Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Onion AV Club)   The 35 best scifi movies of the 35 years since Blade Runner. List to the left, complaints and omissions to the right   ( avclub.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

3701 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 05 Oct 2017 at 12:50 PM (2 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Funniest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

2017-10-05 12:13:36 PM  
29 votes:
Whar Battlefield Earth?

/Whar?
2017-10-05 12:52:04 PM  
16 votes:
img.fark.net
"Okay. First of all, this list is totally bogus. Like, what sort of heinous person would omit one of the best cyberpunk films of all time?"

img.fark.net
"I've got the evidence right here, Johnny. We were robbed. Straight-up robbed."

img.fark.net
"You guys are schlock. My movie's actually good, and they still left it off. Now I'm really in hell."

img.fark.net
"I'm a kangaroo."
2017-10-05 01:04:19 PM  
11 votes:
12. Her(2013)

i.pinimg.com


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic
2017-10-05 12:28:22 PM  
11 votes:

Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?


I was told there would be NO PEOPLE.
2017-10-05 12:26:27 PM  
10 votes:
What about that one movie with the people?
2017-10-05 05:49:31 PM  
9 votes:
www.reactiongifs.com
2017-10-05 04:59:48 PM  
9 votes:
img.fark.net
2017-10-05 03:16:24 PM  
9 votes:

loonatic112358: GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.

what was wrong with primer?


It's kind of an ugly flat gray color.
2017-10-05 01:25:31 PM  
6 votes:
img.fark.net

You're gonna let some emo dweeb like Donnie Darko on the list, but you're not going to invite Dr. Venkman? Next time you got a couple of Class IVs bugging you, don't call.
2017-10-05 12:54:35 PM  
6 votes:
Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.
2017-10-05 12:43:44 PM  
6 votes:
Ice Pirates was 1984, goddammittohell!! IT COUNTS! ITTTT COUUUUUNNNTTSS!
2017-10-05 06:04:25 PM  
5 votes:

ko_kyi: Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?


Which one?

That bad one, or the other bad one?
2017-10-05 04:15:53 PM  
5 votes:
www.ruthlessreviews.com
2017-10-05 01:45:15 PM  
5 votes:
images.fandango.com"We didn't make the list?!?!"
2017-10-05 03:03:21 PM  
4 votes:

Wessoman: Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.

Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --

Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:

No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.
2017-10-05 01:07:18 PM  
4 votes:

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


What subtle subtext? Coed showers for everyone.
2017-10-05 01:06:47 PM  
4 votes:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Alien came out before Blade Runner.

Same reason ST:TMP isn't on the list, I'm sure.
2017-10-05 05:15:15 PM  
3 votes:

Rocketboy1313: Mikey1969:
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?

It has a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes, so I don't know who you heard that from.

I would argue it is not all that "Science" fiction.  It has a very magical feel to it.  "Soft" sci-fi where the emphasis is on the metaphor of the movie rather than the tech elements.


That's what I don't understand. Literally everyone who mentioned the movie in any way for like 9 months raved about how bad it was. Yet, suddenly I'm hearing the exact opposite. It's weird. Amost like an alternate reality suddenly enveloped us. I wonder who's president...

Oh, that explains it!!
2017-10-05 02:04:42 PM  
3 votes:

Wessoman: BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko

I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.


Second.  Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe.  Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.
2017-10-05 01:33:37 PM  
3 votes:

Kegovitch: "Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"


"let's not mention Freejack and Repo Men"
2017-10-05 12:21:05 PM  
3 votes:

Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.


I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.
2017-10-05 05:54:36 PM  
2 votes:

John Buck 41: Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.


Ah yes, there it is.

Probably another BR thread coming in the next day or two as the general public post their opinions. Have you got a "Blade Runner thread" notification switched on?

/ wouldn't want to miss out
2017-10-05 05:37:42 PM  
2 votes:

sigdiamond2000: Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.


Then this list must have been compiled by genuine science fiction fans.
2017-10-05 04:42:13 PM  
2 votes:

BeesNuts: kbronsito: 12. Her(2013)

[i.pinimg.com image 236x219]


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic

I HAVE to get online.  I NEEEEED.  A comp-U-ter!


