Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(NFL)   Pass interference replay review was a flop, abandoned after one year, so let's make roughing the passer penalties reviewable   (nfl.com) divider line
    More: Facepalm, American football, National Football League, new rule change, pass interference replay review, Minnesota Vikings, Super Bowl, calls date, Annual League  
•       •       •

183 clicks; posted to Sports » on 04 Mar 2021 at 11:23 AM (5 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



15 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-03-04 10:55:45 AM  
The important thing is to halt the game action for as long as possible so that we can see Andy Reid's nose hair.
 
2021-03-04 11:26:22 AM  
Reviews would've been fine if the refs didn't throw a hissy fit and refuse to do their jobs.

EVERYTHING should be reviewable. At the same time, limit the number of reviews. If coaches get 2 challenges, they get 2 challenges. Expanding the amount of stuff that's reviewable won't slow the game down any more if the number of challenges doesn't go up.

/I know, I know, it's 2 plus a 3rd if you get those 2 right.
//consider narrowing or removing the whole "booth reviews everything in the last 2 minutes."
 
2021-03-04 11:28:50 AM  
One thing they probably could review is contact to the helmet. The problem with the Saints-Rams playoff game wasn't so much the pass interference no-call, but the blow to the head the receiver got, and unlike PI, that's not a judgment call.
 
2021-03-04 11:39:03 AM  
Replay is great for getting the call right on an obvious missed call.  Like a runners knee clearly being down before he fumbles.  When you have to use 4 camera angles in super slow motion, you shouldn't even be looking at it.  I doubt this rule would be used to pick up a flag, but to throw a flag when the replay shows the defenders pinky brushes the side of the QBs helmet.
 
2021-03-04 11:48:18 AM  

Jeebus Saves: Replay is great for getting the call right on an obvious missed call.  Like a runners knee clearly being down before he fumbles.  When you have to use 4 camera angles in super slow motion, you shouldn't even be looking at it.  I doubt this rule would be used to pick up a flag, but to throw a flag when the replay shows the defenders pinky brushes the side of the QBs helmet.


I've thought a simple but meaningful change would be to eliminate the use of slow motion in replay, and allow any given angle to be replayed once. If you can't tell what happened after watching it four or five times at game speed, the call on the field stands. Really egregious misses would be instantly apparent.
 
2021-03-04 12:04:20 PM  

grinding_journalist: Jeebus Saves: Replay is great for getting the call right on an obvious missed call.  Like a runners knee clearly being down before he fumbles.  When you have to use 4 camera angles in super slow motion, you shouldn't even be looking at it.  I doubt this rule would be used to pick up a flag, but to throw a flag when the replay shows the defenders pinky brushes the side of the QBs helmet.

I've thought a simple but meaningful change would be to eliminate the use of slow motion in replay, and allow any given angle to be replayed once. If you can't tell what happened after watching it four or five times at game speed, the call on the field stands. Really egregious misses would be instantly apparent.


I would make an allowance for using half-speed video only for the purpose of ensuring that the game clock is reset correctly, and even then only during the last two minutes of the 2nd and 4th quarters.
 
2021-03-04 12:14:57 PM  
Refs hate overturning calls because it means they have to admit that they, or someone on their crew, was wrong
 
2021-03-04 12:23:16 PM  
I don't see why the interference challenge didn't work. It's worked well in the CFL for several years (please let there be a season this year). I think the issue with replay is that once the film starts rolling only give the official 90 seconds max to decide what the call will be. Put it on a timer, once you get to 90 seconds the screen turns off and the ref has to decide which way to call it and keep the game moving.
 
2021-03-04 12:34:43 PM  

grinding_journalist: Jeebus Saves: Replay is great for getting the call right on an obvious missed call.  Like a runners knee clearly being down before he fumbles.  When you have to use 4 camera angles in super slow motion, you shouldn't even be looking at it.  I doubt this rule would be used to pick up a flag, but to throw a flag when the replay shows the defenders pinky brushes the side of the QBs helmet.

I've thought a simple but meaningful change would be to eliminate the use of slow motion in replay, and allow any given angle to be replayed once. If you can't tell what happened after watching it four or five times at game speed, the call on the field stands. Really egregious misses would be instantly apparent.


The problem is that unless you remove slow motion replays from the broadcast altogether then that won't work.  The home viewer will still see the missed calls that aren't as easily identifiable in real time.  So that won't end the debate.
 
2021-03-04 12:39:14 PM  
I just want a 'Sky Ref' to radio the referees on the field to throw/pick up flags when something blatantly obvious needs correcting. We the viewers don't need to hear about it and the refs can make the right call with little to no delay.
 
2021-03-04 12:51:06 PM  

Representative of the unwashed masses: I don't see why the interference challenge didn't work. It's worked well in the CFL for several years (please let there be a season this year). I think the issue with replay is that once the film starts rolling only give the official 90 seconds max to decide what the call will be. Put it on a timer, once you get to 90 seconds the screen turns off and the ref has to decide which way to call it and keep the game moving.


The refs repeatedly refused to issue penalties for clear and obvious cases of pass interference after reviews were requested.
 
2021-03-04 12:52:19 PM  

Wadded Beef: I just want a 'Sky Ref' to radio the referees on the field to throw/pick up flags when something blatantly obvious needs correcting. We the viewers don't need to hear about it and the refs can make the right call with little to no delay.


This would be the best solution. Add one more ref, give him/her access to TV views and quick replay. If a call can be made in real-time, great. If not, well, too bad we tried. Let's move on.
 
2021-03-04 1:02:46 PM  
I'm of a mind everything being reviewable.  You get 2 flags per half.  You get a call right, you get your flag back.  All scoring plays still reviewed.  But I think I'd let the 'anything in the final 2:00' gets reviewed go.  make you play some strategy with your flags.

however, after watching some blatant incorrect reviews go by there should be some kind of penalty later on.  there's no reason to get video reviews 'wrong'.  I don't mean that if you can't see it, because you just can't see it, that's fine.  But if it's plain there shouldn't be any question.
 
2021-03-04 1:23:52 PM  

meanmutton: Wadded Beef: I just want a 'Sky Ref' to radio the referees on the field to throw/pick up flags when something blatantly obvious needs correcting. We the viewers don't need to hear about it and the refs can make the right call with little to no delay.

This would be the best solution. Add one more ref, give him/her access to TV views and quick replay. If a call can be made in real-time, great. If not, well, too bad we tried. Let's move on.


They did the sky judge thing in the XFL and it worked pretty well IMO.
 
2021-03-04 2:40:44 PM  

abhorrent1: meanmutton: Wadded Beef: I just want a 'Sky Ref' to radio the referees on the field to throw/pick up flags when something blatantly obvious needs correcting. We the viewers don't need to hear about it and the refs can make the right call with little to no delay.

This would be the best solution. Add one more ref, give him/her access to TV views and quick replay. If a call can be made in real-time, great. If not, well, too bad we tried. Let's move on.

They did the sky judge thing in the XFL and it worked pretty well IMO.


It seems like such a great, simple idea. Everything is instantly and quickly reviewed, the game keeps moving, and you can do it in a way that one of the on-field refs gets notified so it's the on-field ref throwing the flag.
 
Displayed 15 of 15 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.