Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Fox News)   Joanna Gaines claims to have the perfect biscuit recipe. Subby has review the ingredient list and lard was not listed, therefore this is a lie   (foxnews.com) divider line
    More: Fail, Cookie, Cookies, Joanna Gaines, Chocolate chip cookie, Biscuit, Baking, Cooking, Barley  
•       •       •

512 clicks; posted to Food » on 04 Mar 2021 at 1:53 AM (5 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



47 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-03-03 6:50:43 PM  
"Subby has review the ingredient list and lard was not listed, therefore this is a lie"

:)

Snopes has fact checked this and it is true.

You can use Crisco, but really, If your going to eat a heart attack for breakfast you might as well do it right.
The same goes for flour tortillas.
 
2021-03-03 7:42:11 PM  
I have a biscuit story. My dad was trained at the CIA. He married a woman whose father was Cajon. For some reason she wanted to cook. And then for some other reason she decided she wanted to enter the county fairs for cooking. One of the things she started to cook was biscuits.

She would make a batch. My dad would eat them and say yeah they're good but next time do this thing. This went on for months. They were never perfect but they were good

Sometimes he would even say these are horrible you got to do them again. But this was mostly so that he would get more biscuits.

So for months she made biscuits and tried every little thing. They got better and better but never perfect.

One day my Dad decided he was going to make biscuits. He didn't measure anything he just threw some stuff in a bowl and wam bam put them in the oven and they were perfect when they came out.

Son of a biatch, she said. And she never made biscuits again.
 
2021-03-03 7:42:55 PM  
Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.
 
2021-03-03 7:55:26 PM  
I am quite sure they are very tasty biscuits.  But she's way too skinny to be saying she has the perfect biscuit recipe.
 
2021-03-03 8:01:25 PM  

blender61: "Subby has review the ingredient list and lard was not listed, therefore this is a lie"

:)

Snopes has fact checked this and it is true.

You can use Crisco, but really, If your going to eat a heart attack for breakfast you might as well do it right.
The same goes for flour tortillas.


I remember looking for recipes in an old cookbook (fifties) and lard was very popular.
 
2021-03-03 8:46:14 PM  

theteacher: I have a biscuit story. My dad was trained at the CIA. He married a woman whose father was Cajon. For some reason she wanted to cook. And then for some other reason she decided she wanted to enter the county fairs for cooking. One of the things she started to cook was biscuits.

She would make a batch. My dad would eat them and say yeah they're good but next time do this thing. This went on for months. They were never perfect but they were good

Sometimes he would even say these are horrible you got to do them again. But this was mostly so that he would get more biscuits.

So for months she made biscuits and tried every little thing. They got better and better but never perfect.

One day my Dad decided he was going to make biscuits. He didn't measure anything he just threw some stuff in a bowl and wam bam put them in the oven and they were perfect when they came out.

Son of a biatch, she said. And she never made biscuits again.


That was just beautiful.
 
2021-03-03 8:47:14 PM  
I like her and I bet she has a perfect biscuit.
 
2021-03-03 9:31:05 PM  
That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.
 
2021-03-03 9:38:54 PM  
Perfect biscuit? If you're talking about an AMERICAN biscuit...go to Popeyes.
 
2021-03-03 9:45:51 PM  

Benevolent Misanthrope: That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.


My dear beloved maternal grandmother would use cream or, in a pinch, half and half. There was probably lard in there as well.

/ My grandpa died at 79 of a heart attack.
 
2021-03-03 10:02:17 PM  

theteacher: I have a biscuit story.


Me, too!


