Skip to content
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Hill)   Watchdog Group files ethics complaint alleging that Devin Nunes's financial filings failed to disclosure his ownership in 3 additional wineries, and of course, his majority shares of Amalgamated Grapefruit   ( thehill.com) divider line
    More: Interesting, Nunes, Investment, Devin Nunes Devin, Gerald Nunes Reagan, privacy bug Nunes, Rep. Nunes, Finance, President of the United States  
•       •       •

1234 clicks; posted to Politics » on 11 Jul 2018 at 9:50 PM (18 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



62 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2018-07-11 06:04:12 PM  
"It's amusing to see The Hill reprint a press release by a left-wing group whose sole function seems to be filing frivolous ethics complaints against Republicans," a spokesman for Nunes told The Hill.

It is amusing to see Nunes's spokesman not actually refute the allegations.
 
2018-07-11 06:09:41 PM  
We don't need no Grapefruit Farkers
We don't need no cream pied fruit
No dark orgasms in the Produce
Devin leave fruit baskets alone
All in all you're just another dick in a hole
 
2018-07-11 06:56:16 PM  
Let me guess, the profit of these wineries are below industry standard, as they're a means to launder Russian money.
 
2018-07-11 07:21:40 PM  
Amalgamated Grapefruit? It's a total scam. I'm never falling for that again.

img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-07-11 07:23:54 PM  
I was not expecting that last part. Bravo, subby!

/no one expects the Amalgamated Grapefruit!
 
2018-07-11 09:50:58 PM  
Death to traitors.
 
2018-07-11 09:51:57 PM  
I thought it was Perforated Grapefruit.
 
2018-07-11 09:54:01 PM  
I'm sure this will end up in the trash with the rest of the ethics complaints.
and the ethics.
 
2018-07-11 09:56:36 PM  
I'll now forever see that as Analgamated.
Analgape-ated?
 
2018-07-11 09:57:50 PM  

that was my nickname in highschool: I thought it was Perforated Grapefruit.


No, It is Republican Religious Grapefruit.. Holy...
 
2018-07-11 09:58:20 PM  
Oh, God...

He farks grapes and bottles the fermented remains!?.
 
2018-07-11 10:00:22 PM  
This is why we have financial disclosures. Because corruption.

Oops! D. N. forgot to include them! Oops! Oops!

/i'd bet the wine is crap, also
 
2018-07-11 10:00:35 PM  

that was my nickname in highschool: I thought it was Perforated Grapefruit.


img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-07-11 10:03:46 PM  

that was my nickname in highschool: I thought it was Perforated Grapefruit.


I was going to say Penetrated Grapefruit but Nunes probably has a micropeen so perforated is probaby correct.
 
2018-07-11 10:05:21 PM  
That's Extreme.
 
2018-07-11 10:07:54 PM  

impaler: Let me guess, the profit of these wineries are below industry standard, as they're a means to launder Russian money.


They don't actually produce wine, they just supply it to Russian distributors after it falls off the back of a truck.

I wonder if any other of his wineries are known venues for underage prostitution.
 
2018-07-11 10:08:38 PM  
So what's the penalty Devin will have to face?
 
2018-07-11 10:09:44 PM  

that was my nickname in highschool: I thought it was Perforated Grapefruit.


Amalgamated Perforated Grapefruit. It supplies human-pressed fruit juice to the children in Trump's concentration camps.
 
2018-07-11 10:09:49 PM  
It's beginning to look like the only way for such violations to be prosecuted is for the AG to be from the opposition party.  Sessions ain't gonna do shiat, but a Democrat would be pushing prosecution on Kushner, Ivanka, Nunes, etc. for their repeated "failure to disclose".
 
2018-07-11 10:12:57 PM  
Gary Cherrone also served Nunes with a cease and desist letter, saying "My song was never meant to be listened to that way."
 
2018-07-11 10:13:19 PM  
I forget exactly what it was but I recall there being something really shady about Alpha & Omega Wineries and however Nunes got involved with them; definitely some quid pro quo.
 
2018-07-11 10:13:23 PM  
What else is he keeping in those wine cellars? It would be irresponsible not to speculate.
 
2018-07-11 10:14:03 PM  

backhand.slap.of.reason: impaler: Let me guess, the profit of these wineries are below industry standard, as they're a means to launder Russian money.

They don't actually produce wine, they just supply it to Russian distributors after it falls off the back of a truck.

I wonder if any other of his wineries are known venues for underage prostitution.


And for those who haven't been following this story...
https://www.fresnobee.com/news/busine​s​s/article210912434.html (updated this year)
https://www.winebusiness.com/news/?go​=​getArticle&dataid=176634 (written by a Russian-named lady because of farking course it was. And check the date.)

Courtwatch: Settlement Expected in Case Alleging Men Hired Prostitutes for Cruise Aboard USS Alpha Omega
by Kerana Todorov
November 07, 2016A former Napa Valley winery employee alleges that in August 2015 she was assigned to work on a company yacht where men had sex with call girls while the group cruised the San Francisco Bay, according to court records.

