Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(National Review)   National Review to the rescue of political windsock Thirsty Lil' Marco   (nationalreview.com) divider line
    More: Asinine, Communism, World War II, Nazi Germany, Poland, Soviet Union, Cold War, Donald Trump, Ad hominem  
•       •       •

1920 clicks; posted to Politics » on 19 Aug 2020 at 8:18 AM (14 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



53 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2020-08-19 6:22:58 AM  
Awwww, Li'l Marco can't even come to his own defense.
 
2020-08-19 7:44:06 AM  
Windsock Thirsty Lil' Marco is the name of my...

/penis?
 
2020-08-19 8:21:12 AM  
Those knickers are so twisted Plastic Man couldn't wear them.
 
2020-08-19 8:21:42 AM  
They sound concerned about someones feelings.
 
2020-08-19 8:21:44 AM  
Prove the claim wrong with more than a "NUH-UH"

He was part of the clown car of candidates in 2015-16 that let Trump hijack the GOP primary then fell in line behind a deranged lunatic.

He can eat sh*t.
 
2020-08-19 8:23:16 AM  
pbs.twimg.comView Full Size
 
2020-08-19 8:24:43 AM  
No one cares what hurts the feelings of people who were silent when their president mocked the disabled. GFY hypocrite.
 
2020-08-19 8:25:36 AM  
GFY
 
2020-08-19 8:25:54 AM  
As someone whose parents defected from the Soviet bloc, I find this kind of slander especially indefensible because it belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points, and because it's impossible to defend against.

That's what makes it great!
 
2020-08-19 8:25:56 AM  
one of the grossest ad hominem attacks I've seen in a long time

NRO still exists in a universe where insinuating a guy could have been a commie is the grossest ad hominem.

Not referring to political rivals as "low IQ" or "sleepy" or "crooked" or "lyin'" or "crazy" or "do-nothing." Nope, "would have stayed in Cuba" is the worst.
 
2020-08-19 8:26:40 AM  
What unmitigated gall to say that a Senator who has - multiple times - taken an ideological stand then abandoned it almost immediately when it was a political loser would align himself with a political strongman (who is responsible for a lot of dead people) in opposition to a previously-stated political position!
 
2020-08-19 8:26:49 AM  
I will not support the Lincoln Project, no members of them are worthy or trust worthy.

Sure the US is so badly run right now that even the right wing nutters are anti-tRump, but they are still right wing nutters!
 
2020-08-19 8:27:16 AM  
"Belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points" has been the Republican playbook for the Trump years.
 
2020-08-19 8:28:20 AM  
Civility for thee but not for me
 
2020-08-19 8:28:26 AM  
Marco Rubio needs a haircut.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-08-19 8:28:59 AM  
has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.
 
2020-08-19 8:29:38 AM  
May your feelings be farked.
 
2020-08-19 8:30:07 AM  

rudemix: No one cares what hurts the feelings of people who were silent when their president mocked the disabled, gold star families, leading senators with brain cancer, POWs, African and Central American countries, black and brown citizens of the United States, Canada, Germany, women of color, women of all colors, peaceful protesters exercising their first amendment, basketball players, baseball players, football players, soccer players, republicans with morals. GFY hypocrite.


I'm sure I missed a whole lot of people. Either way, Marco Rubio and go suck an egg through a garden hose.
 
2020-08-19 8:30:22 AM  

thurstonxhowell: has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.


Why?

Sorry there are no rules any more.
 
2020-08-19 8:32:38 AM  
NRO you say
i.imgur.comView Full Size
 
2020-08-19 8:32:38 AM  

Langdon_777: I will not support the Lincoln Project, no members of them are worthy or trust worthy.

Sure the US is so badly run right now that even the right wing nutters are anti-tRump, but they are still right wing nutters!


The Lincoln Project are the Republicans the Trump wing left behind in the mad dash to the right.  They're still Bush year Republicans.  You're correct that they still shouldn't be trusted, but they're at least a known known and respect, to a greater degree at least, our institutions.

/if only to manipulate them for their causes rather than disregard or hijack them entirely.
 
2020-08-19 8:32:52 AM  

Langdon_777: I will not support the Lincoln Project, no members of them are worthy or trust worthy.

Sure the US is so badly run right now that even the right wing nutters are anti-tRump, but they are still right wing nutters!


