Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Gizmodo)   Microsoft Edge now has some opinions if you try to switch to Chrome   (gizmodo.com) divider line
    More: Silly, Web browser, Internet Explorer, Microsoft Edge, Google, Google Chrome, Usage share of web browsers, angry Edge users, software giant  
•       •       •

1614 clicks; posted to STEM » on 03 Dec 2021 at 5:05 AM (8 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



67 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2021-12-03 4:20:26 AM  
Edge was actually a good browser, until Microsoft decided to fill it with bloatware.
 
433 [TotalFark]
2021-12-03 4:54:39 AM  
It doesn't just have opinions, if your thingy came in S Mode it's simply not allowed at all.  Yes, you can disable that, but..

Edge is the worst when it comes to trying to sell you things.  It's constantly trying to monetize itself and that is infuriating.  I'll try and buy from Amazon and my very own browser tries to send me to Wal Mart or something.  I can set my own start page and it tells me to f*ck off and sends me to a page that is a hybrid of news and clickbait and sales pitches.

I use this machine for very little at all, or else I'd be launching into some other diatribe.
 
2021-12-03 4:58:19 AM  
A little google-fu will provide you with an option to install Chrome via powershell if you want to skip the UI melodrama, Rick and Morty memes.
 
2021-12-03 5:41:16 AM  
ABAB (All Browsers Are Bad).

And Google and Edge both piss me off because they both assume that every time I search I'm shopping.
 
2021-12-03 5:49:24 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-03 5:59:32 AM  

BafflerMeal: [Fark user image 497x376]


Is that Lynx? Ah, memories.
My work laptop keeps reverting to Edge as the default browser, and I doggedly keep changing it back. Screw you, Microsoft! I sold my soul to Google, and I'll pay that price for eternity, ant that' OK? I guess?
But I'm not about to double down. Fark you and fark Bing. I'll use your Winblows, but with a local login, and I wont sign up to give you all of my data.
Hell, you'll probably get it anyway, but this way at least you have to pay for it.
/Tiny fist!
 
2021-12-03 6:13:04 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-03 6:44:21 AM  
... with the added trust of Microsoft

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-12-03 6:44:31 AM  
But what does Clippy think?
 
2021-12-03 6:53:34 AM  
I did a factory reset on my Lenovo desktop recently and noticed several ways Microsoft tries to sell itself to the customer on a new installation. I did get some kind of warning message when I installed Chrome. I don't recall it being one of the three in the article but I remember feeling weird about it popping up.
 
2021-12-03 7:43:17 AM  
Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?
 
2021-12-03 7:45:16 AM  
I got a new laptop to make Edge go away.  No matter how I tried to disable it, it could still get through.
 
2021-12-03 7:47:27 AM  

entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?


You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.
 
2021-12-03 8:01:33 AM  

Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.


You have the option to not use Windows, it's equally as easy as not using Google.
 
2021-12-03 8:01:55 AM  

Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.


You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?
 
2021-12-03 8:02:15 AM  
external-content.duckduckgo.comView Full Size
 
2021-12-03 8:39:56 AM  
I remember when Microsoft embedded IE into Windows, and then tried to convince a judge that it couldn't possibly be removed.  You could see then how pathetic the Redmond gang was.
 
2021-12-03 8:41:07 AM  

entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?


You can't remove Edge from Windows.  And they are intentionally making it as difficult as they can to be able to use another browser.  You can remove any browser from Linux with one command, and install any other browser with one command on all the major distributions.
 
2021-12-03 8:45:53 AM  

entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?


If I change my default browser to Chrome on my Mac, the OS doesn't try to make me switch back to Safari. In fact, I can set everything to default to a different browser and OSX and Safari don't say boo.

In fact, when I launch Safari, it doesn't even ask if I want it as a default browser. I can't remember the last time it did so. Maybe when I first installed Firefox and Chrome, but not since.

Meanwhile, EVERYTHING defaults to Edge on a Windows box, and does so aggressively. I've had the OS switch my defaults without my permission, which has only happened on my OSX machine if the program no longer works (like it is 32 bit or needed the old PowerPC or (now) Intel CPU).
 
2021-12-03 9:04:32 AM  

Arkkuss: entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?

You can't remove Edge from Windows.  And they are intentionally making it as difficult as they can to be able to use another browser.  You can remove any browser from Linux with one command, and install any other browser with one command on all the major distributions.


I'm just imagining the outrage that would pour down if Windows shipped without a web browser.

And then if instead of only Edge, they shipped four or five and then the outrage about bloatware.
 
2021-12-03 9:07:44 AM  

brainlordmesomorph: [external-content.duckduckgo.com image 128x128]


Been running Linux on my personal machines since the 90s. Linux does everything I need my home PC to do, and it does it at least as well as Windows. Without the constant "updates", UI changes, and telemetry from Microsoft.