His plea for room service is only 2nd to the princess in Spaceballs
2017-10-05 04:37:11 PM  
2 votes:

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Nods knowingly

cdn-img.instyle.com
XSV
2017-10-05 04:35:07 PM  
2 votes:

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


not to be confused with:
3gem.ca
2017-10-05 02:13:18 PM  
2 votes:
I actually watched Snowpiercer twice to make sure I wasn't missing something to explain why some people found it compelling. Someone once observed that generally, you can forgive one glaring mcguffin in scifi and enjoy the rest. One could even argue Snowpiercer was a series of vignettes, each with its own mcguffin, tied together with the overall story, and you still end up with too many mcguffins.

And the ending pretty much ruins pretty much all of them and leaves you with the feeling that what really happened is that humanity created a giant Disney ride to put all its insane people on and it managed to go on as a mobile asylum for 17 years.
2017-10-05 01:36:30 PM  
2 votes:
Return of the Jedi
Guardians of the Galaxy
Logan
Rise/Dawn/War...planet of the apes
Equilibrium
A Scanner Darkly
Sunshine
Transformers: The Movie (1986)
Chronicle
Pacific Rim
2017-10-05 01:31:38 PM  
2 votes:
Also missing from list (July 9th 1982)

img.fark.net
2017-10-05 01:10:23 PM  
2 votes:

kbronsito: 12. Her(2013)

[i.pinimg.com image 236x219]


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic


I HAVE to get online.  I NEEEEED.  A comp-U-ter!
2017-10-05 01:06:07 PM  
2 votes:
Surprised avatar didn't make the list.
2017-10-05 01:01:33 PM  
2 votes:
Buckaroo Banzai made their cut?  I'm impressed.

/John Valuk is dead
//he fell on his head
2017-10-05 12:57:51 PM  
2 votes:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.
2017-10-05 12:56:50 PM  
2 votes:

Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?


Where they're standing up, and that guy has a shirt?

Yea. I loved that movie.
2017-10-05 12:54:57 PM  
2 votes:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Star Wars is an Oat Opera in space. It's not sci fi as much as the sci fi aspects are just incidental to the story.
2017-10-05 12:41:42 PM  
2 votes:
Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.
2017-10-05 12:07:25 PM  
2 votes:
A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.
2017-10-06 11:06:44 AM  
1 vote:

AdrienVeidt: A) What's a 'dysantopia'?
B) Jesus, some of you people have an astonishingly shiatty understanding of what 'science fiction' actually is and pathetically-lame choices within that shiatty understanding.


LOL, lighten up, Adrien.
2017-10-05 11:39:45 PM  
1 vote:

BorgiaGinz: In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory


When the "allegory" makes you scream "oh come the fark on!" in disbelief, it has failed.
img.fark.net
2017-10-05 09:00:38 PM  
1 vote:

DanInKansas: Uzzah: thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

Number one reason I didn't go see the movie right there. Well, just general maintenance. Like where are they getting spare parts, hoses, lubricants?


Did you watch the movie?  Ed Harris kidnaps children from the rear section to handle functions because the spare parts are gone and the train is malfunctioning. In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory, and taking it literally is the wrong approach. You'd have been a treat as a kid "No Mom, bears can't talk and they don't eat porridge. You suck telling stories."
2017-10-05 08:32:48 PM  
1 vote:
Just going with the last few years...

The Girl With All the Gifts (2016)
Rogue One (2016)
The Martian (2015)
Interstellar (2014)
Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Ex Machina (2014)
Pacific Rim (2013)
Gravity (2013)
2017-10-05 05:50:03 PM  
1 vote:
img.fark.net
This one was really great.
2017-10-05 05:40:25 PM  
1 vote:
I think it is a good list.
kab
2017-10-05 04:58:50 PM  
1 vote:
Really not a Rolling Stone-level bad list, though I've never really considered ESotSM or Her to be sci-fi.    Actually I think I've seen them listed on Netflix as both war documentaries and post-nuclear gangster films.