Let them fight.
 
2020-08-19 8:33:14 AM  

Super Chronic: NRO still exists in a universe where insinuating a guy could have been a commie is the grossest ad hominem.


Implying a devoted family man is a pedophile is a-ok with them, too.
 
2020-08-19 8:35:00 AM  

zeroman987: thurstonxhowell: has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.

Why?

Sorry there are no rules any more.


So you think it's ok to use where someone's parents were born against them? Which Trump are you?
 
2020-08-19 8:35:35 AM  
i.redd.itView Full Size
 
2020-08-19 8:38:07 AM  

HotWingConspiracy: As someone whose parents defected from the Soviet bloc, I find this kind of slander especially indefensible because it belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points, and because it's impossible to defend against.

That's what makes it great!


And what makes the entirely accurate description even more damning. He'll latch on to any evil idea if it will help his career.
 
2020-08-19 8:43:49 AM  

HotWingConspiracy: As someone whose parents defected from the Soviet bloc, I find this kind of slander especially indefensible because it belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points, and because it's impossible to defend against.

That's what makes it great!


I wonder how they feel about the treatment of Vindman and his brother.
 
2020-08-19 8:44:18 AM  

cefm: HotWingConspiracy: As someone whose parents defected from the Soviet bloc, I find this kind of slander especially indefensible because it belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points, and because it's impossible to defend against.

That's what makes it great!

And what makes the entirely accurate description even more damning. He'll latch on to any evil idea if it will help his career.


Fark user imageView Full Size

File photo of Marco Rubio.
 
2020-08-19 8:44:50 AM  
The comparisons of Trump to "actual tyrrany" are apt. They've gotten more apt. It doesn't always happen overnight. Sometimes, it's gradual, and like many historians have said, we may not be there yet, but we're headed there unless something changes. That's kind of the point. It's still possible to mitigate the damage, but we have to do it NOW.
 
2020-08-19 8:47:00 AM  
I don't see anything wrong with their statement. Hell, all republican males would have  LOVED to live in Cuba during Castro's regime. All those Cubano cabin boys would drive them mad with lust.
 
2020-08-19 8:52:57 AM  

thurstonxhowell: has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.


Right. They're saying he's a toady with no principles or scruples.

Factcheck rates this claim as, "Uh, DUH"
 
2020-08-19 8:54:09 AM  
How can anyone who supports trump in any shape form or fashion even think of picking up a stone to throw at someone standing outside their glass house?

Look what that Orange idiot did THIS week in his ever faster expedition to find rock bottom.

Birthirism 2
Tweeting Russian Propaganda

That's just this week.

Where my "Oh Come On" GIF!!
 
2020-08-19 8:59:28 AM  
The Lincoln Project Sinks to a Remarkable New Low
The author, DAVID HARSANYI, then goes on to say:

It would be tantamount to Rubio saying, "Steve Schmidt is the type of guy who would have been leading the mob in Kristallnacht because it might mean a few extra Reichsmarks in his pocket."

Publicly publishing an even worse analogy.

The National Review is currently winning at Asshole Limbo.
 
2020-08-19 9:02:23 AM  

thurstonxhowell: has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.


1. Marco's family came over on their own in 1956.  Before Castro.  He lied and said they came because of Castro.
2.Marco is an Anchor baby.

Marco's brother in law was one of the largest drug dealers in South Florida. Marco and his family said they had no idea he was a drug dealer until he was arrested.

https://www.miaminewtimes.com/news/ma​r​co-rubios-ties-to-a-drug-smuggling-bro​ther-in-law-were-closer-than-advertise​d-8873774
 
2020-08-19 9:09:33 AM  

soopey: rudemix: No one cares what hurts the feelings of people who were silent when their president mocked the disabled, gold star families, leading senators with brain cancer, POWs, African and Central American countries, black and brown citizens of the United States, Canada, Germany, women of color, women of all colors, peaceful protesters exercising their first amendment, basketball players, baseball players, football players, soccer players, republicans with morals. GFY hypocrite.

I'm sure I missed a whole lot of people. Either way, Marco Rubio and go suck an egg through a garden hose.


I thought about listing more but didn't want to get my blood angered up too early.
 
2020-08-19 9:11:33 AM  

Super Chronic: one of the grossest ad hominem attacks I've seen in a long time

NRO still exists in a universe where insinuating a guy could have been a commie is the grossest ad hominem.

