Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Hill)   This opinion piece is a trainwreck: Liberals are too incompetent to be as lazy as Jeff Sessions, Biden should keep Trump's Tom Price   (thehill.com) divider line
    More: Strange, Barack Obama, Democratic Party, United States Senate, President of the United States, Bill Clinton, United States presidential election, 2008, George W. Bush, Joe Biden  
•       •       •

2017 clicks; posted to Politics » on 05 Dec 2020 at 5:14 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



65 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2020-12-05 12:15:16 PM  
It's adorable that Republicans think we care about their opinions
 
2020-12-05 12:16:45 PM  
LOL, NO
 
2020-12-05 12:30:55 PM  
Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.
 
2020-12-05 1:21:04 PM  
I dispose Jeff Sessions, but even that little possum knew when to get off the Trumptanic.
 
2020-12-05 1:33:35 PM  
If you participated in one of those on-camera Praise Dear Leader round-robin sessions, you're out.

We want a cabinet that is in fact not afraid to invoke the 25th Amendment if it is necessary. We are not afraid of reality.

We are hopefully washing our hands of  anyone who tolerates a cult.
 
2020-12-05 2:32:25 PM  
Why is it I only hear about reaching across the aisle during Democratic Presidencies?  Fark that, let's have them reach this way.
 
2020-12-05 3:12:14 PM  
Competent Republican is a bit of an oxymoron, really. At least nowadays.
 
2020-12-05 3:38:37 PM  
America voted for Not Trump.

America doesn't want to be run like a business, we don't want Hollywood producers like Steve Mnuchin, we don't want racists like Stephen Miller, we don't want reality stars in office.

America is not a content generator for high television ratings, and doesn't need anyone coddling the entertainment industry, the oil industry, real estate investors or Wallstreet.

Jared Kushner proved obtaining an ivy league degree does not automatically make a human informed or capable of doing what is right for all Americans.
 
2020-12-05 4:37:30 PM  
Is Biden balancing the moderate and progressive wings of his party in a meaningful way?

I'll add that to "things the Dems are supposed to do that Republicans don't have to do."
 
2020-12-05 5:14:04 PM  
If an R reaches across the aisle, he's a RINO and traitor to the cause.  He should stand firm in what they want to achieve and not compromise at all.  If a D doesn't reach across the aisle, he/she is a partisan hack who doesn't want to do what's best for America (give the Rs everything they want).

Fark off and die.
 
2020-12-05 5:15:54 PM  

Byno: Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


Imagine identifying publicly as a republican.
 
2020-12-05 5:17:59 PM  
I think I know what the Hill is made of.
 
2020-12-05 5:20:09 PM  

Byno: Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


What makes you think a republican is an effective legislator when for the past 40 years have believed government is irredeemably broken and must be purged?

Public service means more than just serving the privileged and the wealthy with tax cuts and spending cuts with ballooning military spending.
 
2020-12-05 5:20:20 PM  
farking like a lightswitch isn't it? They act like utter coonts for years, then when they lose 'oh well we should not focus on which party you are from, lets work together (as long as you do what we want)'

Just fark off. fark right the fark off.
 
2020-12-05 5:21:46 PM  

Purple_Urkle: America voted for Not Trump.

America doesn't want to be run like a business, we don't want Hollywood producers like Steve Mnuchin, we don't want racists like Stephen Miller, we don't want reality stars in office.

America is not a content generator for high television ratings, and doesn't need anyone coddling the entertainment industry, the oil industry, real estate investors or Wallstreet.

Jared Kushner proved obtaining an ivy league degree does not automatically make a human informed or capable of doing what is right for all Americans.


Government CANNOT be run like a business.

/an Ivy league degree proving that people can be morons and still obtain one happened in Congress long before daddy's little failure came along!
 
2020-12-05 5:22:24 PM  

gaspode: farking like a lightswitch isn't it? They act like utter coonts for years, then when they lose 'oh well we should not focus on which party you are from, lets work together (as long as you do what we want)'

Just fark off. fark right the fark off.


This. It's normal, it happens every time the conservatives lose, it shiats me every damn time too. I should just come to expect it and ignore it but dammit I can't seem to.
 
2020-12-05 5:24:30 PM  

Byno: Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-12-05 5:29:42 PM  
Biden's already creating a YUGE deficit!!!
 