Ex Machina really really needs to be somewhere on that list.
2017-10-05 04:52:32 PM  
1 vote:
no last starfighter?

/we die....
2017-10-05 04:32:43 PM  
1 vote:

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


ESotSM is more science fiction than most others on the list, and shows more directly how we humans adapt to the environment we create with our technology better than pretty much anything else in pop culture, imho.  ESotSM is inarguably one of the finest science fiction movies ever made and anyone that disagrees has a poor understanding of what science fiction actually is.
2017-10-05 04:14:23 PM  
1 vote:

Wessoman: But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.
2017-10-05 03:29:54 PM  
1 vote:
If only Outland came out after Blade Runner it would have been number 1!

/really
//ok, not really
///I really like that movie for some reason.
2017-10-05 03:06:24 PM  
1 vote:

GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.


what was wrong with primer?
2017-10-05 03:02:36 PM  
1 vote:
Here's what I think of this list.

i.imgur.com
2017-10-05 02:38:45 PM  
1 vote:

GreenAdder: KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer

Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.


I'll save you the time. Take the frozen world from The Day After Tomorrow. Throw in Supertrain. Mix in some Soylent Green, Hunger Gamesand the class structure from Titanic. Listen to Captain America sob about knowing that babies are the other white meat. Stir in implausible plot holes and serve as social commentary. Then go watch Gattacafor good sci-fi social commentary.
2017-10-05 02:25:56 PM  
1 vote:

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


[img.fark.net image 850x430]


New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.
2017-10-05 02:22:04 PM  
1 vote:
("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


img.fark.net
2017-10-05 02:19:45 PM  
1 vote:

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


I'd agree with it being too long.  Great twilight zone episode?  Except at the end the alien text she writes to teach everyone causes them to go mad and open a portal to the ancient ones, which the aliens certainly looked like.
2017-10-05 01:53:47 PM  
1 vote:

KingBiefWhistle: Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.


At it's best, it's an awesomely bad B movie with ham handed social messaging, yet all of the critics and pretentious people out there seemed to love it for some reason.  I think that's why it gets all the hate.  It would be like if critics and your pretentious art house friends started raving about 'Big Trouble In Little China', or 'They Live'.
2017-10-05 01:26:56 PM  
1 vote:

KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer


Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.
2017-10-05 01:18:41 PM  
1 vote:

vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.


The movie was better than the book.
The book is not nearly as smart as it thinks it is, and definitely not as life changing as the nerd armies think it is.
2017-10-05 01:16:03 PM  
1 vote:

Wessoman: A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?


Jesus Christmas... Paprika.

Everything that director did was an utter mindfark.  Perfect Blue was on his resume too.  His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.

A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:
Ohayo (オハヨウ) Satoshi Kon
Youtube qYUFBnAmK28
2017-10-05 01:15:52 PM  
1 vote:
"Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"
2017-10-05 01:08:09 PM  
1 vote:

thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

I'd have put the original "Total Recall" on the list -- it's got a fair amount of cheese, but it's no worse than "Starship Troopers" and has just as much mind-farkery as "Inception."
2017-10-05 01:04:15 PM  
1 vote:

JohnBigBootay: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.


Loving the revisionism for the MOVIE THAT SHOULD BE # farkING ONE.
2017-10-05 12:58:45 PM  
1 vote:

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


I got that it's parody. That doesn't make it good.

\Robocop did everything, but better
2017-10-05 12:52:37 PM  
1 vote:

vygramul: Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.


Go away
2017-10-05 12:40:17 PM  
1 vote:
I've seen:
Looper
The Terminator
Inception
Edge of Tomorrow
Jurassic Park
Robocop
Terminator 2
Starship Troopers
Minority Report
Mad Max
Wall-E
Back to the Future
The Matrix
2017-10-05 12:33:01 PM  
1 vote:

whidbey: No Star Wars movies,


Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."
2017-10-05 12:20:52 PM  
1 vote:
35. Dune (1984)



HAHAHAHAhAhAhAHAHAhAHA

no
2017-10-05 12:13:01 PM  
1 vote:
eXistenZ belongs on the list, preferably higher than The Matrix.
 
Displayed 67 of 67 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report