Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Mediaite)   A pro-Trump website was duped by an op-ed written by a fake person and decides to stand by their decision and endorse said opinion piece. Weird hill to die on   (mediaite.com) divider line
    More: Fail, United Arab Emirates, Newspaper, Daily Beast, Middle East, Human Events, op-ed, Will Chamberlain, Jerusalem Post  
•       •       •

2695 clicks; posted to Politics » on 08 Jul 2020 at 11:25 AM (16 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



28 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2020-07-08 8:59:19 AM  
It's called "never admitting you were wrong" and it is a solid motif of most right-wingers in every situation that means something to them.
 
2020-07-08 9:00:05 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-07-08 10:20:55 AM  
We have reviewed the substance of this piece, and have not found any factual errors-and we still agree with the thesis of the piece. As such, we are keeping the piece up, and adopting its arguments as a publication.

Alluding to the new byline on the anonymously-written piece, which now reads "by Human Events," Chamberlain said the site has "adopted the article's argument as our own"


When journalism morphs into fan fiction.
 
2020-07-08 11:27:21 AM  
Willful ignorance is the heart of the GOP platform.
 
2020-07-08 11:27:59 AM  
It was all a payola scheme: the sources paid them to publish the work, so why would the fact that the authors are fictitious matter at this point?
 
2020-07-08 11:29:19 AM  
"We still support the false version of reality and the hate that this op-ed represents, so we're running with it. Who wrote it doesn't matter, it still gives us rage-boners about the wrong people who, fortunately for us and our readers, are brown."
 
2020-07-08 11:29:20 AM  
Say... ya don't think this will sully the opinion that CNN is "fake news" do ya?
 
2020-07-08 11:31:16 AM  
They have upcoming scathing editorials from authors like I.P. Freely, Mike Hunt, Al Coholic, Amanda Huggenkiss and Gene Masseth.
 
2020-07-08 11:32:49 AM  
It's all a distraction from the real story of 2020.
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-07-08 11:33:35 AM  

UberDave: It's called "never admitting you were wrong" and it is a solid motif of most right-wingers in every situation that means something to them.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-07-08 11:34:13 AM  
To paraphrase LBJ - just tell them what they want to hear, and they'll throw their wallet at you.

Or in this case, they'll publish your article and throw you some love.
 
2020-07-08 11:35:21 AM  
In for a penny, in for a pound.
 
2020-07-08 11:36:16 AM  

red230: It's all a distraction from the real story of 2020.
[Fark user image image 674x593]


fark 2020 I'm solely focused on this issue now, it seems like a lot more fun. I personally side with the trash pandas and their valiant hogs.
 
2020-07-08 11:36:35 AM  
shiat, boys, they've got us on this one. How do we own the libs here?

What if we relabel the UAE state propaganda as our own opinion, boss?

Good idea, Todd. BTW you're all fired, I can just post articles from fake people now.
 
2020-07-08 11:37:20 AM  

Dimensio: They have upcoming scathing editorials from authors like I.P. Freely, Mike Hunt, Al Coholic, Amanda Huggenkiss and Gene Masseth.


Ahahahaha! That gets me every time
 
2020-07-08 11:39:05 AM  
Sounds like Saudi propaganda.
 
2020-07-08 11:39:29 AM  
Personally, I don't care what hill MAGAts choose to die on, as long as they die.
 
2020-07-08 11:39:30 AM  

PanicAttack: Willful ignorance is the heart of the GOP platform.


Willful?  Try "prideful."
 
2020-07-08 11:40:33 AM  

special20: Say... ya don't think this will sully the opinion that CNN is "fake news" do ya?


They'll cast a "but this is different" deflection spell.
 
2020-07-08 11:42:37 AM  
Colbert's "truthiness" was ~supposed~ to be satire.

Then again, a terrifyingly large cohort didn't realize it was an act.
 
2020-07-08 11:42:49 AM  

Diogenes: special20: Say... ya don't think this will sully the opinion that CNN is "fake news" do ya?

They'll cast a "but this is different" deflection spell.


Next week they will endorse this article as well.

pics.me.meView Full Size
 
2020-07-08 11:43:45 AM  
hmmm...

1. Scream about "Fake News"
2. Publish real fake news
3. Double down on fake news
4. c'mon now...this is just getting ridiculous....Profit?
 
2020-07-08 11:50:05 AM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-07-08 11:57:40 AM  
If Trump-supporting sites relied on actual news and/or intelligent opinion, they wouldn't be Trump-supporting sites.
 
2020-07-08 12:05:26 PM  
Reminds me of this

Fox News Airs Monty Python Dialogue (Intercut with Movie Scene)
Youtube ZY8kyUzzf2A
 
2020-07-08 12:22:43 PM  
Trumpers embrace imaginary things. Film at 11.
 
2020-07-08 1:11:02 PM  

UberDave: It's called "never admitting you were wrong" and it is a solid motif of most right-wingers in every situation that means something to them.


They're "conservatives" so they already normally just make up whatever BS gaslighting they need to in order to push their agenda. So this seems pretty on-brand for them.
 
2020-07-09 6:25:42 PM  

red230: It's all a distraction from the real story of 2020.
[Fark user image image 674x593]


Since the start of this Corona outbreak more and more animals are claiming the streets.  The Chase bank bank near me has cats and raccoons peacefully commingling but the peace is broken whenever the opossums show up. They are not aggressive towards the cats but are much so towards the opossums. PLM
 
Displayed 28 of 28 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.