Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Boston Globe)   Two week outage of vehicle inspection software has Massachusetts officials very concerned about (a) safety, (b) pollution, or (c) revenue   (bostonglobe.com) divider line
    More: Obvious, Automobile, Week-day names, Massachusetts vehicle inspection stations, Applus Technologies, Vehicle, inspection stations, Attack, Inspection  
•       •       •

532 clicks; posted to Politics » on 17 Apr 2021 at 1:26 PM (3 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



37 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-04-17 10:16:20 AM  
(d) income lost by local garages that do inspections

but sure subby, make it look like the state just wants its fees...
 
2021-04-17 11:06:53 AM  
(e) IT guy working from home, stoned out of his mind.
 
2021-04-17 11:36:58 AM  

Dead for Tax Reasons: (d) income lost by local garages that do inspections

but sure subby, make it look like the state just wants its fees...


Living in a state that doesn't have vehicle inspections, I really wish my state had vehicle inspections.  The unsafe or obnoxious aftermarket mods, the jalopies, bald tires, broken lights, etc...
 
2021-04-17 1:35:36 PM  

ShavedOrangutan: Dead for Tax Reasons: (d) income lost by local garages that do inspections

but sure subby, make it look like the state just wants its fees...

Living in a state that doesn't have vehicle inspections, I really wish my state had vehicle inspections.  The unsafe or obnoxious aftermarket mods, the jalopies, bald tires, broken lights, etc...


It doesn't really fix all that.  People will fix their shiat long enough for the inspection then change it back to the way it was.  This is particularly eye-twitching for the people that drive the newest Ford with all the add-ons but insist on blowing black smoke everywhere.

/I'm looking at you, Texas
 
2021-04-17 1:38:24 PM  
It's a mandatory yearly inspection. Everyone will need to get it done eventually. There's no revenue loss, it's just delayed.
 
2021-04-17 1:43:05 PM  

soopey: It's a mandatory yearly inspection. Everyone will need to get it done eventually. There's no revenue loss, it's just delayed.


The garages that just do these inspections are hurting. They already took lumps this time last year when the state extended inspection deadlines so this is just compounding it.
 
2021-04-17 1:52:35 PM  
Gotta tax those poor!
 
2021-04-17 1:54:23 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-04-17 1:55:57 PM  

Thenixon: soopey: It's a mandatory yearly inspection. Everyone will need to get it done eventually. There's no revenue loss, it's just delayed.

The garages that just do these inspections are hurting. They already took lumps this time last year when the state extended inspection deadlines so this is just compounding it.


That I sympathize with. Mortgage payments don't wait and inspections do drive work for the shop.
 
2021-04-17 2:00:05 PM  
Inspections basically just screw over poor people anyway. We got rid of them decades ago and I don't think anyone misses them except the shops who would always find something that needed to be fixed.
 
2021-04-17 2:01:58 PM  
We should pass laws such that if states have insecure network structures, the state must return 50% of total taxes collected for that year.  I bet they never have an insecure network ever again.
 
2021-04-17 2:02:33 PM  
But I do miss full-service stations. They'd check all of your fluid levels, belts, hoses, etc. and clean your windshield while filling up the tank. Sure, you'd pay an additional twenty cents per gallon, or whatever, but I enjoyed the convenience. I wonder why those went away?
 
2021-04-17 2:08:41 PM  

ShavedOrangutan: Dead for Tax Reasons: (d) income lost by local garages that do inspections

but sure subby, make it look like the state just wants its fees...

Living in a state that doesn't have vehicle inspections, I really wish my state had vehicle inspections.  The unsafe or obnoxious aftermarket mods, the jalopies, bald tires, broken lights, etc...


As a person with the philosophy that I'll run a car into the ground before selling it, I have plenty of jalopies that look bad but are mechanically sound.

Also no inspections in my state, and I'm fine with that.  I would love to see a federal law though where tires had something like a thick yellow or orange layer of rubber as a wear marker.  For highway safety, people running around on balding tires is an issue, and a once-a-year inspection isn't going to catch many of them.
 
2021-04-17 2:12:09 PM  
Cars should be taxed out of existence.
 