This actually did happen to a real person, and the real person is me. I had gone to catch a train. This was April 1976, in Cambridge, U.K. I was a bit early for the train. I'd gotten the time of the train wrong. I went to get myself a newspaper to do the crossword, and a cup of coffee and a packet of biscuits. I went and sat at a table. I want you to picture the scene. It's very important that you get this very clear in your mind. Here's the table, newspaper, cup of coffee, packet of biscuits. There's a guy sitting opposite me, perfectly ordinary-looking guy wearing a business suit, carrying a briefcase. It didn't look like he was going to do anything weird. What he did was this: he suddenly leaned across, picked up the packet of biscuits, tore it open, took one out, and ate it.
Now this, I have to say, is the sort of thing the British are very bad at dealing with. There's nothing in our background, upbringing, or education that teaches you how to deal with someone who in broad daylight has just stolen your biscuits. You know what would happen if this had been South Central Los Angeles. There would have very quickly been gunfire, helicopters coming in, CNN, you know... But in the end, I did what any red-blooded Englishman would do: I ignored it. And I stared at the newspaper, took a sip of coffee, tried to do a clue in the newspaper, couldn't do anything, and thought, What am I going to do?
In the end I thought Nothing for it, I'll just have to go for it, and I tried very hard not to notice the fact that the packet was already mysteriously opened. I took out a biscuit for myself. I thought, That settled him. But it hadn't because a moment or two later he did it again. He took another biscuit. Having not mentioned it the first time, it was somehow even harder to raise the subject the second time around. "Excuse me, I couldn't help but notice..." I mean, it doesn't really work.
We went through the whole packet like this. When I say the whole packet, I mean there were only about eight biscuits, but it felt like a lifetime. He took one, I took one, he took one, I took one. Finally, when we got to the end, he stood up and walked away. Well, we exchanged meaningful looks, then he walked away, and I breathed a sigh of relief and sat back.
A moment or two later the train was coming in, so I tossed back the rest of my coffee, stood up, picked up the newspaper, and underneath the newspaper were my biscuits. The thing I like particularly about this story is the sensation that somewhere in England there has been wandering around for the last quarter-century a perfectly ordinary guy who's had the same exact story, only he doesn't have the punch line.
-Douglas Adams
 
2021-03-03 10:42:23 PM  

iheartscotch: Benevolent Misanthrope: That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.

My dear beloved maternal grandmother would use cream or, in a pinch, half and half. There was probably lard in there as well.

/ My grandpa died at 79 of a heart attack.


Cream biscuits are a time-honored Southern tradition, just like buttermilk biscuits are.

Egg in biscuits is an abomination.  But then, she's from Texas, so...
 
2021-03-03 11:38:01 PM  

iheartscotch: Perfect biscuit? If you're talking about an AMERICAN biscuit...go to Popeyes.


You can get over 60 Popeyes biscuits for the price of a dozen of these.

But I'm shaken on them since they dropped their dirty rice. I've kinda lost a desire to go there right now.
 
2021-03-04 12:29:30 AM  

scottydoesntknow: iheartscotch: Perfect biscuit? If you're talking about an AMERICAN biscuit...go to Popeyes.

You can get over 60 Popeyes biscuits for the price of a dozen of these.

But I'm shaken on them since they dropped their dirty rice. I've kinda lost a desire to go there right now.


Popeyes. Excellent chicken and sides. Questionable employee safety protocols.

/ also, they got rid of dirty rice
 
2021-03-04 1:16:06 AM  
I bought a box of Bisquick a few weeks ago because I hadn't had those since I was a kid. I've spent the last couple weeks wondering why I bothered...they taste like ground up drywall.
 
2021-03-04 2:14:55 AM  

theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.


The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily
 
2021-03-04 2:18:12 AM  

Jack Sabbath: I like her and I bet she has a perfect biscuit.


Not after having that many kids.
 
2021-03-04 3:44:26 AM  
Joanna Gaines should stick to home decor. Her recipes are rehashes of the boring Betty Crocker recipes your mom used to cook.

I love watching Fixer Upper, but I stumbled across her cookbook at Barnes & Noble one day and was truly underwhelmed. It didn't help that it was situated on the shelf between the Momofuku and French Laundry cookbooks.
 
2021-03-04 4:27:30 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-03-04 5:31:46 AM  
That's a farking scone.
 
2021-03-04 5:34:07 AM  

Dr.Fey: theteacher: I have a biscuit story.

Me, too!


