Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Onion AV Club)   The 35 best scifi movies of the 35 years since Blade Runner. List to the left, complaints and omissions to the right   ( avclub.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

3701 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 05 Oct 2017 at 12:50 PM (2 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

2017-10-05 12:25:32 PM  
46 votes:
static.rogerebert.com

List fails.
2017-10-05 12:58:42 PM  
39 votes:
No Fifth Element?  That would have to be in the top 15 in my book.
2017-10-05 01:18:24 PM  
35 votes:
List fails without:

www.sonypictures.com
2017-10-05 12:21:05 PM  
30 votes:

Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.


I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.
2017-10-05 12:07:25 PM  
26 votes:
A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.
2017-10-05 12:52:37 PM  
22 votes:

vygramul: Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.


Go away
2017-10-05 12:56:18 PM  
19 votes:
AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?
2017-10-05 12:13:01 PM  
19 votes:
eXistenZ belongs on the list, preferably higher than The Matrix.
2017-10-05 03:28:21 PM  
18 votes:
i2.wp.com
2017-10-05 12:34:50 PM  
18 votes:
img.fark.net
2017-10-05 12:41:42 PM  
16 votes:
Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.
2017-10-05 01:01:00 PM  
14 votes:
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014)
The true gallows-humor genius of Edge Of Tomorrow is how it plays with the audience's love/hate feelings toward Cruise himself. We get to have our cake and eat it, too: basking in the aging actor's still-formidable star power, while also taking a perverse pleasure in seeing him bite it over and over and over again for our amusement.

This, so much of this. This, this, and this again... It adds a perfect humor element into the movie. Even if you like Tom Cruise it's funny imagining him saying "God Farking DAMMIT!" each time... Also watching him tell Emily Blunt 'Oh no, I can walk this off' when he breaks his back or something.
2017-10-05 12:43:44 PM  
14 votes:
Ice Pirates was 1984, goddammittohell!! IT COUNTS! ITTTT COUUUUUNNNTTSS!
2017-10-05 01:26:34 PM  
11 votes:
If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".
2017-10-05 12:20:52 PM  
11 votes:
35. Dune (1984)



HAHAHAHAhAhAhAHAHAhAHA

no
2017-10-05 12:54:35 PM  
10 votes:
Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.
2017-10-05 12:28:56 PM  
10 votes:
Snowpiercer was terribad.


At least the list wasn't full of YA fiction crap and Avatar.
2017-10-05 12:24:15 PM  
10 votes:
Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.
2017-10-05 01:31:38 PM  
8 votes:
Also missing from list (July 9th 1982)

img.fark.net
2017-10-05 01:28:04 PM  
8 votes:
In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.

I loved Serenity.  I loved it a lot.  However, on no plane of existence is it one of the top sci-fi films of all time.  Not even close.
2017-10-05 01:03:14 PM  
8 votes:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


I've never seen value in comparing the two movies.  They're completely different genres.  Alien is a horror movie.  Aliens is an action-adventure movie.  They're both f'ing awesome and deserve a place on this list.
2017-10-05 02:36:12 PM  
7 votes:

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.


First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.
2017-10-05 01:48:53 PM  
7 votes:
Night of the Comet
The Last Starfighter


Actually, any film with Catherine Mary Stewart.
2017-10-05 01:25:07 PM  
7 votes:
The Thing, Pi, Gattaca, Predator, 12 Monkeys, Fifth Element, The Abyss, The Quiet Earth, Terminator II, Akira, Dark City, Screamers, Galaxy Quest, Stargate, Iron Giant, Truman Show, The Martian, District 9, Ex Machina, Dredd, Robot and Frank, and Shin Godzilla are all better than the lesser entries of this list.
2017-10-05 01:08:09 PM  
7 votes:

thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

I'd have put the original "Total Recall" on the list -- it's got a fair amount of cheese, but it's no worse than "Starship Troopers" and has just as much mind-farkery as "Inception."
2017-10-05 05:23:36 PM  
6 votes:

ko_kyi: Fury Road sucked ass.


freebeacon.com
While I agree that Fury Road has no business on this list because it isn't a Sci-Fi film, it really is a good movie. Smart and action-packed, you rarely get that after the year 1990.
2017-10-05 01:15:45 PM  
6 votes:

JohnBigBootay: vygramul: Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.