2021-04-17 2:13:44 PM  

majestic: But I do miss full-service stations. They'd check all of your fluid levels, belts, hoses, etc. and clean your windshield while filling up the tank. Sure, you'd pay an additional twenty cents per gallon, or whatever, but I enjoyed the convenience. I wonder why those went away?


I know! Nowadays it's "pump it yourself", "exact change only", and "America, PTUI!". - Robin Williams (I think).
 
2021-04-17 2:18:39 PM  

Summoner101: t doesn't really fix all that. People will fix their shiat long enough for the inspection then change it back to the way it was.


are people really going to get new(er) tires and then put the bald ones back on?  or for brake pads that are grinding on the backing plate?  replace a broken blinker then unfix it?

there maybe a few diehard cheapskates or 'you can't tell me what to do" people, but most don't want the hassle required to get away with it.  and the shiatty people will just find a shop that will sign off on anything if they know them or slip them a few bucks
 
2021-04-17 2:22:05 PM  

soopey: It's a mandatory yearly inspection. Everyone will need to get it done eventually. There's no revenue loss, it's just delayed.


Ya, same thing happen in MD with Emissions Inspections, they delayed it a year because of Covid, then when I got it done last week I see that my next inspection is next January.....not two years from now, but as if I was the one requesting the extension.
 
2021-04-17 2:26:44 PM  
I find this to be strange.  Here in NJ, inspection is the only car expense that is totally free.

Gotta pay for your license every few years.  Gotta pay for registration every year.  But inspection is totally, drive up, get inspected, drive away.

Is it different in Mass?  Do you have to pay?
 
2021-04-17 2:37:51 PM  

durbnpoisn: I find this to be strange.  Here in NJ, inspection is the only car expense that is totally free.

Gotta pay for your license every few years.  Gotta pay for registration every year.  But inspection is totally, drive up, get inspected, drive away.

Is it different in Mass?  Do you have to pay?


Yup.
 
2021-04-17 2:40:07 PM  

Dead for Tax Reasons: Summoner101: t doesn't really fix all that. People will fix their shiat long enough for the inspection then change it back to the way it was.

are people really going to get new(er) tires and then put the bald ones back on?  or for brake pads that are grinding on the backing plate?  replace a broken blinker then unfix it?

there maybe a few diehard cheapskates or 'you can't tell me what to do" people, but most don't want the hassle required to get away with it.  and the shiatty people will just find a shop that will sign off on anything if they know them or slip them a few bucks


His version of what happens is for states that run emissions inspections (do have the tax & grift network in place with "$afety" inspections) and people who modify their truck exhaust. They take the particulate filters and EGR equipment off because it basically destroys diesel engines long before they would normally wear out. The equipment is put in place for an annual or biannual emissions inspection or whatever, and then it's taken off and the delete stuff is put back in place.
 
2021-04-17 2:40:37 PM  

durbnpoisn: Here in NJ, inspection is the only car expense that is totally free.


You pay for it with higher taxes.
 
2021-04-17 2:46:03 PM  

mrmopar5287: Dead for Tax Reasons: Summoner101: t doesn't really fix all that. People will fix their shiat long enough for the inspection then change it back to the way it was.

are people really going to get new(er) tires and then put the bald ones back on?  or for brake pads that are grinding on the backing plate?  replace a broken blinker then unfix it?

there maybe a few diehard cheapskates or 'you can't tell me what to do" people, but most don't want the hassle required to get away with it.  and the shiatty people will just find a shop that will sign off on anything if they know them or slip them a few bucks

His version of what happens is for states that run emissions inspections (do have the tax & grift network in place with "$afety" inspections) and people who modify their truck exhaust. They take the particulate filters and EGR equipment off because it basically destroys diesel engines long before they would normally wear out. The equipment is put in place for an annual or biannual emissions inspection or whatever, and then it's taken off and the delete stuff is put back in place.


so that falls under the category of easier to find a place that will fake it for you
 
2021-04-17 2:56:23 PM  

Dead for Tax Reasons: mrmopar5287: Dead for Tax Reasons: Summoner101: t doesn't really fix all that. People will fix their shiat long enough for the inspection then change it back to the way it was.

