Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Daily Beast)   Professor's theory that jade amulets may prevent COVID may, unsurprisingly, have a few problems--not least of which is that it was published in a peer-reviewed academic journal   (thedailybeast.com) divider line
    More: Fail, Conspiracy theory, Academic journal, Peer review, Earth's magnetic field, Scientific method, Moses Bility, strange new theory, authors claim  
•       •       •

955 clicks; posted to STEM » on 29 Nov 2020 at 1:11 PM (7 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



28 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2020-11-29 10:40:20 AM  
There's a Computer Science research paper generator that farted out a baloney document. That paper was accepted to an academic journal a few years back, because they didn't read it carefully.

Since then, research paper generators have advanced. I fed Essay Soft, "chakras" "Covid-19" and it blurted this out:
Fark user imageView Full Size

I think the robot is saying, everyone needs butt massages for financial prosperity?

It's great for humor but terrible for science.
 
2020-11-29 11:17:08 AM  
i have this rock that prevents tigers from eating me
 
2020-11-29 1:22:50 PM  
> Published by Elsevier

Found the problem.
 
2020-11-29 1:25:02 PM  
The professor's desire to make some grand discovery on scant evidence sounds more like he doesn't want to do the painstaking work of rigorous research and testing, which is the foundation of modern science. I hope he changes his mind. I'd also like to see evidence that his work was NIH-funded.
 
2020-11-29 1:41:23 PM  
His paper was supposedly peer reviewed.  If that's the case then if i ever have to be tried in court I hope to have a jury of his peers.
 
2020-11-29 1:46:09 PM  
This sounds like a scientific discovery that comes straight from the pages of Goop.
 
2020-11-29 1:57:58 PM  
And I didn't think the price of jade in China could go up, but here you go.
 
2020-11-29 2:21:45 PM  
I'd rather have an amulet of reflection
 
2020-11-29 2:36:02 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-11-29 2:36:51 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-11-29 2:52:35 PM  
claimed Stonehenge was potentially a "state-of-the-art Neolithic European public health complex" built to protect people from geomagnetic fluctuation-related illness and "megadeath."
Fark user imageView Full Size

whilst leaving Ozzy unharmed.
 
2020-11-29 3:19:56 PM  
 
2020-11-29 3:21:37 PM  
FTFA: No one raised their hackles then, the professor noted. Rather, he claimed, some readers told him to publish the paper in a journal.

I guess he didn't notice the chuckling and giggling that came with those suggestions to publish?
 
2020-11-29 3:48:43 PM  
Bility, who is Black, believes his article got through peer review because his theory is sound, if provisional, and that he is the victim of a prejudiced digital mob that doesn't understand his research or respect him.

Race card played.
 
2020-11-29 4:19:58 PM  
I was going to make a joke about legend of the five rings and the shadowlands but realised I may be the only person nerdy enough on here to get it.
 
2020-11-29 4:36:35 PM  

some_beer_drinker: i have this rock that prevents tigers from eating me


So, do I.  They work great don't they?
 
2020-11-29 4:43:20 PM  

haknudsen: some_beer_drinker: i have this rock that prevents tigers from eating me

So, do I.  They work great don't they?


Pffft, amateurs.  I have rocks for lions and bears, too

/And a bucket of water for wicked witches
 
2020-11-29 4:50:26 PM  
This guy seems as guanopsychotic as Drooliani.

He asserts (without evidence) that Covid-19 (which is an actual virus seen on microscopes) is really some sort of genetic manifestation caused by shifting geomagnetic fields. He also asserts (again, without evidence) that iron-infused jade might help prevent infection by the virus. His "support" for this theory (also without any evidence) is apparently some woo idea that ancient people adorned themselves with jade in order to protect themselves from such illnesses. Best of all, any criticism of his unsupported-by-any-evidence claims are obviously just the result of racial bias.

Shades of Ben Carson's "grain storage" theory about the pyramids.
 
2020-11-29 4:57:04 PM  
This is actually science at work. The review process isn't limited to the publication's peer review, but the peer review of the whole field. If you're foolish enough to put out garbage, the field responds by telling you that it's garbage. Yes, the publication's peer reviewers got lazy and fell down on the job. (My guess is they looked at the guy's reputation and passed it rather than actually reading it.) The result of that is the whole field now thinks he's a nut-bag and his career is probably over. I say "probably" as I haven't read the article so I don't know if it's being mischaracterized or not.

Purple_Urkle: There's a Computer Science research paper generator that farted out a baloney document. That paper was accepted to an academic journal a few years back, because they didn't read it carefully.

Since then, research paper generators have advanced. I fed Essay Soft, "chakras" "Covid-19" and it blurted this out:
[Fark user image 425x462]
I think the robot is saying, everyone needs butt massages for financial prosperity?

It's great for humor but terrible for science.


This is obviously not written by a scientist for a journal. The "If that doesn't scream global pandemic, I don't know what does". is informal language. Scientific articles use formal language only. (I've been dinged by reviewers for having some conversational tone to my publications.) It's also first person, which is generally considered a no-no.

Cyrene Valantion: I was going to make a joke about legend of the five rings and the shadowlands but realised I may be the only person nerdy enough on here to get it.


You're not.
I played Crab Clan
 
2020-11-29 5:36:34 PM  

Cary Granite: [Fark user image 425x238]


Ah Dara. My hero. (1) Dara Ó Briain On ALTERNATIVE SCIENCE | Universal Comedy - YouTube

Slightly NSFW language. Slightly.
 
2020-11-29 6:08:39 PM  
"Science of the Total Environment (SOTE), a reputable academic journal"

If it ever was (and I've heard of it a whopping zero times before today, so... yeah), it sure as shiat isn't anymore.
 
2020-11-29 9:02:32 PM  

Cyrene Valantion: I was going to make a joke about legend of the five rings and the shadowlands but realised I may be the only person nerdy enough on here to get it.


Nerdy enough?  No

Fast enough to pre-empt me?  Unfortunately Yes

(There should be another option besides Jade to travel safely, but it would decay faster.  I.e. instead of a 1-ounce pendant of Jade, you have a purified scroll of poetry massing one pound that also only lasts half as long.  This way Jade reserves aren't depleted as fast, but there is still a need for Jade)
 
2020-11-29 11:01:14 PM  
Jaded
Youtube gk2G8byiEII
 
2020-11-29 11:51:11 PM  
I want to write a paper for an astrophysics journal.

Has anyone else noticed that all the hypersonic UFOs that have recently been spotted at at the same time that gravity wave experiments were going on? 1915 Einstein talks about gravity waves and two years latter UFOs appear in Portugal. H Robertston found a problem with Alberts gravity wave work and instantly UFOs again in the 1940s.  More detailed work 1950s and then the disappearances of people start.
 
2020-11-30 12:25:26 AM  
imgs.xkcd.comView Full Size
 
2020-11-30 4:26:51 AM  

the sentinel: haknudsen: some_beer_drinker: i have this rock that prevents tigers from eating me

So, do I.  They work great don't they?

Pffft, amateurs.  I have rocks for lions and bears, too

/And a bucket of water for wicked witches


I have a lever in case someone comes at me with fresh fruit.
 
2020-11-30 8:14:42 AM  
It depends on the amulet.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-11-30 9:20:50 AM  
Cocaine bear gave me some advice on how to prevent covid, and so far, so good. So so good...
 
Displayed 28 of 28 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.