2020-12-05 5:31:05 PM  

Byno: Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


Joe Biden has been working in government for a half century, and by all accounts has been exceedingly successful at it, with an interpersonal network of great breadth and depth. I am more than certain that he does not require any unsolicited assistance in picking his cabinet, so it is hard to imagine who the intended audience of this piece is.
 
2020-12-05 5:31:56 PM  
Biden has put together a team filled with government expertise. Trump put together a team of his family and big GOP donors.
 
2020-12-05 5:32:34 PM  
The Hill is concerned, film at 11.
 
2020-12-05 5:32:39 PM  
The Democrat response to all Republican suggestions about how to run the next Administration:

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-12-05 5:32:59 PM  

EvilEgg: Why is it I only hear about reaching across the aisle during Democratic Presidencies?  Fark that, let's have them reach this way.


So much THIS.
 
2020-12-05 5:33:41 PM  
During his time as representative from Kansas, Trump's Secretary of State Mike Pompeo found nearly 90 percent of his cosponsors from among fellow Republicans, rather than reaching out to Democrats during his time in the House. Pompeo went on to bring this partisanship to an often-less-political office.
i.kym-cdn.comView Full Size
 
2020-12-05 5:35:03 PM  

Purple_Urkle: America voted for Not Trump.

America doesn't want to be run like a business, we don't want Hollywood producers like Steve Mnuchin, we don't want racists like Stephen Miller, we don't want reality stars in office.

America is not a content generator for high television ratings, and doesn't need anyone coddling the entertainment industry, the oil industry, real estate investors or Wallstreet.

Jared Kushner proved obtaining an ivy league degree does not automatically make a human informed or capable of doing what is right for all Americans.


Smarted, even though your last sentence is founded on the unsupported assertion that Jared has any shred of humanity. :P

Seriously though - well put.
 
2020-12-05 5:37:57 PM  

Byno: Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


They hint at that argument, but they do nothing to complete it. They listed a bunch of measurements of expertise and bipartisanship from their previous research, but don't even attempt to measure the results in the cabinet.
 
2020-12-05 5:38:16 PM  
I know it's sort of a tradition for an incoming President to appoint a few people from the opposition party to his cabinet as token bipartisanship but fark that.

Until the GOP shows that they are willing and able to govern in good faith again, they should be shunned by any Democrat with the power to tell them to gtfo.
 
2020-12-05 5:39:03 PM  
If you've had a job in the Trump administration, "expertise" is a word you should be forbidden from using ever again.
 
2020-12-05 5:39:38 PM  
Know how I know not one of you responding to me read the article?
 
2020-12-05 5:39:45 PM  
Yeah, there is a zero percent chance that anyone attached to Donnie's health policies are going to continue. And that's just good for the country.
 
2020-12-05 5:42:17 PM  
This column is kind of dumb -- these "scores" are arbitrary, a way to miss the forest for the trees, and based on dubious criteria (judging a legislator by sheer number of bills sponsored, really?) -- but in fairness, it doesn't remotely say either of the two things subby claims it says.
 
2020-12-05 5:42:40 PM  
Opinions are garage band demo albums: nobody wants to hear yours.
 
2020-12-05 5:42:42 PM  
Funny, I don't recall any articles like this during the past four years.  Why might that be I wonder...
 
2020-12-05 5:43:18 PM  

Super Chronic: This column is kind of dumb -- these "scores" are arbitrary, a way to miss the forest for the trees, and based on dubious criteria (judging a legislator by sheer number of bills sponsored, really?) -- but in fairness, it doesn't remotely say either of the two things subby claims it says.


Know how i know you read the article?
 
2020-12-05 5:43:37 PM  

Prank Call of Cthulhu: Opinions are garage band demo albums: nobody wants to hear yours.


Also, dreams and fantasy football lineups.
 
2020-12-05 5:44:12 PM  

Byno: Super Chronic: This column is kind of dumb -- these "scores" are arbitrary, a way to miss the forest for the trees, and based on dubious criteria (judging a legislator by sheer number of bills sponsored, really?) -- but in fairness, it doesn't remotely say either of the two things subby claims it says.

Know how i know you read the article?


