Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Guardian)   New Mexico hospital threw away reems of PPE just as the Virus hit because they faced an inspection, and the masks and hand sanitizer were close to or just past their expiration date   (theguardian.com) divider line
    More: Fail, Health care, massive supply of hospital masks, Health care provider, Patient, Health care in the United States, Joint Commission, late January, Medicine  
•       •       •

665 clicks; posted to Politics » on 21 Apr 2020 at 8:41 PM (10 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook



43 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2020-04-21 1:08:18 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-21 2:36:30 PM  
Land of enchantment, and lingering death.
 
2020-04-21 4:10:13 PM  
My mom retired from Presbyterian a couple years ago so I'm getting a kick.

/no, I'm not
 
2020-04-21 6:43:02 PM  
Neither "reem" or "ream" works in this context, subby.
 
2020-04-21 7:26:23 PM  
Thanks JCAHO
 
2020-04-21 8:46:13 PM  
I think subby meant they threw away Rheems of PPE as PPE is often measured in BTUs.
 
2020-04-21 8:47:31 PM  

fusillade762: Neither "reem" or "ream" works in this context, subby.


That's what she said.
 
2020-04-21 8:50:17 PM  

centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO


Just reading the headline told me it must have been JCAHO time. Hospital administration loses their damn minds when they come around, and for good reason. JCAHO can be a giant pain in the ass, and I say this as somebody who has been in another area of regulatory compliance for years.
 
2020-04-21 8:50:50 PM  
Hi what's going on in here?
mediad.publicbroadcasting.netView Full Size
 
2020-04-21 8:55:59 PM  
Open the PPE. Did it hiss? No? Nice.
 
2020-04-21 8:56:11 PM  
That's what happened to most the National Stock which Trump has been dumping on California and other Enemy-occupied territories. And probably, rebuilding those stock piles with fresh new PPE is priority number one with the corrupt administration and their cronies and evil minions.

The more you know .... This is why a trusted consigliere like Jarvanka is in charge of this grift, graft and corruption operation.

THE MORE YOU KNOW!

Even in Canada, the National stocks of ventilators and masks and stuff were purchased, but there was no budget for rotating them, so the Gubbermint was left in the lurch for lack of good governance, accountability and foresight. I vote we hang them later when we have sorted the culprits out from the victims.

But you're welcome to start with the guillotines for your own crooks in government and corporate suits.

You know yours are so much worse than ours, you don't need to sort. Just junk.
 
2020-04-21 8:57:25 PM  

buzzcut73: centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO

Just reading the headline told me it must have been JCAHO time. Hospital administration loses their damn minds when they come around, and for good reason. JCAHO can be a giant pain in the ass, and I say this as somebody who has been in another area of regulatory compliance for years.


And you're not supposed to have expired stuff on hand. That's why there are expiration dates. So I'm not sure why these hospitals are to blame here.
 
2020-04-21 8:57:56 PM  
When are the masses going to stop having to make or buy their own protective gear catch as can? When everybody who can get rich off of them is rich ten times over. That's my guess and I am sticking to it.

I have lots of materiel to make great masks but I can not sew. No patience or skillz. I hope what I do have is worth looking ridiculous when I wear it.
 
2020-04-21 8:58:40 PM  
Lesson Number One:  learn to sew. You'll have lots of work making body bags for the masses and loot bags for the classes, with great big $$$ signs on them.
 
2020-04-21 8:59:11 PM  
Was talking to Mrs. Alt last night, she is a labor and delivery nurse in Oakland CA, about this kind of stuff. Her union just ran a bunch of public protest, including in front of the White House yesterday, because her hospital was still refusing to provide adequate PPE when other area hospitals under the same name are doing better about supplying their staff.

There are OSHA, State, and CDC guidelines for this stuff for a reason. How is medical gear not fit to use last year totally OK now that supplies are short? If I am doing offshore deck work and someone does not have proper PPE and gets hurt, heads would roll, job stops, fines, lawsuits etc etc. Now that hospitals are having to take so many risks by not having or refusing to issue the proper PPE for procedures I am curious to see how all this pans out later. You just know the lawsuits are coming.
 
2020-04-21 9:00:34 PM  
"Hmm...bet this happened in Albuquerque."

*click*

"Yeeeup."
 
2020-04-21 9:00:49 PM  

Mikey1969: And you're not supposed to have expired stuff on hand. That's why there are expiration dates. So I'm not sure why these hospitals are to blame here.


Because they lose their damn minds and start throwing stuff out that is even near its expiration date lest JCAHO find something on the shelf that expires next month. Not that they'll get dinged for it (JCAHO even says so in TFA) but it doesn't matter. There's the threat that they -might- say something that makes administrators absolutely stop using their brain.
 
2020-04-21 9:02:50 PM  
DNRTFA.
Tough titties said the kitty when the milk went sour.
How's an expiration date on even newsworthy?  Why's it on the Pol tab?

Next, let's front page an article about my oil change.
 
2020-04-21 9:12:34 PM  

fusillade762: Neither "reem" or "ream" works in this context, subby.


