Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Some Guy)   Subby is of the opinion that these two medical morons should have their licenses suspended, but hey, that's just me   (calmatters.org) divider line
    More: Fake, Epidemiology, Urgent care, Bakersfield doctors, public health experts, doctors' findings, Emergency department, urgent care centers, COVID-19  
•       •       •

5957 clicks; posted to Main » on 28 Apr 2020 at 4:18 PM (5 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



58 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2020-04-28 3:23:08 PM  
Spongeboob's Law Any doctor who wears scrubs to a press conference or media interview can be safely ignored.

Prove me wrong
 
2020-04-28 3:31:36 PM  

spongeboob: Spongeboob's Law Any doctor who wears scrubs to a press conference or media interview can be safely ignored.

Prove me wrong


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-28 3:35:05 PM  

spongeboob: Spongeboob's Law Any doctor who wears scrubs to a press conference or media interview can be safely ignored.

Prove me wrong


Or a lab coat.
 
2020-04-28 3:38:05 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size

We hate scrubs.
 
2020-04-28 3:49:38 PM  
God f'ing damnit Bakersfield, stop being so stupid.
 
2020-04-28 4:20:42 PM  
Yeah. Fark these two.
 
2020-04-28 4:26:22 PM  
"They've used methods that are ludicrous to get results that are completely implausible," Bergstrom said.

Extraordinary claims require extraordinarily proof.
 
2020-04-28 4:35:07 PM  
It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.

And then there are these 2 chucklfarks. I'm surprised that they don't have stethoscopes around their necks for added gravitas.
 
2020-04-28 4:36:29 PM  

Rock Krenn: It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.

And then there are these 2 chucklfarks. I'm surprised that they don't have stethoscopes around their necks for added gravitas.


they're in their asses
 
2020-04-28 4:36:40 PM  
It's all about the hospitalization levels. We prefer people dying hooked up to machines over people dying in the streets. That's just the way things are.
 
2020-04-28 4:38:04 PM  
2 idiots are going to set a bunch of FOX viewers out to get infected after watching Laura tonight.
not sure if i'm all that concerned about the expected results.

interesting will be in the coming years after numerous investigations by Congress and others will these so called purveyors of misinformation be held accountable. Including the entire gang over at FOX.

the special reports and investigations are going to make the muller report/ the warren commision/ Watergate/ken starr, and others reports all look miniscule in comparison. Tens of thousands or more will have died preventable deaths and answers will be demanded by any and all that lost someone.

the best vocation to go into for anyone entering coming of age will be in the Legal profession.
 
2020-04-28 4:42:01 PM  
Put these two under arrest and send cops to fox news to stop their interview. These motherfarkers are killing people with their BS. Charge them under terrorism.
 
2020-04-28 4:44:05 PM  
Forget it Jake, it's Bakersfield
 
2020-04-28 4:45:57 PM  
What do you call the guy who graduates last in his class at medical school?

Doctor.
 
2020-04-28 4:52:33 PM  
These are doctors in Bakersfield. It's not like they chose that place over Lake Tahoe or Marin County.


NateAsbestos: God f'ing damnit Bakersfield, stop being so stupid.


No danger of that happening anytime soon.
 
2020-04-28 4:52:58 PM  
Add this asshole to the list too:

https://thehill.com/opinion/healthcar​e​/494034-the-data-are-in-stop-the-panic​-and-end-the-total-isolation

I like how they are trying to pass off his Stanford affiliation like it means something. Scott W. Atlas is just another right-wing piece of shiat who contributes hot garbage to Fox News and National Review among others.
 
2020-04-28 4:54:15 PM  
A friend posted these moron's video on Facebook this morning under the guise of "it's good to get a different viewpoint". I eviscerated it piece by piece. We'll see if said friend is still speaking to me, precious snowflake they are.

