Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(National Review)   Oh look, what a surprise. The known super liberal magazine National Review comes out in favor of the kneeling NFL players   ( amp.nationalreview.com) divider line
    More: Interesting, The Star-Spangled Banner, free speech, United States Declaration of Independence, United States Constitution, national anthem, certain unalienable rights, United States, colleague Jim Geraghty  
•       •       •

2451 clicks; posted to Sports » on 26 Sep 2017 at 5:28 AM (11 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



193 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2017-09-26 01:01:24 AM  
Trump shiat the bed here.  He's pretty well farked up everything.  Even Dale Earnhardt Jr had to say something.

He lost NASCAR.  The NRO was sure to follow.
 
2017-09-26 02:11:19 AM  
How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Welp, there it is...
 
2017-09-26 03:27:27 AM  
Aaaaand now it's Sports Tab where it will get no comments. Nice jerb, admins.
 
2017-09-26 05:30:18 AM  

davidphogan: Trump shiat the bed here.  He's pretty well farked up everything.  Even Dale Earnhardt Jr had to say something.

He lost NASCAR.  The NRO was sure to follow.


Trump never "had" David French.
 
2017-09-26 05:32:59 AM  
Great piece by the NRO. Then again, the place is filled with stuff like this:
http://www.nationalreview.com/article/451728/nfl-national-anthem-prot​e​sts-american-flag-deserves-more-respect
 
2017-09-26 05:40:30 AM  
I'll weigh in ever so briefly here, for whatever little it may be worth.  I was a servicemember of two branches and I am a veteran of war.  This protest, the kneeling?  I know some rather sad people are trying to paint it as disrespect towards the flag or towards veterans, but I find that absolutely ridiculous.  They're using the rights I fought for them to retain, and they're doing it in an absolutely respectful way.

Taking a knee is disrespect?  Since when?  Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee?  Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?  Of course not.  As a service member, I am expected to stand at attention when the anthem plays.  Expected to, but not demanded to.  And that's service members, in uniform, not old veterans out of it, and certainly not civilians.  Putting your hand on your heart or your knee on the ground, both are the same to me.  It doesn't matter.

For the longest time people complained about anyone and everyone protesting for whatever reason.  "Don't block the sidewalks!  Don't protest in the street!  Don't chant, don't be loud!  Be quiet, be respectful!"  Well, here's some protestors, and they're protesting the way you've demanded they should for the longest time.  And that's STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?

As a veteran of war, I say, fark YOU.  It's their right, I defend that right, and I defend my right to tell you to pound it up your mealy-mouthed, lemon-faced, sallow asses.  Pick a new faux outrage to divert attention away from what terrible people you are and have been.  We see anyway, but go ahead and run up the tally before the scores are called in.  Clearly you can't protest in a respectful way like these kneelers can.
 
2017-09-26 05:42:41 AM  
Before Trump's Sonic Vomit about the NFL-

Kaepernick had no job
Owners were viewed as racists
Ratings were in the toilet

After Trump's speech-

Ratings soar
Owners are viewed as heroes
Kap still has no job

Everybody wins (except Kaepernick)

The owners got their money's worth out of Trump.
 
2017-09-26 05:45:58 AM  

fusillade762: How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Welp, there it is...


That's as far as i made it, too.
 
2017-09-26 05:51:00 AM  
How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Jesus tap-dancing Christ on a cracker...
 
2017-09-26 05:53:50 AM  

Hyperbole and Minutia: How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Jesus tap-dancing Christ on a cracker...


And they were doing so well right up until that moment, too.
 
2017-09-26 05:56:54 AM  

fusillade762: How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Welp, there it is...


I understand their view, but don't agree that discrimination by businesses equates to free speech. Serve all, love all.

Cpl.D: I'll weigh in ever so briefly here, for whatever little it may be worth.  I was a servicemember of two branches and I am a veteran of war.  This protest, the kneeling?  I know some rather sad people are trying to paint it as disrespect towards the flag or towards veterans, but I find that absolutely ridiculous.  They're using the rights I fought for them to retain, and they're doing it in an absolutely respectful way.

Taking a knee is disrespect?  Since when?  Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee?  Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?  Of course not.  As a service member, I am expected to stand at attention when the anthem plays.  Expected to, but not demanded to.  And that's service members, in uniform, not old veterans out of it, and certainly not civilians.  Putting your hand on your heart or your knee on the ground, both are the same to me.  It doesn't matter.

For the longest time people complained about anyone and everyone protesting for whatever reason.  "Don't block the sidewalks!  Don't protest in the street!  Don't chant, don't be loud!  Be quiet, be respectful!"  Well, here's some protestors, and they're protesting the way you've demanded they should for the longest time.  And that's STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?

As a veteran of war, I say, fark YOU.  It's their right, I defend that right, and I defend my right to tell you to pound it up your mealy-mouthed, lemon-faced, sallow asses.  Pick a new faux outrage to divert attention away from what terrible people you are and have been.  We see anyway, but go ahead and run up the tally before the scores are called in.  Clearly you can't protest in a respectful way like these kneelers can.


