Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Onion AV Club)   The 35 best scifi movies of the 35 years since Blade Runner. List to the left, complaints and omissions to the right   ( avclub.com) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

3693 clicks; posted to Discussion » on 05 Oct 2017 at 12:50 PM (12 days ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



254 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2017-10-05 12:07:25 PM  
A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.
 
2017-10-05 12:13:01 PM  
eXistenZ belongs on the list, preferably higher than The Matrix.
 
2017-10-05 12:13:36 PM  
Whar Battlefield Earth?

/Whar?
 
2017-10-05 12:20:52 PM  
35. Dune (1984)



HAHAHAHAhAhAhAHAHAhAHA

no
 
2017-10-05 12:21:05 PM  

Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.


I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.
 
2017-10-05 12:22:55 PM  

thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


Yeah, that one puzzled the hell out of me

/what a dumb movie
//oh well...
 
2017-10-05 12:24:15 PM  
Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.
 
2017-10-05 12:25:32 PM  
static.rogerebert.com

List fails.
 
2017-10-05 12:26:27 PM  
What about that one movie with the people?
 
2017-10-05 12:28:22 PM  

Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?


I was told there would be NO PEOPLE.
 
2017-10-05 12:28:56 PM  
Snowpiercer was terribad.


At least the list wasn't full of YA fiction crap and Avatar.
 
2017-10-05 12:31:01 PM  

RexTalionis: [static.rogerebert.com image 400x600]

List fails.

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 12:33:01 PM  

whidbey: No Star Wars movies,


Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."
 
2017-10-05 12:34:50 PM  
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 12:34:55 PM  

GreenAdder: whidbey: No Star Wars movies,

Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."


Yeah I know LALALA I CAN'T HEAR THEM.
 
2017-10-05 12:40:17 PM  
I've seen:
Looper
The Terminator
Inception
Edge of Tomorrow
Jurassic Park
Robocop
Terminator 2
Starship Troopers
Minority Report
Mad Max
Wall-E
Back to the Future
The Matrix
 
2017-10-05 12:41:42 PM  
Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.
 
2017-10-05 12:43:44 PM  
Ice Pirates was 1984, goddammittohell!! IT COUNTS! ITTTT COUUUUUNNNTTSS!
 
2017-10-05 12:52:04 PM  
img.fark.net
"Okay. First of all, this list is totally bogus. Like, what sort of heinous person would omit one of the best cyberpunk films of all time?"

img.fark.net
"I've got the evidence right here, Johnny. We were robbed. Straight-up robbed."

img.fark.net
"You guys are schlock. My movie's actually good, and they still left it off. Now I'm really in hell."

img.fark.net
"I'm a kangaroo."
 
2017-10-05 12:52:37 PM  

vygramul: Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.


Go away
 
2017-10-05 12:53:50 PM  

thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?
 
2017-10-05 12:54:35 PM  
Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.
 
2017-10-05 12:54:57 PM  

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Star Wars is an Oat Opera in space. It's not sci fi as much as the sci fi aspects are just incidental to the story.
 
2017-10-05 12:56:18 PM  
AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?
 
2017-10-05 12:56:50 PM  

Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?


Where they're standing up, and that guy has a shirt?

Yea. I loved that movie.
 
2017-10-05 12:56:54 PM  
They're playing it really fast and loose with some of those considering them to be SCI-Fi.
 
2017-10-05 12:57:50 PM  

GreenAdder: whidbey: No Star Wars movies,

Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."


Eh...then get Donnie Darko off the list.
 
2017-10-05 12:57:51 PM  

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.
 
2017-10-05 12:58:42 PM  
No Fifth Element?  That would have to be in the top 15 in my book.
 
2017-10-05 12:58:45 PM  

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


I got that it's parody. That doesn't make it good.

\Robocop did everything, but better
 
2017-10-05 12:59:53 PM  
Replace Dune with 2010 and put eXistenZ in there somewhere and it might be better.
 
2017-10-05 01:01:00 PM  
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014)
The true gallows-humor genius of Edge Of Tomorrow is how it plays with the audience's love/hate feelings toward Cruise himself. We get to have our cake and eat it, too: basking in the aging actor's still-formidable star power, while also taking a perverse pleasure in seeing him bite it over and over and over again for our amusement.

This, so much of this. This, this, and this again... It adds a perfect humor element into the movie. Even if you like Tom Cruise it's funny imagining him saying "God Farking DAMMIT!" each time... Also watching him tell Emily Blunt 'Oh no, I can walk this off' when he breaks his back or something.
 
2017-10-05 01:01:33 PM  
Buckaroo Banzai made their cut?  I'm impressed.

/John Valuk is dead
//he fell on his head
 
2017-10-05 01:02:28 PM  
A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?
 
2017-10-05 01:03:14 PM  

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


I've never seen value in comparing the two movies.  They're completely different genres.  Alien is a horror movie.  Aliens is an action-adventure movie.  They're both f'ing awesome and deserve a place on this list.
 
2017-10-05 01:04:15 PM  

JohnBigBootay: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.


Loving the revisionism for the MOVIE THAT SHOULD BE # farkING ONE.
 
2017-10-05 01:04:19 PM  
12. Her(2013)

i.pinimg.com


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic
 
2017-10-05 01:06:07 PM  
Surprised avatar didn't make the list.
 
2017-10-05 01:06:25 PM  

foo monkey: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

I've never seen value in comparing the two movies.  They're completely different genres.  Alien is a horror movie.  Aliens is an action-adventure movie.  They're both f'ing awesome and deserve a place on this list.


Pretty much the same thing applies to T1 and T2.
 
2017-10-05 01:06:47 PM  

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Alien came out before Blade Runner.

Same reason ST:TMP isn't on the list, I'm sure.
 
2017-10-05 01:07:18 PM  

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


What subtle subtext? Coed showers for everyone.
 
2017-10-05 01:08:09 PM  

thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

I'd have put the original "Total Recall" on the list -- it's got a fair amount of cheese, but it's no worse than "Starship Troopers" and has just as much mind-farkery as "Inception."
 
2017-10-05 01:08:32 PM  

Trainspotr: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Alien came out before Blade Runner.

Same reason ST:TMP isn't on the list, I'm sure.


Ah, I see. DRTFH.

I figured they were too hip about that one, too.
 
2017-10-05 01:08:59 PM  

jwa007: Replace Dune with 2010 and put eXistenZ in there somewhere and it might be better.


You could talk me into switching eXistenZ with Videodrome, but late period Cronenberg only deserves one film on this list.

Dune is more important than 2010. We can squibble about "better", but I think I give it the nod here, too.
 
2017-10-05 01:08:59 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

Yeah, that one puzzled the hell out of me

/what a dumb movie
//oh well...


Snowpiercer was everything I wish we had in summer blockbusters, which is everything I'd rather not have in my hard scifi, which is something we just don't have anymore.

And let's be honest, raise your hand if you've never fallen asleep watching blade runner.
 
2017-10-05 01:10:23 PM  

kbronsito: 12. Her(2013)

[i.pinimg.com image 236x219]


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic


I HAVE to get online.  I NEEEEED.  A comp-U-ter!
 
2017-10-05 01:12:46 PM  
The One I Love Official Trailer #1 (2014) - Elizabeth Moss, Mark Duplass Romantic Comedy HD
Youtube jCOvhojlZzQ
 
2017-10-05 01:13:24 PM  

whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.


Which Star Wars between 1982 and the present do you mean? Jedi? Phantom Menace? Killer Clones from Outer Space? Revenge of the Sith? TFA? Rogue One? The Clone Wars? All 7 range from extremely flawed (AOTC) to half-good (TFA/R1).
 
2017-10-05 01:15:45 PM  

JohnBigBootay: vygramul: Starship Troopers? Really? It's an abomination on every level.

Go away


You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.
 
2017-10-05 01:15:52 PM  
"Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"
 
2017-10-05 01:16:03 PM  

Wessoman: A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?


Jesus Christmas... Paprika.

Everything that director did was an utter mindfark.  Perfect Blue was on his resume too.  His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.

A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:
Ohayo (オハヨウ) Satoshi Kon
Youtube qYUFBnAmK28
 
2017-10-05 01:16:59 PM  
I was sort of expecting them to have the best science fiction movie for each year (84', 85', 86'...) not just 35 movies.

What is the point of a top 35 list?  How does this illustrate the genre evolving over time since that movie?

This is stupid.
 
2017-10-05 01:17:14 PM  

JohnBigBootay: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Science fiction movies are not known for completely ignoring science. Star wars is fantasy in space and it's not even our universe. Star wars is fine. But it's not remotely sci fi.


How do you feel about Buckaroo Bonzai?
 