It was predicted that assholes like this would start making the claim that the lockdown was overblown when the severity of the pandemic was not as bad as the worst-case models predicted, while ignoring the fact that it's because of the measures taken that's the reason why it's not worse.
 
2020-04-28 5:00:47 PM  
Meet the Fauchi and Brix replacments....
 
2020-04-28 5:01:21 PM  
Maybe they should be "re-educated" subby? Perhaps we could get some "camps" up and running in order to "re-educate" them?
 
2020-04-28 5:03:22 PM  

Rock Krenn: It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.

And then there are these 2 chucklfarks. I'm surprised that they don't have stethoscopes around their necks for added gravitas.


Absolutely! I was going to make the same comment. I have a Ph.D. and have worked with M.D.s in a research setting. Some are brilliant, many are merely meh. I found that M.D.s are much more likely to ignore results that don't support their hypotheses and are very impatient with the methodical pace that scientific investigation requires.
 
2020-04-28 5:04:18 PM  

fark'emfeed'emfish: Maybe they should be "re-educated" subby? Perhaps we could get some "camps" up and running in order to "re-educate" them?


That would be a waste. Just haul 'em out into the street and shoot them right there in the gutter
 
2020-04-28 5:05:39 PM  

rcain: fark'emfeed'emfish: Maybe they should be "re-educated" subby? Perhaps we could get some "camps" up and running in order to "re-educate" them?

That would be a waste. Just haul 'em out into the street and shoot them right there in the gutter


We're going to have a ton of leftover guillotines. just saying.
 
2020-04-28 5:06:04 PM  

Salmon: Rock Krenn: It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.

And then there are these 2 chucklfarks. I'm surprised that they don't have stethoscopes around their necks for added gravitas.

they're in their asses


If that's my thermometer, where the hell's my pen?
 
2020-04-28 5:08:29 PM  
These guys will have a huge audience with the folks that discount the VA trials on coloriquine and refute it with "that black democratic woman in Michigan took it and it saved her life"

I just don't know how you can willingly be so cavalier to "take the outside the box opinion" when actual people are dying.

Money and instant fame really can fark with some people heads.

Of course there is always that guy that bets every long shot at the track cause "this time, I have a really good feeling and I'm due"
 
2020-04-28 5:09:52 PM  

grokca: [Fark user image image 275x183]
We hate scrubs.


Nice.  Reminds me of this meme:
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-28 5:23:28 PM  
Missed what these dudes said. And don't see in the comments what they were stating. Are they putting out statistics based on their sampling? If so, it seems the debate should be based on their statistics and why their reports are inaccurate. A little more science would be good here verses opinions.
 
2020-04-28 5:31:37 PM  

flamark: Missed what these dudes said. And don't see in the comments what they were stating. Are they putting out statistics based on their sampling? If so, it seems the debate should be based on their statistics and why their reports are inaccurate. A little more science would be good here verses opinions.


FTFA: The doctors should never have assumed that the patients they tested - who came for walk-in COVID-19 tests or who sought urgent care for symptoms they experienced in the middle of a pandemic - are representative of the general population, said Dr. Carl Bergstrom, a University of Washington biologist who specializes in infectious disease modeling.

In other words, they almost certainly overestimated the number of positive cases in the population by using a biased sample.
 
2020-04-28 5:38:59 PM  
How much do you wanna bet they just took out all their savings and invested it, and now want to get people going again so they get rich?
 
2020-04-28 5:44:30 PM  

Rock Krenn: It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.

And then there are these 2 chucklfarks. I'm surprised that they don't have stethoscopes around their necks for added gravitas.


Conduct? Sure. Study design and getting past an IRB is an unpleasant experience that most residents do the bare minimum on and throw together some crap with an n of 23 that adds nothing to the state of the art. Working 80 hour weeks usually mean research gets put on the back burner.

