Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Komo)   Seven out of 23 ferries in Washington State Ferry system are out of commission due to USCG inspections, crabbers. Spokesman: "Keep your crab pots in an area where it makes sense to crab and out of the way of big ships"   (komonews.com) divider line
    More: Strange, Washington State Ferries, Ferry, Washington, Puget Sound, Boat, Washington State Ferry system, biggest impact, crab pot lines  
•       •       •

2180 clicks; posted to Main » on 07 Mar 2019 at 3:52 PM (2 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



35 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2019-03-07 03:26:58 PM  
Living on Vashon taught me to not give a shiat about travel delays. Sometimes you drive right on, sometimes you wait 4 hours. The ferries will do what they do.
 
2019-03-07 03:54:15 PM  
telegraph.co.ukView Full Size
 
2019-03-07 03:55:01 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size


2nd edition!
 
2019-03-07 03:57:34 PM  
What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..
 
2019-03-07 04:01:05 PM  

styckx: What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..


Yah, crappy article.

Otoh, lobster guys in New England can be giant dicks about where they put their traps...Coast Guard on occasion has to run their big cutters through tight navigation channels just to cut down on the outlaw pots.

I could see crabbers doing the same thing, and I think their pots are bigger, which means bigger lines to foul props...
 
2019-03-07 04:02:00 PM  
9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.comView Full Size
 
2019-03-07 04:03:23 PM  

Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa4​9​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]


Sooooo......?
 
2019-03-07 04:05:13 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2019-03-07 04:05:46 PM  

Jelly Bean Raider: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

Sooooo......?


Furry inspection
 
2019-03-07 04:06:36 PM  

Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa4​9​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]


I see your pseudo-wolf festish gear and raise you crab fetish gear:

dhresource.comView Full Size
 
2019-03-07 04:10:22 PM  

Cormee: Jelly Bean Raider: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

Sooooo......?

Furry inspection


Gotcha! Well played, Farker! Well played...
 
2019-03-07 04:12:03 PM  

jayfurr: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

I see your pseudo-wolf festish gear and raise you crab fetish gear:

[dhresource.com image 700x850]


twittertrendsdepressme.files.wordpress.comView Full Size


@Jelly Bean Raider - with the above image I'm implying I'm masturbating to the photo of Jayfurr's crab fetish gear
 
2019-03-07 04:13:27 PM  

Jelly Bean Raider: Cormee: Jelly Bean Raider: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

Sooooo......?

Furry inspection

Gotcha! Well played, Farker! Well played...


Whoops,ignore my above snarky comment so.

/we're all good, right?
 
2019-03-07 04:14:34 PM  
They be after the recipe for the Crabby Patties!
vignette.wikia.nocookie.netView Full Size
 
2019-03-07 04:19:21 PM  

Cormee: jayfurr: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

I see your pseudo-wolf festish gear and raise you crab fetish gear:

[dhresource.com image 700x850]

[twittertrendsdepressme.files.wordpres​s.com image 253x215]

@Jelly Bean Raider - with the above image I'm implying I'm masturbating to the photo of Jayfurr's crab fetish gear


LOL... I cannot be mad at that!
 
2019-03-07 04:23:59 PM  
Derek Shepherd inconsolable.

/Guilty pleasure.
//Only watch it for Camille Ludington
 
2019-03-07 04:24:11 PM  
"Keep your crab pots in an area where it makes sense to crab and out of the way of big ships"


You mean like in the water?
 
2019-03-07 04:29:50 PM  
"Being from Vashon, I'm used to the ferries not always being reliable. So I just - when I heard there were issues I just walked on and took whatever was the next ferry," said Ann Kemp, who commuted to West Seattle from Sequim.

That is a brutal commute.  I can't imagine why anyone would do that to herself.
 
2019-03-07 04:37:34 PM  

styckx: What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..


This seems like they ought to know about the inspections far in advance and work with USCG to schedule them spread out.
 
2019-03-07 04:40:06 PM  
Sounds like a fun ride for all!!
 
2019-03-07 04:55:54 PM  

mrmopar5287: styckx: What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..

This seems like they ought to know about the inspections far in advance and work with USCG to schedule them spread out.


TFA says they intentionally schedule them for winter because the traffic is lower.
 
2019-03-07 05:07:02 PM  
Our ferries at work in NYC have similar problems with the Coast Guard. We also have problems with dead bodies clogging our jets on the Hudson and East rivers.
/ferryman
 
2019-03-07 05:14:45 PM  
Damn hippie stoner crabs.  Always breaking shiat just to get enough scrap for their next fix.
 