Go away


You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.
2017-10-05 01:01:33 PM  
6 votes:
Buckaroo Banzai made their cut?  I'm impressed.

/John Valuk is dead
//he fell on his head
2017-10-05 12:58:45 PM  
6 votes:

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


I got that it's parody. That doesn't make it good.

\Robocop did everything, but better
2017-10-05 12:57:50 PM  
6 votes:

GreenAdder: whidbey: No Star Wars movies,

Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."


Eh...then get Donnie Darko off the list.
2017-10-05 05:17:46 PM  
5 votes:
And shouldn't Pitch Black be on the list?
2017-10-05 03:00:47 PM  
5 votes:

Wessoman: limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."

vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.

First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.


The irony of RoboCop? Its dystopian future was actually nicer than the real Detroit of the 1990s.
2017-10-05 02:04:42 PM  
5 votes:

Wessoman: BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko

I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.


Second.  Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe.  Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.
2017-10-05 01:46:39 PM  
5 votes:
Galaxy Quest is better scifi than at least 7 of those movies.
2017-10-05 01:45:15 PM  
5 votes:
images.fandango.com"We didn't make the list?!?!"
2017-10-05 01:36:30 PM  
5 votes:
Return of the Jedi
Guardians of the Galaxy
Logan
Rise/Dawn/War...planet of the apes
Equilibrium
A Scanner Darkly
Sunshine
Transformers: The Movie (1986)
Chronicle
Pacific Rim
2017-10-05 01:30:16 PM  
5 votes:
Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a well done and interesting movie.  It should not be on this list at all, and putting it at number one is mind boggling to say the least.
2017-10-05 01:21:49 PM  
5 votes:
Wessoman: A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

Battle Royale is definitely science fiction.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?

You have an odd definition of "bad film."

In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.
2017-10-05 01:20:58 PM  
5 votes:
TL:DR
35. Dune (1984)
34. Battle Royale (2000)
33. Moon (2009)
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984)
31. The Host (2006)
30. Looper (2012)
29. Snowpiercer (2013)
28. Ghost In The Shell (1995)
27. Donnie Darko (2001)
26. The Terminator (1984)
25. They Live (1988)
24. Inception (2010)
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014)
22. Upstream Color (2013)
21. Jurassic Park (1993)
20. RoboCop (1987)
19. Videodrome (1983)
18. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)
17. Starship Troopers (1997)
16. Minority Report (2002)
15. Arrival (2016)
14. The Fly (1986)
13. Under The Skin (2013)
12. Her (2013)
11. 12 Monkeys (1995)
10. A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001)
9. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015)
8. Primer (2004)
7. WALL-E (2008)
6. Children Of Men (2006)
5. Back To The Future (1985)
4. Aliens (1986)
3. Brazil (1985)
2. The Matrix (1999)
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004)
2017-10-05 01:16:59 PM  
5 votes:
I was sort of expecting them to have the best science fiction movie for each year (84', 85', 86'...) not just 35 movies.

What is the point of a top 35 list?  How does this illustrate the genre evolving over time since that movie?

This is stupid.
2017-10-05 12:52:04 PM  
5 votes:
img.fark.net
"Okay. First of all, this list is totally bogus. Like, what sort of heinous person would omit one of the best cyberpunk films of all time?"

img.fark.net
"I've got the evidence right here, Johnny. We were robbed. Straight-up robbed."

img.fark.net
"You guys are schlock. My movie's actually good, and they still left it off. Now I'm really in hell."

img.fark.net
"I'm a kangaroo."
2017-10-05 06:26:58 PM  
4 votes:
Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

halfguarded.com

And my underrated pick:

is1.mzstatic.com
2017-10-05 04:37:53 PM  
4 votes:
Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.
2017-10-05 04:32:43 PM  
4 votes:

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


ESotSM is more science fiction than most others on the list, and shows more directly how we humans adapt to the environment we create with our technology better than pretty much anything else in pop culture, imho.  ESotSM is inarguably one of the finest science fiction movies ever made and anyone that disagrees has a poor understanding of what science fiction actually is.
2017-10-05 04:30:33 PM  
4 votes:

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction.  "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements.  You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.
2017-10-05 03:03:21 PM  
4 votes:

Wessoman: Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.

Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --

Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:

No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.
2017-10-05 03:02:36 PM  
4 votes:
Here's what I think of this list.

i.imgur.com
2017-10-05 02:43:40 PM  
4 votes:
Dredd
2017-10-05 02:42:34 PM  
4 votes:
"HER" isn't Science Fiction any more than "Lars and the Real Doll" is Science Fiction.

Snowpiercer is a shiatty B Film that makes zero sense.

"Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*

and Eternal Sunshine is to me completely unwatchable as I can not farking STAND Jim Carrey.
2017-10-05 02:42:09 PM  
4 votes:

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


Bogus Journey was better.
2017-10-05 02:07:15 PM  
4 votes:

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.
2017-10-05 01:23:14 PM  
4 votes:
Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.
2017-10-05 01:15:52 PM  
4 votes:
"Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"
2017-10-05 12:57:51 PM  
4 votes:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.
2017-10-05 12:33:01 PM  
4 votes:

whidbey: No Star Wars movies,


Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."
2017-10-05 10:17:54 PM  
3 votes:
Arrival was made for adults.  I appreciated that.
2017-10-05 06:43:43 PM  
3 votes:

Sum Guye: [i2.wp.com image 500x762]


Hell in the Pacific in Space.

Not a criticism, an observation.

enjoyed both movies
2017-10-05 06:17:01 PM  
3 votes:

FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?


In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.
2017-10-05 05:49:31 PM  
3 votes:
www.reactiongifs.com
2017-10-05 03:29:54 PM  
3 votes:
If only Outland came out after Blade Runner it would have been number 1!

/really
//ok, not really
///I really like that movie for some reason.
2017-10-05 03:08:23 PM  
3 votes:
Add:

Dark City
Strange Days
Akira
Attack the Block
Galaxy Quest
Total Recall
5th Element.

Remove:

Dune
Battle Royale
Snowpiercer
Upstream Color
2017-10-05 02:38:45 PM  
3 votes:

GreenAdder: KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer

Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.


I'll save you the time. Take the frozen world from The Day After Tomorrow. Throw in Supertrain. Mix in some Soylent Green, Hunger Gamesand the class structure from Titanic. Listen to Captain America sob about knowing that babies are the other white meat. Stir in implausible plot holes and serve as social commentary. Then go watch Gattacafor good sci-fi social commentary.
2017-10-05 02:35:11 PM  
3 votes:

puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".


And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"
2017-10-05 02:13:18 PM  
3 votes:
I actually watched Snowpiercer twice to make sure I wasn't missing something to explain why some people found it compelling. Someone once observed that generally, you can forgive one glaring mcguffin in scifi and enjoy the rest. One could even argue Snowpiercer was a series of vignettes, each with its own mcguffin, tied together with the overall story, and you still end up with too many mcguffins.

And the ending pretty much ruins pretty much all of them and leaves you with the feeling that what really happened is that humanity created a giant Disney ride to put all its insane people on and it managed to go on as a mobile asylum for 17 years.
2017-10-05 02:03:22 PM  
3 votes:
I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.
2017-10-05 01:20:44 PM  
3 votes:

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


This.

I know they were B movies but I liked Screamers and Absolon.
2017-10-05 01:18:41 PM  
3 votes:

vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.


The movie was better than the book.
The book is not nearly as smart as it thinks it is, and definitely not as life changing as the nerd armies think it is.
2017-10-05 01:16:03 PM  
3 votes:

Wessoman: A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?


Jesus Christmas... Paprika.

Everything that director did was an utter mindfark.  Perfect Blue was on his resume too.  His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.

A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:
Ohayo (オハヨウ) Satoshi Kon
Youtube qYUFBnAmK28
2017-10-05 12:56:54 PM  
3 votes:
They're playing it really fast and loose with some of those considering them to be SCI-Fi.
2017-10-05 12:26:27 PM  
3 votes:
What about that one movie with the people?
2017-10-06 02:02:28 PM  
2 votes:

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


No, it sucked.
2017-10-06 10:19:47 AM  
2 votes:
Gattaca was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Lumbering, ponderous, pompous and ultimately trite and boring.

It insists upon itself. I will never understand the love for it.
2017-10-06 09:35:03 AM  
2 votes:

NathanAllen: That list was farking awful, and mostly composed of "Not Science Fiction."