Linux Mint. It's free. You can try it out on a LiveDVD. Even better, do what I do when I'm trying it out on a new machine: pull the HDD with the existing OS on it. Install a new HDD and install Mint on it. If you don't like it, swap the drives and you're back where you started.
 
2021-12-03 9:15:14 AM  

Arkkuss: entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?

You can't remove Edge from Windows.  And they are intentionally making it as difficult as they can to be able to use another browser.  You can remove any browser from Linux with one command, and install any other browser with one command on all the major distributions.


And when you DO manage to force Windows to let you use another browser, you're only a Windows Update away from Microsoft shoving Edge back onto you desktop, requiring more time spent figuring out the additional bullshiat you have to deal with in order to make it go away.
 
2021-12-03 9:17:08 AM  

covfefe: You have the option to not use Windows


No, I don't

I'm a mobile tech who does vehicle module programming.  The software I use to make a living only runs under Windows

There are probably lots of Farkers who can say the same thing.
 
2021-12-03 9:18:02 AM  

Flowery Twats: brainlordmesomorph: [external-content.duckduckgo.com image 128x128]

Been running Linux on my personal machines since the 90s. Linux does everything I need my home PC to do, and it does it at least as well as Windows. Without the constant "updates", UI changes, and telemetry from Microsoft.

Linux Mint. It's free. You can try it out on a LiveDVD. Even better, do what I do when I'm trying it out on a new machine: pull the HDD with the existing OS on it. Install a new HDD and install Mint on it. If you don't like it, swap the drives and you're back where you started.


2015 was the Year for Linux on the Desktop for me.

When work demands windows apps, I spin up a vbox.
 
2021-12-03 9:22:39 AM  

Flowery Twats: brainlordmesomorph: [external-content.duckduckgo.com image 128x128]

Been running Linux on my personal machines since the 90s. Linux does everything I need my home PC to do, and it does it at least as well as Windows. Without the constant "updates", UI changes, and telemetry from Microsoft.

Linux Mint. It's free. You can try it out on a LiveDVD. Even better, do what I do when I'm trying it out on a new machine: pull the HDD with the existing OS on it. Install a new HDD and install Mint on it. If you don't like it, swap the drives and you're back where you started.


All this and more.
 
2021-12-03 9:36:15 AM  
I've been giving edge a try, and it does 95% of what I want out of a browser. The other 5% is extensions I need/want don't cooperate and also syncing passwords and tabs with my phone. I'm probably switching back, but I'm lazy

And these popups only appear when you go to install chrome, and would appear far less frequently than when you go to any google owned website and get their popup begging you to install chrome
 
2021-12-03 9:39:16 AM  

entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?


I've never had MacOS try to suggest I switch to Safari when I install, or use another browser.
I actually only have started to use Safari in the past few weeks, when they added the option to use private relay
 
2021-12-03 9:43:08 AM  

Gubbo: Arkkuss: entangl3d: Tyrone Slothrop: entangl3d: Is this really any different than Google begging me to switch to Chrome most times I visit their sites?

You have the option of not going to Google sites. If you're on Windows, you don't have the option of Edge not being installed.

You have the option of not using Edge as well. You can use Winget to install Chrome or Firefox on newer windows 10 and 11 and never even have to open it.

Do people complain when Macs come with Safari? Or most Linux with Firefox? Or is this just a Microsoft bad thing?

You can't remove Edge from Windows.  And they are intentionally making it as difficult as they can to be able to use another browser.  You can remove any browser from Linux with one command, and install any other browser with one command on all the major distributions.

I'm just imagining the outrage that would pour down if Windows shipped without a web browser.

And then if instead of only Edge, they shipped four or five and then the outrage about bloatware.


I don't think people are mad that Windows includes Edge. It's when Windows insists that you use Edge.
 
2021-12-03 9:45:31 AM  

Flowery Twats: brainlordmesomorph: [external-content.duckduckgo.com image 128x128]

Been running Linux on my personal machines since the 90s. Linux does everything I need my home PC to do, and it does it at least as well as Windows. Without the constant "updates", UI changes, and telemetry from Microsoft.

Linux Mint. It's free. You can try it out on a LiveDVD. Even better, do what I do when I'm trying it out on a new machine: pull the HDD with the existing OS on it. Install a new HDD and install Mint on it. If you don't like it, swap the drives and you're back where you started.


