Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(YouTube)   Finally, Doug DeMuro gets a chance to review what is quite possibly the most quirk-filled quirky car in the existence of quirkiness: The Fiat Multipla   (youtube.com) divider line
    More: Amusing  
•       •       •

673 clicks; posted to STEM » on 20 Jul 2021 at 4:10 PM (12 days ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



39 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-07-20 4:43:32 PM  
media1.tenor.comView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 5:04:51 PM  
Dude, stop waving your arms around.  And maybe cut back on the caffeine.
 
2021-07-20 5:14:34 PM  
If you set out to design the ugliest car ever you still wouldn't come as close as this.
 
2021-07-20 5:19:01 PM  
I tried to watch the video, I really did. That guy yaked about how excited he was well into the four minute mark, waving his hands like he was trying to take off. There's a threshold of 'farking annoying' that he crossed somewhere, but it was BEFORE he even started reviewing the car.
 
2021-07-20 5:52:17 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 6:06:21 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
Homeboy is Quagmire on Speed in real life.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 6:24:40 PM  
THIS...
 
2021-07-20 6:27:30 PM  
That may be considered extremely quirky for an Italian car, but it doesn't even rate normal levels of quirky for a French one.
Those people make some bizarre farking cars.
 
2021-07-20 6:37:01 PM  
i.imgflip.comView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:00:04 PM  

Russ1642: If you set out to design the ugliest car ever you still wouldn't come as close as this.


It's his schtick. It's his brand.
 
2021-07-20 7:00:45 PM  

Russ1642: If you set out to design the ugliest car ever you still wouldn't come as close as this.


media.wired.comView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:03:36 PM  

Dryad: That may be considered extremely quirky for an Italian car, but it doesn't even rate normal levels of quirky for a French one.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:14:17 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size


Fark user imageView Full Size


Separated in the production line parking lot.
 
2021-07-20 7:16:09 PM  
mrmopar5287:

Awesome
 
2021-07-20 7:16:47 PM  

Russ1642: If you set out to design the ugliest car ever you still wouldn't come as close as this.


[Pontiac Aztec running a close second place]
 
2021-07-20 7:18:03 PM  

dallylamma: [Fark user image 850x902]Homeboy is Quagmire on Speed in real life.



He's an unseen, unheard NPC in American Truck Simulator.  I get the feeling Cars & Bids was originally supposed to be DeMuro Cars, which is what his dealership is called in ATS (with 3 locations in Utah).  It was introduced in ATS not long before Doug announced his online car dealership site thing.
 
2021-07-20 7:19:03 PM  

mrmopar5287: Dryad: That may be considered extremely quirky for an Italian car, but it doesn't even rate normal levels of quirky for a French one.

[Fark user image 850x425]


hips.hearstapps.comView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:20:02 PM  

mrmopar5287: Russ1642: If you set out to design the ugliest car ever you still wouldn't come as close as this.

[Pontiac Aztec running a close second place]


Eeeh, the Aztec was farking weird looking when it first came out but it was about a decade ahead of its time.  Look at cars now and there's a shocking number of them that look like a discount Aztec, with less features than a stripped Aztec.
 
2021-07-20 7:24:01 PM  
I do have to say, I love how Doug is apparently reviewing a Chinese or British version of the car. Fiat is based on The Continent, so their primary market is LHD. Somehow, Doug has a RHD version of one of the weirdest cars made. He managed to find a weird car subset of a weird car.
 
2021-07-20 7:30:29 PM  

mrmopar5287: I do have to say, I love how Doug is apparently reviewing a Chinese or British version of the car. Fiat is based on The Continent, so their primary market is LHD. Somehow, Doug has a RHD version of one of the weirdest cars made. He managed to find a weird car subset of a weird car.


The first ones are are nearing 25 years old, so under current rules you can soon legally import one from the UK if you like.
UK spec will not only get you LHD, but the UK-only ELX package with the funky twin sunroofs and weird-ass shiny upholstery.
 
2021-07-20 7:31:29 PM  

Baloo Uriza: Eeeh, the Aztec was farking weird looking when it first came out


Aztek was an example of how a great auto show car ("That looks awesome! I would buy one if they made it!) got chopped and channeled by bean counters to make it to regular production, and it became less of a car.