Prime example, Fury Road.

One of my favorite movies, it is literally an adrenaline shot to the heart, and one of the most visually appealing movies ever. It is damned near flawless.

However, it's a post-apocalyptic story.

Dune: fantasy

Battle Royale: dysantopia

The Host: horror

Looper: SciFi, but also steaming pile of shiat genre

Donnie Darko: no genre for this, unless Araki'crap is a genre. Better to watch Doomed Generation, it's as farking awful but at least original.

Under the Skin? Really, not Lucy? Also, horror.

Children of Men: forgettable dysantopia

Aliens: well behind Alien, and again horror-action set in space

Brazil: dystantopia

No room on his list for GATTACA or District 9?


Some of you people have really narrow ideas. Post-apocalyptic stories are science fiction, as are dystopias. Science fiction is broader than robots and time machines.
2017-10-05 11:39:45 PM  
2 votes:

BorgiaGinz: In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory


When the "allegory" makes you scream "oh come the fark on!" in disbelief, it has failed.
img.fark.net
2017-10-05 10:42:27 PM  
2 votes:

Harry_Seldon: Might have been the better choice...

[img.fark.net image 397x595]


Remember kids, in the better, Trump-free timeline, Jodorowsky made Dune and David Lynch did Revenge of the Jedi. No, really, Jodorowsky dropped out and Lynch was hired on to direct, turning down George Lucas's offer to helm Revenge of the Jedi.

And something tells me that David Lynch's Revenge of the Jedi would have been #1 on this list.
2017-10-05 10:32:22 PM  
2 votes:
Might have been the better choice...

img.fark.net
2017-10-05 08:32:48 PM  
2 votes:
Just going with the last few years...

The Girl With All the Gifts (2016)
Rogue One (2016)
The Martian (2015)
Interstellar (2014)
Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Ex Machina (2014)
Pacific Rim (2013)
Gravity (2013)
2017-10-05 08:07:10 PM  
2 votes:
To each his own but ESotSM is an amazing film, and I am no Jim Carey fan. If you've ever had a difficult relationship with someone who you also loved deeply, then the film really connects.
2017-10-05 08:01:50 PM  
2 votes:

TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.


CSB

Wife's family is friends with the director, he filmed the entire movie in one weekend when his wife was out of town.

/one of the better movies I've seen in a while
2017-10-05 06:41:31 PM  
2 votes:

Kuta: Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

[halfguarded.com image 850x680]

And my underrated pick:

[is1.mzstatic.com image 420x630]


I agree about your second choice, but Serenity sucked.  It tried to split the difference between Firefly fans and newbs, in doing so satisfied neither.

The pilot died. People didn't care because there was zero character development
2017-10-05 06:37:57 PM  
2 votes:

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Nope.
2017-10-05 05:34:16 PM  
2 votes:

Rocketboy1313: I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction. "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements. You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.


It's SciFi because it's about how a malfunction of their biology affects the entire society instead of how a technological device that shapes society.  Basically the Science part is biological rather technological.  I'm typing as incoherent as my son trying to explain some aspect of Minecraft (boooooooooooooooooooooooring) right now.
2017-10-05 04:48:39 PM  
2 votes:
img.fark.net

fark your list
2017-10-05 04:27:11 PM  
2 votes:
Also as may have been mentioned above, the first 2/3rds of Sunshine before it turns into a slasher film and Dark City are good.
2017-10-05 03:50:43 PM  
2 votes:
*Checks to see if Buckaroo Bonzai is on the list*
*It is*
*Happy*
2017-10-05 03:24:07 PM  
2 votes:

fastfxr: Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.


If you can sit and watch American movies, I question your IQ.

Seriously--Anime is like any other pop culture. You have to wade through mountains of crap to get to the cream cheese, and in the case of anime, it's wading through the Himalayas. But I feel genuinely sorry for anybody that can't watch sci-fi classic films like Paprika, Akira, Nausicaa, Patlabor 2, or Wings of Honneamise: Royal Space Force simply because they just happen to be Japanese and Animated.
2017-10-05 03:00:12 PM  
2 votes:

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


he didn't make a starship troopers movie, much like how i, robot had very little to do with anything from Asimov
2017-10-05 02:56:48 PM  
2 votes:
Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.
2017-10-05 02:50:40 PM  
2 votes:

Ed Grubermann: vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.

Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.


The spinning tunnel of blades definitely deserved a Galaxy Quest, "Who the Hell designed this?" moment.
2017-10-05 02:37:44 PM  
2 votes:
So it looks like there is a preference for space monsters/villains.   Gattaca, Solaris, 2010, and others not really getting the love they deserve   Where's the Science Fiction in Mad Max, anyway?  More like Post Science world with faster moving and speaking zombies.
2017-10-05 02:25:56 PM  
2 votes:

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


[img.fark.net image 850x430]


New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.
2017-10-05 02:22:04 PM  
2 votes:
("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


img.fark.net
2017-10-05 02:20:55 PM  
2 votes:
In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.
2017-10-05 02:18:44 PM  
2 votes:
glad to see that this was there.  Sometimes this movie gets overlooked.

Theme from Terry Gilliam's "Brazil" - by Geoff Muldaur and Michael Kamen
Youtube HZshIb5IJQU


My good friends call me Harry.
img.fark.net
2017-10-05 02:06:29 PM  
2 votes:
Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.
2017-10-05 01:57:29 PM  
2 votes:

Ed Grubermann: 19. Videodrome (1983) - Hmmm... not as boring as Scanners, but not that good of a movie.


I will fight you.
2017-10-05 01:55:22 PM  
2 votes:
Not that you bastards give a rat's ass what I think... (removed the ones I haven't seen)
35. Dune (1984) - I liked it, but it's not great Sci-Fi.
33. Moon (2009) - Very good movie.
32. Buckaroo Banzai (1984) - Great comedy, not much of a Sci-Fi movie.
30. Looper (2012) - Much better than it had a right to be.
29. Snowpiercer (2013) - Utter garbage.
28. Ghost In The Shell (1995) - Amazing movie that needed a much bigger budget.
27. Donnie Darko (2001) - Pretentious shiat.
26. The Terminator (1984) - Good movie, had a big enough impact to make the list.
25. They Live (1988) - Good comedy and social commentary, not a really a good movie.
24. Inception (2010) - I liked it, but it's a crime drama with a twist.
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014) - Much better than it should have been.
21. Jurassic Park (1993) - Amazing movie over all, if you ignore a few computer tech issues.
20. RoboCop (1987) - Amazing movie.
19. Videodrome (1983) - Hmmm... not as boring as Scanners, but not that good of a movie.
18. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) - a good movie with a massively insipid ending that ruined it.
17. Starship Troopers (1997) - How did this turd end up on the list?
15. Arrival (2016) - Pretentious crap.
14. The Fly (1986) - I liked it, but it's not sci-fi, it's body horror.
11. 12 Monkeys (1995) - Belongs higher on the list, especially considering what is higher on this list.
10. A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001) - The worst of both directors involved.
09. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015) - More of an action movie than a sci-fi movie.
07. WALL-E (2008) - Up until they reach the ship, yes. afterwards, not so much.
06. Children Of Men (2006) - I really liked it.
05. Back To The Future (1985) - Sci-fi comedy done perfectly.
04. Aliens (1986) - Good movie, not as good as Alien.
03. Brazil (1985) - Very good movie.
02. The Matrix (1999) - No, not worthy of the spot. Dark City was much better.
2017-10-05 01:53:12 PM  
2 votes:

Subtonic: Primer? AND That high? GARBAGE LIST IS GARBAGE. A more overrated movie does not exist.


I cannot THIS this enough.

I was shown the movie by my roommate's douchebro buddy.  This was our conversation when it ended:
"Eh, it was ok"
"If you think that, you didn't understand it.  It's so complex"
"No, I understood it."
"If you think you understood it, you're wrong bro"

I mean, it's a neat little movie done on the cheap, but it's not at all hard to follow.  I guess maybe unless you've never had any exposure to other fiction featuring time travel, or are a moron.
2017-10-05 01:49:17 PM  
2 votes:

BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko


I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.
2017-10-05 01:48:58 PM  
2 votes:

Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.


I hated it on first viewing and greatly valued it by the 2nd viewing, years later.  Sorta like a typical Kubrick film, that its hard to assimilate the first time.   you have to revisit it.
2017-10-05 01:43:59 PM  
2 votes:
I think Spielberg's War of the Worlds could've easily been on that list.
Moon seems WAY too low. I'd have it in top 5.  Probably put Children of Men at #1.