This actually did happen to a real person, and the real person is me. I had gone to catch a train. This was April 1976, in Cambridge, U.K. I was a bit early for the train. I'd gotten the time of the train wrong. I went to get myself a newspaper to do the crossword, and a cup of coffee and a packet of biscuits. I went and sat at a table. I want you to picture the scene. It's very important that you get this very clear in your mind. Here's the table, newspaper, cup of coffee, packet of biscuits. There's a guy sitting opposite me, perfectly ordinary-looking guy wearing a business suit, carrying a briefcase. It didn't look like he was going to do anything weird. What he did was this: he suddenly leaned across, picked up the packet of biscuits, tore it open, took one out, and ate it.
Now this, I have to say, is the sort of thing the British are very bad at dealing with. There's nothing in our background, upbringing, or education that teaches you how to deal with someone who in broad daylight has just stolen your biscuits. You know what would happen if this had been South Central Los Angeles. There would have very quickly been gunfire, helicopters coming in, CNN, you know... But in the end, I did what any red-blooded Englishman would do: I ignored it. And I stared at the newspaper, took a sip of coffee, tried to do a clue in the newspaper, couldn't do anything, and thought, What am I going to do?
In the end I thought Nothing for it, I'll just have to go for it, and I tried very hard not to notice the fact that the packet was already mysteriously opened. I took out a biscuit for myself. I thought, That settled him. But it hadn't because a moment or two later he did it again. He took another biscuit. Having not mentioned it the first time, it was somehow even harder to raise the subject the second time around. "Excuse me, I couldn't help but notice..." I mean, it doesn't really work.
We went through the whole packet like this. When I say the whole packet, I mean there were only about eight biscuits, but it felt like a lifetime. He took one, I took one, he took one, I took one. Finally, when we got to the end, he stood up and walked away. Well, we exchanged meaningful looks, then he walked away, and I breathed a sigh of relief and sat back.
A moment or two later the train was coming in, so I tossed back the rest of my coffee, stood up, picked up the newspaper, and underneath the newspaper were my biscuits. The thing I like particularly about this story is the sensation that somewhere in England there has been wandering around for the last quarter-century a perfectly ordinary guy who's had the same exact story, only he doesn't have the punch line.
-Douglas Adams


Those are not the right type of biscuit.
 
2021-03-04 5:46:01 AM  

iheartscotch: Perfect biscuit? If you're talking about an AMERICAN biscuit...go to Popeyes.


scottydoesntknow: You can get over 60 Popeyes biscuits for the price of a dozen of these.

But I'm shaken on them since they dropped their dirty rice. I've kinda lost a desire to go there right now.


love their biscuits. a little too heavy on the salt (what fast food isn't) - but that's almost sort of a good thing, means I'll only eat one or two, rather than twelve or a wheelbarrow-full?

speaking of which, I've never tried asking for cajun fries made-to-order, wonder if it's possible to ask for less seasoning (not the spices I mind, only the salt) - or do their fries come frozen + pre-seasoned? totally spoiled by 5guys on this subject, lol.

'd forgotten about the dirty rice :( possibly because my obsession of late is scoring the fish sammich - 3 failed attempts, and then on the 4th I finally managed to get three sandwiches. but I still consider that to be only a partial, because they left off the farking pickles. however, seasoning on the fish (or as they call it in the store, "DO WE GOT ANY FISH MEAT!") - was absolutely spot-on. think I have until April.4 to try again. note to self: try asking for extra pickles (Narrator: and next time check the bag before you leave)
 
2021-03-04 6:57:30 AM  

blender61: "Subby has review the ingredient list and lard was not listed, therefore this is a lie"

:)

Snopes has fact checked this and it is true.

You can use Crisco, but really, If your going to eat a heart attack for breakfast you might as well do it right.
The same goes for flour tortillas.


Wouldn't crisco be worse? Isn't it loaded with trans fats?
 
2021-03-04 7:03:17 AM  

Benevolent Misanthrope: iheartscotch: Benevolent Misanthrope: That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.

My dear beloved maternal grandmother would use cream or, in a pinch, half and half. There was probably lard in there as well.

/ My grandpa died at 79 of a heart attack.

Cream biscuits are a time-honored Southern tradition, just like buttermilk biscuits are.

Egg in biscuits is an abomination.  But then, she's from Texas, so...


Cream makes sense. Butter and buttermilk are common ingredients in biscuits. Cream is just those two things before they're separated. So, while different, the resulting biscuits are similar.
 
2021-03-04 7:07:03 AM  

anuran: theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.