If the PPE were fuzzy maybe they were measured in hairy reems which is not a count of paper sheets


render.fineartamerica.comView Full Size
 
2020-04-21 9:12:53 PM  
Reems?

static01.nyt.comView Full Size
 
2020-04-21 9:14:04 PM  

HairBolus: fusillade762: Neither "reem" or "ream" works in this context, subby.

If the PPE were fuzzy maybe they were measured in hairy reems which is not a count of paper sheets


[render.fineartamerica.com image 383x350]


Missed it by that much
 
2020-04-21 9:29:37 PM  

Someone Else's Alt: Was talking to Mrs. Alt last night, she is a labor and delivery nurse in Oakland CA, about this kind of stuff. Her union just ran a bunch of public protest, including in front of the White House yesterday, because her hospital was still refusing to provide adequate PPE when other area hospitals under the same name are doing better about supplying their staff.

There are OSHA, State, and CDC guidelines for this stuff for a reason. How is medical gear not fit to use last year totally OK now that supplies are short? If I am doing offshore deck work and someone does not have proper PPE and gets hurt, heads would roll, job stops, fines, lawsuits etc etc. Now that hospitals are having to take so many risks by not having or refusing to issue the proper PPE for procedures I am curious to see how all this pans out later. You just know the lawsuits are coming.


I think the main story here is they knew the virus was coming (per TFA) and threw out things that were "approaching their expiration" as well as already expired. Ironically, the organization doing the inspections stopped and officially said hospitals should consider using expired masks. It's being played as another "we didn't take this seriously soon enough" story.

I don't really blame the hospital for discarding expired PPE but I do think a little common sense would have been useful here. We all know expiration dates error far on the side of caution for everything. Personally, I'd rather use and/or have my health care providers use recently expired gear over frequently reused or make-shift gear any day. I imagine most people feel the same.

But again, short of discarding non-expired PPE, they didn't do anything wrong.
 
2020-04-21 9:32:42 PM  

fusillade762: Neither "reem" or "ream" works in this context, subby.


I take it you haven't met Subby's mom.
 
2020-04-21 10:00:25 PM  
Pres?  Reads.article.  yup.

Those guys are right bastards.  Almost killed my step father last month.  He had the misfortune to time a back surgery at a different hospital in abq just before the crisis hit.  There were complications, so he went to pres's ER in santa Fe.  They.medivaced him to their main hospital in ABQ.  Once there they refused to provide info about him and also wouldn't do the necessary follow up surgery to deal with the infection.  Their plan was to put him in a treatment home.  The same home that is a covid hot spot and would have certainly killed him.  We were able to get him transfered.finally back to the original hospital where the follow up surgery was done, he went into rehab and after 2 1/2 weeks in hospital is home and covid free.

The folks at Lovelace heros in my book, and that's not just because their.predecessors managed the health for the Gemini and Apollo astronauts.

Pres can go fark themselves
 
2020-04-21 10:28:45 PM  
So they only follow procedure when an inspection is coming? Sounds like disaster to me.

I get the "about to expire" outrage, but this should be routine. Administrators should not be making decisions just before inspection. I'd write them up for disrupting operations and not ensuring procedures are followed. Then again for not discussing the situation with inspectors.
 
2020-04-21 10:32:05 PM  
The old adage of "No unit prepared for inspection ever passed a war and no unit ready for war ever passed an inspection" can apply in varying degrees to many walks of life.
 
2020-04-21 10:35:34 PM  

recondite cetacean: So they only follow procedure when an inspection is coming? Sounds like disaster to me.

I get the "about to expire" outrage, but this should be routine. Administrators should not be making decisions just before inspection. I'd write them up for disrupting operations and not ensuring procedures are followed. Then again for not discussing the situation with inspectors.


Those playing the game of jumping through hoops to satisfy somebody in a suit behind a desk often have no say in whether the game gets played or not.
 
2020-04-21 10:37:15 PM  
Fark user imageView Full Size

She's got the eyes that give me the willies and command my total obedience.  See also Meghan Markle.
 
2020-04-21 10:45:59 PM  

ProdigalSigh: [Fark user image 180x270]
She's got the eyes that give me the willies and command my total obedience.  See also Meghan Markle.


She's also the reason a 9 year old got run over. Does that turn your crank too? Not to say she did it on purpose, but still............
 
2020-04-21 10:59:07 PM  

bobobolinskii: ProdigalSigh: [Fark user image 180x270]
She's got the eyes that give me the willies and command my total obedience.  See also Meghan Markle.

She's also the reason a 9 year old got run over. Does that turn your crank too? Not to say she did it on purpose, but still............


Meghan Markle has never run over a nine year old girl to the best of my knowledge.  WTF is wrong with you?
 
2020-04-21 11:01:47 PM  

ProdigalSigh: bobobolinskii: ProdigalSigh: [Fark user image 180x270]
She's got the eyes that give me the willies and command my total obedience.  See also Meghan Markle.

She's also the reason a 9 year old got run over. Does that turn your crank too? Not to say she did it on purpose, but still............

Meghan Markle has never run over a nine year old girl to the best of my knowledge.  WTF is wrong with you?


