Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Sun)   BBC receives over 100,000 complaints about wall to wall coverage of Prince Philip's death. Now lets get back to EastEnders (possible nsfw content on page)   (thesun.co.uk) divider line
    More: Obvious, BBC, Conservative Party, BBC News, BBC Two, BBC One, The Sun, News Corporation, BBC's telly  
•       •       •

1196 clicks; posted to Main » on 12 Apr 2021 at 12:02 PM (4 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



66 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2021-04-12 11:06:28 AM  
Just wait until the Queen kicks the bucket.
 
2021-04-12 12:05:45 PM  
Weeners pretty much says it.
 
2021-04-12 12:05:46 PM  

OdradekRex: Just wait until the Queen kicks the bucket.


There's something like a 1000-page nation-wide DEFCON 1 level type of response that upturns everything.
/only slightly exaggerating
 
2021-04-12 12:09:10 PM  
i'm guessing that the day of the Queen's death would be a great day to commit some crimes in London, as everyone, even the Bobbies, will be distracted
 
2021-04-12 12:09:48 PM  
Queen Victoria laughs at your complaints. You've only been mourning for a few days?
 
2021-04-12 12:13:08 PM  
When Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, passes, even the people who dislike the monarchy will mourn. Pretty much the last decent reigning monarch.
 
2021-04-12 12:15:22 PM  
I feel bad for Charles. He's 74 already. His isn't going to have much time as king. They may as well not even redesign the money until William ascends the throne.
 
2021-04-12 12:16:03 PM  
i.ytimg.comView Full Size


This just in. Prince Phillip is still dead
 
2021-04-12 12:17:26 PM  
On this very special episode of Eastenders, Prince Philip visits a typical working class pub and slags off the working man and woman, the soap-adverse, West Indians, South Asians and for some reason, the Japanese.
 
2021-04-12 12:18:20 PM  
I wonder what level of complaint intake they experience for any disruption to their normal programming.  I suspect that the sub-population of people that will take the time to write in a complaint about tv programming availability is one prone to a disproportionate level of outrage relative to the inconvenience they experience.  I'm thinking that if a similar disruption occurred because they had to report something like "large meteor strikes UK, hundreds of thousands vaporized, death toll may reach millions!", they'd still get complaints because people had to miss MasterChef.
 
2021-04-12 12:18:38 PM  
I can see wall to wall coverage for a severe storm or real breaking news, but come on! Doing it for a I'll 99 year old is ridiculous.
 
2021-04-12 12:18:58 PM  
I have a strange feeling that if they didn't do wall to wall coverage then they'd have gotten complaints.

Hell, it's probably a dry run for when the Queen goes. Noticed how quickly the black ties were out?
 
2021-04-12 12:19:39 PM  
ILL, not I'll. stupid autocorrect!
 
2021-04-12 12:20:02 PM  

ImpendingCynic: Weeners pretty much says it.


Donald Trump will not be invited to the funeral, although every leader from 1953 to the date of the funeral will be. The Queen very seldom shows her personal feelings, but Trump ranks just below the King of Scotland, Idi Amin, in the royal shiat-list.
 
2021-04-12 12:20:24 PM  
I'd be chuffed to bits if I saw the Venn diagram overlap of those that watch the BBC who think Prince Philip's death coverage is excessive, but think Meghan Markle is absolutely terrible and not being respectful of the Crown.
 
2021-04-12 12:20:39 PM  
rather watch these blokes

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-04-12 12:21:31 PM  
Did they stack him bark side up or something?
 
2021-04-12 12:21:59 PM  

Solty Dog: I feel bad for Charles. He's 74 already. His isn't going to have much time as king. They may as well not even redesign the money until William ascends the throne.


Maybe a lot of the former commonwealth countries will use that as an opportunity to drop the picture of the British monarch from their currency altogether.  Or are they required to have it as such by their own laws that might be difficult to overturn?
 
2021-04-12 12:23:20 PM  
If they're not having a go with a bird, they're having a row with a wanker.
 
2021-04-12 12:23:53 PM  
Here's the plan.
London Bridge has Fallen
What Will Happen When Queen Elizabeth II Dies?
Youtube QDRF8jdVFC0
 
2021-04-12 12:24:59 PM  

Boojum2k: When Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, passes, even the people who dislike the monarchy will mourn. Pretty much the last decent reigning monarch.


She's only QEII of England.  She (and the people who call her QEII) could care less about Scotland, what's left of the Empire in Ireland, Wales (although presumably Chuck's) etc.