The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily


Assuming you're talking about KA all purpose flower, that's actually on the high end of the protein spectrum for all purpose. Which is, of course, fine. Much ado is made out of the specific flour for biscuits, but it actually doesn't matter a whole lot. Lower protein flour will make more tender biscuits but won't make as big a difference as people suspect. I tend to use Gold Medal AP, or sometimes King Arthur. I don't use white lily because it's pretty much only good for biscuits.
 
2021-03-04 7:30:09 AM  
No shiplap?
 
2021-03-04 7:34:55 AM  

We Ate the Necco Wafers: Joanna Gaines should stick to home decor. Her recipes are rehashes of the boring Betty Crocker recipes your mom used to cook.

I love watching Fixer Upper, but I stumbled across her cookbook at Barnes & Noble one day and was truly underwhelmed. It didn't help that it was situated on the shelf between the Momofuku and French Laundry cookbooks.


I would love nothing more than to see the Gaines burned at a stake made of shiplap and oversized clocks.
 
2021-03-04 8:12:09 AM  

phlegmjay: anuran: theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.

The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily

Assuming you're talking about KA all purpose flower, that's actually on the high end of the protein spectrum for all purpose. Which is, of course, fine. Much ado is made out of the specific flour for biscuits, but it actually doesn't matter a whole lot. Lower protein flour will make more tender biscuits but won't make as big a difference as people suspect. I tend to use Gold Medal AP, or sometimes King Arthur. I don't use white lily because it's pretty much only good for biscuits.


They probably mean the KA self-rising made from soft wheat.
 
2021-03-04 8:48:37 AM  

anuran: theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.

The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily


Yeah, King Arthur is great.
 
2021-03-04 9:33:42 AM  

duckpoopy: phlegmjay: anuran: theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.

The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily

Assuming you're talking about KA all purpose flower, that's actually on the high end of the protein spectrum for all purpose. Which is, of course, fine. Much ado is made out of the specific flour for biscuits, but it actually doesn't matter a whole lot. Lower protein flour will make more tender biscuits but won't make as big a difference as people suspect. I tend to use Gold Medal AP, or sometimes King Arthur. I don't use white lily because it's pretty much only good for biscuits.

They probably mean the KA self-rising made from soft wheat.


Ah. You're probably right.
 
2021-03-04 9:53:31 AM  

phlegmjay: anuran: theteacher: Secret is in temperature of the lard/butter when you cut it in.

The other part is the flour. Soft wheat flour is the only way to go. In the North they mostly grow hard wheat which just isn't the same, so I buy King Arthur or White Lily

Assuming you're talking about KA all purpose flower, that's actually on the high end of the protein spectrum for all purpose. Which is, of course, fine. Much ado is made out of the specific flour for biscuits, but it actually doesn't matter a whole lot. Lower protein flour will make more tender biscuits but won't make as big a difference as people suspect. I tend to use Gold Medal AP, or sometimes King Arthur. I don't use white lily because it's pretty much only good for biscuits.


And pastry. I always had it on hand for those two things. Now that I live in the rural hinterland, I can't even get it except by mail order, and it's not worth the shipping.
 
2021-03-04 9:55:24 AM  
I been making biscuits for the past few years. I started by using all Crisco, then Crisco and butter, then all butter and now I use lard, and the the lard biscuits are the best. Then are tender and tasty and if you fold the dough a few times you get a nice rise and layers.

If you add an egg and sugar to a biscuit recipe you get a scone. I made that yesterday.
 
2021-03-04 10:58:15 AM  
I'm not sure what those are, but they sure as shiat aren't biscuits. Shortcakes, maybe? They're way too rich, and have way too much leavening. And eggs? I don't farking even.

Here's the right recipe (when you get adept, you can do all of this while the oven is preheating to 425 degrees): 2 cups self-rising flour. Teaspoon salt and sugar. Half cup frozen butter. Three-quarters cup buttermilk. Grate butter into flour. Mix. Add the buttermilk. Stir to just combine. Mix should be crumbly but not wet. Turn onto a counter and knead by folding like a letter until the dough comes together, no more than three or four times. Pat into a half-inch-thick rectangle. Cut with a biscuit cutter, bench scraper or knife (the second two are better, give you sharper edges, biscuits that rise higher, and result in less waste). Bake for 15-20 minutes, until tops are golden. Brush with butter if you want. Eat while warm but not hot.
 
