-04 7:27:34 PM  
Thanks for your suggestions, so far.

The funny thing is, I wrote this a couple of hours ago when I was at work. I saw it was going green, so I knew I'd get to it when I got home. I get home and there's an Amazon package for me. It included 2 pillows. I totally forgot that I ordered pillows already 🤦♀

Regardless, I may buy more pillows depending on what I read here.
 
2021-12-04 7:29:35 PM  
Walmart sells $5 pillows in two types: hard and soft.  For that price, buy one of each and switch off.
 
2021-12-04 8:04:45 PM  
I've heard good things about something called a MyPillow.
 
2021-12-04 8:31:19 PM  
I picked up a 2-pack of "cooling" pillows from Costco. I don't know the brand, but I think the package had a mylar look. Anyway, they don't like to stay inside my pillowcases, but they are super soft, actually cool, and generally wonderful. I bought two more sets for the kids' rooms and they love them, too.
 
2021-12-04 8:32:42 PM  
Last time I bought a pillow it was like a dollar at some discount store up the street. I guess it never occurred to me that people buy fancy ass bougie pillows until this thread.
 
2021-12-04 8:46:54 PM  
th.bing.comView Full Size

Age check.
 
2021-12-04 8:55:32 PM  
I just use one of those curved memory foam pillows. Works for me.
 
2021-12-04 9:07:37 PM  
About 20 years ago, I got tired of the Wal-Mart pillows I had breaking down on me after 6-8mos. Went to Bed Bath & Beyond and bought two $50 pillows that are filled with shredded foam (not memory foam) and have washable covers. They've lasted this long with zero issues and I wish I'd bought a couple more.
 
TWX [TotalFark]
2021-12-04 9:09:17 PM  
i.pinimg.comView Full Size
 
2021-12-04 9:29:03 PM  

Grumpy Cat: I totally forgot that I ordered pillows already


Oh...I see you got the memory eraser foam.
 
2021-12-04 9:52:48 PM  
I've had good luck just picking one in like the 30-50 dollar range at kohls.  I like a firmer pillow, but I think you can get something decent for anyone in that range.  If I was going to order one, I would go with onefreshpillow, just because they are like the opposite of mypillow.
 
2021-12-04 9:56:36 PM  

neongoats: Last time I bought a pillow it was like a dollar at some discount store up the street. I guess it never occurred to me that people buy fancy ass bougie pillows until this thread.


This. I get the $5 ones at target, if I need more, I get more. 

Generally speaking I don't like down pillows (I'm slightly allergic) and I haaaaate the foam ones that sort of force you into a particular position.
 
2021-12-04 10:09:21 PM  
My neck gets hella sore if I try to sleep with a normal pillow too much. Too much incline or something. I got one of those "adjustable" pillows where you can add or remove as much ultra-soft stuffing as you want. Reviews of it have headlines like "I FOUND IT! THIS IS THE ONE!" My reaction was similar.

/Can find and link the particular pillow if anyone wants.
 
2021-12-04 10:15:51 PM  
We just go to Macy's. A new pillow every 15 years whether we need one or not. (joke) I get a semi-firm foam pillow and get the dust-mite barrier, inner pillow case for my allergies.
 
2021-12-04 10:27:09 PM  
DETROIT RADIO: BACK IN THE DAY - ALAN ALMOND
Youtube sRTqK_8q_dk
 
2021-12-04 10:36:02 PM  

Grumpy Cat: Thanks for your suggestions, so far.

The funny thing is, I wrote this a couple of hours ago when I was at work. I saw it was going green, so I knew I'd get to it when I got home. I get home and there's an Amazon package for me. It included 2 pillows. I totally forgot that I ordered pillows already 🤦♀

Regardless, I may buy more pillows depending on what I read here.


if you don't mind, which did you buy?,
 
2021-12-04 10:41:36 PM  

neongoats: Last time I bought a pillow it was like a dollar at some discount store up the street. I guess it never occurred to me that people buy fancy ass bougie pillows until this thread.