Great Britain didn't exist until QEI's heir was ruling for awhile (he was already King of Scotland thanks to QEI lopping the head off his mom, Mary Queen of Scots).
 
2021-04-12 12:26:44 PM  

Salmon: rather watch these blokes

[Fark user image 850x478]


"Mornin' Royal Benders.  (nods) Yer Maj."
 
2021-04-12 12:26:48 PM  

Boojum2k: decent reigning monarch


here is the list

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of​_​current_monarchs_of_sovereign_states


I would guess the Scandinavians are fine
The Vatican is gonna be divisive no matter what
 
2021-04-12 12:29:16 PM  
This is the Sun.

If it didn't run "BBC SCANDAL too much Prince Phillip coverage" it would be "BBC HATES THE QUEEN with too little Prince Phillip coverage".

Murdoch hates the BBC as it costs him so much money.
 
2021-04-12 12:29:53 PM  

Solty Dog: I feel bad for Charles. He's 74 already. His isn't going to have much time as king. They may as well not even redesign the money until William ascends the throne.


given his family's expected lifespan, he'll probably get 20 years, which is a pretty typical reign length.

William will probably be in his mid-60s when it's his turn.
 
2021-04-12 12:31:34 PM  
I'm telling you, there's a chance.

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-04-12 12:32:16 PM  
I've considered uninstalling the BBC news app from my phone.  I've gotten at least 1 notification per day that Phillip has died since he passed.  I think I got 3 "Breaking News Alerts" yesterday notifying me of touching tributes to Prince Phillip I may read, listen to, or watch on my phone.
 
2021-04-12 12:46:53 PM  

OdradekRex: Just wait until the Queen kicks the bucket.


which i imagine will be very soon.
 
2021-04-12 12:49:49 PM  

yet_another_wumpus: Boojum2k: When Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, passes, even the people who dislike the monarchy will mourn. Pretty much the last decent reigning monarch.

She's only QEII of England.  She (and the people who call her QEII) could care less about Scotland, what's left of the Empire in Ireland, Wales (although presumably Chuck's) etc.

Great Britain didn't exist until QEI's heir was ruling for awhile (he was already King of Scotland thanks to QEI lopping the head off his mom, Mary Queen of Scots).


Actually., he'd been king since infancy, when Mary was forced to abdicate. He was in position to become king of England, and didn't kick up too much of a fuss when his mom was beheaded by QE1.
 
2021-04-12 1:12:11 PM  

baltimoreblonde: yet_another_wumpus: Boojum2k: When Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, passes, even the people who dislike the monarchy will mourn. Pretty much the last decent reigning monarch.

She's only QEII of England.  She (and the people who call her QEII) could care less about Scotland, what's left of the Empire in Ireland, Wales (although presumably Chuck's) etc.

Great Britain didn't exist until QEI's heir was ruling for awhile (he was already King of Scotland thanks to QEI lopping the head off his mom, Mary Queen of Scots).

Actually., he'd been king since infancy, when Mary was forced to abdicate. He was in position to become king of England, and didn't kick up too much of a fuss when his mom was beheaded by QE1.


Technically "Great Britain" referred to the island so James was "King James the 1st of England" and "King James the 6th of Scotland". 2 countries, 1 king. They did not become one until the Act of Union under Queen Anne in the early 1700's. Before that, they were still separate countries that shared a King. The Act of Union created "The Kingdom of Great Britain" instead of Great Britain being an island with 2 kingdoms.
 
2021-04-12 1:19:45 PM  
BBC complaints? Which website am I on again?
 
2021-04-12 1:20:28 PM  

OdradekRex: Just wait until the Queen kicks the bucket.


I actually wonder how long that will be.

People who have been married for some 70 years don't often do well when their spouse dies.
 
2021-04-12 1:24:07 PM  
Boojum2k:

Still quiet about grandfather's genocides
 
2021-04-12 1:27:25 PM  

mike_d85: I've considered uninstalling the BBC news app from my phone.  I've gotten at least 1 notification per day that Phillip has died since he passed.  I think I got 3 "Breaking News Alerts" yesterday notifying me of touching tributes to Prince Phillip I may read, listen to, or watch on my phone.


Have you heard that Philip has died?
 
2021-04-12 1:27:33 PM  

AuralArgument: Boojum2k:

Still quiet about grandfather's genocides


Look, whatever your gramps did is in the past. Let it go, man.
 