2017-10-05 01:18:24 PM  
List fails without:

www.sonypictures.com
 
2017-10-05 01:18:30 PM  
List needs Star Trek IV an VI.  Wrath of Kahn came out 3 weeks before Blade Runner.
 
2017-10-05 01:18:41 PM  

vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.


The movie was better than the book.
The book is not nearly as smart as it thinks it is, and definitely not as life changing as the nerd armies think it is.
 
2017-10-05 01:20:44 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


This.

I know they were B movies but I liked Screamers and Absolon.
 
2017-10-05 01:20:58 PM  
TL:DR
35. Dune (1984)
34. Battle Royale (2000)
33. Moon (2009)
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984)
31. The Host (2006)
30. Looper (2012)
29. Snowpiercer (2013)
28. Ghost In The Shell (1995)
27. Donnie Darko (2001)
26. The Terminator (1984)
25. They Live (1988)
24. Inception (2010)
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014)
22. Upstream Color (2013)
21. Jurassic Park (1993)
20. RoboCop (1987)
19. Videodrome (1983)
18. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)
17. Starship Troopers (1997)
16. Minority Report (2002)
15. Arrival (2016)
14. The Fly (1986)
13. Under The Skin (2013)
12. Her (2013)
11. 12 Monkeys (1995)
10. A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001)
9. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015)
8. Primer (2004)
7. WALL-E (2008)
6. Children Of Men (2006)
5. Back To The Future (1985)
4. Aliens (1986)
3. Brazil (1985)
2. The Matrix (1999)
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004)
 
2017-10-05 01:21:49 PM  
Wessoman: A lot of win left off: Pi, Dark City, eXistenZ, Paprika, The Handmaid's Tale (Even if it was remade much better on Hulu), Akira, Patlabor 2, Gandahar, Gattaca, Gravity...Wow a lot of "G" films..

There are a lot of stupid choices, among them Snowpiercer, Ghost in the Shell, and Battle Royale. Battle Royale isn't even Sci-Fi. The original book was a dark future set in a alternate timeline where Japan won World War II, and the text reads like a gigantic critique of Japanese culture. But the movie is just another dumb Beat Takeshi action vehicle and none of the sci-fi political overtones (As well as the alternate history) made it into the film. At least Snowpiercer and GITS stayed sci-fi, even if they are considerably dumbed down from the original comic sources.

Battle Royale is definitely science fiction.

There are also a lot of bad films on this list: Upstream Color, Her, Starship Troopers, AI, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind...Jeez. Also, does the original Lynch version of Dune belong here?

You have an odd definition of "bad film."

In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.
 
2017-10-05 01:23:14 PM  
Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.
 
2017-10-05 01:25:07 PM  
The Thing, Pi, Gattaca, Predator, 12 Monkeys, Fifth Element, The Abyss, The Quiet Earth, Terminator II, Akira, Dark City, Screamers, Galaxy Quest, Stargate, Iron Giant, Truman Show, The Martian, District 9, Ex Machina, Dredd, Robot and Frank, and Shin Godzilla are all better than the lesser entries of this list.
 
2017-10-05 01:25:16 PM  
Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.
 
2017-10-05 01:25:31 PM  
img.fark.net

You're gonna let some emo dweeb like Donnie Darko on the list, but you're not going to invite Dr. Venkman? Next time you got a couple of Class IVs bugging you, don't call.
 
2017-10-05 01:25:43 PM  

Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.


Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --


Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.


You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:


No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.
 
2017-10-05 01:26:01 PM  
Venetian Snares - Ion Divvy
Youtube ABP8wm2wYfM
 
2017-10-05 01:26:34 PM  
If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".
 
2017-10-05 01:26:35 PM  

KingBiefWhistle: Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.


This. I had fun. Also I'm a big Rian Johnson fan, but I thought looper was disappointing
 
2017-10-05 01:26:56 PM  

KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer


Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.
 
2017-10-05 01:27:56 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


I feel ashamed I forgot to list this film too. Truly a top 20, a much better "Remake" of Alien Nation.
 
2017-10-05 01:28:04 PM  
In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.

I loved Serenity.  I loved it a lot.  However, on no plane of existence is it one of the top sci-fi films of all time.  Not even close.
 
2017-10-05 01:28:32 PM  

Rocketboy1313: vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.

The movie was better than the book.
The book is not nearly as smart as it thinks it is, and definitely not as life changing as the nerd armies think it is.


lol

I can't speak to the nerd army opinions of the book, as often they make some of the same mistakes critics do.
 
2017-10-05 01:29:04 PM  

This text is now purple: Iron Giant, Truman Show,


THIS
 
2017-10-05 01:30:16 PM  
Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a well done and interesting movie.  It should not be on this list at all, and putting it at number one is mind boggling to say the least.
 
2017-10-05 01:31:38 PM  
Also missing from list (July 9th 1982)

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 01:33:37 PM  

Kegovitch: "Guys, we need more clicks.  What do we do?"


"let's not mention Freejack and Repo Men"
 
2017-10-05 01:34:03 PM  
Primer? AND That high? GARBAGE LIST IS GARBAGE. A more overrated movie does not exist.
 
2017-10-05 01:34:43 PM  

thatguyoverthere70: And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list crap.
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


I couldn't finish either of those pieces of shiat. A good third of the movies in TFA were utter garbage.
 
2017-10-05 01:34:46 PM  
My reactions:

35. Sure.
34. I guess.  Didn't seem too Sci-Fi to me.
33. Sure.
32. I really need to watch that one of these days.
31. I've heard good things.  I'll at it to my list.
30. Meh.
29. Eh.  It was ok.  Not great.
28. More important for its cultural impact than its quality in and of itself.
27. Was ok. Certainly not great. Never felt the urge to watch it a second time.
26. Yes.
25. Hells Yes.
24. Eh.  It wasn't nearly as innovative or clever as the studio's marketing department tried to convince everybody it was.
23. Fun? Sure.  Entertaining? Certainly.  Great?  Not really.
22. Never even heard of it.
21. Sure.
20. Certainly.
19. Absolutely.
18. Good action movie.  First one was better.  Loses points for the first illogical and innapropriate use of Ahnold.
17. Yeah - as long as you can get past it not being very much at all based on the book.
16. Definitely.  Admittedly, I'm a sucker for anything based on PKD
15. I need to give this one another shot.  Was in the wrong mood when I tried to watch it, and didn't make it 10 minutes in.
14. Yeah, pretty good.
13. Haven't seen, may look into it.
12. Haven't seen, don't find myself interested.
11. Yes.
10. It was so-so.  Gets more acclaim for who made it than what it is, IMO
09. Yeah.
08. Meh.  Not nearly as clever, deep, or interesting as its fanboys proclaim.
07. Sure.
06. Also on my "Haven't seen but should at some point" list.
05. Of course.
04. Duh.
03. Never made it all the way through.  I'll try again at some point.
02. I like it.  It's fun.
01. Ok, not great.

I'm not going to start going into all the things I think should have been included on the list (in this comment, at least), and I'm not saying it deserves to be on this list, but I'd like to point out that I really enjoyed The Arrival (1996) with Mr Tiger Blood.
 
2017-10-05 01:36:30 PM  
Return of the Jedi
Guardians of the Galaxy
Logan
Rise/Dawn/War...planet of the apes
Equilibrium
A Scanner Darkly
Sunshine
Transformers: The Movie (1986)
Chronicle
Pacific Rim
 
2017-10-05 01:37:24 PM  

cew-smoke: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.

I loved Serenity.  I loved it a lot.  However, on no plane of existence is it one of the top sci-fi films of all time.  Not even close.


It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko and Dune. Serenity explores an important question; the nature of morality and free will and the possibility of achieving virtue through coercion. I know it's currently fashionable to hate Joss Whedon, but I think Serenity deserves more respect than it gets.
 
2017-10-05 01:40:34 PM  
Not a terrible list, a few things out of order.   AI shouldn't be on there at all.  And their #1 pick, wouldn't even be in my top 40.

Underrated on this list: Terminator 1, Robocop,

Overrated: Minority Report, Arrival, Under The Skin, Mad Max.  All decent movies, but too high on the list.

Missing: Gattica  (I'd stick it around #15), Gravity (around #30)

Any of  The Matrix, Aliens, Back to the Future or Wall-E could be #1 and I would be satisfied.
 
2017-10-05 01:41:14 PM  

BorgiaGinz: Battle Royale is definitely science fiction.


If you read the book, I'd agree. But the movie is a fetishy prison movie.

I would have LOVED it if BR had more of the sci-fi elements and worldcraft from the original novel. Heck, they even left out Bruce Springsteen's "Born to Run" from the film, the one thing that actually ties the book together in a brilliant narrative.
 
2017-10-05 01:42:20 PM  

Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?


You mean the one with the guy with the thing? I love that one.
 
