Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The New York Times)   Night before the shooting, the Las Vegas shooter called in two noise complaints - about loud country music downstairs   ( nytimes.com) divider line
    More: Followup, Mr. Paddock, las vegas, Gambling, video poker, Mandalay Bay, Eric Paddock, Stephen Paddock, video poker machines  
•       •       •

5960 clicks; posted to Main » on 05 Oct 2017 at 11:15 AM (2 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



117 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2017-10-05 11:15:11 AM  
Who has the shopped facebook post about this?
 
2017-10-05 11:17:02 AM  
God hates Country Music.
 
2017-10-05 11:19:52 AM  
Mr. Paddock had six-figure credit lines at casinos that afforded him the chance to make big sums in long sit-down sessions, and he was known as someone who always paid his accounts.

shiat....
 
2017-10-05 11:19:53 AM  
Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?
 
2017-10-05 11:20:46 AM  
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 11:21:55 AM  
I hate to admit this but because I grew up in the south with a sibling  who ABSOLUTELY HATES COUNTRY MUSIC the moment I heard the news was to snark

"Damn... well maybe he REALLY hated country music."
 
2017-10-05 11:21:56 AM  
Sorry, I don't think he went through a year's worth of arsenal acquisition and planning to snap over loud country music.
 
2017-10-05 11:23:30 AM  

Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?


Ocean's 22?  Do Clooney, Pitt, Reiner, Cheadle, Izzard, Damon, Roberts, and the rest honestly express interest in this kind of a project?  Can De Niro or Kurt Russell be the villain?
 
2017-10-05 11:25:07 AM  

Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?


Exactly. From the multiple bump stocks which mean he did his research into firearms  to his room..right above the festival...

This entire evil operation was planned out. For months. It was too strategic.
 
2017-10-05 11:26:38 AM  
"He was a math guy," Eric Paddock, his youngest brother, said. "He could tell you off the top of his head what the odds were down to a tenth of a percent on whatever machine he was playing. He studied it like it was a Ph.D. thing. It was not silly gambling. It was work."

So was Ted Kaczynski

I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?
 
2017-10-05 11:26:54 AM  
Darth Brooks
 
2017-10-05 11:28:09 AM  

WDFark think for a second: Exactly. From the multiple bump stocks which mean he did his research into firearms  to his room..right above the festival...


He went to at least 2 other music festivals.
 
2017-10-05 11:34:27 AM  

whidbey: "He was a math guy," Eric Paddock, his youngest brother, said. "He could tell you off the top of his head what the odds were down to a tenth of a percent on whatever machine he was playing. He studied it like it was a Ph.D. thing. It was not silly gambling. It was work."

So was Ted Kaczynski

I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?


Do the math.

*runs*
 
2017-10-05 11:35:23 AM  

WDFark think for a second: Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?

Exactly. From the multiple bump stocks which mean he did his research into firearms  to his room..right above the festival...

This entire evil operation was planned out. For months. It was too strategic.


Maybe years.
 
2017-10-05 11:36:57 AM  

thehobbes: WDFark think for a second: Exactly. From the multiple bump stocks which mean he did his research into firearms  to his room..right above the festival...

He went to at least 2 other music festivals.


I am going to guess he was a type A person with planning.  The other two festivals were his practice runs before this event.
 
2017-10-05 11:37:22 AM  

whidbey: "He was a math guy," Eric Paddock, his youngest brother, said. "He could tell you off the top of his head what the odds were down to a tenth of a percent on whatever machine he was playing. He studied it like it was a Ph.D. thing. It was not silly gambling. It was work."

So was Ted Kaczynski

I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?


img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 11:37:33 AM  

whidbey: I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?


Given the proper circumstances: everyone.
 
2017-10-05 11:38:54 AM  

Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?


If it wasn't for this I could believe he was crazy and just snapped on loud music and happened to have a couple weapons with him for a gun show, shooting range etc.

Unless there is some info that they are not releasing, I would think the hallmark of an action like this by a traditional "terrorist" in terms of having a political/religious motivation, would be to make sure everyone knows "why" you were taking this action. At least in terms of what we are being told, this guy went to great lengths to leave no evidence of any reason behind.
 
2017-10-05 11:40:21 AM  
The top machines at Mandalay Bay pay out 99.17 percent, or $99.17 for every $100 wagered, according to Mr. Curtis. If Mr. Paddock did wind up a net loser, those losses could be offset, in part, by comps, or "kickback rewards," essentially free money casinos give loyal customers to gamble with.

I guess this isn't really shocking, but Jesus, the rich get so f*cking coddled in this country
 
2017-10-05 11:41:20 AM  
This is why western music is superior.
 
2017-10-05 11:41:38 AM  

thehobbes: He went to at least 2 other music festivals.


No wonder he hated people so much.
 
WGJ [TotalFark]
2017-10-05 11:44:01 AM  
Bro country, I can't condone his actions but I understand.
 
2017-10-05 11:44:08 AM  
Made hundreds of high velocity points in his favor
 
2017-10-05 11:45:07 AM  

Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?