But! Every physician trained in the last 15 years (at least) should damn well know how to read a study. "Journal clubs" are routine standard practice at every medical school and residency dept in the country, and you basically bring new articles or are assigned them and show up and poke holes in the study design with a room full pf smart people. What are the limitations? Possible bias? Design flaws? Confounding factors? Poor statistical analysis? Again, this is standard medical training, even at crappy schools and even for the dumb students.

That doesn't mean everyone learns anything or remembers anything. But we're trying like hell to practice evidence based medicine.
 
2020-04-28 5:51:44 PM  
Their conclusions are like saying "Of the people who visit a doctor complaining of painful urination, 90% test positive for gonorrhea, therefore 90% of America has gonorrhea, and most are asymptomatic."
 
2020-04-28 6:08:22 PM  
And last week's message from two Bakersfield doctors

That's as far as I needed to get. Fark Bakersfield...

leviosaurus: It's not like they chose that place over Lake Tahoe or Marin County.


Absolutely! Well said.
 
2020-04-28 6:32:08 PM  
Both of these doctors (who own a chain of doc in the boxes) are emergency medicine doctors.  Their time horizon  of interest is measured in minutes or hours, not days or weeks.  They want to make sure a patient isn't actively in the act of dying, then they move them to a more qualified specialist  The don't focus on epidemiology or wellness.  Are you bleeding out or having a stroke?  If not, go see an internal medicine doctor..

A friend of mine (board certified in pulmonalogy and critical care and an MD, PhD) once told me 'I wouldn't trust most ER docs to tell me what kind of oil to put in my car'.

I strongly suspect that these guys are using their medical credentials (one MD, one DO) to get in front of a camera to get their fifteen minutes and get free publicity for their chain of clinics.
 
2020-04-28 6:32:35 PM  
I know a couple of Doctors who limit their research expertise to whether or not they can get into the hot drug reps' pants.  Their dumb asses are challenged by just reading a research article on their own specialty.  They are, however, personally convinced of their expertise in most things medical and well beyond.  Their bottom lines suffer because other physicians are reluctant to refer to them.  These Bakersfield physicians have chosen a line of work where patients self refer and are not generally sent by other physicians. As long as their convenience clinics are well located and well advertised, they will do well financially.  Sigh.
 
2020-04-28 6:37:09 PM  

Rock Krenn: It should also be noted that unless they have an additional degree (e.g. PhD) a physician is not a scientist.

MDs can be shockingly ignorant of how to conduct basic science unless they have the appropriate scientific background.

It's a mistake to assume that because they went to medical school they are also qualified to conduct scientific experiments and evaluate the results. Most scientists and MDs understand this and stick to their area of expertise.


My aunt has a PhD in nursing.  She was involved in doing scientific research in ER procedures before retiring.  She likes telling young MDs "you can call me Dr Nurse" after they like to point out the are Doctors.  She was on the state's medical ethics board and is currently on the Board of Ethics for human medical experiments of a major university after being head nurse of a major trauma hospital for decades.
 
2020-04-28 6:42:47 PM  
They were in scrubs because they probably took time off from their shifts to do the presentation. They have 50 years' experience between them. They presented data they spent months collecting. They get ridiculed while twerking nurses get labeled as heros. People on the internet are stupid. I mean really, really stupid. And because I'm here I guess it lumps me in. Both doctors were presenting hard numbers. No opinions. No speculation. NUMBERS. Gee whiz, sorry it wasn't what everyone wanted to hear.
 
2020-04-28 6:57:52 PM  

Dammyl: They were in scrubs because they probably took time off from their shifts to do the presentation. They have 50 years' experience between them. They presented data they spent months collecting. They get ridiculed while twerking nurses get labeled as heros. People on the internet are stupid. I mean really, really stupid. And because I'm here I guess it lumps me in. Both doctors were presenting hard numbers. No opinions. No speculation. NUMBERS. Gee whiz, sorry it wasn't what everyone wanted to hear.


