Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Cheezburger)   During more "normal times" we relish seeing restaurant owners call out unreasonable customers for bullshiat reviews. Now while restaurant workers and bartenders are risking their lives to cater to entitled people we find that we relish them even more   (cheezburger.com) divider line
    More: Facepalm, Karen people, Birthday, restaurant owners, Lie, classic Karen tale, expert takedown, restaurant workers, real name  
•       •       •

615 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 01 Mar 2021 at 3:50 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



19 Comments     (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2021-03-01 1:55:53 PM  
That was a delightfully brutal takedown!  Wonder what Karen and crew's next step will be.  These days people don't stay down even after they get a well-deserved beatdown.
 
2021-03-01 4:04:09 PM  
Maths

Also, awesome reply
 
2021-03-01 4:15:13 PM  
Most people aren't doing what they are doing to "cater to entitled people", FFS, they are doing it so that they can have money to, you know, live on.  Would that they didn't have to do so.
 
2021-03-01 4:21:23 PM  
Y'know, the linked article p#ssed me off far, far less than one of the "recommended" articles on that site:

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2021-03-01 4:24:06 PM  
People in the service industry - retail, hospitality, whatever - really deserve to be treated with a bit more patience. They see and hear it all. People take out their days on them and some people are just downright unpleasant or nutso. I try to be polite, have a laugh, ask their name and use it. Doesn't cost anything.

My grandmother used to say, "You can't go wrong with good manners."
 
2021-03-01 4:26:35 PM  

ReluctantLondon: Y'know, the linked article p#ssed me off far, far less than one of the "recommended" articles on that site:

[Fark user image 425x505]


This is why I love this account:
https://twitter.com/BadLegalTakes
 
2021-03-01 4:28:53 PM  
I feel like I've read the before on Fark, like maybe it's a retread of a Daily Fail article.
 
2021-03-01 4:52:29 PM  
Sometimes it's the staff who are entitled, and expect you to be grateful for their overpriced food and half-assed service.
 
2021-03-01 4:55:44 PM  

ReluctantLondon: Y'know, the linked article p#ssed me off far, far less than one of the "recommended" articles on that site:

[Fark user image 425x505]


WTAF?!
 
2021-03-01 4:56:10 PM  
Where's the video?
 
2021-03-01 5:09:53 PM  
south-park-boogers-and-cum-episode.jpg

/oblig
 
2021-03-01 5:20:20 PM  

Diogenes: That was a delightfully brutal takedown!  Wonder what Karen and crew's next step will be.  These days people don't stay down even after they get a well-deserved beatdown.


Agreed, that was pretty good, which is saying a lot, because addressing these trolls is always risky. This place did a great job, and has facts to rebut these people's claims.
 
2021-03-01 7:22:53 PM  

Mikey1969: Diogenes: That was a delightfully brutal takedown!  Wonder what Karen and crew's next step will be.  These days people don't stay down even after they get a well-deserved beatdown.

Agreed, that was pretty good, which is saying a lot, because addressing these trolls is always risky. This place did a great job, and has facts to rebut these people's claims.


How is it risky if they've already written a bad review of them?

Unless by "risky" you mean they risk looking like one of those businesses who lowers themselves to quibbling with every bad review they get.

/There was a Fark story like a decade ago about a hotel owner who hit back at every of the many negative reviews they got, usually with "Well they didn't get up and leave in the middle of the night!"
 
2021-03-01 7:29:22 PM  

phenn: People in the service industry - retail, hospitality, whatever - really deserve to be treated with a bit more patience. They see and hear it all. People take out their days on them and some people are just downright unpleasant or nutso. I try to be polite, have a laugh, ask their name and use it. Doesn't cost anything.

My grandmother used to say, "You can't go wrong with good manners."


One of the best ways to get above-and-beyond service without even trying is to simply be polite to someone in customer service right at the moment they're dealing with a prima donna... especially when they have a chance to do it in front of the other person out of spite.

CSB... I was checking in for a flight home, and our company travel agency somehow managed to book my return ticket without a confirmed seat. The flight was pretty much full, and the agent told me she couldn't make any promises. I told her, "that's fine, it's not your fault. I'll take a middle seat, jump seat, whatever." As if on cue, the person at the counter next to me started pitching an over-the-top fit to her agent about being assigned a middle seat with her cheap ticket purchased on Priceline or whatever. "I can't sit in the middle, I have a medical condition" blah blah blah. After about a minute or so, while my agent kept glancing over at the other counter, she said loud enough for the other person to hear, "good news, I was able to secure a window seat for you. Here's your boarding pass. Have a safe trip home and I'm sorry for the inconvenience."