2021-03-04 12:00:35 PM  

animal color: I'm not sure what those are, but they sure as shiat aren't biscuits. Shortcakes, maybe? They're way too rich, and have way too much leavening. And eggs? I don't farking even.

Here's the right recipe (when you get adept, you can do all of this while the oven is preheating to 425 degrees): 2 cups self-rising flour. Teaspoon salt and sugar. Half cup frozen butter. Three-quarters cup buttermilk. Grate butter into flour. Mix. Add the buttermilk. Stir to just combine. Mix should be crumbly but not wet. Turn onto a counter and knead by folding like a letter until the dough comes together, no more than three or four times. Pat into a half-inch-thick rectangle. Cut with a biscuit cutter, bench scraper or knife (the second two are better, give you sharper edges, biscuits that rise higher, and result in less waste). Bake for 15-20 minutes, until tops are golden. Brush with butter if you want. Eat while warm but not hot.


fark. That should be a quarter cup of butter, or half a stick.
 
2021-03-04 12:13:34 PM  
I just read this very same Fox news link at Freeperville!

Maybe the way to unity is through the perfect biscuit recipe.
 
2021-03-04 12:30:17 PM  
Cookbooks always recommend almost-wet biscuit dough kneaded as little as possible. I had to move from wet to shaggy just to be able to handle the dough for rolling and cutting.

Then I noticed that the biscuits I cut from rerolled scraps always baked up taller than the ones from the first cutting. Since then, I've been happy to use AP instead of soft flour, and knead a while to get lift.

Mind you, I eat them split with butter and jam, so a wider thinner biscuit would provide more surface area for toppings; but I like the look of a tall biscuit.

Shirley Corriher's touch-of-grace biscuits are just too cakelike to stand up to a buttering.

Shirley Corriher Making Biscuits
Youtube 7baqgejDqfU
 
2021-03-04 1:51:05 PM  
Some ditsy babe has an opinion.
Film at eleven.
 
2021-03-04 4:30:27 PM  

Benevolent Misanthrope: iheartscotch: Benevolent Misanthrope: That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.

My dear beloved maternal grandmother would use cream or, in a pinch, half and half. There was probably lard in there as well.

/ My grandpa died at 79 of a heart attack.

Cream biscuits are a time-honored Southern tradition, just like buttermilk biscuits are.

Egg in biscuits is an abomination.  But then, she's from Texas, so...


This cannot be emphasized enough.

Once you add egg its no longer biscuits, its cake.
 
2021-03-04 6:37:02 PM  

el_pilgrim: Benevolent Misanthrope: iheartscotch: Benevolent Misanthrope: That  biatch puts egg in her biscuits. She is dead to me.

My dear beloved maternal grandmother would use cream or, in a pinch, half and half. There was probably lard in there as well.

/ My grandpa died at 79 of a heart attack.

Cream biscuits are a time-honored Southern tradition, just like buttermilk biscuits are.

Egg in biscuits is an abomination.  But then, she's from Texas, so...

This cannot be emphasized enough.

Once you add egg its no longer biscuits, its cake.


^this. I am... not good at making biscuits. I would dearly love to make the ones no-one can live without, but, dear lord, I have never once used eggs. and I love using eggs in every-damned-thing. but, yeahno.
 
2021-03-04 7:45:34 PM  

phlegmjay: blender61: "Subby has review the ingredient list and lard was not listed, therefore this is a lie"

:)

Snopes has fact checked this and it is true.

You can use Crisco, but really, If your going to eat a heart attack for breakfast you might as well do it right.
The same goes for flour tortillas.

Wouldn't crisco be worse? Isn't it loaded with trans fats?


From a health standpoint yes, but we are talking biscuits here. Healthy is kinda out the window. Crisco  is a standard  substitution.
I mean a knob of butter or worse on each 1/2? (I'll have three). You're a 1/3 of a stick in.
Or do you want an extra ladle of sausage (60-40% +butter+ 1/2)  gravy on those?

I do like a biscuit but I won't make them but maybe twice a year. I'll save my sins for other things.
 
2021-03-04 10:21:02 PM  
Mmmm. Biscuits. This is the best biscuit recipe. Not that Texan trash.