Maybe you missed the part where actual scientists were saying the numbers they were using were complete BS
because they are making broad statements based solely upon their limited first hand experience, as if that applies globally, and not just their localized experience

So yes, you are really stupid. Where you get off thinking a couple doctors in a podunk backwater can come out and say "well the rest of the medical and scientific community is just plain wrong, because this is what we've seen" defies all reasoning

It's like you really want to believe so bad, that you are willing to just chuck common sense and critical thinking right out the window. But that's how so many of these right-wing idiots brainwash themselves by watching FOX and OAN. It's called Confirmation Bias. You might want to seek professional help and get de-programmed
 
2020-04-28 7:16:20 PM  
Ben Carson is an MD.  Just saying.
 
2020-04-28 7:18:48 PM  
A friend of mine, who I have known for more than 20 years, is a general practice MD. He has been pushing this "I know I already had it because I had sniffles in late February/early March" ball uphill for weeks. He is in a an area will a very low positive Covid count and only a couple of fatalities, and still, these idiots have convinced themselves that they already had the Covid and they are no all good to go play with each other.

Just yesterday he posted four more negative tests (he retracts the personal data on the lab results) he did for patients that "knew for a fact" they had already had it and wanted the antibody tests. He has been doing some additional flu tests on some of these folks and found that a lot of his patients did not hot have Covid but did have/had Swine Flu, and believes that most of the patients in his area that were sick back in Feb early Mar most likely had that.

People are morons, there is a reason people spend decades in their fields of study, lets let the epidemiologist do the research and come to a consensus and listen to them, not a couple of smucks that spend their living handing out aspirin and antibiotics for runny noses all day.
 
2020-04-28 7:26:48 PM  

NateAsbestos: God f'ing damnit Bakersfield, stop being so stupid.


Rep. Kevn McCarthy, the House minority leader, is from there.  Is it something in the water?
 
2020-04-28 8:32:14 PM  

will.i.ain't: What do you call the guy who graduates last in his class at medical school?

Doctor.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-28 8:40:52 PM  
Business must be down.  They are looking to be the next Fox news Dr.s
 
2020-04-28 8:44:38 PM  
Charged with murder for any poor bastard the believes them and get sick.
 
2020-04-28 8:50:18 PM  

rcain: Dammyl: They were in scrubs because they probably took time off from their shifts to do the presentation. They have 50 years' experience between them. They presented data they spent months collecting. They get ridiculed while twerking nurses get labeled as heros. People on the internet are stupid. I mean really, really stupid. And because I'm here I guess it lumps me in. Both doctors were presenting hard numbers. No opinions. No speculation. NUMBERS. Gee whiz, sorry it wasn't what everyone wanted to hear.

Maybe you missed the part where actual scientists were saying the numbers they were using were complete BS
because they are making broad statements based solely upon their limited first hand experience, as if that applies globally, and not just their localized experience

So yes, you are really stupid. Where you get off thinking a couple doctors in a podunk backwater can come out and say "well the rest of the medical and scientific community is just plain wrong, because this is what we've seen" defies all reasoning

It's like you really want to believe so bad, that you are willing to just chuck common sense and critical thinking right out the window. But that's how so many of these right-wing idiots brainwash themselves by watching FOX and OAN. It's called Confirmation Bias. You might want to seek professional help and get de-programmed


Maybe YOU missed the part (yeah you obviously did, having an online attention span) where these said their data was in fact collected ONLY from the SoCal area, not the whole globe, though they did compare Norway's numbers to Sweden's. They're giving you science. You're giving us snot-nosed playground insults. Read a book some time.
 
2020-04-28 8:51:20 PM  

teto85: Ben Carson is an MD.  Just saying.


... and the single clearest example of why we need different titles for surgeons. And non-medical doctors.

I tried to find the credentials on these chucklefarks. Money says DO and/or FMG. Too many identical, deliberately misinforming, dangerous to public health articles with nearly identical wording made me give up.

More succinctly: FARK these guys. Seize their licenses and businesses. Convert the docinboxes to state facilities.  We're gonna need 'em... just because of these assholes alone.  Well never k ow how many people they killed.

