Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(International Business Times)   The latest casualty of the pandemic? Performance reviews   (ibtimes.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

738 clicks; posted to Business » on 20 Oct 2020 at 4:05 AM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



16 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2020-10-20 6:40:44 AM  
Can we add this farking site to the banned from linking list. It's farking horrible!
 
2020-10-20 7:02:36 AM  
Oh, the reviews are still taking place ... 

Your employer is still ruthlessly scrutinizing you. and now that all your metrics are coming through the computer, there's a lot more hard numbers, and nobody has to look another person in the eye. 

What they've cancelled is promotions & raises. 

Silly goose.
 
2020-10-20 7:14:11 AM  
i.imgflip.comView Full Size
 
2020-10-20 7:42:51 AM  
I work for an international Managed Service Provider. Even before COVID, their performance reviews have sucked. There isn't a future development section, the review is posted online for me to review, and in a text box I'm allowed 150 characters (including spaces) to give my feedback and outlook.
 
2020-10-20 8:30:44 AM  
Performance reviews probably cause more harm than good in the best of times.
 
2020-10-20 8:33:39 AM  

rubi_con_man: Oh, the reviews are still taking place ... 

Your employer is still ruthlessly scrutinizing you. and now that all your metrics are coming through the computer, there's a lot more hard numbers, and nobody has to look another person in the eye. 

What they've cancelled is promotions & raises. 

Silly goose.


Friend of my mother, 50-60s, started working from home and was basically caught doing nothing.  She challenged and they showed how frequently she logged in and if there was any activity occurring when she was logged in.  She would just log in (VPN) and walk away.  Apparently now, she randomly types something now and again to appear "active"

granted, nothing was said about projects and reports not being done, I think they just found a useless cog in the machine.  someone who is in a dept or team, but doesn't really do anything.


Question for fellow IT farkers
If a python script is just endlessly typing "hello" and then deleting it in a loop, or clicking a cycle of items in a similar fashion, I how detectable is that?  Would they see just activity, or the actual keystrokes, letters and items clicked on "edit menu"?  would they even scrutinize if there is at least activity?  Maybe Change the document about once an hour?

asking for our lazy farkers out there
 
2020-10-20 8:42:25 AM  
Here's how performance reviews work.

You may end up in court if you fire someone without cause.

May.
Without Cause.

But... if you have a constant stream of paperwork...
AND...
Another individual appears that will do the job for less money and no benefits, is younger and more motivated, doesn't have family obligations (see "intern")...
You are legally within your rights to fire the older, higher paid employee.

See what happens when you let rich people hire lawyers?
 
2020-10-20 9:02:32 AM  
FTFA:

For example, at Anheuser-Busch InBev, job performance reviews once took up to six months to complete. Anheuser-Busch InBev now seeks to shorten the process to 2.5 months.

How did it once take 6 months? And how is it still taking 2.5 months?
 
2020-10-20 9:08:57 AM  
Performance reviews seem to be one of those things that sound nice in theory, but quickly turn impractical in application.
 
2020-10-20 2:42:59 PM  

skinink: I work for an international Managed Service Provider. Even before COVID, their performance reviews have sucked. There isn't a future development section, the review is posted online for me to review, and in a text box I'm allowed 150 characters (including spaces) to give my feedback and outlook.


Same with the International MSP. I've done IT work for four different companies over close to 20 years now and can count on one hand the number of times that I've had a review that wasn't an automated form. I didn't even know that normal jobs still did them without making small talk with clients.
 
2020-10-20 4:23:53 PM  
I never had a good performance review, despite being a good employee. It was always an uncomfortable trip to the supervisor's office, only to be given a blank standardized sheet of my expectations and outcomes, despite all of my extra work outside of the standard.

Now, I find myself in the management seat. I tried to take it a bit seriously, adding actual comments praising the employees for what they had done, so if they try to go elsewhere, they have a review with some shred of substance to present. (More work, yes. Two trying to leave were pleased. A third who initially laughed about the blank standardized sheets was surprised by the effort and actually took a seat to read it.)

No office either, I asked if they wanted to do the review in private, but no one took me up on it.  It was a quick signing of a bunch of papers, and I set off to do all the other busywork.

For the ones out for covid, same thing, but their contact was a couple texts. I was not about to take the "recommended" route of call to make a phone appointment, then have the dang review.

TLDR: Performance reviews are stupid, but I will try to put in a bit of effort to make them less grudge work and offer something potentially helpful for moving on. No dang uncomfortable one-on-one meetings, either.

...and I am sure it will be fine and not noticed, unless I misjudged my folks and someone complains to upper management.
 
2020-10-20 8:16:28 PM  
I'm particularly fond of the corporate trend of writing your own review. Especially how the contents of what you wrote have nothing to do with your actual grading / pay increase.
 
2020-10-20 8:22:52 PM  

Hyjamon: rubi_con_man: Oh, the reviews are still taking place ...

Your employer is still ruthlessly scrutinizing you. and now that all your metrics are coming through the computer, there's a lot more hard numbers, and nobody has to look another person in the eye.

What they've cancelled is promotions & raises.

Silly goose.

Friend of my mother, 50-60s, started working from home and was basically caught doing nothing.  She challenged and they showed how frequently she logged in and if there was any activity occurring when she was logged in.  She would just log in (VPN) and walk away.  Apparently now, she randomly types something now and again to appear "active"

granted, nothing was said about projects and reports not being done, I think they just found a useless cog in the machine.  someone who is in a dept or team, but doesn't really do anything.


Question for fellow IT farkers
If a python script is just endlessly typing "hello" and then deleting it in a loop, or clicking a cycle of items in a similar fashion, I how detectable is that?  Would they see just activity, or the actual keystrokes, letters and items clicked on "edit menu"?  would they even scrutinize if there is at least activity?  Maybe Change the document about once an hour?

asking for our lazy farkers out there


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-10-20 8:47:17 PM  
"You need improvement in area X"
"I'm the team expert on X.  Everyone comes to me about it."
"Well I don't think you're doing as well as you could be"
"Okay, so you never told me this until you put it on my review?  Where was my chance to improve?"
"This is where I'm telling you that."
"And you're costing me a raise by rating me low in the area where I'm the farking expert."
"Mumble mumble mumble"


Or, How I Decided That Being The Expert In That One Thing Wasn't Worth My Time.

AKA "How my boss disincentivized his system expert from being the system expert."
 
2020-10-20 11:30:28 PM  

thornhill: FTFA:

For example, at Anheuser-Busch InBev, job performance reviews once took up to six months to complete. Anheuser-Busch InBev now seeks to shorten the process to 2.5 months.

How did it once take 6 months? And how is it still taking 2.5 months?


They 'normalize' the reviews.  Which means, the has a list of employees from good to bad and need to create reviews that will justify those rankings that are based on arbitrary managers.

Creating those reviews will require a lot of fiction writing.
 
2020-10-21 6:25:53 AM  
Performance reviews are pointless.

What are my goals and expectations?
I keep going through the maze, and you keep giving me cheese.
 
Displayed 16 of 16 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.