2017-10-05 01:43:38 PM  

JerseyTim: eXistenZ belongs on the list, preferably higher than The Matrix.


I watched eXistenZ once, quite a while ago. i don't remember much but it was terrible
 
2017-10-05 01:43:59 PM  
I think Spielberg's War of the Worlds could've easily been on that list.
Moon seems WAY too low. I'd have it in top 5.  Probably put Children of Men at #1.

I'd even have Prometheus in there in exchange for several of those.  Rogue One, as well.
 
2017-10-05 01:44:06 PM  

GreenAdder: whidbey: No Star Wars movies,

Star Wars is considered by a lot of cinephiles to be a fantasy movie wrapped in science fiction clothing, rather than being "pure" science fiction. Even my "Into to Film" textbook categorized it as fantasy. It's less "let's explore how technology changes things" than it is "LOTR in Space."


I like to compare Star Wars and Star Trek to 2 ocean movies.  2 sides of the same coin.

Star Trek is Master and Commander - space navy
Star Wars is Pirates of the Caribbean - ridiculously colorful characters with fantasy and magic.  oh and boats/spaceships.
 
2017-10-05 01:45:00 PM  
Warning: topless Bastet
Kas Product "TinaTown" 1983
Youtube 2GzDz8jMviQ

Immortel (ad vitam) 2004 - Full Movie - YouTube
 
2017-10-05 01:45:15 PM  
images.fandango.com"We didn't make the list?!?!"
 
2017-10-05 01:46:39 PM  
Galaxy Quest is better scifi than at least 7 of those movies.
 
2017-10-05 01:48:53 PM  
Night of the Comet
The Last Starfighter


Actually, any film with Catherine Mary Stewart.
 
2017-10-05 01:48:58 PM  

Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.


I hated it on first viewing and greatly valued it by the 2nd viewing, years later.  Sorta like a typical Kubrick film, that its hard to assimilate the first time.   you have to revisit it.
 
2017-10-05 01:49:17 PM  

BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko


I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.
 
2017-10-05 01:50:18 PM  

Crewmannumber6: Also I'm a big Rian Johnson fan, but I thought looper was disappointing


Completely agree, though I would say "disappointing" is actually being polite.  A shame since I had high hopes after hearing the premise and liking his other work.
 
2017-10-05 01:52:36 PM  

LewDux: [Youtube-video https://www.youtube.com/embed/ABP8wm2wYfM]


Wow, another Farker who knows who Venetian Snares is.

Secondly, although there were a lot of good choices missing, I liked the list.
 
2017-10-05 01:53:12 PM  

Subtonic: Primer? AND That high? GARBAGE LIST IS GARBAGE. A more overrated movie does not exist.


I cannot THIS this enough.

I was shown the movie by my roommate's douchebro buddy.  This was our conversation when it ended:
"Eh, it was ok"
"If you think that, you didn't understand it.  It's so complex"
"No, I understood it."
"If you think you understood it, you're wrong bro"

I mean, it's a neat little movie done on the cheap, but it's not at all hard to follow.  I guess maybe unless you've never had any exposure to other fiction featuring time travel, or are a moron.
 
2017-10-05 01:53:47 PM  

KingBiefWhistle: Holy shiat that's a lot of hate for Snowpiercer. I didn't think it was mind-blowing life-changing but damn if I wasn't thoroughly entertained by it.


At it's best, it's an awesomely bad B movie with ham handed social messaging, yet all of the critics and pretentious people out there seemed to love it for some reason.  I think that's why it gets all the hate.  It would be like if critics and your pretentious art house friends started raving about 'Big Trouble In Little China', or 'They Live'.
 
2017-10-05 01:55:22 PM  
Not that you bastards give a rat's ass what I think... (removed the ones I haven't seen)
35. Dune (1984) - I liked it, but it's not great Sci-Fi.
33. Moon (2009) - Very good movie.
32. Buckaroo Banzai (1984) - Great comedy, not much of a Sci-Fi movie.
30. Looper (2012) - Much better than it had a right to be.
29. Snowpiercer (2013) - Utter garbage.
28. Ghost In The Shell (1995) - Amazing movie that needed a much bigger budget.
27. Donnie Darko (2001) - Pretentious shiat.
26. The Terminator (1984) - Good movie, had a big enough impact to make the list.
25. They Live (1988) - Good comedy and social commentary, not a really a good movie.
24. Inception (2010) - I liked it, but it's a crime drama with a twist.
23. Edge Of Tomorrow (2014) - Much better than it should have been.
21. Jurassic Park (1993) - Amazing movie over all, if you ignore a few computer tech issues.
20. RoboCop (1987) - Amazing movie.
19. Videodrome (1983) - Hmmm... not as boring as Scanners, but not that good of a movie.
18. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) - a good movie with a massively insipid ending that ruined it.
17. Starship Troopers (1997) - How did this turd end up on the list?
15. Arrival (2016) - Pretentious crap.
14. The Fly (1986) - I liked it, but it's not sci-fi, it's body horror.
11. 12 Monkeys (1995) - Belongs higher on the list, especially considering what is higher on this list.
10. A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001) - The worst of both directors involved.
09. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015) - More of an action movie than a sci-fi movie.
07. WALL-E (2008) - Up until they reach the ship, yes. afterwards, not so much.
06. Children Of Men (2006) - I really liked it.
05. Back To The Future (1985) - Sci-fi comedy done perfectly.
04. Aliens (1986) - Good movie, not as good as Alien.
03. Brazil (1985) - Very good movie.
02. The Matrix (1999) - No, not worthy of the spot. Dark City was much better.
 
2017-10-05 01:57:29 PM  

Ed Grubermann: 19. Videodrome (1983) - Hmmm... not as boring as Scanners, but not that good of a movie.


I will fight you.
 
2017-10-05 01:58:22 PM  
Another film that I think deserves to be on this list, as it is a eerie Science-Fiction/Horror film, is Prince of Darkness.

Every time I hear the "This is not a dream" line, it always gives me chills. Really creepy stuff.
 
2017-10-05 01:59:48 PM  

Mole Man: Also missing from list (July 9th 1982)


+1 for creativity and innovation. -100 for the film editing and incomprehensible narrative.

I had the good fortune to be given a copy of the novelization before the film made it to my small town, and I loved the book. Everything more or less made sense -- who the different programs were, why they were doing what they were doing, what each thing in the world was designed to do, etc.

When I finally saw the movie, I walked out scratching my head because I wasn't even sure whether I had seen the right film. So many bits of narrative tissue were cut out that it left the whole thing an incomprehensible mess, even when I knew what was supposed to be happening. I get that it's easier to write exposition than it is to show it on screen, but in a story like this, where there is an outsider character and an insider character, you've got a ready-made vehicle to have the insider explain things to the outsider and the audience at the same time.

I don't know if Disney wanted it cut down for time, or if the effects budget kept them from filming a lot of coverage that was necessary to fill in the gaps, or they were running up against a release date and had to cut filming short or what. But man, the book was so much better.
 
2017-10-05 02:03:22 PM  
I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.
 
2017-10-05 02:04:42 PM  

Wessoman: BorgiaGinz: It certainly belongs on the list ahead of Donnie Darko

I agree with a lot of Fark's taste, but I don't understand the hate for Donnie Darko..Or maybe I do, people don't like films that are "Loved" by Hipsters white millenials that live in formerly ethnic neighborhoods. Anyhoo, I have always seen Donnie Darko as a textbook example of a Lorentzian manifold CTC, it's a great way to illustrate the Novikov Self-Consistency Principle in action.


Second.  Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe.  Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.
 
2017-10-05 02:06:29 PM  
Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.
 
2017-10-05 02:07:15 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.
 
2017-10-05 02:08:26 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


It had some nice things about it, but i think it peaked, by 20 minutes in.   There wasn't a whole lot of intrigue for the remainder, at least for me.
 
2017-10-05 02:08:43 PM  

Wessoman: Another film that I think deserves to be on this list, as it is a eerie Science-Fiction/Horror film, is Prince of Darkness.

Every time I hear the "This is not a dream" line, it always gives me chills. Really creepy stuff.


Prince of Darkness was Carpenter's Full Metal Jacket.
 
2017-10-05 02:12:25 PM  

Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.


The novella ("Story of Your Life" by Ted Chiang) that it's based on is really good. It gets a little nerdy about linguistics but I found it fascinating.
 
2017-10-05 02:13:18 PM  
I actually watched Snowpiercer twice to make sure I wasn't missing something to explain why some people found it compelling. Someone once observed that generally, you can forgive one glaring mcguffin in scifi and enjoy the rest. One could even argue Snowpiercer was a series of vignettes, each with its own mcguffin, tied together with the overall story, and you still end up with too many mcguffins.

