Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Onion AV Club)   The 35 best scifi movies of the 35 years since Blade Runner. List to the left, complaints and omissions to the right   ( avclub.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

3736 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 05 Oct 2017 at 12:50 PM (15 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



254 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2017-10-05 04:15:53 PM  
ruthlessreviews.comView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 04:20:56 PM  

Learned Hand Job: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Which Star Wars between 1982 and the present do you mean? Jedi? Phantom Menace? Killer Clones from Outer Space? Revenge of the Sith? TFA? Rogue One? The Clone Wars? All 7 range from extremely flawed (AOTC) to half-good (TFA/R1).


Hey someone remembered that the original Star Wars and Empire came out prior to 1982!

Also I'm going to take an unpopular opinion spin here....

I like Return of the Jedi and Snowpiercer!
 
2017-10-05 04:22:38 PM  

BorgiaGinz: The Man from Earth.


"The Man from Earth" or "The Man Who Fell to Earth"?

The former wasn't sci-fi; it was philosophy.  The latter was sci-fi.

Both are really good, though.
 
2017-10-05 04:27:11 PM  
Also as may have been mentioned above, the first 2/3rds of Sunshine before it turns into a slasher film and Dark City are good.
 
2017-10-05 04:30:33 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction.  "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements.  You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.
 
2017-10-05 04:31:52 PM  

AdrienVeidt: You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.

Her

is just a modernized Electric Dreams. It's a romance wrapped up in sci-fi elements. Eternal Sunshine is just a nonlinear Romance with some sci-fi elements, and living proof that Michel Gondry should stick to making clever music videos as opposed to trying to helm a two-hour slog that tries to make you empathize with Jim Carrey.

I'll give you this, the Soundtrack, especially the Beck song, was great.
 
2017-10-05 04:32:43 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


ESotSM is more science fiction than most others on the list, and shows more directly how we humans adapt to the environment we create with our technology better than pretty much anything else in pop culture, imho.  ESotSM is inarguably one of the finest science fiction movies ever made and anyone that disagrees has a poor understanding of what science fiction actually is.
 
XSV
2017-10-05 04:35:07 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


not to be confused with:
3gem.caView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 04:37:11 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Nods knowingly

cdn-img.instyle.comView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 04:37:53 PM  
Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.
 
2017-10-05 04:39:55 PM  

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


And "Real Genius."
 
2017-10-05 04:42:13 PM  

BeesNuts: kbronsito: 12. Her(2013)

[i.pinimg.com image 236x219]


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic

I HAVE to get online.  I NEEEEED.  A comp-U-ter!


His plea for room service is only 2nd to the princess in Spaceballs
 
2017-10-05 04:43:31 PM  

Wessoman: Her is just a modernized Electric Dreams. It's a romance wrapped up in sci-fi elements. Eternal Sunshine is just a nonlinear Romance with some sci-fi elements, and living proof that Michel Gondry should stick to making clever music videos as opposed to trying to helm a two-hour slog that tries to make you empathize with Jim Carrey.

I'll give you this, the Soundtrack, especially the Beck song, was great.


What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".
Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film.  A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too.  That is a great idea about AI.

"Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life.  Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message
 
2017-10-05 04:48:05 PM  
Change the name to PG SF War Porn and I wouldn't have an issue with the movie Starship Troopers.  As a take on R.A.H.'s short novel the movie only benefited Virginia Heinlein with the money.
 
2017-10-05 04:48:30 PM  

BorgiaGinz: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.


img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 04:48:33 PM  

indy_kid: "The Man from Earth" or "The Man Who Fell to Earth"?

The former wasn't sci-fi; it was philosophy.  The latter was sci-fi.

Both are really good, though.


The science fiction element was meeting someone who was immortal via an ability to heal perfectly without scar, mutation, or degradation.  That is a science fiction start that serves as the base to the story.
 
2017-10-05 04:48:39 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size


fark your list
 
2017-10-05 04:52:32 PM  
no last starfighter?

/we die....
 
2017-10-05 04:53:59 PM  
Mikey1969:
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?


It has a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes, so I don't know who you heard that from.

I would argue it is not all that "Science" fiction.  It has a very magical feel to it.  "Soft" sci-fi where the emphasis is on the metaphor of the movie rather than the tech elements.
 
2017-10-05 04:56:49 PM  
Fury Road sucked ass.  There was no pacing and nothing about any character was interesting.

Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?
 
kab
2017-10-05 04:58:50 PM  
Really not a Rolling Stone-level bad list, though I've never really considered ESotSM or Her to be sci-fi.    Actually I think I've seen them listed on Netflix as both war documentaries and post-nuclear gangster films.

Ex Machina really really needs to be somewhere on that list.
 
2017-10-05 04:59:48 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 05:04:42 PM  

Rocketboy1313: What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film. A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too. That is a great idea about AI."Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life. Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message


"Her" and "Eternal Sunshine" are kinda all over the place, but I can see where many would consider them science fiction, but the narrative of both films is driven entirely by romance. I guess these films can be called a new genre of film, Science-Romance. I guess I am put off by Her's similarity to Electric Dreams and Eternal Sunshine's bizarre ending.

There are a lot of films that I really enjoy that are considered "Science Fiction", like Elysium, but I know for a fact that is not really a sci-fi film, it only serves as a backdrop for a cheesy and entertaining action film. Furthermore, Inception, is listed as a Sci-Fi film, but really, it's a heist movie with a gimmicky (and effective) plot device.
 
kab
2017-10-05 05:05:04 PM  

ko_kyi: Fury Road sucked ass.  There was no pacing and nothing about any character was interesting.