The Aztek concept had typical show car things: large wheels and some flashy trim that might not make it to production. If you put large wheels on lots of cars, it makes them look better, but those wheels aren't always carried over to production in past years. Take a look at the concept:

Fark user imageView Full Size


Not terrible. I've seen worse. Clean the wheels up a bit to make them traditional, fix the grill so it doesn't have the extra holes in the hood (and narrow it a bit), and then do some minimal changes to tighten up the sides of the car.

Instead, it's like GM looked at the Isuzo VehiCROSS and carried things over from that. Plastic side panels, plastic wheel arches, and the wheels on the production version were obviously smaller (were they 15" or did they even go as small as 14"?) The result was a production vehicle that didn't look so great when compared to the concept.

Was this the car that destroyed Pontiac? I'm a little bit fuzzy on GM history during that era. I'm thinking this was like that Billy Squire video that was the one thing that destroyed his career. Did the Aztek put Pontiac into the crusher during the GM bankruptcy?
 
2021-07-20 7:31:33 PM  

mrmopar5287: Dryad: That may be considered extremely quirky for an Italian car, but it doesn't even rate normal levels of quirky for a French one.

[Fark user image 850x425]


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:32:09 PM  

Dryad: UK spec will not only get you LHD


You mean RHD?
 
2021-07-20 7:33:52 PM  

Dryad: mrmopar5287: Dryad: That may be considered extremely quirky for an Italian car, but it doesn't even rate normal levels of quirky for a French one.

[Fark user image 850x425]

[Fark user image 850x566]


These Mitsubishi EVs are notably present in my city, due to a push to make the twin cities the first "EV Town" with chargers everywhere. It didn't work.

upload.wikimedia.orgView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 7:34:11 PM  

mrmopar5287: Dryad: UK spec will not only get you LHD

You mean RHD?


Yes.
 
2021-07-20 8:02:10 PM  
The behind-the-scenes story by the owner from his Yugo episode is pretty damn funny

/always love how Doug will enthusiastically gush about a car for half an hour
//then the Doug Score at the end will be like "12/100 it was okay"
 
zez
2021-07-20 8:21:11 PM  
that looks like a normal car compared to one from the 60s

lh3.googleusercontent.comView Full Size


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 8:32:36 PM  
static.themoscowtimes.comView Full Size
 
2021-07-20 8:46:54 PM  

KingBiefWhistle: /always love how Doug will enthusiastically gush about a car for half an hour
//then the Doug Score at the end will be like "12/100 it was okay"


It's a logarithmic scale. 12/100 is a "good" score.
 
2021-07-20 9:39:45 PM  

mrmopar5287: Baloo Uriza: Eeeh, the Aztec was farking weird looking when it first came out

Aztek was an example of how a great auto show car ("That looks awesome! I would buy one if they made it!) got chopped and channeled by bean counters to make it to regular production, and it became less of a car.

The Aztek concept had typical show car things: large wheels and some flashy trim that might not make it to production. If you put large wheels on lots of cars, it makes them look better, but those wheels aren't always carried over to production in past years. Take a look at the concept:

[Fark user image 850x566]

Not terrible. I've seen worse. Clean the wheels up a bit to make them traditional, fix the grill so it doesn't have the extra holes in the hood (and narrow it a bit), and then do some minimal changes to tighten up the sides of the car.

Instead, it's like GM looked at the Isuzo VehiCROSS and carried things over from that. Plastic side panels, plastic wheel arches, and the wheels on the production version were obviously smaller (were they 15" or did they even go as small as 14"?) The result was a production vehicle that didn't look so great when compared to the concept.

Was this the car that destroyed Pontiac? I'm a little bit fuzzy on GM history during that era. I'm thinking this was like that Billy Squire video that was the one thing that destroyed his career. Did the Aztek put Pontiac into the crusher during the GM bankruptcy?


I dunno, it still looks like they squared off a Buick Rendezvous to fit more features into it.  Which is what they did.

It wasn't the car that destroyed Pontiac.  Far from it, it was Pontiac's last, best hope at redemption, because look at the rest of that lineup.  The Grand Am, which started as a personal luxury car and closest competition to the Thunderbird in 1973, and by the late 1990s was a cost-reduced, two door version of the Chevy Malibu with shiatty styling, and by its sixth and final generation, the brand was so damaged that they called it the G6 and couldn't give the damn things away.  The Firebird was long gone, a fun car but the whole pony car moment was already 20 years gone by the mid-2000s when they finally axed it.  They tried to introduce a badge engineered dustbuster van and tried to make it sound exciting with that western theme ad campaign they did for it, and named it after some mostly empty part of the American west they tend to do when they know they have a total dud on their hands (they did the same thing to the Cadillac Cimarron).