And the ending pretty much ruins pretty much all of them and leaves you with the feeling that what really happened is that humanity created a giant Disney ride to put all its insane people on and it managed to go on as a mobile asylum for 17 years.
 
2017-10-05 02:16:56 PM  

Subtonic: Second. Darko was a neat little film with a good 80s vibe. Sometimes I doubt fark's commitment to sparkle motion.


I think that's the reason why it has it's share of haters.

As I said, on the surface, Donnie Darko is a neat little sci-fi yarn about a kid getting caught in a Closed Timelike Curve. The thing is, it is set in the late 80's and steeped in 80's pop culture references, and for that reason I feel a lot of other sci-fi fans are put off by it. It's rare for a Sci-Fi film to be deliberately set in the past, but sometimes, when it works, it's beautiful. (See The Iron Giant)

But a lot of fun Sci-Fi films could be made even better by setting them in specific periods. For some reason, I thought that John Dies At The End would have worked better if it was set in the 1970's, mainly because cellular phones and answering machines could have caused some plot holes.
 
2017-10-05 02:18:44 PM  
glad to see that this was there.  Sometimes this movie gets overlooked.

Theme from Terry Gilliam's "Brazil" - by Geoff Muldaur and Michael Kamen
Youtube HZshIb5IJQU


My good friends call me Harry.
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 02:19:45 PM  

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


I'd agree with it being too long.  Great twilight zone episode?  Except at the end the alien text she writes to teach everyone causes them to go mad and open a portal to the ancient ones, which the aliens certainly looked like.
 
2017-10-05 02:20:55 PM  
In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.
 
2017-10-05 02:22:04 PM  
("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 02:25:56 PM  

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


[img.fark.net image 850x430]


New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.
 
2017-10-05 02:35:11 PM  

puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".


And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"
 
2017-10-05 02:36:12 PM  

limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."


vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.


First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.
 
2017-10-05 02:37:44 PM  
So it looks like there is a preference for space monsters/villains.   Gattaca, Solaris, 2010, and others not really getting the love they deserve   Where's the Science Fiction in Mad Max, anyway?  More like Post Science world with faster moving and speaking zombies.
 
2017-10-05 02:38:45 PM  

GreenAdder: KingBiefWhistle: Snowpiercer

Snow is easy to pierce. People do it all the time with shovels, boots, tires, sticks...

We don't need a two-hour movie just for that, and it's hardly science fiction when somebody does.

Harrumph.

/okay, okay. I haven't seen it. It's on my "watch it one day" list.


I'll save you the time. Take the frozen world from The Day After Tomorrow. Throw in Supertrain. Mix in some Soylent Green, Hunger Gamesand the class structure from Titanic. Listen to Captain America sob about knowing that babies are the other white meat. Stir in implausible plot holes and serve as social commentary. Then go watch Gattacafor good sci-fi social commentary.
 
2017-10-05 02:38:54 PM  

vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.


Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.
 
2017-10-05 02:42:09 PM  

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


Bogus Journey was better.
 
2017-10-05 02:42:34 PM  
"HER" isn't Science Fiction any more than "Lars and the Real Doll" is Science Fiction.

Snowpiercer is a shiatty B Film that makes zero sense.

"Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*

and Eternal Sunshine is to me completely unwatchable as I can not farking STAND Jim Carrey.
 
2017-10-05 02:43:40 PM  
Dredd
 
2017-10-05 02:45:17 PM  

Ed Grubermann: luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"

Bogus Journey was better.


IMDB'd Alex Winter as to why the fark he never did any other major roles.

Hey, at least he's doing the upcoming Zappa documentary.
 
2017-10-05 02:50:40 PM  

Ed Grubermann: vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.

Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.


The spinning tunnel of blades definitely deserved a Galaxy Quest, "Who the Hell designed this?" moment.
 
2017-10-05 02:55:03 PM  
Timecrimes (2007 aka Los cronocrímenes ) was incredible and deserved to be on the list, at least in place of AI. WOuld link to trailer but it has spoilers aplenty. Don't even read about it, just watch it. One of those "less you know the better" movies.
 
2017-10-05 02:56:48 PM  
Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.
 
2017-10-05 02:57:07 PM  
The Terminator Opening Title Sequence
Youtube K6auDCAGJgE
#1
 
2017-10-05 02:58:15 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.

And Ex Machina is better than 25% of these movies and it's not even on the list.

I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

Yeah, that one puzzled the hell out of me

/what a dumb movie
//oh well...


snowpiercer shouldn't have been on this liist

AI shouldn't have been there either

ALso, there is no Stormship troopers movie
 
2017-10-05 03:00:12 PM  

GreenAdder: Some people don't understand the subtext in "Starship Troopers." Hard to believe, but Veerhoven made the mistake of being a bit too subtle.


he didn't make a starship troopers movie, much like how i, robot had very little to do with anything from Asimov
 
2017-10-05 03:00:47 PM  

Wessoman: limboslam: ("Robocop) exposed the polluted, putrid soul of Ronald Reagan's United States..."

vygramul: New Jack City was far better at accomplishing that anyway.

First of all, vygramul is correct...

And secondly, Robocop wasn't a critique of Reagan's America, it was a critique of Reagan's Trickle Down economy and what it will eventually do to America. Robocop parodied a lot of things that we have meekly accepted about our degenerate 21st century American lives, like: The militarization and privatization of police (To the 80's audiences, ALL police being equipped with full body armor and automatic weapons was unnerving), corporations bulldozing impoverished minority neighborhoods to make way for luxury corporate housing, our obsession with gas-guzzling cars (The 6000SUX was before the advent of the SUV), "Assault Cannons" being available to the general public (Which look like modern Barrett sniper rifles that you can actually buy), and Americans being entirely too glib with foreign affairs ("The rebels blew up the airport in Acapulco, we were going to go there...").

FWIW, Robocop was an incredibly prescient look into 21st century life. It was Robocop 2 that was more driven by Reagan-era anti-drug ennui.


The irony of RoboCop? Its dystopian future was actually nicer than the real Detroit of the 1990s.
 
2017-10-05 03:00:53 PM  

vygramul: Ed Grubermann: vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.

Yes, but it loses any respect due to it's The Black Hole level "Gothic architecture" set design. Yes, I know it's a horror movie, I don't need to be spoon-fed the fact.

The spinning tunnel of blades definitely deserved a Galaxy Quest, "Who the Hell designed this?" moment.


yeah that should be a lot of fun if they ever lose artificial gravity.
 
2017-10-05 03:01:17 PM  

This text is now purple: Shin Godzilla


For a low budget Japanese film, Shin Godzilla is incredibly good. I really appreciated the way Anno shifted the focus of the Godzilla franchise from a Kaiju hitting each other/disaster movie to more of a political thriller/sci-fi film.

It was a much needed genre change, FWIW.
 
2017-10-05 03:01:41 PM  

Stratohead: "Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*


The beach scene is brutal, though.
 
2017-10-05 03:02:36 PM  
Here's what I think of this list.

i.imgur.com
 
2017-10-05 03:03:21 PM  

Wessoman: Uzzah: The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution.

Uzzah: The premise was the only thing that made it interesting --

Uzzah: It's not a *bad* movie, but it has a lot of potential that went unrealized.

You need to read Le Transperceneige (Snowpiercer, translated in French), the original comic that Snowpiercer is based off. It's why I hate Battle Royale and GITS so much--The original French comic really explored the world, and even included other trains surviving the same world. A really fascinating comic that just ended in 2016, and when you read it, you will realize that the Snowpiercer film doesn't do the source material much justice, it really needed to be made into a Handsmaid's Tale like TV show that explored it's true potential.

BeesNuts: Jesus Christmas... Paprika.Everything that director did was an utter mindfark. Perfect Blue was on his resume too. His death was probably the only death of a foreign director that actually had me bummed out in my lifetime.A one minute masterclass in scene crafting:

No shiat. This is the inherent hipster prejudice of the AV Club (Which, by the way, I really hate)-- If Paprika was a live action film and not a Japanese anime, it would have had Oscar consideration and would certainly be in the top 5 of this list. But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.
 
2017-10-05 03:04:19 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


yea, that one should have been on the list
 
2017-10-05 03:06:24 PM  

GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.


what was wrong with primer?
 
2017-10-05 03:08:23 PM  
Add:

Dark City
Strange Days
Akira
Attack the Block
Galaxy Quest
Total Recall
5th Element.

Remove:

Dune
Battle Royale
Snowpiercer
Upstream Color
 
2017-10-05 03:10:11 PM  

vygramul: Event Horizon had enough scifi elements that I think it it was interesting enough for its scifi elements I kind of forgave it for being Hell Raiser In Space.


it's one of the few movies to actually give me nightmares, so as a horror movie it worked

but then again, thinking about it I did grow up watching hellraiser as a yoot
 
2017-10-05 03:11:03 PM  

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


my complaint would be the pacing

interesting concept,  easy to fall asleep to and require a second viewing of
 
2017-10-05 03:16:24 PM  

loonatic112358: GungFu: Seen all of them apart from two - Upstream Color and Her.