Also, someone should run down their finances, debts, etc.  Few are this categorically stupid, so specifically deliberately misinforming without motive and funding.
 
2020-04-28 8:54:02 PM  
Providing a safe platform to propagandists deliberately downplaying a pandemic and willfully misinforming is one way to generate revenue.  I guess.

/ not gonna quote it... already figure I'm gonna forget to hit Add Comment. Or... something
 
2020-04-28 9:31:18 PM  

Dammyl: rcain: Dammyl: They were in scrubs because they probably took time off from their shifts to do the presentation. They have 50 years' experience between them. They presented data they spent months collecting. They get ridiculed while twerking nurses get labeled as heros. People on the internet are stupid. I mean really, really stupid. And because I'm here I guess it lumps me in. Both doctors were presenting hard numbers. No opinions. No speculation. NUMBERS. Gee whiz, sorry it wasn't what everyone wanted to hear.

Maybe you missed the part where actual scientists were saying the numbers they were using were complete BS
because they are making broad statements based solely upon their limited first hand experience, as if that applies globally, and not just their localized experience

So yes, you are really stupid. Where you get off thinking a couple doctors in a podunk backwater can come out and say "well the rest of the medical and scientific community is just plain wrong, because this is what we've seen" defies all reasoning

It's like you really want to believe so bad, that you are willing to just chuck common sense and critical thinking right out the window. But that's how so many of these right-wing idiots brainwash themselves by watching FOX and OAN. It's called Confirmation Bias. You might want to seek professional help and get de-programmed

Maybe YOU missed the part (yeah you obviously did, having an online attention span) where these said their data was in fact collected ONLY from the SoCal area, not the whole globe, though they did compare Norway's numbers to Sweden's. They're giving you science. You're giving us snot-nosed playground insults. Read a book some time.


WOW! Did you even read what I wrote? Was it too subtle for you?

"Maybe you missed the part where actual scientists were saying the numbers they were using were complete BS
because they are making broad statements based solely upon their limited first hand experience, as if that applies globally, and not just their localized experience"'


And yes, they did try to apply that globally, saying their little ignorant worldview supersedes not only what the rest of the medical and scientific community is saying, but what the rest of the world is seeing empirically in the hospitals and morgues

"They claimed the results showed that the virus had spread further in the area, undetected, and thus wasn't all that dangerous."

WASN'T ALL THAT DANGEROUS

Frankly, anything you say past this point doesn't matter because you've shown you're a Class A moron, and not just stupid, but dangerously stupid. However, you should feel free to go around licking random door knobs to prove me wrong
 
2020-04-28 10:57:02 PM  

Dammyl: They were in scrubs because they probably took time off from their shifts to do the presentation. They have 50 years' experience between them. They presented data they spent months collecting. They get ridiculed while twerking nurses get labeled as heros. People on the internet are stupid. I mean really, really stupid. And because I'm here I guess it lumps me in. Both doctors were presenting hard numbers. No opinions. No speculation. NUMBERS. Gee whiz, sorry it wasn't what everyone wanted to hear.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-28 11:00:04 PM  

Dammyl: They're giving you science.


They are giving bad science. But I suppose in your view if someone gave out spoiled and rotten food at a soup kitchen you would condemn those criticizing that and say, "They're giving them food!" 

Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-28 11:00:54 PM  

rcain: you're a Class A moron, and not just stupid, but dangerously stupid.


I think you are giving him too much credit.
 
2020-04-28 11:22:21 PM  

Mock26: Dammyl: They're giving you science.

They are giving bad science. But I suppose in your view if someone gave out spoiled and rotten food at a soup kitchen you would condemn those criticizing that and say, "They're giving them food!"


actually, they aren't giving any real 'science' just a lot of really bad math and ridiculous assumptions.
 
Displayed 50 of 58 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter




In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.