are people really going to get new(er) tires and then put the bald ones back on?  or for brake pads that are grinding on the backing plate?  replace a broken blinker then unfix it?

there maybe a few diehard cheapskates or 'you can't tell me what to do" people, but most don't want the hassle required to get away with it.  and the shiatty people will just find a shop that will sign off on anything if they know them or slip them a few bucks

His version of what happens is for states that run emissions inspections (do have the tax & grift network in place with "$afety" inspections) and people who modify their truck exhaust. They take the particulate filters and EGR equipment off because it basically destroys diesel engines long before they would normally wear out. The equipment is put in place for an annual or biannual emissions inspection or whatever, and then it's taken off and the delete stuff is put back in place.

so that falls under the category of easier to find a place that will fake it for you


If it's a state with emissions inspections, that involves plugging it into a computer for an OBD check. You have to have the OEM equipment in place, functioning, and on the truck long enough for the self-diagnostics to go over that everything is working and return an "OK" report on everything when it's plugged into the computers at the emissions check places (usually run by the state). Once that is done, you can drive the truck straight home to take it all off and put the bypass/delete equipment back in place for however long your inspection lasts. A year, maybe two.
 
2021-04-17 3:04:14 PM  

AmbassadorBooze: We should pass laws such that if states have insecure network structures, the state must return 50% of total taxes collected for that year.  I bet they never have an insecure network ever again.


They will though.  Every state will get hit once, with an insecure network existing between the time the law is passed and the time someone gets in and no one is able to get a cover story out.  Then they won't have the money to fix the problem.
 
2021-04-17 3:29:43 PM  
That's right little subby!

Governments use vehicle and traffic regulations both to improve road safety, and to produce revenue! It makes a lot of sense, because penalties like jail time are usually too harsh for minor vehicle and traffic infractions, but fines can be proportionally calibrated to deter violations without punishing too severely!

States then use the money collected from fines to finance their operations, because setting it on fire would be as moronic as your typical libertarian who thinks this common sense arrangement is somehow "corrupt!"

Good for you for figuring that out! You're just about ready for big boy britches!
 
2021-04-17 3:33:35 PM  
Wicked hahsh take, subtahd!
 
2021-04-17 4:15:29 PM  
1. Long ago and far away, California once planned inspection stations and built them throughout the State. One was located near the Ventura Pier in along Highway 1, built of concrete blocks. As far as I know, it never opened. This was circa 1978. Every now and then, I can spot one of the remaining from the ubiquitous design. I don't know why the sudden spurt of building them nor why they were almost immediately abandoned. Their history is a mystery.

2. I spent about a  year total in Texas or 3 different occasions (San Angelo and Corpus Christi). I had Texans tell me there were State Vehicle Inspection Stations but I never had to go to one (Illinois Plates during my Military Service). I liked the idea, from what I heard, that one of the requirements was to adjust headlamps for proper lighting and keep them out of the eyes of oncoming drivers (a bane in California even though, if you buy a headlight, every chain parts store will install and adjust for free in my experience, just ask). In CA we have biannual inspections for license plate tag (if the plate ends in an odd number or a letter, it's done in an odd year; otherwise, even numbers in an even year, simple enough), but that is only for emissions, not for safety. Safety should be part of the inspections: tire tread, headlights, etc...).
 
2021-04-17 4:21:43 PM  

Thenixon: soopey: It's a mandatory yearly inspection. Everyone will need to get it done eventually. There's no revenue loss, it's just delayed.

The garages that just do these inspections are hurting. They already took lumps this time last year when the state extended inspection deadlines so this is just compounding it.


For most shops here in NS, the inspections are are money losers.  It takes roughly an hour to do an inspection including wheel removal for brake pad/shoe inspection (and drum removal if drum brakes, good luck getting those off up here), but costs only $25.48.    You really have to find some costly repairs to do to average out to a win considering an average billable repair rate of ~$100 an hour.   Hell it's worth it to do an MVI because you're doing your own brakes and you encounter  drums which you can't get off.  $25.48 for drum removal? :)
 
2021-04-17 4:29:21 PM  

durbnpoisn: I find this to be strange.  Here in NJ, inspection is the only car expense that is totally free.