All are pretty good and have their merits - except one. That Primer (one of the worst films of all time) is in the list tells you all you need to know about subjectivity in lists.

what was wrong with primer?


It's kind of an ugly flat gray color.
 
2017-10-05 03:18:50 PM  

This text is now purple: The irony of RoboCop? Its dystopian future was actually nicer than the real Detroit of the 1990s.


Truth. Also, it should be pointed out that the DPD are now far more heavily armed than the cops in Robocop, and what was to be "Delta City" is now a rotting haven for urban pioneering hipsters and delicious curried pizza shops.

vygramul: You liked the Polish firing squads, human wave attacks, and a gross distortion of the book? OK, then.


Yeah, Starship Troopers never got a good adaptation. What's interesting is that the most accurate popular culture adaptation of Heinlein's book, the Starship Troopers anime from the 1980's, strays far from the book's narrative, and (especially for a Sunrise production) is terribly animated and produced (Rumor is they finished it quickly since most of Sunrises' staff was working on Char's Counterattack). Anyways, the one thing the anime got right (Obviously) is the BOSS power armor. The powered suits in the Starship Troopers anime was exactly how I pictured it, and it's really terrible that this did not translate to the big screen.

Anyways, for those who care, here is the anime--first of six episodes for ya:

Starship Troopers Anime (English) Part 1 of 6
Youtube XIZty-Eol4s


Of course, the toys made for the anime were spectacular:
www.gunjap.net
static.hlj.com
 
2017-10-05 03:24:07 PM  

fastfxr: Sorry. but if you can sit and watch anime, I question your IQ.


If you can sit and watch American movies, I question your IQ.

Seriously--Anime is like any other pop culture. You have to wade through mountains of crap to get to the cream cheese, and in the case of anime, it's wading through the Himalayas. But I feel genuinely sorry for anybody that can't watch sci-fi classic films like Paprika, Akira, Nausicaa, Patlabor 2, or Wings of Honneamise: Royal Space Force simply because they just happen to be Japanese and Animated.
 
2017-10-05 03:28:21 PM  
i2.wp.com
 
2017-10-05 03:29:54 PM  
If only Outland came out after Blade Runner it would have been number 1!

/really
//ok, not really
///I really like that movie for some reason.
 
2017-10-05 03:30:31 PM  

Sum Guye: [i2.wp.com image 500x762]


Oh yes, yes yes!
 
2017-10-05 03:50:43 PM  
*Checks to see if Buckaroo Bonzai is on the list*
*It is*
*Happy*
 
2017-10-05 03:53:35 PM  
35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.
 
2017-10-05 04:13:12 PM  
Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?
 
2017-10-05 04:14:23 PM  

Wessoman: But no, it's the AV Club so you get hipster "sci-fi-esque" shiat like Eternal Sunshine and Her.


You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.
 
2017-10-05 04:15:53 PM  
www.ruthlessreviews.com
 
2017-10-05 04:20:56 PM  

Learned Hand Job: whidbey: Yep. No Star Wars movies, and "Aliens" is better than the original.

Fark this hipster bullshiat.

Which Star Wars between 1982 and the present do you mean? Jedi? Phantom Menace? Killer Clones from Outer Space? Revenge of the Sith? TFA? Rogue One? The Clone Wars? All 7 range from extremely flawed (AOTC) to half-good (TFA/R1).


Hey someone remembered that the original Star Wars and Empire came out prior to 1982!

Also I'm going to take an unpopular opinion spin here....

I like Return of the Jedi and Snowpiercer!
 
2017-10-05 04:22:38 PM  

BorgiaGinz: The Man from Earth.


"The Man from Earth" or "The Man Who Fell to Earth"?

The former wasn't sci-fi; it was philosophy.  The latter was sci-fi.

Both are really good, though.
 
2017-10-05 04:27:11 PM  
Also as may have been mentioned above, the first 2/3rds of Sunshine before it turns into a slasher film and Dark City are good.
 
2017-10-05 04:30:33 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction.  "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements.  You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.
 
2017-10-05 04:31:52 PM  

AdrienVeidt: You have a *spectactularly* Ignorant definition of science fiction, bruh.

Her

is just a modernized Electric Dreams. It's a romance wrapped up in sci-fi elements. Eternal Sunshine is just a nonlinear Romance with some sci-fi elements, and living proof that Michel Gondry should stick to making clever music videos as opposed to trying to helm a two-hour slog that tries to make you empathize with Jim Carrey.

I'll give you this, the Soundtrack, especially the Beck song, was great.
 
2017-10-05 04:32:43 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


ESotSM is more science fiction than most others on the list, and shows more directly how we humans adapt to the environment we create with our technology better than pretty much anything else in pop culture, imho.  ESotSM is inarguably one of the finest science fiction movies ever made and anyone that disagrees has a poor understanding of what science fiction actually is.
 
XSV
2017-10-05 04:35:07 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


not to be confused with:
3gem.ca
 
2017-10-05 04:37:11 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Nods knowingly

cdn-img.instyle.com
 
2017-10-05 04:37:53 PM  
Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.
 
2017-10-05 04:39:55 PM  

luckyeddie: puckrock2000: If you're going to include sci-fi comedy with "Back To The Future" and "Buckaroo Banzai", you have to add "Galaxy Quest" and "Men In Black".

And "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"


And "Real Genius."
 
2017-10-05 04:42:13 PM  

BeesNuts: kbronsito: 12. Her(2013)

[i.pinimg.com image 236x219]


also list fails w/o Johny Mnemonic

I HAVE to get online.  I NEEEEED.  A comp-U-ter!


His plea for room service is only 2nd to the princess in Spaceballs
 
2017-10-05 04:43:31 PM  

Wessoman: Her is just a modernized Electric Dreams. It's a romance wrapped up in sci-fi elements. Eternal Sunshine is just a nonlinear Romance with some sci-fi elements, and living proof that Michel Gondry should stick to making clever music videos as opposed to trying to helm a two-hour slog that tries to make you empathize with Jim Carrey.

I'll give you this, the Soundtrack, especially the Beck song, was great.


What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".
Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film.  A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too.  That is a great idea about AI.

"Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life.  Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message
 
2017-10-05 04:48:05 PM  
Change the name to PG SF War Porn and I wouldn't have an issue with the movie Starship Troopers.  As a take on R.A.H.'s short novel the movie only benefited Virginia Heinlein with the money.
 
2017-10-05 04:48:30 PM  

BorgiaGinz: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.


img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 04:48:33 PM  

indy_kid: "The Man from Earth" or "The Man Who Fell to Earth"?

The former wasn't sci-fi; it was philosophy.  The latter was sci-fi.

Both are really good, though.


The science fiction element was meeting someone who was immortal via an ability to heal perfectly without scar, mutation, or degradation.  That is a science fiction start that serves as the base to the story.
 
2017-10-05 04:48:39 PM  
img.fark.net

fark your list
 
2017-10-05 04:52:32 PM  
no last starfighter?

/we die....
 
2017-10-05 04:53:59 PM  
Mikey1969:
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?


It has a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes, so I don't know who you heard that from.

I would argue it is not all that "Science" fiction.  It has a very magical feel to it.  "Soft" sci-fi where the emphasis is on the metaphor of the movie rather than the tech elements.
 
2017-10-05 04:56:49 PM  
Fury Road sucked ass.  There was no pacing and nothing about any character was interesting.

Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?
 
kab
2017-10-05 04:58:50 PM  
Really not a Rolling Stone-level bad list, though I've never really considered ESotSM or Her to be sci-fi.    Actually I think I've seen them listed on Netflix as both war documentaries and post-nuclear gangster films.

Ex Machina really really needs to be somewhere on that list.
 
2017-10-05 04:59:48 PM  
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 05:04:42 PM  

Rocketboy1313: What would you say is the difference between "Science fiction elements" and a "science fiction film".Because "Her" is ENTIRELY a science fiction film. A new technology emerges that is romantically connecting to the lonely alienated people in our society, but is actually so good and noble that it ends up leaving behind those people too. That is a great idea about AI."Sunshine" is all about the application of a technology in day to day life. Sure it is a character study, but the framing of the story, and the message of the movie (that using technology to erase our mistakes will only lead to us reliving our mistakes) is not a bad message


"Her" and "Eternal Sunshine" are kinda all over the place, but I can see where many would consider them science fiction, but the narrative of both films is driven entirely by romance. I guess these films can be called a new genre of film, Science-Romance. I guess I am put off by Her's similarity to Electric Dreams and Eternal Sunshine's bizarre ending.