You need three ingredients. All three are key. No cheating. No making do. No farking excuses. You want good biscuits? Shut your trap and source well. And make sure they're all COLD AS fark.
1. White Lily Self Rising Flour. No other flour will do. They have it on amazon or you can order it directly from White Lily.
2. Butter, salted, preferably cultured (European). Cultured butter has less water. Freeze that shiat. This is a key step. Don't even try with butter from the refrigerator. Nope. Nuh-uh. Put it in the damned freezer. And, yes, it costs a little more. But it's what you taste when you bite into a biscuit so yes, Phyllis, it matters. Goat butter is a delightful second place option.But none of that american AA bullshiat. You want the good stuff.
3. Cultured buttermilk. None of that make-do with milk and vinegar crap. Get buttermilk. 
You want to weigh out 250 grams of cold flour into a cold bowl. If you don't have a scale, that's okay. Fluff the flour with a whisk, scoop fluffed flour into a measuring cup. Tap the side once and level. 2 cups.
Butter: 6 oz. But if you want to say fark it and use 8 I'm not going to judge. Grate that frozen shiat on the big holes of a cheese grater. 
Put it in the flour. Fluff it around until it's coated but don't mash it up. I do this with a cold fork.
Buttermilk: 1 Cup. Drizzle it in. Stir it around. It should look like cottage cheese vomit. That's normal. Chunky, a few small pockets that are still flour-ey. Mix it like men clean. Half-assed is good here. 
Now, use an ice cream scoop, the kind with a spring lever. You want to scoop it up and put the scoops just touching in a cast iron pan with an obscene amount of butter smeared all over. Think toddler + lipstick + poor supervision. 
Take a pat of butter and guild each of those ugly lilies. Put a thin-ish pat on top of each one. Like a square nipple. 
Pop that pan of earthly delight into a 400 degree oven. Let them bake about 20-25 minutes, until the tips of their delicious knobby crags are nice and golden brown. Yessssss.
Now, take them out and devour them standing at the stove with a jar of good jam and no shame. It's okay to growl. Eat them all. Leftover biscuits are sacrilege.
 
2021-03-04 11:00:05 PM  
 My biscuit story:  for several years, Ms. Gough and I taught a session on Dutch oven cooking for a kids' day camp at one of our county parks.  The favorite was baking powder biscuits.  We'd get the coals almost ready and then lead the campers through the process of making the biscuits. Once the biscuits were cooking in the DO's, we'd show them the demonstration beehive at the park; let them get some honey from a frame; and have them make some butter from cream.  When the biscuits were done, the kids got to enjoy the fruits of their labor.
 
2021-03-05 8:34:08 AM  
My biscuit story: thirty years ago, I'm working and had just enough time to run into McDonald's for lunch. A couple of young women in line in front of me are talking about men.
"Are you still seeing Darius?"
"I done kicked his ass to the curb -- he don't eat the biscuit!"
 
2021-03-05 8:58:37 AM  
Screw lard.

A proper batch of biscuits is made with one stick of butter plus a scant teaspoon of butter extract.

I'll concede that White Lily makes a fine biscuit, but as others have noted, there are more versatile flours. Personally, my tastes are not so refined. In a blind taste test, I'm not sure that I could discern a White Lily biscuit from a Gold Medal biscuit,
 
amb
2021-03-05 1:46:14 PM  

iheartscotch: Perfect biscuit? If you're talking about an AMERICAN biscuit...go to Popeyes.


I like Popeyes, but Bojangles' biscuits are better. Their bacon, egg, and cheese biscuit is the best I've had from a fast food joint.

I think I will get some lard on the next shopping trip. I really want to make flour tortillas at home. I miss going out to Mexican places and getting flour tortillas that were hot off the plancha.
 
2021-03-05 2:35:23 PM  
since we're doing this... oblig.

http://cardhouse.com/travel/az/foodci​t​y4.htm

Fark user imageView Full Size


/and with the manteca safely stored away, the good ship U.S.S. Food City sailed off into the night...
 
2021-03-05 2:36:52 PM  
or, y'know, counterpoint: mantequilla.

Fawlty Towers: Too much butter
Youtube fjRwV9qPncI
 
Displayed 47 of 47 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.