So, I get why they did it, they were trying to go back to personal luxury roots, but for a new generation that likes to get out of the city but still doesn't want to own two cars, or maybe even replace their existing one if they had kids.  So they packed a Rendezvous with as much tech and gadgets as they could cheaply muster while keeping it below the Buick sticker price, gave it vaguely desert southwest design elements and called it a Pontiac.  After all, the Nissan X-Terra and the Toyota FJ Cruiser were popular and had a lot of outdoor shiat packed in during its early years, GM thought they could get in on the action.  The X-Terra was becoming another Rav4 knockoff and the FJ Cruiser turned out to be the worst thing Toyota unleashed on US shores since the Toyopet Corona.  It seemed like a slam dunk given that context.
 
2021-07-20 9:47:12 PM  

mrmopar5287: These Mitsubishi EVs are notably present in my city, due to a push to make the twin cities the first "EV Town" with chargers everywhere. It didn't work.


I think a bigger part of it not working is this truth.

Fark user imageView Full Size


Less pollution's great, but people want less traffic more.  For that you need to build sidewalks, cycleways and good transit.  You know, make it so you can safely get around no matter how young or old, drunk or sober you are.
 
2021-07-20 10:08:47 PM  
Oh lord, that guy is annoying.

I made it in about 6 minutes, and I was done.
 
2021-07-20 10:43:57 PM  

Baloo Uriza: mrmopar5287: These Mitsubishi EVs are notably present in my city, due to a push to make the twin cities the first "EV Town" with chargers everywhere. It didn't work.

I think a bigger part of it not working is this truth.

[Fark user image 850x478]

Less pollution's great, but people want less traffic more.  For that you need to build sidewalks, cycleways and good transit.  You know, make it so you can safely get around no matter how young or old, drunk or sober you are.


Fixing that is going to take a massive revolution in how this country views and treats public transportation and that shiat ain't gonna happen because poor people must be punished for being poor
 
2021-07-21 1:08:15 AM  

zez: that looks like a normal car compared to one from the 60s

[lh3.googleusercontent.com image 480x360]

[Fark user image image 585x393]


God help the people up front in a head-on collision.
 
2021-07-21 1:17:05 AM  
The host is worse than the car, and the car is awful.
 
2021-07-21 1:20:26 AM  
Just left the thread and realised who the guy reminds me of. The yelling screaming, excited YouTubers that my girlfriend's sister's kids watch non-stop. They're all about toys and/or just shiatty early 20 guys doing stupid things and yelling non-stop about them.

This guy should be reviewing expensive kids toys and not cars, I couldn't finish the video.
 
2021-07-21 9:54:20 AM  

KingBiefWhistle: Baloo Uriza: mrmopar5287: These Mitsubishi EVs are notably present in my city, due to a push to make the twin cities the first "EV Town" with chargers everywhere. It didn't work.

I think a bigger part of it not working is this truth.

[Fark user image 850x478]

Less pollution's great, but people want less traffic more.  For that you need to build sidewalks, cycleways and good transit.  You know, make it so you can safely get around no matter how young or old, drunk or sober you are.

Fixing that is going to take a massive revolution in how this country views and treats public transportation and that shiat ain't gonna happen because poor people must be punished for being poor


Doesn't even need to be public transit.  Just moving parking minimums from motorists spaces to bicycle spaces, and possibly instituting parking maximums (given how many parking lots sit with huge swaths empty even on the busiest shopping days really shows how much excess space we paved over for literally zero utility) and getting complete streets would do a lot of the heavy lifting.  Give people ways to travel without a car.  It's bad enough taking literally any step shifts mode usage right now.
 
2021-07-21 9:57:33 AM  

dyhchong: Just left the thread and realised who the guy reminds me of. The yelling screaming, excited YouTubers that my girlfriend's sister's kids watch non-stop. They're all about toys and/or just shiatty early 20 guys doing stupid things and yelling non-stop about them.

This guy should be reviewing expensive kids toys and not cars, I couldn't finish the video.


I think we've reached the point where we can only be entertained by the insane.
 
2021-07-21 10:54:55 AM  
Doug DeMuro
4.09M subscribers

Stats
Joined 11 Sept 2013
1,383,072,221 views
 
Displayed 39 of 39 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.