Mint used to be my top recommendation for Linux newbies and Linux-curious users but you can run into installation problems if you have brand new hardware. My Ryzen 5 5500u-based laptop had all sorts of trouble (no sound, no embedded GPU acceleration, no suspend, no wifi). Upgrading the kernel to 5.11 fixed some of the problems, but to get suspend working I had to go 3rd party for the kernel (needed 5.13 or newer). Not a biggie for an experienced user but for a new user? Forget that. I recommend Ubuntu Cinnamon 21.10. It gives the user an interface not too different from Windows without the hardware drama.
 
2021-12-03 9:58:35 AM  
Hopefully some lawyers get another lawsuit going against them and they get biatchslapped like last time. It wasn't the monetary penalties that MS hated but rather that they were forced to make it super easy to switch browsers. They're essentially in contempt of that ruling now.
 
2021-12-03 10:59:53 AM  
Why the fark would I want to install/use either of those browsers?
 
2021-12-03 11:03:40 AM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: I've never had MacOS try to suggest I switch to Safari when I install, or use another browser.
I actually only have started to use Safari in the past few weeks, when they added the option to use private relay


Apple doesn't need you to use Safari for them to gather data on you. The OS will provide Apple with all the information they need regardless of what browser you use.
 
2021-12-03 11:23:28 AM  

madgonad: Abe Vigoda's Ghost: I've never had MacOS try to suggest I switch to Safari when I install, or use another browser.
I actually only have started to use Safari in the past few weeks, when they added the option to use private relay

Apple doesn't need you to use Safari for them to gather data on you. The OS will provide Apple with all the information they need regardless of what browser you use.


Microsoft has tons of mandatory "telemetry" outside of the browser too.
 
2021-12-03 11:36:42 AM  

Unscratchable_Itch: ABAB (All Browsers Are Bad).

And Google and Edge both piss me off because they both assume that every time I search I'm shopping.


You do realize you can change the search provider within any browser, right?
 
2021-12-03 11:48:34 AM  

Russ1642: Hopefully some lawyers get another lawsuit going against them and they get biatchslapped like last time. It wasn't the monetary penalties that MS hated but rather that they were forced to make it super easy to switch browsers. They're essentially in contempt of that ruling now.


Are you talking about the DOJ antitrust lawsuit?  Because they barely got a slap on the wrist - all that was really accomplished by that lawsuit was that they had to open up their APIs.  They were still able to use their market clout to keep hardware manufacturers from installing a different operating system, they were still able to put IE on every single PC sold, and they didn't even have to pay anything!
 
2021-12-03 11:49:36 AM  

SoundOfOneHandWanking: Why the fark would I want to install/use either of those browsers?


You don't. But Edge is like that psycho ex who keeps knocking on your door uninvited at random times despite your insistence that they leave you the fark alone.
 
2021-12-03 11:51:13 AM  

Ivo Shandor: Microsoft has tons of mandatory "telemetry" outside of the browser too.


A corporate install solves that problem.
 
2021-12-03 11:57:05 AM  

madgonad: Ivo Shandor: Microsoft has tons of mandatory "telemetry" outside of the browser too.

A corporate install solves that problem.


Pay nearly $100 more to "disable" the "features" you don't want? No thanks.
 
2021-12-03 11:58:44 AM  

pheelix: madgonad: Ivo Shandor: Microsoft has tons of mandatory "telemetry" outside of the browser too.

A corporate install solves that problem.

Pay nearly $100 more to "disable" the "features" you don't want? No thanks.


The install is paid for by an old employer. Lifetime corporate Windows!!!

/only 1 license though
 
2021-12-03 12:00:04 PM  

433: It doesn't just have opinions, if your thingy came in S Mode it's simply not allowed at all.  Yes, you can disable that, but..

Edge is the worst when it comes to trying to sell you things.  It's constantly trying to monetize itself and that is infuriating.  I'll try and buy from Amazon and my very own browser tries to send me to Wal Mart or something.  I can set my own start page and it tells me to f*ck off and sends me to a page that is a hybrid of news and clickbait and sales pitches.

I use this machine for very little at all, or else I'd be launching into some other diatribe.


Well it's pretty easy to understand when you realize that most giant corporations including Microsoft are more like a swarm of bees than a single organism. The guy in charge of Edge, MSN and other stuff has budget numbers to meet and he doesn't have a worldwide newsroom and MS sold off much of its ad function to AOL and Yahoo! years and years ago. So they're constantly cooking up ideas to make Edge grow and to make MSN profitable. His choices are to fail to meet his numbers and lose his cushy job, or to do the stuff you're talking about.

The big companies with a singular creative force (e.g. Apple with Steve Jobs) are very much the exception. Jobs looked at every product to make sure it made sense to him. He didn't say, for example, Apple doesn't need to make a wifi hub or an ethernet cable (!!!) for its newest laptops because someone else will do it, he recognized that some products can be less profitable because they build brand equity.