The former tasting room attendant at Alpha Omega Winery LLC in Rutherford, Alene Anase, said that on Aug. 12, 2015, she was on the yacht for the private event when about 25 men boarded the USS Alpha Omega at Pier 41 in San Francisco, according to the lawsuit, which is being settled out of court. The men, who had won the cruise at a charity fundraiser, came with a group of prostitutes, the complaint alleged.

Anase, a Walnut Creek resident, said she was "extremely disturbed by the presence of the prostitutes, especially because it appeared that some of the girls were too young to consent to sexual activity," according to the complaint filed in Napa County Superior Court.

Anase and a co-worker assigned to the 32-foot yacht with her that day called the winery by cell phone, according to the court filing. But instead of ordering the captain to turn the yacht around and return the two employees to "safety," Anase was told to "simply 'lie low' and try to do as little as possible in order to avoid harassment," according to the lawsuit. The men involved in the alleged incident are referred as "Doe Defendants."

"As the Yacht travelled in the San Francisco Bay, the Doe Defendants participated in sexual conduct with the prostitutes within ear shot of Plaintiff and consumed large quantities of alcohol and a white substance Plaintiff understood to be cocaine," according to the complaint.

At least one of the men "suggested to Plaintiff that she should provide services of a sexual nature to the Doe Defendants," according to the court filing.

"Although (Anase) and her co-worker attempted to interact with the Doe Defendants as little as possible, Plaintiff remained in constant fear that she would be sexually assaulted or otherwise aggressively approached by the Doe Defendants if she did not provide wine as requested," according to the filing.

At the end of the cruise, the men lined up the women on the deck and "reviewed out loud and in detail the sexual services performed and paid them in front of Plaintiff," the complaint alleges.

Anase could not immediately return to work after the cruise, according to the court fling. Her co-worker quit. Anase returned to work in November 2015 after months of therapy, she said. When she did, she asked the winery not to divulge the alleged "sexual harassment" incident to her co-workers because she did not want to be the center of "salacious gossip," according to the complaint.

"However, on her first day back to work, one of Alpha's owners mentioned the events on the Yacht in front of Plaintiff's co-workers, which resulted in questioning from her co-workers, which increased her stress and anxiety," according to the lawsuit.

Anase said she suffered "further emotional distress, anxiety, and humiliation" from her co-workers' questions, according to the complaint.

The company then stopped putting Anase on the work schedule and later assigned her a Saturday shift, according to the lawsuit. Alpha Omega, who had employed Anase since 2013, knew Anase was not available to work on Saturdays, according to the complaint.

Anase filed the lawsuit in March for civil rights violations, intentional infliction of emotional distress, sexual harassment, retaliation and other allegations.

The case is being settled with the terms remaining confidential, according to a written statement from Alpha Omega. The plaintiff's attorney, Dawn Ceizler, of Walnut Creek, last week declined to comment on the case.

The next hearing on the matter is Nov. 30 in Napa County Superior Court.

In its statement, Alpha Omega said the company has donated the use of USS Alpha Omega since 2008, raising "hundreds of thousands of dollars" for charities.

"In August 2015, the yacht was used as part of an auction package purchased by a group of individuals who are not affiliated with Alpha Omega in any way. No one in the group had any personal or business connection to the winery or its owners, and no Alpha Omega staff knew anyone in the group," according to the statement.

The company continues to auction off the yacht, though some unspecified polices have changed.
winebusiness.comView Full Size

"We refined our policies for the charitable donation of the yacht immediately upon learning of the incident and before a lawsuit was filed," spokeswoman Kelly Carter said.

Robin and Michelle Baggett founded Alpha Omega in 2006.

 
2018-07-11 10:15:21 PM  
Don't give Ubisoft any ideas for their next game.
 
2018-07-11 10:16:39 PM  
Riothamus: And for those who haven't been following this story...[article]

Ah there we go with the memory jog, thanks
 
2018-07-11 10:16:39 PM  

2wolves: So what's the penalty Devin will have to face?


Citric acid in his urethra? But I think he likes it.
 
2018-07-11 10:17:06 PM  

fusillade762: "It's amusing to see The Hill reprint a press release by a left-wing group whose sole function seems to be filing frivolous ethics complaints against Republicans," a spokesman for Nunes told The Hill.

It is amusing to see Nunes's spokesman not actually refute the allegations.


Frivolous because nothings going to happen not that they're incorrect
 
2018-07-11 10:20:30 PM  

dsmith42: 2wolves: So what's the penalty Devin will have to face?

Citric acid in his urethra? But I think he likes it.


img.fark.netView Full Size


 
2018-07-11 10:26:21 PM  

2wolves: So what's the penalty Devin will have to face?


Promotion to Attorney General
 
2018-07-11 10:32:03 PM  
Acme Grapefruit wiley enough to refuse to be his purveyor.
 