Not referring to political rivals as "low IQ" or "sleepy" or "crooked" or "lyin'" or "crazy" or "do-nothing." Nope, "would have stayed in Cuba" is the worst.


And some of them really wonder why 'movement conservatism' has been replaced with bald faced ethnic nationalism.  Because say what you will about Nazis, at least they have an ethos, unlike the goons at the National Review.
 
2020-08-19 9:12:33 AM  

thurstonxhowell: zeroman987: thurstonxhowell: has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

They didn't even understand the insult. No one said he was Castro's apparatchik. They said he would be if he still lived in Cuba. He lives here, so he's working for Trump. It's not a complicated thought, but they somehow completely whiffed it.

It's still a bit distasteful to me to use his family history like that.

Why?

Sorry there are no rules any more.

So you think it's ok to use where someone's parents were born against them? Which Trump are you?


He's not using where Rubio's parents are born against him.

It's the fact that Rubio is a political weather vane that's the attack.  His parentage is just the context.
 
2020-08-19 9:13:00 AM  
As someone whose parents defected from the Soviet bloc, I find this kind of slander especially indefensible because it belittles the horrors of tyranny for cheap political points, and because it's impossible to defend against.


So you admit that cheap shots like this shouldn't be recognized in national media?
 
2020-08-19 9:16:30 AM  

Langdon_777: I will not support the Lincoln Project, no members of them are worthy or trust worthy.

Sure the US is so badly run right now that even the right wing nutters are anti-tRump, but they are still right wing nutters!


I have no problem with letting the Republicans kill and eat their own.
 
2020-08-19 9:20:13 AM  

theflatline: 1. Marco's family came over on their own in 1956.  Before Castro.  He lied and said they came because of Castro.
2.Marco is an Anchor baby.


This is a great pair of examples for illustrating what is a legitimate criticism of a politician and what you should feel ashamed of saying. See, the first one is based on something the politician themselves said. Marco Rubio chose to tell a lie and that is his fault. The second is using the circumstances of his birth against him while using a horrific slur. You're blaming him for his parents' actions and dragging yourself down to the gutter with your language.

Excellent work.
 
2020-08-19 9:27:48 AM  
Anytime somebody tells you the right is based on hate and anger remember that it's Dems who rarely debate policy.

They just tweet out stuff like "this guy would've worked for a murderous dictator" as if that's a legitimate thing u could even know
 
2020-08-19 9:30:16 AM  
Political windsock? I'm not sure what rock I've been hiding under, but that's a new favorite term.
 
2020-08-19 9:32:23 AM  
What does pearl turn into under the sort of enormous pressure such as with this clutching? I know if you cross a diamond with a pearl you get LSD.
 
2020-08-19 9:33:24 AM  

GrizzlyPouch: Anytime somebody tells you the right is based on hate and anger remember that it's Dems who rarely debate policy.

They just tweet out stuff like "this guy would've worked for a murderous dictator" as if that's a legitimate thing u could even know


OK, I'll bite, just so I can point out that the guy who tweeted this stuff is a Republican.
 
2020-08-19 9:42:22 AM  
The political shape-shifting accusation against Rubio hits a nerve with NRO, which moved rapidly from #NeverTrump to #ButDefinitelyNotADemocrat to #IGuessTrumpThen to #NationalConservatism.
 
2020-08-19 9:52:39 AM  

Super Chronic: The political shape-shifting accusation against Rubio hits a nerve with NRO, which moved rapidly from #NeverTrump to #ButDefinitelyNotADemocrat to #IGuessTrumpThen to #NationalConservatism.


It's a tough world when both sides really ARE that bad.
 
2020-08-19 10:42:19 AM  
Rubio, who has such a long record of speaking out about Chinese Communists that he has been personally sanctioned by Beijing, is a vicious Castro-regime apparatchik?

This defense reminds of Philip defending Terrance in his murder trial in the South Park special.
 
2020-08-19 10:47:16 AM  
akns-images.eonline.comView Full Size
 
2020-08-19 11:14:36 AM  
New low? The reason they are so effective is they only say true things.
 
2020-08-19 11:25:10 AM  

edmo: New low? The reason they are so effective is they only say true things.


And there is not much lower anyone can go.
 
Displayed 50 of 53 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.