No, but Rebecca Gayheart has.
 
2020-04-21 11:10:38 PM  

bobobolinskii: No, but Rebecca Gayheart has.


I don't understand your answer to my question...
 
2020-04-21 11:27:37 PM  

ProdigalSigh: bobobolinskii: No, but Rebecca Gayheart has.

I don't understand your answer to my question...


The pic you posted is of Rebecca Gayheart. Do a GIS on the pic.
 
2020-04-22 12:12:33 AM  

buzzcut73: centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO

Just reading the headline told me it must have been JCAHO time. Hospital administration loses their damn minds when they come around, and for good reason. JCAHO can be a giant pain in the ass, and I say this as somebody who has been in another area of regulatory compliance for years.


A tell tale sign JAHCO is about to arrive at a hospital is when a hallway lined up with empty gurneys and equipment because there's no place to put them, suddenly disappear.
 
2020-04-22 12:13:00 AM  
I know exactly who she is and what she was convicted of.  She, in Earth2 and still now, has mesmerizing eyes at least to me, which was my point.  Why you would bring it up is why I asked, wtf is wrong with you?  She can have those eyes and still be a terrible person or whatever.  I liked her in Earth2.

You took a lighthearted comment about a pretty girl in a short lived 90's sci-fi series and pissed in my cornflakes for no reason I can figure.  So again, WTF is wrong with you?
 
2020-04-22 12:13:44 AM  

BigKaboom: buzzcut73: centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO

Just reading the headline told me it must have been JCAHO time. Hospital administration loses their damn minds when they come around, and for good reason. JCAHO can be a giant pain in the ass, and I say this as somebody who has been in another area of regulatory compliance for years.

A tell tale sign JAHCO is about to arrive at a hospital is when a hallway lined up with empty gurneys and equipment because there's no place to put them, suddenly disappear.


🤦🏻♂JCAHO. Dammit.
 
2020-04-22 12:20:48 AM  

ProdigalSigh: I know exactly who she is and what she was convicted of.  She, in Earth2 and still now, has mesmerizing eyes at least to me, which was my point.  Why you would bring it up is why I asked, wtf is wrong with you?  She can have those eyes and still be a terrible person or whatever.  I liked her in Earth2.

You took a lighthearted comment about a pretty girl in a short lived 90's sci-fi series and pissed in my cornflakes for no reason I can figure.  So again, WTF is wrong with you?


Welcome to Fark.
 
2020-04-22 12:28:07 AM  

buzzcut73: centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO

Just reading the headline told me it must have been JCAHO time. Hospital administration loses their damn minds when they come around, and for good reason. JCAHO can be a giant pain in the ass, and I say this as somebody who has been in another area of regulatory compliance for years.


And yet, no difference in complication rates or patient satisfaction between American joint commission inspected hospitals and those that aren't.

I suppose CMS inspections get the important stuff.  Joint commission is a scourge, their recommendations arbitrary and inconsistent, and should be bikes from orbit.
 
2020-04-22 12:29:25 AM  

bobobolinskii: Welcome to Fark.


Fark user imageView Full Size
 
2020-04-22 12:32:49 AM  

centrifugal bumblepuppy: Thanks JCAHO


This.
 
2020-04-22 12:34:54 AM  

ProdigalSigh: bobobolinskii: Welcome to Fark.

[Fark user image 225x225]


OMG

Sorry if I pissed in your cornflakes, as you put it, but after being on the interweb for god only knows how long, and on Fark for the last 16 + years, you should know by now as to how brush off asshole remarks to shiat you've posted. An I can definitely, along with the rest of the human race be an asshole from time to time.If you don't like it, just block me.
 
2020-04-22 12:37:15 AM  

buzzcut73: Mikey1969: And you're not supposed to have expired stuff on hand. That's why there are expiration dates. So I'm not sure why these hospitals are to blame here.

Because they lose their damn minds and start throwing stuff out that is even near its expiration date lest JCAHO find something on the shelf that expires next month. Not that they'll get dinged for it (JCAHO even says so in TFA) but it doesn't matter. There's the threat that they -might- say something that makes administrators absolutely stop using their brain.


Joint commission just makes up shiat as they go along.  I did residency in a program that rotated us through a bunch of hospitals.  Some hospitals would get dinged for the dumbest shiat, and three weeks after the other hospital wouldn't.  I'm talking stuff like not being able to use your own hats in the OR (a recommendation that has zero scientific basis, BTW).  One hospital got dinged, the VA, the children's hospital and the other one we rotated through didn't.

They can't very well go through hospitals and give out thousands of perfect scores.  They need to justify their existence, and so they have to ding you for SOMETHING.  Don't know if this is at the individual reviewer or the institutional level, but they're just basically looking for anything to write down while they disrupt patient care and increase healthcare costs without actually improving outcomes.
 
2020-04-22 12:38:52 AM  
I have "expired" things I got out of the dumpster at work, they still work perfectly fine years later. The experation dates for a lot of things are just so you have to keep buying them and companies have a reason to keep making them.

/Unless they purposely make them useless after a certain time.
 
Displayed 43 of 43 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking




On Twitter




In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.