2018-07-11 10:51:19 PM  
And the Lord spake, saying, "First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin. Then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less. Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out! Once the number three, being the third number, be reached, then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grapefruit of Antioch towards thy foe, who, being naughty in my sight, shall snuff it.
 
2018-07-11 10:55:40 PM  
When in doubt, go with the house red.
 
2018-07-11 11:04:43 PM  
Here is to hoping he can make a very good 2020 Pruno.
 
2018-07-11 11:05:51 PM  

casual disregard: This is why we have financial disclosures. Because corruption.

Oops! D. N. forgot to include them! Oops! Oops!

/i'd bet the wine is crap, also


I'm curious... I'll see...
 
2018-07-11 11:09:33 PM  
44-100 $ per bottle. That sweet spot where you want to look impressive ordering expensive wine, but know nothing about wine. Alpha and Omega wineries (tm).
 
2018-07-11 11:10:14 PM  
Also, no critical rating. It's crap.
 
2018-07-11 11:13:07 PM  
Lube
img.fark.net
 
2018-07-11 11:14:28 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2018-07-11 11:20:38 PM  

Catlenfell: I'm sure this will end up in the trash with the rest of the ethics complaints.
and the ethics.


And the grapefruits
 
2018-07-11 11:36:09 PM  

spooky.action: Amalgamated Grapefruit? It's a total scam. I'm never falling for that again.

[img.fark.net image 507x435]


All my money is in Allied Biscuit
 
2018-07-11 11:40:15 PM  

KiefKommando: Catlenfell: I'm sure this will end up in the trash with the rest of the ethics complaints.
and the ethics.

And the grapefruits


He eats the grapefruits. Nunes always made sure to finish last in the soggy biscuit game at his frat.
 
2018-07-11 11:40:17 PM  

casual disregard: This is why we have financial disclosures. Because corruption.

Oops! D. N. forgot to include them! Oops! Oops!

/i'd bet the wine is crap, also


When you wanna get clueless
You pick Nunes

Works every time
 
2018-07-11 11:51:28 PM  

baron von doodle: 44-100 $ per bottle. That sweet spot where you want to look impressive ordering expensive wine, but know nothing about wine. Alpha and Omega wineries (tm).


Yeah - the stuff I had was not very good. Was there once on the "recommendation" of a friend. Clearly a business / real estate / location ploy.  The whole thing seemed skeezy, but at the time I chalked it up to being nearly brand new.

Now I wonder what my Spideysense was trying to tell me.
 
2018-07-11 11:57:23 PM  
lol, they don't like the fact that he is exposing corruption up to the top of the obama administration
 
2018-07-12 12:11:20 AM  

SFSailor: baron von doodle: 44-100 $ per bottle. That sweet spot where you want to look impressive ordering expensive wine, but know nothing about wine. Alpha and Omega wineries (tm).

Yeah - the stuff I had was not very good. Was there once on the "recommendation" of a friend. Clearly a business / real estate / location ploy.  The whole thing seemed skeezy, but at the time I chalked it up to being nearly brand new.

Now I wonder what my Spideysense was trying to tell me.


SFSailor's Spideysense: This stuff tastes like it's made for an underage sex trafficking victim!
SFSailor's Brain: Error- referenced material unknown!
 
2018-07-12 12:28:12 AM  

Riothamus: SFSailor: baron von doodle: 44-100 $ per bottle.
Now I wonder what my Spideysense was trying to tell me.

SFSailor's Spideysense: This stuff tastes like it's made for an underage sex trafficking victim!
SFSailor's Brain: Error- referenced material unknown!


L-O-farking-L.

It really was more than just the disappointing wine - but I'm now a lot happier that I _couldn't_ put my finger on what was wrong with the place. ; )

Also:  Might be the best reply I've ever had - Carry on, Farker!
 
2018-07-12 12:31:05 AM  

backhand.slap.of.reason: impaler: Let me guess, the profit of these wineries are below industry standard, as they're a means to launder Russian money.

They don't actually produce wine, they just supply it to Russian distributors after it falls off the back of a truck.

I wonder if any other of his wineries are known venues for underage prostitution.


... a lot of shiat has changed about wine since I quit drinking. Wtf?
 
2018-07-12 12:33:07 AM  

Commissar_Murphy: backhand.slap.of.reason: impaler: Let me guess, the profit of these wineries are below industry standard, as they're a means to launder Russian money.

They don't actually produce wine, they just supply it to Russian distributors after it falls off the back of a truck.

I wonder if any other of his wineries are known venues for underage prostitution.

... a lot of shiat has changed about wine since I quit drinking. Wtf?


Wine's amorphous valuation makes wineries excellent conduits for money laundering.
 
2018-07-12 12:35:02 AM  

Riothamus: Death to traitors.


Bark! Bark! Bark!
Bark! Bark!
 
2018-07-12 12:35:06 AM  

blastoh: Lube
[img.fark.net image 52x192]


God that looks like the worst homemade wine I fermented in college.
 
Displayed 50 of 62 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking





On Twitter



Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report