Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Onion AV Club)   The 35 best scifi movies of the 35 years since Blade Runner. List to the left, complaints and omissions to the right   ( avclub.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

3693 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 05 Oct 2017 at 12:50 PM (13 days ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



254 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2017-10-05 02:03:22 PM  
I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.
 
2017-10-05 02:04:42 PM  

Wessoman: BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko

I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.


Second.  Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe.  Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.
 
2017-10-05 02:06:29 PM  
Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.
 
2017-10-05 02:07:15 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.
 
2017-10-05 02:08:26 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


It had some nice things about it, but i think it peaked, by 20 minutes in.   There wasn't a whole lot of intrigue for the remainder, at least for me.
 
2017-10-05 02:08:43 PM  

Wessoman: Another film that I think deserves to be on this list, as it is a eerie Science-Fiction/Horror film, is Prince of Darkness.

Every time I hear the "This is not a dream" line, it always gives me chills. Really creepy stuff.


Prince of Darkness was Carpenter's Full Metal Jacket.
 
2017-10-05 02:12:25 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


The novella ("Story of Your Life" by Ted Chiang) that it's based on is really good. It gets a little nerdy about linguistics but I found it fascinating.
 
2017-10-05 02:13:18 PM  
I actually watched Snowpiercer twice to make sure I wasn't missing something to explain why some people found it compelling. Someone once observed that generally, you can forgive one glaring mcguffin in scifi and enjoy the rest. One could even argue Snowpiercer was a series of vignettes, each with its own mcguffin, tied together with the overall story, and you still end up with too many mcguffins.

And the ending pretty much ruins pretty much all of them and leaves you with the feeling that what really happened is that humanity created a giant Disney ride to put all its insane people on and it managed to go on as a mobile asylum for 17 years.
 
2017-10-05 02:16:56 PM  

Subtonic: Second. Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe. Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.


I think that's the reason why it has it's share of haters.

As I said, on the surface, Donnie Darko is a neat little sci-fi yarn about a kid getting caught in a Closed Timelike Curve. The thing is, it is set in the late 80's and steeped in 80's pop culture references, and for that reason I feel a lot of other sci-fi fans are put off by it. It's rare for a Sci-Fi film to be deliberately set in the past, but sometimes, when it works, it's beautiful. (See The Iron Giant)

But a lot of fun Sci-Fi films could be made even better by setting them in specific periods. For some reason, I thought that John Dies At The End would have worked better if it was set in the 1970's, mainly because cellular phones and answering machines could have caused some plot holes.
 
2017-10-05 02:18:44 PM  
glad to see that this was there.  Sometimes this movie gets overlooked.

Theme from Terry Gilliam's "Brazil" - by Geoff Muldaur and Michael Kamen
Youtube HZshIb5IJQU


My good friends call me Harry.
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 02:19:45 PM  

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


I'd agree with it being too long.  Great twilight zone episode?  Except at the end the alien text she writes to teach everyone causes them to go mad and open a portal to the ancient ones, which the aliens certainly looked like.
 
2017-10-05 02:20:55 PM  
In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.
 
2017-10-05 02:22:04 PM  
("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 02:25:56 PM  

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


[img.fark.net image 850x430]


New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.
 
2017-10-05 02:35:11 PM  

puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".


And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"
 
2017-10-05 02:36:12 PM  

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.


First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.
 
2017-10-05 02:37:44 PM  
So it looks like there is a preference for space monsters/villains.   Gattaca, Solaris, 2010, and others not really getting the love they deserve   Where's the Science Fiction in Mad Max, anyway?  More like Post Science world with faster moving and speaking zombies.
 
2017-10-05 02:38:45 PM  

GreenAdder: KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer

Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.


I'll save you the time. Take the frozen world from The Day After Tomorrow. Throw in Supertrain. Mix in some Soylent Green, Hunger Gamesand the class structure from Titanic. Listen to Captain America sob about knowing that babies are the other white meat. Stir in implausible plot holes and serve as social commentary. Then go watch Gattacafor good sci-fi social commentary.
 
2017-10-05 02:38:54 PM  

vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.


Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.
 
2017-10-05 02:42:09 PM  

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


Bogus Journey was better.
 
2017-10-05 02:42:34 PM  
"HER" isn't Science Fiction any more than "Lars and the Real Doll" is Science Fiction.

Snowpiercer is a shiatty B Film that makes zero sense.

"Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*

and Eternal Sunshine is to me completely unwatchable as I can not farking STAND Jim Carrey.
 
2017-10-05 02:43:40 PM  
Dredd
 
2017-10-05 02:45:17 PM  

Ed Grubermann: luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"

Bogus Journey was better.


IMDB'd Alex Winter as to why the fark he never did any other major roles.

Hey, at least he's doing the upcoming Zappa documentary.
 
2017-10-05 02:50:40 PM  

Ed Grubermann: vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.

Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.


The spinning tunnel of blades definitely deserved a Galaxy Quest, "Who the Hell designed this?" moment.
 