I'd even have Prometheus in there in exchange for several of those.  Rogue One, as well.
2017-10-05 01:34:03 PM  
2 votes:
Primer? AND That high? GARBAGE LIST IS GARBAGE. A more overrated movie does not exist.
2017-10-05 01:25:16 PM  
2 votes:
Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.
2017-10-05 01:06:25 PM  
2 votes:

foo monkey: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

I've never seen value in comparing the two movies.  They're completely different genres.  Alien is a horror movie.  Aliens is an action-adventure movie.  They're both f'ing awesome and deserve a place on this list.


Pretty much the same thing applies to T1 and T2.
2017-10-05 01:02:28 PM  
2 votes:
A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?
2017-10-05 12:31:01 PM  
2 votes:

RexTalionis: [static.rogerebert.com image 400x600]

List fails.

img.fark.net
2017-10-06 10:43:11 AM  
1 vote:
A) What's a 'dysantopia'?
B) Jesus, some of you people have an astonishingly shiatty understanding of what 'science fiction' actually is and pathetically-lame choices within that shiatty understanding.
2017-10-06 01:04:05 AM  
1 vote:
There is no way you can omit The Martian which managed something many SF films don't even attempt: (a) funny, (b) suspenseful, (c) exciting, (d) deep. Also, Oblivion is one of the most gorgeously photographed SF films in this millennium and was damned enjoyable. From a purely personal perspective, I loved the shiat out of Tron Legacy if for no other reason than the sumptuous visuals and fantastic score.

I found the heavy handed allegory of Snowpiercer unwatchable. And A.I. may be one of the most cloying, manipulative and annoyingly overly-sentimental SF films ever made.
2017-10-05 09:00:38 PM  
1 vote:

DanInKansas: Uzzah: thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

Number one reason I didn't go see the movie right there. Well, just general maintenance. Like where are they getting spare parts, hoses, lubricants?


Did you watch the movie?  Ed Harris kidnaps children from the rear section to handle functions because the spare parts are gone and the train is malfunctioning. In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory, and taking it literally is the wrong approach. You'd have been a treat as a kid "No Mom, bears can't talk and they don't eat porridge. You suck telling stories."
2017-10-05 07:55:53 PM  
1 vote:
I don't know about the list, but 1982 was a great year to be a 16 year old, sci fi fantasy geek, movie fanatic.
2017-10-05 07:55:28 PM  
1 vote:

thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.


AI sucked.  I rented ESotSM, took me three days to watch that dreck.

/ list sucks
// evidently not just my opinion
/// nice to feel vindicated
2017-10-05 07:38:14 PM  
1 vote:

Danger Mouse: Surprised avatar didn't make the list.


I didn't love it, but no matter how you chalk it up, its still an amazing film in many regards, and was a cultural phenomenon being that it made 3 billion at the box office.   Kinda silly that Primer, Her, and Donnie Darko get a spot on the list over Avatar.
2017-10-05 06:34:59 PM  
1 vote:

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


Eternal is as much sci fi as children.
2017-10-05 06:04:25 PM  
1 vote:

ko_kyi: Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?


Which one?

That bad one, or the other bad one?
2017-10-05 05:54:36 PM  
1 vote:

John Buck 41: Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.


Ah yes, there it is.

Probably another BR thread coming in the next day or two as the general public post their opinions. Have you got a "Blade Runner thread" notification switched on?

/ wouldn't want to miss out
2017-10-05 05:50:03 PM  
1 vote:
img.fark.net
This one was really great.
2017-10-05 05:39:11 PM  
1 vote:
I have thouroughly enjoyed reading this thread.
2017-10-05 05:37:42 PM  
1 vote:

sigdiamond2000: Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.


Then this list must have been compiled by genuine science fiction fans.
2017-10-05 05:04:42 PM  
1 vote:

Rocketboy1313: What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film. A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too. That is a great idea about AI."Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life. Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message


"Her" and "Eternal Sunshine" are kinda all over the place, but I can see where many would consider them science fiction, but the narrative of both films is driven entirely by romance. I guess these films can be called a new genre of film, Science-Romance. I guess I am put off by Her's similarity to Electric Dreams and Eternal Sunshine's bizarre ending.