It is only a matter of time until they discover the storage unit just off the strip where he had his stash / still has the rest of his stash.

/This week on Storage Wars...
 
2017-10-05 11:45:40 AM  
When he asked where the complaint was coming from, pointing out that the nearest rooms on either side were far away, the security guard said, "It's the guest above you."

That seems... odd. When I handled hotel complaints one of the firmest rules was not to tell them who complained so that it didn't start any fights.
 
2017-10-05 11:46:00 AM  
So he was all like, "Hey, keep it down, I got a lot of people to murder tomorrow!"
 
2017-10-05 11:46:16 AM  

probesport: thehobbes: He went to at least 2 other music festivals.

No wonder he hated people so much.


Guy was a reportedly postal worker who hit it big in real estate. Generic government job. 

John Douglas is going to be able to write a book about this guy alone.
It'll be ridiculously non-scientific, but he'll write it nonetheless. 

/dons tin foil
MK ultra ran from 53-73. 
Shooter born in 53.
/removes tin foil
 
TWX
2017-10-05 11:48:03 AM  
Y'know, if I don't think that I'm going to like a place, I generally don't go to that place. If I don't want to listen to loud music from a concert, I don't book a room at that concert.

One of the local science fiction conventions was held in the same hotel for a decade. Every year the convention planning staff would negotiate that one wing of the hotel would be reserved as the party wing, where room-parties and other general mayhem would be provided an outlet-for, and when booking rooms for the convention the hotel staff would inquire as to if the guest wanted to be in the party wing or not. Every year this family, unreltaed to the convention, would insist on booking a room in this wing on this weekend. Supposedly this couple stayed in that room as newlyweds and they would return, bringing whatever children they'd had, to stay that weekend there. Inevitably they would call and complain as they were surrounded on all sides by loud parties and crazy fans running in the halls at night, the hotel night manager would call to complain to the convention chair, and the convention chair would whip-out the contract and tell the manager to STFU.

What really boggles the mind is that the guest would re-book the same room for the same time next year as soon as they checked out. This happened the better part of ten times.
 
2017-10-05 11:51:14 AM  
well now i'd like to think he'll be in hell line dancing for eternity
 
2017-10-05 11:51:26 AM  

To The Escape Zeppelin!: When he asked where the complaint was coming from, pointing out that the nearest rooms on either side were far away, the security guard said, "It's the guest above you."

That seems... odd. When I handled hotel complaints one of the firmest rules was not to tell them who complained so that it didn't start any fights.


I was thinking that myself.  Especially in such a large facility, there is no way the person who went to the room to ask them to turn it down was the person who took the call.

As far as getting that room, or knowing that room.  If he had a 6 figure line of credit at the casinos and was a high-roller he was able to make specific requests on rooms.  As he had a suite of adjoining rooms.  Once you've been in the hotel enough times, you know exactly which rooms you're going to get put in based on your requests.
 
2017-10-05 11:52:33 AM  
Bowen

Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?


Might have wanted the view, last time I was in Vegas, I wanted a northerly facing room so I wouldn't get as much sun... I ended up with west so it was 80 in my room with the AC on max.
 
2017-10-05 11:54:43 AM  
Hey, maybe they were playing some inspirational NRA Country songs like this friendly gem by that fun loving good ole boy, Justin Moore!
 
2017-10-05 11:54:55 AM  
This whole tragedy could have been avoided if the crowd didn't insist on three encores of Achy Breaky Heart.
 
2017-10-05 11:58:54 AM  
This guy definitely hated humanity.
 
2017-10-05 12:00:09 PM  

mcreadyblue: whidbey: "He was a math guy," Eric Paddock, his youngest brother, said. "He could tell you off the top of his head what the odds were down to a tenth of a percent on whatever machine he was playing. He studied it like it was a Ph.D. thing. It was not silly gambling. It was work."

So was Ted Kaczynski

I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?

[img.fark.net image 400x404]


Who are you calling flawed?  Awww who am I kidding I am probably the 16%
 
2017-10-05 12:06:18 PM  

Salmon: Hey, maybe they were playing some inspirational NRA Country songs like this friendly gem by that fun loving good ole boy, Justin Moore!


As if i want to hear some more "Shoot-em-up" music...

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQMbXvn2RNI
Cows with Guns
 
2017-10-05 12:06:35 PM  

Theaetetus: This whole tragedy could have been avoided if the crowd didn't insist on three encores of Achy Breaky Heart.


>"Achy Breaky Heart"
>Being sung by Jason Aldean

img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 12:07:15 PM  
At least this exposure of the "bump stocks" will cause ATF and Congress to get together and get them off the streets.  I was very disappointed when Obama's ATF approved those.  There is no need for the general public to have those.

And for the record, I'm not a gun hater.  I don't have quite as many as Paddock, but close - just mine are for hunting - mostly shotguns I inherited from my father that I'm holding for either sentimental or investment reasons.  High quality shotgun value growth generally out-performs the stock market every year.
 