/And to top it off... that window seat turned out to be in first class.
 
2021-03-01 7:42:34 PM  

Fireproof: Mikey1969: Diogenes: That was a delightfully brutal takedown!  Wonder what Karen and crew's next step will be.  These days people don't stay down even after they get a well-deserved beatdown.

Agreed, that was pretty good, which is saying a lot, because addressing these trolls is always risky. This place did a great job, and has facts to rebut these people's claims.

How is it risky if they've already written a bad review of them?

Unless by "risky" you mean they risk looking like one of those businesses who lowers themselves to quibbling with every bad review they get.

/There was a Fark story like a decade ago about a hotel owner who hit back at every of the many negative reviews they got, usually with "Well they didn't get up and leave in the middle of the night!"


'Risky' in the way that it's really easy to get into 'Amy's Baking Company' territory... I mean, that biatch is nuttier than a pecan orchard, but even well-intentioned business owners can get overly involved and start making themselves look bad, you have to temper your passion about your business as well as out personal outrage over what was said about said business.

And the 'quibbling over every bad review' thing is another reason...
 
2021-03-01 7:48:31 PM  

BretMavrik: phenn: People in the service industry - retail, hospitality, whatever - really deserve to be treated with a bit more patience. They see and hear it all. People take out their days on them and some people are just downright unpleasant or nutso. I try to be polite, have a laugh, ask their name and use it. Doesn't cost anything.

My grandmother used to say, "You can't go wrong with good manners."

One of the best ways to get above-and-beyond service without even trying is to simply be polite to someone in customer service right at the moment they're dealing with a prima donna... especially when they have a chance to do it in front of the other person out of spite.

CSB... I was checking in for a flight home, and our company travel agency somehow managed to book my return ticket without a confirmed seat. The flight was pretty much full, and the agent told me she couldn't make any promises. I told her, "that's fine, it's not your fault. I'll take a middle seat, jump seat, whatever." As if on cue, the person at the counter next to me started pitching an over-the-top fit to her agent about being assigned a middle seat with her cheap ticket purchased on Priceline or whatever. "I can't sit in the middle, I have a medical condition" blah blah blah. After about a minute or so, while my agent kept glancing over at the other counter, she said loud enough for the other person to hear, "good news, I was able to secure a window seat for you. Here's your boarding pass. Have a safe trip home and I'm sorry for the inconvenience."

/And to top it off... that window seat turned out to be in first class.


Way back in 2005, we decided to travel to SLC to get my wedding ring. I had family here and wanted to see the thing on my hand, rather than just trust how it looked online.

We flew standy by, thanks to a buddy who worked for the airline, a mistake that I will never make again. My roughly 1 hour flight took me through both Vegas and Denver, and lasted like 4-5 hours, all told. The flight back was another story. I think our flight was scheduled to leave at 6:30 am. There had been a flight cancellation, and people were getting shunted to other flights as a result. By 3:00 that afternoon, we gave up and purchased tickets. Because of the flight, airline employees left and right were getting bumped, and were assholes to the poor girl at the counter every time. We, OTOH, were polite. I went up and made sure to get my name on the list with each new flight, and then went and stressed out on my own (I despise airports). We finally bought tickets, and got called up right before the plane boarded and offered an upgrade to first class. It was awesome, although the flight was, as I said, only an hour. Of course, by that point, I was so stressed out that I forgot that I got free booze in first class. But being polite and understanding of the situation is what got me first class airfare while there were undoubtedly asshole employees who were still getting bumped.
 
2021-03-01 8:21:08 PM  
In related news, Hucknall has a pubwatch warning system. Hucknall Farkers are in trouble.
 
2021-03-01 9:06:17 PM  
I almost left a shiat review for a restaurant that had no masks on their waiters, no outdoor seating, and even had a "Reopen NC" sign on their marquee last June because we didn't even feel safe enough to go inside. But then I decided against reviewing a place I didn't actually eat at.
 
2021-03-02 12:19:40 AM  

ReluctantLondon: Y'know, the linked article p#ssed me off far, far less than one of the "recommended" articles on that site:

[Fark user image 425x505]


I hope the answer was "Yes, you blooming nut job, alert the Courts that your child is trapped in a home with a blooming nut job. That will go well for you."
 
Displayed 19 of 19 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.