Momentary lapse of judgment, I won't let it happen again
 
2020-12-05 5:47:40 PM  
And so it begins... how do you turn "President makes the sensible and boring choice, appointing someone with vast knowledge and experience of a subject to lead the huge government department that deals with that subject" into a clickbait headline?  It's gonna be a slow next four years.
 
2020-12-05 5:50:10 PM  

Super Chronic: Prank Call of Cthulhu: Opinions are garage band demo albums: nobody wants to hear yours.

Also, dreams and fantasy football lineups.


Or what hand you folded pre-flop at the hold'em table.

/Pet peeve of mine
//Getting a t-shirt made that says "nobody fu**king cares what you folded" for when Blackhawk opens back up
///Slash-tastic.
 
2020-12-05 5:51:29 PM  

EvilEgg: Why is it I only hear about reaching across the aisle during Democratic Presidencies?  Fark that, let's have them reach this way.


Rich people that run the media don't want to pay taxes.
 
2020-12-05 5:53:02 PM  

Threp: Purple_Urkle: America voted for Not Trump.

America doesn't want to be run like a business, we don't want Hollywood producers like Steve Mnuchin, we don't want racists like Stephen Miller, we don't want reality stars in office.

America is not a content generator for high television ratings, and doesn't need anyone coddling the entertainment industry, the oil industry, real estate investors or Wallstreet.

Jared Kushner proved obtaining an ivy league degree does not automatically make a human informed or capable of doing what is right for all Americans.

Smarted, even though your last sentence is founded on the unsupported assertion that Jared has any shred of humanity. :P

Seriously though - well put.


Yes please, no more war criminal cringe murderous dummies.
Fark user imageView Full Size

Business got an outsized influence in the Trump era and people died and are still dying because Kushner wanted to run the pandemic response like a business.
 
2020-12-05 5:54:27 PM  
to reach across the aisle to get things done?

Never, ever asked about Republicans
 
2020-12-05 5:54:42 PM  
Hear me out. Who has the most experience in the Trump cabinet? Trump himself! He would make a great Treasury secretary or maybe make him the Economy or Tax Czar. It would be a shame not to use such a brilliant man who has skillfully guided America for the last four years...
 
2020-12-05 5:55:29 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-12-05 5:56:18 PM  
Joe Biden On Liking Republicans: 'Bless Me Father For I Have Sinned' | NBC News
Youtube 7qflIB2Gyc8
 
2020-12-05 5:59:56 PM  

Byno: Welcome to Fark, where the chair of political science at Vandy is a Republican idiot shill, known hotbeds of Republican thought such as Brookings, UNC, UVA, and NYU are Republican, and where anybody who writes an opinion piece that isn't at an 8th grade level for FarkIntellectualsTMhas written a "train wreck."

Hey Subby:  Expertise and bipartisanship (or a lack thereof) are good indicators of how Biden's cabinet will function.  News at 11.


You used a lot of words, and unfortunately all of them together are absolute bullshiat and do nothing other than help us know who at this moment we should be pointing to and laughing at.
 
2020-12-05 6:00:40 PM  
On one hand, I do think a lot of us on the fark left focus too much on whether someone is progressive enough and not enough on whether they can get stuff done.

On the other hand, I don't think reaching across the aisle is how to get stuff done in 2020.
 
2020-12-05 6:06:14 PM  
I got an idea. Instead of nominating a bunch of radical progressives into positions of power, we should nominate people like Merrick Garland. That way Republicans will cooperate with us.
 
2020-12-05 6:07:00 PM  

lordjupiter: I think I know what the Hill is made of.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-12-05 6:10:08 PM  

dbirchall: And so it begins... how do you turn "President makes the sensible and boring choice, appointing someone with vast knowledge and experience of a subject to lead the huge government department that deals with that subject" into a clickbait headline?  It's gonna be a slow next four years.


I know (and you do too) that it's supposed to be slow and boring.  A government runs best when boring, intelligent, competent people are in charge.  That doesn't get the ratings that Trump (and the corporate media) want, but it's good for America...and Biden knows this.
 
2020-12-05 6:16:03 PM  

Dafatone: On one hand, I do think a lot of us on the fark left focus too much on whether someone is progressive enough and not enough on whether they can get stuff done.

On the other hand, I don't think reaching across the aisle is how to get stuff done in 2020.


The way to get things done is by making pithy tweets to "own" the other side.
 
Displayed 50 of 65 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.