Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Kotaku)   Kotaku's review of the PS5: Sure it's good, but with teh Drumpf on the loose still we're all banished to the grave so it matters not   (kotaku.com) divider line
    More: Facepalm  
•       •       •

1671 clicks; posted to Fandom » and Entertainment » on 10 Nov 2020 at 11:50 AM (21 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

 
2020-11-10 4:20:32 PM  
12 votes:

Cndn Bacon: I'm sure it's probably great but it looks ridiculous when it's on its side.

[Fark user image image 850x478]


That thing is gonna overheat in that space
 
2020-11-10 12:15:11 PM  
12 votes:
Kotaku is gaming journalism for people who don't play video games.

Horizon West is going to be the bomb.
 
2020-11-10 12:12:29 PM  
12 votes:
Wow, thats the first review I've ever read that was basically "Yeah, this is great and all, but does anything really matter anymore?".

That guy needs some time off!
 
2020-11-10 12:14:11 PM  
8 votes:
Kotaku gonna Kotaku.
 
2020-11-10 5:22:05 PM  
7 votes:

AgtSmithReloaded: Just wait until you see how one of their writers is triggered by the holes built into the Series X.  Big yikes.


Airflow is offensive now
 
2020-11-10 12:15:57 PM  
6 votes:
In defense of this thing, in no particular order:

1) The "political" stuff was what, 10% of that by volume? Less?

2) If you're looking for an alternative reason to feel outraged by this tech writer lecturing you on politics, consider that this was a deliberate choice of everyone in the production process, and your reaction -- outraged clicks and talking about Kotaku's daaaaangerous video game reviews -- was part of their plan.

3) It's not like he's asking you to swallow the Communist Manifesto here. It basically boils down to, "Hey, Gen X succeeded in its wildest ambition: to make video games an adult art form and to build a legitimate community around them. But we also live in other kinds of communities, several of which are burning down or dying of plague. If you need to focus on that for a while, don't worry, they'll keep making these." It would take a sensitive snowflake indeed to be bothered by that, but hey, it's a big internet.

4) There are approximately 60 trillion PS5 reviews that won't mention Joe Biden at all.

Now, that all having been said, I acknowledge a potentially devastating counterargument:

State_College_Arsonist: This is the sad, pathetic millennial version of Hunter S. Thompson.


Never mind "sad, pathetic millennial." If the comparison with Thompson's masturbatory "sports" reporting is in any way valid, even a little bit, then I retract my defense and suggest we burn Kotaku headquarters to the ground.
 
2020-11-10 12:00:49 PM  
5 votes:
Still better than Kotaku's 'review' of Microsoft Flight Simulator recently, which was a 2,000-word essay about cloud computing and whether you could really 'own' a game any more, that at no point in any of its meanderings actually discussed whether or not the game itself was any good. Or indeed offered any useful information about it at all.

/As a bonus, the original article spent the first third complaining that a certain landmark wasn't in the game, when it turned out it was there all along, and the reviewer had just got lost and couldn't find it.
 
2020-11-10 3:57:57 PM  
4 votes:
I'm sure it's probably great but it looks ridiculous when it's on its side.

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-11-10 11:55:09 AM  
3 votes:
Meh, but it's no XBOX.
 
2020-11-10 12:25:10 PM  
2 votes:

ThunderChild: Still better than Kotaku's 'review' of Microsoft Flight Simulator recently, which was a 2,000-word essay about cloud computing and whether you could really 'own' a game any more, that at no point in any of its meanderings actually discussed whether or not the game itself was any good. Or indeed offered any useful information about it at all.

/As a bonus, the original article spent the first third complaining that a certain landmark wasn't in the game, when it turned out it was there all along, and the reviewer had just got lost and couldn't find it.


Kotaku sucks and their craven, dumbest mother farkers on the internet, comment section is even worse.
 
2020-11-10 12:03:30 PM  
2 votes:
I agree about the "feeling weird" part of guaranteed 60fps games, but wow that game demo for the new SpiderMan game was amazing!

I have to wait to buy one but I will buy one...unless Bethesda decides to go exclusive to XBox for future games. Will I have to be double-consoled again? Will the wife allow it?  I have a lot of scheming to do it seems
 
2020-11-10 12:03:09 PM  
2 votes:

Mike_LowELL: Get rank one on the cup-and-ball and then tell me how the PS5 is good, you casual.


I'm the master at that shiat. Unless the string is a different length than on mine. That's like the computer cheating and shiat.
 
2020-11-10 12:02:47 PM  
2 votes:
This is the sad, pathetic millennial version of Hunter S. Thompson.
 
2020-11-10 12:00:20 PM  
2 votes:
Get rank one on the cup-and-ball and then tell me how the PS5 is good, you casual.
 
2020-11-10 6:05:19 PM  
1 vote:
I agree with his frame rate issues. I have several games that I own on both PC and PlayStation (for purposes of being able to still play when the kid is bogarting the PlayStation). I can tell there's a difference between 30fps and the higher frame rates possible on the PC, I'm just not convinced it's actually better. It's just different.

Maybe if you're a fighting game e-sports prodigy that counts frames to pull off combos, then it's important. But for the average player it really doesn't change anything. Play a 60FPS game long enough and you stop even noticing the smoother frame rate...and vice versa with 30. Play 30FPS long enough and you stop noticing that it's not as smooth.

Then again I also think 4k is worthless unless your TV is the same size as the living room wall it's mounted to, which doesn't apply to really anybody. So maybe I'm just a luddite.
 
2020-11-10 2:32:44 PM  
1 vote:
 
2020-11-10 12:05:49 PM  
1 vote:

Conservative Evangelical Millennial Cyclist: I'm the master at that shiat. Unless the string is a different length than on mine. That's like the computer cheating and shiat.


Attach some broken glass to the string and take your opponents head-on, you goddamn noob.

God, it's like I'm the only person here who has invested thousands of hours in the cup-and-ball pro scene.
 
2020-11-10 11:58:45 AM  
1 vote:
Look, only an idiot WOULDN'T spend 500 bucks to shave 27 seconds of their loading time for Bugsnax.
 
Displayed 18 of 18 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.