Gotta pay for your license every few years.  Gotta pay for registration every year.  But inspection is totally, drive up, get inspected, drive away.

Is it different in Mass?  Do you have to pay?


$35 for a car, $15 for a motorcycle.
Registration is every 2 years for a car, $60, every year for a motorcycle $20.

License is every 5 years, $50

Plus yearly excise tax and mandatory car insurance.
 
2021-04-17 6:17:53 PM  
As someone who's car is 4 months past inspection, I'm getting a kick out of this.

/I swear I'll do it next week.
 
2021-04-17 6:34:34 PM  

mrmopar5287: durbnpoisn: Here in NJ, inspection is the only car expense that is totally free.

You pay for it with higher taxes.


Well, yeah.  But that isn't the whole picture.  If they wanted to charge us for inspection, they could, and would.  No one would be able to stop them, regardless of taxes.

So, really, I don't get why we don't pay for inspection.  To be sure, it's the only one of the mandatory things that actually HAS a consequence.  Renewing your license doesn't prove that you can still drive.  It's just a fee.  Renewing your registration is not because you got a different car.  It's just a fee.

But when a car is no inspected, that is dangerous for everyone.  And THAT is the one they don't charge for.
 
2021-04-17 7:03:42 PM  

durbnpoisn: Renewing your registration is not because you got a different car.  It's just a fee.


No kidding. If nothing changes on my registration, it should be indefinite and I only get charged a fee if I have to change the address. And that should be a fee of about $2, because it's just a clerk changing a database entry. Which, come to think of it, my state allows me to change my DL address for free on their website because it's just a database update with no real cost to update. Registration should be a one-time fee on the car and nothing else, ever, again.
 
2021-04-17 7:04:26 PM  

durbnpoisn: Renewing your license doesn't prove that you can still drive.  It's just a fee.


Same as above: License should be indefinite. If renewing doesn't prove anything, why do it?

Though, my state does require road tests after a certain age.
 
2021-04-17 7:06:09 PM  

durbnpoisn: But when a car is no inspected, that is dangerous for everyone.


Absolute nonsense. It's been demonstrated that multiple states in the USA have no inspection and the rate of accidents/incidents is of no difference from states that have stringent taxation schemes (oops, COUGH COUGH), my mistake, I mean "inspection" schemes.
 
2021-04-17 8:53:13 PM  

recondite cetacean: AmbassadorBooze: We should pass laws such that if states have insecure network structures, the state must return 50% of total taxes collected for that year.  I bet they never have an insecure network ever again.

They will though.  Every state will get hit once, with an insecure network existing between the time the law is passed and the time someone gets in and no one is able to get a cover story out.  Then they won't have the money to fix the problem.


Letting them keep the 100% of taxes collected has failed too.  How much is enough to make it so they have a secure network, or a network that won't fail in important ways?  Raise taxes to 100% of all money?  I bet they still fail.
 
2021-04-17 10:33:02 PM  

majestic: Inspections basically just screw over poor people anyway. We got rid of them decades ago and I don't think anyone misses them except the shops who would always find something that needed to be fixed.


If you can't afford to keep your vehicle mechanically sound, you can't afford to drive. That also applies to insurance and registration.

Having vehicles on the road that have busted windshields, missing mirrors, no brakes, no headlights or taillights, bald tires, missing bumpers, belching smoke, and so rusted through that they look like swiss cheese is dangerous for everyone on the road.
 
2021-04-18 8:08:40 AM  

mrmopar5287: durbnpoisn: But when a car is no inspected, that is dangerous for everyone.

Absolute nonsense. It's been demonstrated that multiple states in the USA have no inspection and the rate of accidents/incidents is of no difference from states that have stringent taxation schemes (oops, COUGH COUGH), my mistake, I mean "inspection" schemes.


Ok.  I guess...  Maybe.  I always envisioned that if people were not forced to make sure their cars were legal, we would have people driving with no brakes, no windshield wipers, spewing gobs of black smoke and burning oil into the air, doors held on with duct tape and bungee chords, etc...

Although, now that I think about it, here in NJ, they decided years ago that the only thing they care about is emissions.  And that is good for that...  But you could drive in there with only 3 wheels and they'd pass you through.
 
Displayed 37 of 37 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.