2021-04-12 1:28:03 PM  
Name another lady monarch who could drive a stick shift ambulance, married a Greek royal who had Danish, German, Russian roots, and know a hell of a lot more about the rule of cricket than most Americans.
 
2021-04-12 1:29:19 PM  

BitwiseShift: Name another lady monarch who could drive a stick shift ambulance, married a Greek royal who had Danish, German, Russian roots, and know a hell of a lot more about the rule of cricket than most Americans.


Wow, practically Jesus of Nazareth right there.
 
2021-04-12 1:29:28 PM  
So what's new on Eastenders anyway? Did Michelle Fowler come back or something?
 
2021-04-12 1:39:13 PM  

Salmon: rather watch these blokes

[Fark user image 850x478]

What's with the third guy's head?
 
2021-04-12 1:43:35 PM  
So, QEII is available?
 
2021-04-12 1:47:36 PM  
If you ask me, the death of Shirley Williams is a far more significant loss politically and intellectually.
 
2021-04-12 1:49:53 PM  
I guess they now know what it was like for U.S. during the Malaysian flight thing.  Everybody with an opinion getting airtime, random conjecture being passed as "fact" in an effort to be first with a scoop, etc.
 
2021-04-12 1:50:25 PM  

steklo: So what's new on Eastenders anyway? Did Michelle Fowler come back or something?


Most years I go back to the UK for a couple of weeks. I can watch Eastenders and figure out what's going on without watching a year's worth of episodes. My dad's family was from the East End and they couldn't wait to get out. The characters on Ee have absolutely no ambition or desire to improve their lives, it just drags on and on and on...
 
2021-04-12 2:00:25 PM  

catmandu: baltimoreblonde: yet_another_wumpus: Boojum2k: When Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, passes, even the people who dislike the monarchy will mourn. Pretty much the last decent reigning monarch.

She's only QEII of England.  She (and the people who call her QEII) could care less about Scotland, what's left of the Empire in Ireland, Wales (although presumably Chuck's) etc.

Great Britain didn't exist until QEI's heir was ruling for awhile (he was already King of Scotland thanks to QEI lopping the head off his mom, Mary Queen of Scots).

Actually., he'd been king since infancy, when Mary was forced to abdicate. He was in position to become king of England, and didn't kick up too much of a fuss when his mom was beheaded by QE1.

Technically "Great Britain" referred to the island so James was "King James the 1st of England" and "King James the 6th of Scotland". 2 countries, 1 king. They did not become one until the Act of Union under Queen Anne in the early 1700's. Before that, they were still separate countries that shared a King. The Act of Union created "The Kingdom of Great Britain" instead of Great Britain being an island with 2 kingdoms.


yes and no
He tried and his subjects were risistant

https://www.bl.uk/collection-items/ro​y​al-proclamation-declaring-james-vi-and​-i-to-be-king-of-great-britain#
 
2021-04-12 2:00:37 PM  
*resistant
 
2021-04-12 2:08:32 PM  

steklo: So what's new on Eastenders anyway? Did Michelle Fowler come back or something?


No she tore her ACL over the weekend and needs season ending surgery.

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-04-12 2:09:33 PM  
Rupert Murdoch shiate rag hitting on the BBC?  Say it ain't so.
 
2021-04-12 2:10:27 PM  

BitwiseShift: Name another lady monarch who could drive a stick shift ambulance, married a Greek royal who had Danish, German, Russian roots, and know a hell of a lot more about the rule of cricket than most Americans.


None. What the fark is your point though?
 
2021-04-12 2:11:03 PM  

teklo: So what's new on Eastenders anyway? Did Michelle Fowler come back or something?


Time Trumpet - Eastenders
Youtube UApUDlhSzu8
 
2021-04-12 2:13:33 PM  

ukexpat: steklo: So what's new on Eastenders anyway? Did Michelle Fowler come back or something?

Most years I go back to the UK for a couple of weeks. I can watch Eastenders and figure out what's going on without watching a year's worth of episodes. My dad's family was from the East End and they couldn't wait to get out. The characters on Ee have absolutely no ambition or desire to improve their lives, it just drags on and on and on...


This! When I was in the Army, I pulled guard duty about every two weeks. In the guardhouse, each morning they would watch All My Children, specifically for Susan Lucci, who played a evil,manipulative woman that everybody had the hots for. I swear I would be able to easily follow the plot line, even with two week breaks. In fact, I would swear, the same people would be in the same room continuing the same conversation, from the last time I saw it. Glaciers move faster.
 
Displayed 50 of 66 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.