There are a lot of films that I really enjoy that are considered "Science Fiction", like Elysium, but I know for a fact that is not really a sci-fi film, it only serves as a backdrop for a cheesy and entertaining action film. Furthermore, Inception, is listed as a Sci-Fi film, but really, it's a heist movie with a gimmicky (and effective) plot device.
 
kab
2017-10-05 05:05:04 PM  

ko_kyi: Fury Road sucked ass.  There was no pacing and nothing about any character was interesting.


And I thought I was one of the only people that didn't like this flick.

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Yes.

thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.


Didn't love it, thought it was entertaining enough... but yeah, the premise of the movie is really flat out stupid
 
2017-10-05 05:15:15 PM  

Rocketboy1313: Mikey1969:
I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

I heard it was a piece of shiat. From almost the entire planet. I mean, WTF?

It has a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes, so I don't know who you heard that from.

I would argue it is not all that "Science" fiction.  It has a very magical feel to it.  "Soft" sci-fi where the emphasis is on the metaphor of the movie rather than the tech elements.


That's what I don't understand. Literally everyone who mentioned the movie in any way for like 9 months raved about how bad it was. Yet, suddenly I'm hearing the exact opposite. It's weird. Amost like an alternate reality suddenly enveloped us. I wonder who's president...

Oh, that explains it!!
 
2017-10-05 05:17:46 PM  
And shouldn't Pitch Black be on the list?
 
2017-10-05 05:17:52 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Paul Rudd's EXCLUSIVE "Ant-Man" Clip - CONAN on TBS
Youtube H9fqZlo60_8
 
2017-10-05 05:23:36 PM  

ko_kyi: Fury Road sucked ass.


freebeacon.com
While I agree that Fury Road has no business on this list because it isn't a Sci-Fi film, it really is a good movie. Smart and action-packed, you rarely get that after the year 1990.
 
2017-10-05 05:25:18 PM  

This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]


Saw this in movie theater in Lima... at the height of shinning path terrorism. My parents made me leave the safety of home and ventured out to a mall that could had been blown up for this. Had a bomb gone off before this movie started, it wouldn't had been so bad though.
 
2017-10-05 05:26:35 PM  

brap: In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.


I don't know if it's just the particular episode I tried watching from (think it was S2, E1), but the one where the girl's Facebook/Instagram/whatever status governs her life was a slog; never finished it, didn't try another.  Netflix Canada didn't have season 1.  Am I missing out?
 
2017-10-05 05:26:53 PM  

BorgiaGinz: In addition to the criminal omissions of Gattaca and Dark City (the director's cut that lets the viewer figure out what's going on as opposed to the theatrical cut with the narration at the beginning that spoiled the whole damn movie), I'd add District 9, Serenity, Never Let Me Go, The Road, and The Man from Earth.


Never Let Me Go is an example of an excellent movie that is too farking depressing to watch again.
 
2017-10-05 05:27:07 PM  

kbronsito: This Honkey Grandma Be Trippin': [www.ruthlessreviews.com image 360x481]

Saw this in movie theater in Lima... at the height of shinning path terrorism. My parents made me leave the safety of home and ventured out to a mall that could had been blown up for this. Had a bomb gone off before this movie started, it wouldn't had been so bad though.


Wasn't "Alf" warning enough?
 
2017-10-05 05:34:16 PM  

Rocketboy1313: I would take the position that "Sunshine" is more science fiction than "Children".
Just because something takes place in the future does not make it science fiction. "Sunshine" has a unique bit of technology and the ramifications of such a technology being used in day to day life explored via the narrative and the defiance of that technology by those who are using it serves to inform the characters.
"Sunshine" is a character study first, but it is done entirely in the context of science fiction.
"Children" has no science fiction elements. You could just as easily have it taking place in current times and nothing would change, and since the explanation for the lack of children is not given, "A wizard did it" could make this movie just as much a Harry Dresden movie as a sci-fi movie.


It's SciFi because it's about how a malfunction of their biology affects the entire society instead of how a technological device that shapes society.  Basically the Science part is biological rather technological.  I'm typing as incoherent as my son trying to explain some aspect of Minecraft (boooooooooooooooooooooooring) right now.
 
2017-10-05 05:37:42 PM  

sigdiamond2000: Life rule #439: Science fiction fans have the worst taste in science fiction. The bigger the fan, the worse their taste.


Then this list must have been compiled by genuine science fiction fans.
 
2017-10-05 05:39:11 PM  
I have thouroughly enjoyed reading this thread.
 
2017-10-05 05:40:25 PM  
I think it is a good list.
 
2017-10-05 05:44:44 PM  

RogueWallEnthusiast: brap: In my opinion, the best sci-fi that is being made today isn't within the traditional Hollywood movie format.

Black Mirror and 3% are two exemplary series that come to mind.

I don't know if it's just the particular episode I tried watching from (think it was S2, E1), but the one where the girl's Facebook/Instagram/whatever status governs her life was a slog; never finished it, didn't try another.  Netflix Canada didn't have season 1.  Am I missing out?


Try the episodes "San Junipero" or "Hated in the Nation."
 
2017-10-05 05:49:31 PM  
www.reactiongifs.com
 
2017-10-05 05:50:03 PM  
img.fark.net
This one was really great.
 
2017-10-05 05:54:36 PM  

John Buck 41: Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.


Ah yes, there it is.

Probably another BR thread coming in the next day or two as the general public post their opinions. Have you got a "Blade Runner thread" notification switched on?

/ wouldn't want to miss out
 
2017-10-05 06:04:25 PM  

ko_kyi: Also, Whar Total Recall, Whar?


Which one?

That bad one, or the other bad one?
 
2017-10-05 06:10:25 PM  
they live?

really?
 
2017-10-05 06:17:01 PM  

FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?


In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.
 
2017-10-05 06:21:45 PM  

Ashelth: FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?

In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.


I'm glad I'm not alone in hating that POS of a movie.
 
2017-10-05 06:26:58 PM  
Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

halfguarded.com

And my underrated pick:

is1.mzstatic.com
 
2017-10-05 06:32:52 PM  

rgGolf4: List fails without:

[www.sonypictures.com image 387x580]


Farking horrible movie. No plot development, and what little plot there was was easily predictable. No character development and never once made the audience care about any of them.
 
2017-10-05 06:34:59 PM  

Great_Milenko: 35. Dune (1984) - a terrible film.
34. Battle Royale (2000) - NOT SCIENCE FICTION
32. The Adventures Of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension (1984) - I know this has a cult following, but I feel it's idiotic
1. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (2004) - While it has a sci-fi element to get the ball rolling, not sure this really qualifies as sci-fi, and certainly not the best one of the last 35 years.   I would have put Children of Men here.


Eternal is as much sci fi as children.
 
2017-10-05 06:37:57 PM  

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Nope.
 
2017-10-05 06:40:23 PM  

TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.


Anybody else seen this? This is the fourth person I've seen swear by this movie. Sounds interesting.
 
2017-10-05 06:41:31 PM  

Kuta: Who left this off the list?
Who's missing from this promo pic?

[halfguarded.com image 850x680]

And my underrated pick:

[is1.mzstatic.com image 420x630]


I agree about your second choice, but Serenity sucked.  It tried to split the difference between Firefly fans and newbs, in doing so satisfied neither.

The pilot died. People didn't care because there was zero character development
 
2017-10-05 06:43:43 PM  

Sum Guye: [i2.wp.com image 500x762]


Hell in the Pacific in Space.

Not a criticism, an observation.

enjoyed both movies
 
2017-10-05 07:17:44 PM  
an okay list far from perfect though. I am Okay with Dune at 35.  Not one rank higher though.   As much as I love the film its just does not measure up to the very best of the Genre.
 
2017-10-05 07:29:07 PM  

tdyak: Am I the only one that thought Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind was a crapfest of a movie?


Yes! It surprised me as #1 on this list, or any Sci-Fi list but I sure loved it. It's certainly the best work Jim Carrey will ever do and Kate Winslet just is edible. And the premise of the movie is something I think 99% of the world can relate to.
 
2017-10-05 07:38:14 PM  

Danger Mouse: Surprised avatar didn't make the list.


I didn't love it, but no matter how you chalk it up, its still an amazing film in many regards, and was a cultural phenomenon being that it made 3 billion at the box office.   Kinda silly that Primer, Her, and Donnie Darko get a spot on the list over Avatar.
 
2017-10-05 07:45:43 PM  

Uzzah: thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.


Number one reason I didn't go see the movie right there. Well, just general maintenance. Like where are they getting spare parts, hoses, lubricants?
 