And I thought I was one of the only people that didn't like this flick.

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Yes.

thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


Didn't love it, thought it was entertaining enough... but yeah, the premise of the movie is really flat out stupid
 
2017-10-05 05:15:15 PM  

Rocketboy1313: Mikey1969:
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?

It has a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes, so I don't know who you heard that from.

I would argue it is not all that "Science" fiction.  It has a very magical feel to it.  "Soft" sci-fi where the emphasis is on the metaphor of the movie rather than the tech elements.


That's what I don't understand. Literally everyone who mentioned the movie in any way for like 9 months raved about how bad it was. Yet, suddenly I'm hearing the exact opposite. It's weird. Amost like an alternate reality suddenly enveloped us. I wonder who's president...

Oh, that explains it!!
 
2017-10-05 05:17:46 PM  
And shouldn't Pitch Black be on the list?
 
2017-10-05 05:17:52 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Paul Rudd's EXCLUSIVE "Ant-Man" Clip - CONAN on TBS
Youtube H9fqZlo60_8
 
2017-10-05 05:23:36 PM  

ko_kyi: Fury Road sucked ass.


freebeacon.comView Full Size

While I agree that Fury Road has no business on this list because it isn't a Sci-Fi film, it really is a good movie. Smart and action-packed, you rarely get that after the year 1990.
 
2017-10-05 05:25:18 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Saw this in movie theater in Lima... at the height of shinning path terrorism. My parents made me leave the safety of home and ventured out to a mall that could had been blown up for this. Had a bomb gone off before this movie started, it wouldn't had been so bad though.
 
2017-10-05 05:26:35 PM  

brap: In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.


I don't know if it's just the particular episode I tried watching from (think it was S2, E1), but the one where the girl's Facebook/Instagram/whatever status governs her life was a slog; never finished it, didn't try another.  Netflix Canada didn't have season 1.  Am I missing out?
 
2017-10-05 05:26:53 PM  

BorgiaGinz: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.


Never Let Me Go is an example of an excellent movie that is too farking depressing to watch again.
 
2017-10-05 05:27:07 PM  

kbronsito: This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]

Saw this in movie theater in Lima... at the height of shinning path terrorism. My parents made me leave the safety of home and ventured out to a mall that could had been blown up for this. Had a bomb gone off before this movie started, it wouldn't had been so bad though.


Wasn't "Alf" warning enough?
 
2017-10-05 05:34:16 PM  

Rocketboy1313: I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction. "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements. You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.


It's SciFi because it's about how a malfunction of their biology affects the entire society instead of how a technological device that shapes society.  Basically the Science part is biological rather technological.  I'm typing as incoherent as my son trying to explain some aspect of Minecraft (boooooooooooooooooooooooring) right now.
 
2017-10-05 05:37:42 PM  

sigdiamond2000: Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.


Then this list must have been compiled by genuine science fiction fans.
 
2017-10-05 05:39:11 PM  
I have thouroughly enjoyed reading this thread.
 
2017-10-05 05:40:25 PM  
I think it is a good list.
 
2017-10-05 05:44:44 PM  

RogueWallEnthusiast: brap: In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.

I don't know if it's just the particular episode I tried watching from (think it was S2, E1), but the one where the girl's Facebook/Instagram/whatever status governs her life was a slog; never finished it, didn't try another.  Netflix Canada didn't have season 1.  Am I missing out?


Try the episodes "San Junipero" or "Hated in the Nation."
 
2017-10-05 05:49:31 PM  
reactiongifs.comView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 05:50:03 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size

This one was really great.
 
2017-10-05 05:54:36 PM  

John Buck 41: Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.


Ah yes, there it is.

Probably another BR thread coming in the next day or two as the general public post their opinions. Have you got a "Blade Runner thread" notification switched on?

/ wouldn't want to miss out
 
2017-10-05 06:04:25 PM  

ko_kyi: Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?


Which one?

That bad one, or the other bad one?
 
2017-10-05 06:10:25 PM  
they live?

really?
 
2017-10-05 06:17:01 PM  

FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?


In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.
 
2017-10-05 06:21:45 PM  

Ashelth: FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?

In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.


I'm glad I'm not alone in hating that POS of a movie.
 
2017-10-05 06:26:58 PM  
Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

halfguarded.comView Full Size


And my underrated pick:

is1.mzstatic.comView Full Size
 
2017-10-05 06:32:52 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


Farking horrible movie. No plot development, and what little plot there was was easily predictable. No character development and never once made the audience care about any of them.
 
2017-10-05 06:34:59 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


Eternal is as much sci fi as children.
 
2017-10-05 06:37:57 PM  

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Nope.
 
2017-10-05 06:40:23 PM  

TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.


Anybody else seen this? This is the fourth person I've seen swear by this movie. Sounds interesting.
 
2017-10-05 06:41:31 PM  

Kuta: Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

[halfguarded.com image 850x680]

And my underrated pick:

[is1.mzstatic.com image 420x630]


I agree about your second choice, but Serenity sucked.  It tried to split the difference between Firefly fans and newbs, in doing so satisfied neither.

The pilot died. People didn't care because there was zero character development
 
Displayed 50 of 254 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report