2017-10-05 12:07:30 PM  
Well, that explains a lot.
img.fark.net
 
2017-10-05 12:08:47 PM  
So how much more security will concerts/sporting events add?  it's already ridiculous.  clear bags, metal detectors/wands, the occasional hand patdown.  by no means am i excusing or 'welp, what are you gonna do, sucks for those 59 dead and 500 injured' what happened, but......short of a police state (which we already kinda are sliding into) what else can you do?

i went to two U2 shows this summer, both had metal detectors, and wands, and patdowns.  my wife had to throw out a regular but non-clear clutch bag, brand new.  there were dozens of clutches and purses getting shiatcanned.  i didn't get patted down but i saw other guys getting it.  there's only so much you can do.  until there isn't and there's a massive overreaction.  i just don't know the answer.
 
2017-10-05 12:09:16 PM  

whidbey: "He was a math guy," Eric Paddock, his youngest brother, said. "He could tell you off the top of his head what the odds were down to a tenth of a percent on whatever machine he was playing. He studied it like it was a Ph.D. thing. It was not silly gambling. It was work."

So was Ted Kaczynski

I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?


I guess it depends on how bad the music is.
 
2017-10-05 12:09:34 PM  

TWX: What really boggles the mind is that the guest would re-book the same room for the same time next year as soon as they checked out. This happened the better part of ten times.


They can rely on the discount they get for complaining.  That boggles your mind?
 
2017-10-05 12:10:43 PM  

rickythepenguin: So how much more security will concerts/sporting events add?  it's already ridiculous.  clear bags, metal detectors/wands, the occasional hand patdown.  by no means am i excusing or 'welp, what are you gonna do, sucks for those 59 dead and 500 injured' what happened, but......short of a police state (which we already kinda are sliding into) what else can you do?

i went to two U2 shows this summer, both had metal detectors, and wands, and patdowns.  my wife had to throw out a regular but non-clear clutch bag, brand new.  there were dozens of clutches and purses getting shiatcanned.  i didn't get patted down but i saw other guys getting it.  there's only so much you can do.  until there isn't and there's a massive overreaction.  i just don't know the answer.


Yeah but we're not talking about security for people who go to concerts.

This is for people outside--and above--them.
 
2017-10-05 12:11:21 PM  
Just want it on the record that I loathe and despise country music and have for my entire life. I do not want to shoot up a country music festival, though.
 
2017-10-05 12:12:04 PM  

Opacity: Bowen: Wait. He didn't specifically request that room?

Is there any chance this guy always brought 22 guns up to his room when he was in Vegas?

It is only a matter of time until they discover the storage unit just off the strip where he had his stash / still has the rest of his stash.

/This week on Storage Wars...


Yuuuuuuppppppppp
 
2017-10-05 12:12:58 PM  

To The Escape Zeppelin!: When he asked where the complaint was coming from, pointing out that the nearest rooms on either side were far away, the security guard said, "It's the guest above you."

That seems... odd. When I handled hotel complaints one of the firmest rules was not to tell them who complained so that it didn't start any fights.


Ding Ding Ding...The smallest amount of common sense says they don't tell the people who is complaining.
 
2017-10-05 12:13:33 PM  

ArcadianRefugee: whidbey: I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?

Given the proper circumstances: everyone.


Would take me about 5 pots of coffee and a case of Red Bull before I could muster the energy to do it, and I'm only in my mid 40's.

This guy was 64, and went full tilt mass murder machine.  I can't begin to understand it.  Maybe he had a brain tumor or something.

If I had the resources this dude had, I would be sucking down margaritas on the Lido Deck of a cruise ship someplace in the Caribbean, or living in Key West (pre hurricane, of course).  Maybe volunteer at the Hemingway House and help take care of the polydactyl cats.

Guess working two jobs for 20 years does that to ya....
 
2017-10-05 12:13:33 PM  

whidbey: I wonder how many people are potential mass murderers?


All of them.
 
2017-10-05 12:13:38 PM  

thehobbes: Guy was a reportedly postal worker who hit it big in real estate.


That explains the arsenal.
 
2017-10-05 12:14:24 PM  

rickythepenguin: So how much more security will concerts/sporting events add?  it's already ridiculous.  clear bags, metal detectors/wands, the occasional hand patdown.  by no means am i excusing or 'welp, what are you gonna do, sucks for those 59 dead and 500 injured' what happened, but......short of a police state (which we already kinda are sliding into) what else can you do?

i went to two U2 shows this summer, both had metal detectors, and wands, and patdowns.  my wife had to throw out a regular but non-clear clutch bag, brand new.  there were dozens of clutches and purses getting shiatcanned.  i didn't get patted down but i saw other guys getting it.  there's only so much you can do.  until there isn't and there's a massive overreaction.  i just don't know the answer.


When my family and I went to a Rammstein concert a few years ago, my daughter was forced out of line to remove the 100 or so safety pins she had decorating her pants. They could be used as a weapon, apparently. She was surprised because she had worn the same pants to other concerts and had no problem with them. A fight did break out in our row that night, and we then didn't have a safety pin to defend ourselves.
 
Displayed 50 of 117 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report