2017-10-05 07:55:28 PM  

thatguyoverthere70: Once and Future Lurker: A.I. is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe it's even on this list, never mind number ten.

I walked out of Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, and it's number one.


AI sucked.  I rented ESotSM, took me three days to watch that dreck.

/ list sucks
// evidently not just my opinion
/// nice to feel vindicated
 
2017-10-05 07:55:53 PM  
I don't know about the list, but 1982 was a great year to be a 16 year old, sci fi fantasy geek, movie fanatic.
 
2017-10-05 08:01:50 PM  

TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.


CSB

Wife's family is friends with the director, he filmed the entire movie in one weekend when his wife was out of town.

/one of the better movies I've seen in a while
 
2017-10-05 08:06:18 PM  

MrPoopyPants: TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.

CSB

Wife's family is friends with the director, he filmed the entire movie in one weekend when his wife was out of town.

/one of the better movies I've seen in a while


Okay, you convinced me. I'm checking this film out.

/Thanks Fark!
 
2017-10-05 08:07:10 PM  
To each his own but ESotSM is an amazing film, and I am no Jim Carey fan. If you've ever had a difficult relationship with someone who you also loved deeply, then the film really connects.
 
2017-10-05 08:16:44 PM  

Eddie Adams from Torrance: Scorpitron is reduced to a thin red paste: What about that one movie with the people?

You mean the one with the guy with the thing? I love that one.


No, he's talking about that thing with that guy who was in the OTHER thing.
 
2017-10-05 08:17:44 PM  

MrPoopyPants: TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.

CSB

Wife's family is friends with the director, he filmed the entire movie in one weekend when his wife was out of town.

/one of the better movies I've seen in a while


I loved it.
 
2017-10-05 08:32:48 PM  
Just going with the last few years...

The Girl With All the Gifts (2016)
Rogue One (2016)
The Martian (2015)
Interstellar (2014)
Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Ex Machina (2014)
Pacific Rim (2013)
Gravity (2013)
 
2017-10-05 08:45:38 PM  

Stratohead: "HER" isn't Science Fiction any more than "Lars and the Real Doll" is Science Fiction.

Snowpiercer is a shiatty B Film that makes zero sense.

"Under the Skin" is mostly like watching paint dry. seriously...a 15 minute shot of a road, that eventually has a motorcycle drive down it.... ooooo ART... *jerk off motion*

and Eternal Sunshine is to me completely unwatchable as I can not farking STAND Jim Carrey.


Under the skin is the movie that owes me the most in wasted moments of my life. I still give my friend shiat for making me endure it.
 
2017-10-05 08:55:18 PM  
Not that this deserves to be listed, but as far as sci-fi comedy goes, I laugh at mars attacks every time.
 
2017-10-05 09:00:38 PM  

DanInKansas: Uzzah: thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

Number one reason I didn't go see the movie right there. Well, just general maintenance. Like where are they getting spare parts, hoses, lubricants?


Did you watch the movie?  Ed Harris kidnaps children from the rear section to handle functions because the spare parts are gone and the train is malfunctioning. In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory, and taking it literally is the wrong approach. You'd have been a treat as a kid "No Mom, bears can't talk and they don't eat porridge. You suck telling stories."
 
2017-10-05 09:09:18 PM  

Kuta: And my underrated pick:

[is1.mzstatic.com image 420x630]


Lord no. That movie felt like a ton had been left on the cutting room floor.
 
2017-10-05 09:45:25 PM  

ol' gormsby: John Buck 41: Since Blade Runner? Talk about a low bar.

Ah yes, there it is.

Probably another BR thread coming in the next day or two as the general public post their opinions. Have you got a "Blade Runner thread" notification switched on?

/ wouldn't want to miss out


HA! I have you fav'd (so to speak) as Blade Runner fan. From the trailer it looks shiat tons better than the original.
 
2017-10-05 09:54:36 PM  

TheLopper: [img.fark.net image 279x402]
This one was really great.


I just finished reading the notes for it on imdb and now I really want to see it because a) the process they used sounds cool and b) Amanda from Highlander is in it.
 
2017-10-05 10:11:01 PM  
That list was farking awful, and mostly composed of "Not Science Fiction."

Prime example, Fury Road.

One of my favorite movies, it is literally an adrenaline shot to the heart, and one of the most visually appealing movies ever. It is damned near flawless.

However, it's a post-apocalyptic story.

Dune: fantasy

Battle Royale: dysantopia

The Host: horror

Looper: SciFi, but also steaming pile of shiat genre

Donnie Darko: no genre for this, unless Araki'crap is a genre. Better to watch Doomed Generation, it's as farking awful but at least original.

Under the Skin? Really, not Lucy? Also, horror.

Children of Men: forgettable dysantopia

Aliens: well behind Alien, and again horror-action set in space

Brazil: dystantopia

No room on his list for GATTACA or District 9?
 
2017-10-05 10:17:54 PM  
Arrival was made for adults.  I appreciated that.
 
2017-10-05 10:18:58 PM  
going to see blade runner tomorrow night XD? i had to choose the seats tonight which hopefully works out.
 
2017-10-05 10:32:22 PM  
Might have been the better choice...

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 10:42:27 PM  

Harry_Seldon: Might have been the better choice...

[img.fark.net image 397x595]


Remember kids, in the better, Trump-free timeline, Jodorowsky made Dune and David Lynch did Revenge of the Jedi. No, really, Jodorowsky dropped out and Lynch was hired on to direct, turning down George Lucas's offer to helm Revenge of the Jedi.

And something tells me that David Lynch's Revenge of the Jedi would have been #1 on this list.
 
2017-10-05 11:39:45 PM  

BorgiaGinz: In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory


When the "allegory" makes you scream "oh come the fark on!" in disbelief, it has failed.
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 11:43:27 PM  
LIst fails without Frankenhooker.
 
2017-10-06 12:55:13 AM  
Running Man
Total Recall
 
2017-10-06 01:04:05 AM  
There is no way you can omit The Martian which managed something many SF films don't even attempt: (a) funny, (b) suspenseful, (c) exciting, (d) deep. Also, Oblivion is one of the most gorgeously photographed SF films in this millennium and was damned enjoyable. From a purely personal perspective, I loved the shiat out of Tron Legacy if for no other reason than the sumptuous visuals and fantastic score.

I found the heavy handed allegory of Snowpiercer unwatchable. And A.I. may be one of the most cloying, manipulative and annoyingly overly-sentimental SF films ever made.
 
2017-10-06 04:27:48 AM  
Sorry, Eternal Sunshine should not get the number one spot. Gattaca, Total Recall and Enemy Mine should have made the list. Others, I'd argue should not have been in the Sci Fi genre (Battle Royale) but I'd argue Looper also shouldn't be there because it sucked. And it didn't even make sense. *spoilers* People were sending messages through time by carving words into people's skin (which would appear as scars to them all of a sudden) or cutting off fingers so that a finger would suddenly disappear and become a healed stump and so forth....um, no.
 
2017-10-06 06:18:43 AM  

Wessoman: Harry_Seldon: Might have been the better choice...

[img.fark.net image 397x595]

Remember kids, in the better, Trump-free timeline, Jodorowsky made Dune and David Lynch did Revenge of the Jedi. No, really, Jodorowsky dropped out and Lynch was hired on to direct, turning down George Lucas's offer to helm Revenge of the Jedi.

And something tells me that David Lynch's Revenge of the Jedi would have been #1 on this list.


Imagine Dune made by Leonard da Vinci. It would be best movie ever, better than Godfather
 
2017-10-06 06:33:08 AM  
"..forced his way onto the project after having never read the book, and decided to ignore the book almost completely in favor of his own vision. Convinced that he could "rape Frank Herbert with love", he resolved to make a movie based on his dream, with a few random, minor ideas from the book itself thrown in to connect it in some way to the book (that's not hyperbole, that was his stated agenda)"
 
2017-10-06 06:34:54 AM  
"As of 2017, Legendary Pictures has bought the film rights, with Denis Villeneuve being called on to direct a new adaptation"
 
2017-10-06 08:56:27 AM  

BorgiaGinz: DanInKansas: Uzzah: thatguyoverthere70: I still can't believe so many people love Snowpiercer.

The premise of Snowpiercer was better than its execution. At bottom, it is nothing more than a "peasants storm the castle" film with a narrower hallway.

The premise was the only thing that made it interesting -- "gee, I wonder what a train like that would be like." (Putting aside the myriad of plot holes that go unexplained, like who has maintained all that track for more than a dozen years in such harsh conditions?) As the film went on, the writers spent more time on writing up action scenes and less time thinking about how each new section of the train would work. By the end, the design and structure of the train made no sense at all.

Number one reason I didn't go see the movie right there. Well, just general maintenance. Like where are they getting spare parts, hoses, lubricants?