You could use Linux and "free" software but then there's even less central control. Your UI will not be polished by the best people in the business (Apple and Google generally have very good UI people) and if shiat doesn't work, too bad. Write a patch and hope it gets accepted.
 
2021-12-03 12:01:19 PM  

ProbablyDrunk: Unscratchable_Itch: ABAB (All Browsers Are Bad).

And Google and Edge both piss me off because they both assume that every time I search I'm shopping.

You do realize you can change the search provider within any browser, right?


^^^This

I primarily use duckduckgo but I've been trying Brave search too.  I like them both.
 
2021-12-03 12:19:39 PM  

stevesporn2000: 433: It doesn't just have opinions, if your thingy came in S Mode it's simply not allowed at all.  Yes, you can disable that, but..

Edge is the worst when it comes to trying to sell you things.  It's constantly trying to monetize itself and that is infuriating.  I'll try and buy from Amazon and my very own browser tries to send me to Wal Mart or something.  I can set my own start page and it tells me to f*ck off and sends me to a page that is a hybrid of news and clickbait and sales pitches.

I use this machine for very little at all, or else I'd be launching into some other diatribe.

Well it's pretty easy to understand when you realize that most giant corporations including Microsoft are more like a swarm of bees than a single organism. The guy in charge of Edge, MSN and other stuff has budget numbers to meet and he doesn't have a worldwide newsroom and MS sold off much of its ad function to AOL and Yahoo! years and years ago. So they're constantly cooking up ideas to make Edge grow and to make MSN profitable. His choices are to fail to meet his numbers and lose his cushy job, or to do the stuff you're talking about.

The big companies with a singular creative force (e.g. Apple with Steve Jobs) are very much the exception. Jobs looked at every product to make sure it made sense to him. He didn't say, for example, Apple doesn't need to make a wifi hub or an ethernet cable (!!!) for its newest laptops because someone else will do it, he recognized that some products can be less profitable because they build brand equity.

You could use Linux and "free" software but then there's even less central control. Your UI will not be polished by the best people in the business (Apple and Google generally have very good UI people) and if shiat doesn't work, too bad. Write a patch and hope it gets accepted.


I'll accept a little less polish for not having an OS built around spying on everything I do.  BTW, I use KDE Plasma on Ubuntu and love it.
 
2021-12-03 12:42:17 PM  

EvilEgg: Edge was actually a good browser, until Microsoft decided to fill it with bloatware.


Once you accept that both MS and google are about bloatware and control of its users you move on.

It can be hard but you move on and eventually never miss it.
 
2021-12-03 12:54:00 PM  

luidprand: If I change my default browser to Chrome on my Mac, the OS doesn't try to make me switch back to Safari. In fact, I can set everything to default to a different browser and OSX and Safari don't say boo.


On iPhones and iPads you are forced to use Safari.

You may think you're using Chrome, Firefox etc but Apple actually requires them to use Safari's browser and put a skin on top that looks like Chrome, Firefox etc. And Apple keep the latest and fastest tech for themselves.

Why do Apple get a pass for this when Microsoft get criticism? Apple only let you change the default browser on iOS and iPadOS a year ago.
 
2021-12-03 12:59:09 PM  
Hey Edge,
c.tenor.comView Full Size
 
2021-12-03 1:03:13 PM  
Every time I log in on my PC, Edge opens. I close it and go on with the Avast browser (which feels a lot like the Opera.browser). Microsoft started opening something else that I have to close first. At this point, I figure there's something nefarious going on which only increases my resolve to use something other than Edge.
 
2021-12-03 1:09:37 PM  

Morchella: Every time I log in on my PC, Edge opens. I close it and go on with the Avast browser


So you are closing edge and then launching a browser from a company that got caught selling its users browsing history to third party customers?

https://fortune.com/2020/02/12/free-antivirus-software-avast-selling-user-browsing-histories/
 
2021-12-03 1:09:41 PM  

Carter Pewterschmidt: You may think you're using Chrome, Firefox etc but Apple actually requires them to use Safari's browser and put a skin on top that looks like Chrome, Firefox etc. And Apple keep the latest and fastest tech for themselves.


Does that extend to using DuckDuckGo on my iPhone?
 
2021-12-03 1:11:13 PM  

Morchella: Does that extend to using DuckDuckGo on my iPhone?


Yes everything on IOS that displays web results must use Safari's engine. So in essence you can only safari on IOS.
 
2021-12-03 1:26:53 PM  
I really should switch back to Firefox now that they've improved everything from their few shiat years, but we get "addicted" to our browsers and save all sorts of shiat in them and never know if everything will port and just seems like a hassle.

/yes I know Chrome has all sorts of issues
//I am already finely tuned to the Googlesphere so might as well just give them everything
 
Displayed 50 of 67 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.