2017-10-05 02:55:03 PM  
Timecrimes (2007 aka Los cronocrímenes ) was incredible and deserved to be on the list, at least in place of AI. WOuld link to trailer but it has spoilers aplenty. Don't even read about it, just watch it. One of those "less you know the better" movies.
 
2017-10-05 02:56:48 PM  
Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.
 
2017-10-05 02:57:07 PM  
The Terminator Opening Title Sequence
Youtube K6auDCAGJgE
#1
 
2017-10-05 02:58:15 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

Yeah, that one puzzled the hell out of me

/what a dumb movie
//oh well...


snowpiercer shouldn't have been on this liist

AI shouldn't have been there either

ALso, there is no Stormship troopers movie
 
2017-10-05 03:00:12 PM  

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


he didn't make a starship troopers movie, much like how i, robot had very little to do with anything from Asimov
 
2017-10-05 03:00:47 PM  

Wessoman: limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."

vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.

First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.


The irony of RoboCop? Its dystopian future was actually nicer than the real Detroit of the 1990s.
 
2017-10-05 03:00:53 PM  

vygramul: Ed Grubermann: vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.

Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.

The spinning tunnel of blades definitely deserved a Galaxy Quest, "Who the Hell designed this?" moment.


yeah that should be a lot of fun if they ever lose artificial gravity.
 
2017-10-05 03:01:17 PM  

This text is now purple: Shin Godzilla


For a low budget Japanese film, Shin Godzilla is incredibly good. I really appreciated the way Anno shifted the focus of the Godzilla franchise from a Kaiju hitting each other/disaster movie to more of a political thriller/sci-fi film.

It was a much needed genre change, FWIW.
 
2017-10-05 03:01:41 PM  

Stratohead: "Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*


The beach scene is brutal, though.
 
2017-10-05 03:02:36 PM  
Here's what I think of this list.

i.imgur.com
 
2017-10-05 03:03:21 PM  

Wessoman: Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.

Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --

Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:

No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.
 
2017-10-05 03:04:19 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


yea, that one should have been on the list
 
2017-10-05 03:06:24 PM  

GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.


what was wrong with primer?
 
2017-10-05 03:08:23 PM  
Add:

Dark City
Strange Days
Akira
Attack the Block
Galaxy Quest
Total Recall
5th Element.

Remove:

Dune
Battle Royale
Snowpiercer
Upstream Color
 
2017-10-05 03:10:11 PM  

vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.


it's one of the few movies to actually give me nightmares, so as a horror movie it worked

but then again, thinking about it I did grow up watching hellraiser as a yoot
 
2017-10-05 03:11:03 PM  

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


my complaint would be the pacing

interesting concept,  easy to fall asleep to and require a second viewing of
 
2017-10-05 03:16:24 PM  

loonatic112358: GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.

what was wrong with primer?


It's kind of an ugly flat gray color.
 
2017-10-05 03:18:50 PM  

This text is now purple: The irony of RoboCop? Its dystopian future was actually nicer than the real Detroit of the 1990s.


Truth. Also, it should be pointed out that the DPD are now far more heavily armed than the cops in Robocop, and what was to be "Delta City" is now a rotting haven for urban pioneering hipsters and delicious curried pizza shops.

vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.


Yeah, Starship Troopers never got a good adaptation. What's interesting is that the most accurate popular culture adaptation of Heinlein's book, the Starship Troopers anime from the 1980's, strays far from the book's narrative, and (especially for a Sunrise production) is terribly animated and produced (Rumor is they finished it quickly since most of Sunrises' staff was working on Char's Counterattack). Anyways, the one thing the anime got right (Obviously) is the BOSS power armor. The powered suits in the Starship Troopers anime was exactly how I pictured it, and it's really terrible that this did not translate to the big screen.

Anyways, for those who care, here is the anime--first of six episodes for ya:

Starship Troopers Anime (English) Part 1 of 6
Youtube XIZty-Eol4s


Of course, the toys made for the anime were spectacular:
www.gunjap.net
static.hlj.com
 
2017-10-05 03:24:07 PM  

fastfxr: Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.


If you can sit and watch American movies, I question your IQ.

Seriously--Anime is like any other pop culture. You have to wade through mountains of crap to get to the cream cheese, and in the case of anime, it's wading through the Himalayas. But I feel genuinely sorry for anybody that can't watch sci-fi classic films like Paprika, Akira, Nausicaa, Patlabor 2, or Wings of Honneamise: Royal Space Force simply because they just happen to be Japanese and Animated.
 
2017-10-05 03:28:21 PM  
i2.wp.com
 
2017-10-05 03:29:54 PM  
If only Outland came out after Blade Runner it would have been number 1!

/really
//ok, not really
///I really like that movie for some reason.
 
2017-10-05 03:30:31 PM  

Sum Guye: [i2.wp.com image 500x762]


Oh yes, yes yes!
 
2017-10-05 03:50:43 PM  
*Checks to see if Buckaroo Bonzai is on the list*
*It is*
*Happy*
 
2017-10-05 03:53:35 PM  
35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.
 
2017-10-05 04:13:12 PM  
Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?
 
2017-10-05 04:14:23 PM  

Wessoman: But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.
 
Displayed 50 of 254 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.

In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report