Did you watch the movie?  Ed Harris kidnaps children from the rear section to handle functions because the spare parts are gone and the train is malfunctioning. In any event, its clear that Snowpiercer is meant as an allegory, and taking it literally is the wrong approach. You'd have been a treat as a kid "No Mom, bears can't talk and they don't eat porridge. You suck telling stories."


No I didn't watch the movie because the premise sucked. But I did give you a funny.

What the last remnants of humanity, an improbably maintained vehicle and a talking bear might look like:

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-06 09:27:31 AM  

Msol: Ashelth: FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?

In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.

I'm glad I'm not alone in hating that POS of a movie.


Ditto.

Ooooh, a long tracking shot.  How impressive.
 
2017-10-06 09:35:03 AM  

NathanAllen: That list was farking awful, and mostly composed of "Not Science Fiction."

Prime example, Fury Road.

One of my favorite movies, it is literally an adrenaline shot to the heart, and one of the most visually appealing movies ever. It is damned near flawless.

However, it's a post-apocalyptic story.

Dune: fantasy

Battle Royale: dysantopia

The Host: horror

Looper: SciFi, but also steaming pile of shiat genre

Donnie Darko: no genre for this, unless Araki'crap is a genre. Better to watch Doomed Generation, it's as farking awful but at least original.

Under the Skin? Really, not Lucy? Also, horror.

Children of Men: forgettable dysantopia

Aliens: well behind Alien, and again horror-action set in space

Brazil: dystantopia

No room on his list for GATTACA or District 9?


Some of you people have really narrow ideas. Post-apocalyptic stories are science fiction, as are dystopias. Science fiction is broader than robots and time machines.
 
2017-10-06 10:19:47 AM  
Gattaca was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Lumbering, ponderous, pompous and ultimately trite and boring.

It insists upon itself. I will never understand the love for it.
 
2017-10-06 10:43:11 AM  
A) What's a 'dysantopia'?
B) Jesus, some of you people have an astonishingly shiatty understanding of what 'science fiction' actually is and pathetically-lame choices within that shiatty understanding.
 
2017-10-06 10:48:05 AM  
It's nice that there are enough excellent movies of this kind that we can argue about the 35 best ones.
Didn't used to be that way.

I think Close Encounters of the Third Kind should be on the list, rather than AI. I don't think AI sucked as much as some people did, but Close Encounters is better. Certainly among Spielberg movies. (shrug)

Looper is a legit good movie, though the idea of Joseph Gordon Levitt becoming Bruce Willis is a giant stretch. They're both really good in this movie, but that requires significant suspension of disbelief. Also, no Fifth Element? C'mon, that movie is extremely influential.
 
2017-10-06 11:06:44 AM  

AdrienVeidt: A) What's a 'dysantopia'?
B) Jesus, some of you people have an astonishingly shiatty understanding of what 'science fiction' actually is and pathetically-lame choices within that shiatty understanding.


LOL, lighten up, Adrien.
 
2017-10-06 11:40:15 AM  
Also, District 9 definitely belongs on the list.
 
2017-10-06 12:06:55 PM  

Ashelth: FrancoFile: AI???????
Seriously?!?!?!?!

And how does Children of Men even count as Sci-Fi?  It's straight up dystopian fantasy.

Way too much random weird shiat in there.  Where's The Martian?  Where's Total Recall?

In what universe does Children of Men even count as a good movie.  Dear Clive Owen, when Shoot Em Up is one of the most watchable movies you've been in... STOP ACTING.


he was good in The Knick.  Sad that series isn't going anywhere now.
 
2017-10-06 12:07:05 PM  
The wheels fell off of Minority Report and Edge of Tomorrow in the last half hour, at least. The producers must have thought putting Tom Cruise in it was enough.

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-06 12:25:37 PM  

Harry_Seldon: Might have been the better choice...

[img.fark.net image 397x595]


No, it would have been an even greater abomination. I was on board at first but after watching the WTFAREYOUDOING? documentary, he would have had better scenery and costuming but a far dumber departure from the book.
 
2017-10-06 01:06:12 PM  
Buckaroo Banzai is the greatest film ever made, that is all.
 
2017-10-06 01:36:15 PM  

GRCooper: I don't know about the list, but 1982 was a great year to be a 16 year old, sci fi fantasy geek, movie fanatic.


Watching Tron in the theater immediately comes to mind.
 
2017-10-06 01:45:43 PM  

FascistJockItch: Gattaca was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Lumbering, ponderous, pompous and ultimately trite and boring.

It insists upon itself. I will never understand the love for it.


A movie where nothing happens, people drive 60's cars in the future (Highlander 2 was a warning, not a how-to guide!),  and NASA is composed of three desks, two treadmills and stock footage of shuttle launches.
 
2017-10-06 02:02:28 PM  

realmolo: Crewmannumber6: I'm an outlier I guess as I think Arrival sucked.

It didn't suck, but it wasn't very good. Mostly it was too long. It's something that would've made a good 30-minute TV episode.

That said, it was nice to see a well-made non-action sci-fi movie. There aren't that many around.


No, it sucked.
 
2017-10-06 02:16:38 PM  

whidbey: GRCooper: I don't know about the list, but 1982 was a great year to be a 16 year old, sci fi fantasy geek, movie fanatic.

Watching Tron in the theater immediately comes to mind.


I was in the theatre a lot. Tron, Blade Runner, Conan the Barbarian, Wrath of Khan, Poltergeist, E.T., The Thing, Creepshow, Cat People, Quest for Fire, Firefox, Dark Crystal. Saw them all on the big screen.  Not all of them have held up well with time, but I loved them at 16.

/not to mention "mundane" films like Garp, Tootsie, Night Shift, My Favorite Year,  First Blood, Fast Times, 48 Hours, The Wall. Saw them all as well.
//I didn't see Ghandi, Deathtrap, Eating Raoul, Officer and a Gentleman, Sophie's Choice, Victor Victoria, til later, on video
///Really good year for movie watching
 
2017-10-06 02:31:59 PM  

GRCooper: whidbey: GRCooper: I don't know about the list, but 1982 was a great year to be a 16 year old, sci fi fantasy geek, movie fanatic.

Watching Tron in the theater immediately comes to mind.

I was in the theatre a lot. Tron, Blade Runner, Conan the Barbarian, Wrath of Khan, Poltergeist, E.T., The Thing, Creepshow, Cat People, Quest for Fire, Firefox, Dark Crystal. Saw them all on the big screen.  Not all of them have held up well with time, but I loved them at 16.

/not to mention "mundane" films like Garp, Tootsie, Night Shift, My Favorite Year,  First Blood, Fast Times, 48 Hours, The Wall. Saw them all as well.
//I didn't see Ghandi, Deathtrap, Eating Raoul, Officer and a Gentleman, Sophie's Choice, Victor Victoria, til later, on video
///Really good year for movie watching


Forgot that the Wall was 1982. Probably saw that movie 8 million times.
 
2017-10-06 03:24:59 PM  

Ed Grubermann: FascistJockItch: Gattaca was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Lumbering, ponderous, pompous and ultimately trite and boring.

It insists upon itself. I will never understand the love for it.

A movie where nothing happens, people drive 60's cars in the future (Highlander 2 was a warning, not a how-to guide!),  and NASA is composed of three desks, two treadmills and stock footage of shuttle launches.


And so convinced of its own profundity, yet so obvious. Meh, it's probably some deficiency in me but gods it was painful.
 
2017-10-06 04:13:59 PM  

Dark Side Of The Spoon: Sorry, Eternal Sunshine should not get the number one spot.


I agree with you, but it's a really common thing to see the critics put Eternal Sunshine and Children of Men in the top slots for Science Fiction.

I'm not sure what they are seeing, but I don't see it with either of those.
 
2017-10-06 07:43:37 PM  

BullBearMS: Dark Side Of The Spoon: Sorry, Eternal Sunshine should not get the number one spot.

I agree with you, but it's a really common thing to see the critics put Eternal Sunshine and Children of Men in the top slots for Science Fiction.

I'm not sure what they are seeing, but I don't see it with either of those.


They don't have space ships or aliens in them. Some people really look down on classic sci-fi stuff as artistically inferior.
 
2017-10-06 09:51:14 PM  

vygramul: Harry_Seldon: Might have been the better choice...

[img.fark.net image 397x595]

No, it would have been an even greater abomination. I was on board at first but after watching the WTFAREYOUDOING? documentary, he would have had better scenery and costuming but a far dumber departure from the book.


Dunno...from that to a finished movie is a long road filled with studio notes.
 
2017-10-06 10:11:21 PM  
They're not counting The Thing because it opened the same weekend?

You've got to be farking kidding me.
 
Displayed 254 of 254 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.

In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report