There are a lot of films that I really enjoy that are considered "Science Fiction", like Elysium, but I know for a fact that is not really a sci-fi film, it only serves as a backdrop for a cheesy and entertaining action film. Furthermore, Inception, is listed as a Sci-Fi film, but really, it's a heist movie with a gimmicky (and effective) plot device.
kab
2017-10-05 04:58:50 PM  
1 vote:
Really not a Rolling Stone-level bad list, though I've never really considered ESotSM or Her to be sci-fi.    Actually I think I've seen them listed on Netflix as both war documentaries and post-nuclear gangster films.

Ex Machina really really needs to be somewhere on that list.
2017-10-05 04:56:49 PM  
1 vote:
Fury Road sucked ass.  There was no pacing and nothing about any character was interesting.

Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?
2017-10-05 04:52:32 PM  
1 vote:
no last starfighter?

/we die....
2017-10-05 04:48:33 PM  
1 vote:

indy_kid: "The Man from Earth" or "The Man Who Fell to Earth"?

The former wasn't sci-fi; it was philosophy.  The latter was sci-fi.

Both are really good, though.


The science fiction element was meeting someone who was immortal via an ability to heal perfectly without scar, mutation, or degradation.  That is a science fiction start that serves as the base to the story.
2017-10-05 04:48:30 PM  
1 vote:

BorgiaGinz: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.


img.fark.net
2017-10-05 04:43:31 PM  
1 vote:

Wessoman: Her is just a modernized Electric Dreams. It's a romance wrapped up in sci-fi elements. Eternal Sunshine is just a nonlinear Romance with some sci-fi elements, and living proof that Michel Gondry should stick to making clever music videos as opposed to trying to helm a two-hour slog that tries to make you empathize with Jim Carrey.

I'll give you this, the Soundtrack, especially the Beck song, was great.


What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".
Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film.  A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too.  That is a great idea about AI.

"Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life.  Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message
2017-10-05 04:39:55 PM  
1 vote:

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


And "Real Genius."
2017-10-05 04:14:23 PM  
1 vote:

Wessoman: But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.
2017-10-05 03:53:35 PM  
1 vote:
35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.
2017-10-05 03:04:19 PM  
1 vote:

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


yea, that one should have been on the list
2017-10-05 03:01:41 PM  
1 vote:

Stratohead: "Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*


The beach scene is brutal, though.
2017-10-05 02:55:03 PM  
1 vote:
Timecrimes (2007 aka Los cronocrímenes ) was incredible and deserved to be on the list, at least in place of AI. WOuld link to trailer but it has spoilers aplenty. Don't even read about it, just watch it. One of those "less you know the better" movies.
2017-10-05 02:38:54 PM  
1 vote:

vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.


Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.
2017-10-05 02:16:56 PM  
1 vote:

Subtonic: Second. Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe. Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.


I think that's the reason why it has it's share of haters.

As I said, on the surface, Donnie Darko is a neat little sci-fi yarn about a kid getting caught in a Closed Timelike Curve. The thing is, it is set in the late 80's and steeped in 80's pop culture references, and for that reason I feel a lot of other sci-fi fans are put off by it. It's rare for a Sci-Fi film to be deliberately set in the past, but sometimes, when it works, it's beautiful. (See The Iron Giant)

But a lot of fun Sci-Fi films could be made even better by setting them in specific periods. For some reason, I thought that John Dies At The End would have worked better if it was set in the 1970's, mainly because cellular phones and answering machines could have caused some plot holes.
2017-10-05 02:08:43 PM  
1 vote:

Wessoman: Another film that I think deserves to be on this list, as it is a eerie Science-Fiction/Horror film, is Prince of Darkness.

Every time I hear the "This is not a dream" line, it always gives me chills. Really creepy stuff.


Prince of Darkness was Carpenter's Full Metal Jacket.
2017-10-05 01:59:48 PM  
1 vote:

Mole Man: Also missing from list (July 9th 1982)


+1 for creativity and innovation. -100 for the film editing and incomprehensible narrative.

I had the good fortune to be given a copy of the novelization before the film made it to my small town, and I loved the book. Everything more or less made sense -- who the different programs were, why they were doing what they were doing, what each thing in the world was designed to do, etc.