Paying more than a dollar for a pillow is bougie?
 
2021-12-04 11:25:23 PM  

fat boy: Grumpy Cat: Thanks for your suggestions, so far.

The funny thing is, I wrote this a couple of hours ago when I was at work. I saw it was going green, so I knew I'd get to it when I got home. I get home and there's an Amazon package for me. It included 2 pillows. I totally forgot that I ordered pillows already 🤦♀

Regardless, I may buy more pillows depending on what I read here.

if you don't mind, which did you buy?,


Puredown Bedding Feather and Down Pillows, Superior Hotel Quality Pillows, 100% Cotton Cover, Standard Set of 2. ... We just got to bed. He took both pillows, so we'll see how it goes. I'll let you know tomorrow.
 
2021-12-04 11:31:45 PM  

Grumpy Cat: fat boy: Grumpy Cat: Thanks for your suggestions, so far.

The funny thing is, I wrote this a couple of hours ago when I was at work. I saw it was going green, so I knew I'd get to it when I got home. I get home and there's an Amazon package for me. It included 2 pillows. I totally forgot that I ordered pillows already 🤦♀

Regardless, I may buy more pillows depending on what I read here.

if you don't mind, which did you buy?,

Puredown Bedding Feather and Down Pillows, Superior Hotel Quality Pillows, 100% Cotton Cover, Standard Set of 2. ... We just got to bed. He took both pillows, so we'll see how it goes. I'll let you know tomorrow.


He gave me a pillow. I told him that I told Fark that he wouldn't share.

/my life is so stupid
 
2021-12-04 11:37:00 PM  
My other bit of advice: Follow the two XKCD rules of advice for online reviews:

This one's pretty self-explanatory-

Fark user imageView Full Size


This one teaches us not to focus too much on a small minority of bad reviews-

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-04 11:38:16 PM  

edmo: I just spent two months living in hotels and my neck seemed okay with the pillows. The fancier ones I bought for home don't seem as nice now.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-04 11:44:06 PM  
Do you sleep on your back or on your side?

The height of your pillow, once weighed down by your head, is important.
 
2021-12-05 8:02:35 AM  
I have made the switch to Japanese style cylindrical buckwheat pillows, and they don't get hot, they provide plenty of support, they are easy to shift around, you can sleep on them right under your head, or just under your neck, and they make for great back support if you're sitting in bed with a padded 'husband' pillow. They don't fill up a lot of space in bed either, which makes your bed feel YUGE.
 
2021-12-05 8:29:28 AM  
Our new pillows are decent. I'll need a couple of more nights to see if they continue to do the job. I think I'd give them 4 stars. FWIW.

In the meantime, thanks for everyone's input.
 
2021-12-05 1:54:54 PM  
I stayed at a Disney hotel and fell in love with the pillows because I didn't wake up with a sore neck for once.  Ordered the pillow https://sobelathome.com/collec​tions/ho​tel-quality-pillows/products/sahara-ni​ghts-pillow?variant=32059561410693 and it was waiting for me when I got home from my trip.  Still love this pillow over a year later.
 
2021-12-05 2:06:52 PM  

Fireproof: My other bit of advice: Follow the two XKCD rules of advice for online reviews:

This one's pretty self-explanatory-

[Fark user image image 425x441]

This one teaches us not to focus too much on a small minority of bad reviews-

[Fark user image image 425x139]


I always thought the way to order reviews is to order them as if they had one extra 1-star review.

It won't change the ranking of products that have 2000 reviews but it will absolutely sink the products that have 15 5-star reviews & nothing else.
 
2021-12-05 9:28:56 PM  

neongoats: Last time I bought a pillow it was like a dollar at some discount store up the street. I guess it never occurred to me that people buy fancy ass bougie pillows until this thread.


Do not be a prude and try a goose down pillow. It makes life so much better.
 
Displayed 34 of 34 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.