2019-03-07 05:30:30 PM  
Alright Ian, ya made FARK!

/PIO is a good pal
 
2019-03-07 05:33:12 PM  

styckx: What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..


"One person".

Spoken like someone who has never had to deal with fishermen and crabbers on the water.  Fishing in shipping lanes is not only common, it's routine.  And then they have the gall to play chicken with you to force you away from their pots and nets, because they know you won't intentionally collide with them.

/you're damn farking right I'm bitter
 
2019-03-07 05:37:21 PM  

styckx: What I read this as..

ONE ship was damaged due to crab pots. The rest are out for routine inspection and normal wear and tear so let's center the blame of the article on an entire livelihood because one person was a moron..


The headline, as written, is neither inaccurate nor misleading. Yes, there are more boats out for maintenance and inspection than from the braindead crabber but the headline is not wrong.  I'd wager they successfully dodge far more improperly placed pots than they hit so I think the spokesperson was just taking their opportunity to be heard on then issue, which is certainly far bigger than the one pot they ran up on. You can see from them the boat. Commercial and recreational. It's a big problem and the fact is the fishermen do not clean up after themselves.

img.fark.net

https://www.kitsapsun.com/story/news/​l​ocal/2018/06/28/washington-state-ferri​es-warning-crab-pots-ferry-lanes-puget​-sound/743156002/

https://komonews.com/news/local/thous​a​nds-of-derelict-crab-pots-litter-botto​m-of-puget-sound

https://komonews.com/news/local/a-min​e​-field-of-crab-pots-crabbers-asked-to-​keep-crab-pots-out-of-ferry-lanes-agai​n
 
2019-03-07 05:40:36 PM  

Craw Fu: "Being from Vashon, I'm used to the ferries not always being reliable. So I just - when I heard there were issues I just walked on and took whatever was the next ferry," said Ann Kemp, who commuted to West Seattle from Sequim.

That is a brutal commute.  I can't imagine why anyone would do that to herself.


What the hell? I think that's 2.5 hours absolute best case scenario.
 
2019-03-07 05:41:45 PM  

jayfurr: Cormee: [9b16f79ca967fd0708d1-2713572fef44aa49​ec323e813b06d2d9.ssl.cf2.rackcdn.com image 850x595]

I see your pseudo-wolf festish gear and raise you crab fetish gear:

[dhresource.com image 700x850]


Aaaah. That gave me flashbacks of when I went to Amazonia and had snu-snu.

/at least I think it was me. I confuse TV with reality sometimes. Am I wearing a red jacket?
 
2019-03-07 05:56:48 PM  
Bloody ferries!
 
2019-03-07 06:36:18 PM  
Ferries plagued with crabs? It can happen if you're not careful.
 
2019-03-07 06:50:28 PM  
Ferries wear boots and you gotta believe me.
Yeah, I saw it. I saw it, I tell you no lies.
 
2019-03-07 07:29:24 PM  
Cool story bro: Took a ferry from Port Angeles, WA to Victoria , B.C. last summer. I didn't realize how big they were. Lots of cars and several semi trucks loaded on with several hundred people.  Also was the first time I ever started feeling sea sick.  Never had that problem before.
 
2019-03-07 10:18:09 PM  
Recreational crab season ended months ago. This is all bullshiat. The deal is, a decade or so ago, some genius decided to privatize the maintenance on the ferries, so they could fire all the maintenance staff, and give their brother in law thr contract. So all the guys who knew how to keep the boats running are gone. The underpaid staff of the idiot who got the crooked contract have no clue.
The idea of a ferry not getting a dive inspection since Jan 1 is idiocy.
 
2019-03-07 11:52:28 PM  

Nexzus: Derek Shepherd inconsolable.

/Guilty pleasure.
//Only watch it for Camille Ludington


I literally only watch it for the ferry shots lol

/ and the thrilling drama
// and now Jo Karev
/// I'm not crying at each episode, you're crying
 
2019-03-08 07:23:00 AM  

4seasons85!: Cool story bro: Took a ferry from Port Angeles, WA to Victoria , B.C. last summer. I didn't realize how big they were. Lots of cars and several semi trucks loaded on with several hundred people.  Also was the first time I ever started feeling sea sick.  Never had that problem before.


I went to Nantucket one time a few years ago. You take a ferrie to get there so I get tickets and wait. The ferrie comes in and it looks pretty big but nothing out of the ordinary. Cars start driving off the thing and I'm thinking, yup, this is what they do. Then huge tractor trailors started coming off of the thing and I say out loud, "How big is that freaking thing?"

The locals laughed.
 
Displayed 35 of 35 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter




In Other Media
Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report