When I finally saw the movie, I walked out scratching my head because I wasn't even sure whether I had seen the right film. So many bits of narrative tissue were cut out that it left the whole thing an incomprehensible mess, even when I knew what was supposed to be happening. I get that it's easier to write exposition than it is to show it on screen, but in a story like this, where there is an outsider character and an insider character, you've got a ready-made vehicle to have the insider explain things to the outsider and the audience at the same time.

I don't know if Disney wanted it cut down for time, or if the effects budget kept them from filming a lot of coverage that was necessary to fill in the gaps, or they were running up against a release date and had to cut filming short or what. But man, the book was so much better.
2017-10-05 01:58:22 PM  
1 vote:
Another film that I think deserves to be on this list, as it is a eerie Science-Fiction/Horror film, is Prince of Darkness.

Every time I hear the "This is not a dream" line, it always gives me chills. Really creepy stuff.
2017-10-05 01:44:06 PM  
1 vote:

GreenAdder: whidbey: No Star Wars movies,

Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."


I like to compare Star Wars and Star Trek to 2 ocean movies.  2 sides of the same coin.

Star Trek is Master and Commander - space navy
Star Wars is Pirates of the Caribbean - ridiculously colorful characters with fantasy and magic.  oh and boats/spaceships.
2017-10-05 01:40:34 PM  
1 vote:
Not a terrible list, a few things out of order.   AI shouldn't be on there at all.  And their #1 pick, wouldn't even be in my top 40.

Underrated on this list: Terminator 1, Robocop,

Overrated: Minority Report, Arrival, Under The Skin, Mad Max.  All decent movies, but too high on the list.

Missing: Gattica  (I'd stick it around #15), Gravity (around #30)

Any of  The Matrix, Aliens, Back to the Future or Wall-E could be #1 and I would be satisfied.
2017-10-05 01:37:24 PM  
1 vote:

cew-smoke: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.

I loved Serenity.  I loved it a lot.  However, on no plane of existence is it one of the top sci-fi films of all time.  Not even close.


It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko and Dune. Serenity explores an important question; the nature of morality and free will and the possibility of achieving virtue through coercion. I know it's currently fashionable to hate Joss Whedon, but I think Serenity deserves more respect than it gets.
2017-10-05 01:34:43 PM  
1 vote:

thatguyoverthere70: And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list crap.
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


I couldn't finish either of those pieces of shiat. A good third of the movies in TFA were utter garbage.
2017-10-05 01:33:37 PM  
1 vote:

Kegovitch: "Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"


"let's not mention Freejack and Repo Men"
2017-10-05 01:29:04 PM  
1 vote:

This text is now purple: Iron Giant, Truman Show,


THIS
2017-10-05 01:27:56 PM  
1 vote:

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


I feel ashamed I forgot to list this film too. Truly a top 20, a much better "Remake" of Alien Nation.
2017-10-05 01:26:35 PM  
1 vote:

KingBiefWhistle: Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.


This. I had fun. Also I'm a big Rian Johnson fan, but I thought looper was disappointing
2017-10-05 01:25:43 PM  
1 vote:

Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.


Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --


Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.


You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:


No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.
2017-10-05 01:25:31 PM  
1 vote:
img.fark.net

You're gonna let some emo dweeb like Donnie Darko on the list, but you're not going to invite Dr. Venkman? Next time you got a couple of Class IVs bugging you, don't call.
2017-10-05 01:12:46 PM  
1 vote:
The One I Love Official Trailer #1 (2014) - Elizabeth Moss, Mark Duplass Romantic Comedy HD
Youtube jCOvhojlZzQ
2017-10-05 01:06:47 PM  
1 vote:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Alien came out before Blade Runner.

Same reason ST:TMP isn't on the list, I'm sure.
2017-10-05 01:04:15 PM  
1 vote:

JohnBigBootay: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.


Loving the revisionism for the MOVIE THAT SHOULD BE # farkING ONE.
2017-10-05 12:59:53 PM  
1 vote:
Replace Dune with 2010 and put eXistenZ in there somewhere and it might be better.
2017-10-05 12:54:57 PM  
1 vote:

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Star Wars is an Oat Opera in space. It's not sci fi as much as the sci fi aspects are just incidental to the story.
 
Displayed 151 of 151 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report