Concur with you.
 
2017-09-26 06:02:24 AM  

Hyperbole and Minutia: How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive?

Jesus tap-dancing Christ on a cracker...


You know how the NFL always refuses to bake cakes for LGBTQ couples.
 
2017-09-26 06:04:45 AM  
Because,  we should all support nonviolent protest.
This isn't disruptive, nor noisy. It's a group of people quietly bringing attention to an issue.
 
2017-09-26 06:08:08 AM  
I was a cub scout and a boy scout, long ago.  I see nothing to complain about, nothing disrespectful, unless you are offended by the idea of black people doing things without your express permission.
 
2017-09-26 06:08:33 AM  

fusillade762: Aaaaand now it's Sports Tab where it will get no comments. Nice jerb, admins.


Now it's in the Politics section, where it'll get plenty of comments from the my mom's lovers ranting about how Trump rules, and how entitled millionaires should shut up, with utterly no sense of irony. So, pretty much a lose-lose on that one.
 
2017-09-26 06:09:38 AM  
"We do not and should not worship the flag."

I'm gonna stop you right there, NRO guy. You ever met an American? You're talking about folks who think maybe there should be a law against "desecrating" the flag. My wife, back in the '90s, worked in a grocery store photo lab in Wisconsin (see kids, back in the day when phones had cords and were stuck to the wall the only way to take pictures was on film and every time you got 36 pictures taken you had to go take the film to someone to make paper copies) that had a policy that if you saw anyone abusing a flag in a picture you couldn't print that photo and had to inform management. Pretty sure there are a substantial number of Americans who treat the flag the same way they do the Jesus-on-a-stick they pray to once a week.
 
2017-09-26 06:09:42 AM  
[copy/pasta]

NFL players kneeling before a game to highlight institutionalised racism disrespects the military, but neo Nazi marches don't... despite the fact that 120,000 American soldiers died in WWII, fighting... the Nazis.

img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-09-26 06:15:24 AM  
The military payed a shiat ton of taxpayer dollars to the NFL owners to force players to participate in military circle jerks during games. But they didn't actually pay the players for their participation. The military is just upset that they don't get free labor with their advertising dollars
 
2017-09-26 06:22:20 AM  
Here's the difference- the so called leftists attempt to defend others from hateful ideas with free speech, where right attempt to spread hate with free speech.
 
2017-09-26 06:26:42 AM  

djloid2010: Here's the difference- the so called leftists attempt to defend others from hateful ideas with free speech, where right attempt to spread hate with free speech.


What?
 
2017-09-26 06:36:58 AM  
Why is Villaneuva getting a free pass for being a bad teammate, don't they teach Army values at West Point? The number one thing a child learns at an NFL game today is that if you are a military member, inappropriate exceptions will be made for you.

USERRA - Appropriate
Demanding discounts of shopkeepers - Inappropriate
Thinking you're above your current team because you were on a different team - VERY Inappropriate

Luckily the bad example he set only rubbed off on Marcus Cooper Jr.

/Don't give me no hero bullshiat
//V-Devices have been worthless since Grenada
///Tillman caught fratricide for the reverse
 
2017-09-26 06:38:52 AM  

spudvol: Before Trump's Sonic Vomit about the NFL-

Kaepernick had no job
Owners were viewed as racists
Ratings were in the toilet

After Trump's speech-

Ratings soar
Owners are viewed as heroes
Kap still has no job

Everybody wins (except Kaepernick)

The owners got their money's worth out of Trump.


Kaepernick has raised awareness of police executing black people, which I suspect is more important to him than the job.
 
2017-09-26 06:40:15 AM  
img.fark.netView Full Size


Trouble is, the two sides disagree on who the assholes are.
 
2017-09-26 06:44:15 AM  
farking Fark.

David French is saying he'll trade a symbolic gesture so that business can bring back white's only lunch counters.


Let's be 100% clear, the NFL has every right to fire players for kneeling.  It's not a free speech issue.  Trump isn't arresting kneelers. That's wildly different from religious, racial, or ethnic discrimination advocated by David French's hatred for the Civil Rights Act.
 
2017-09-26 07:04:59 AM  
You know, I'm a veteran too, and this whole pornographical, hagiographacal , hysterionnical, bullshiateronnical is so fet up.

Stop masturbating to the military, please. Some of the most unsavory people I've ever met was while I was in the military (or they were assholes I met after I got out).

I worked with a guy who would hide behind his veterans status like a shield--every little shiatty thing he did he'd play the veteran card. "I wasn't in the Army for 20 years to come here to cause problems!". Yet every problem had his prints on it...

It's an insult to every other veteran who served honorably and just got-on with their lives.

I get the feeling that a lot of trump supporters are the same kinds of people. I.e. they might have done their duty, but how virtuous were they?  Did they just go about doing their jobs, or did they excel at it like they like to think they did--like we were taught in basic training...

I tell you what, I knew a lot of fark-tards in the military who were only doing the bare minimum. But I'm sure-as-shiat-sure now they're the ones sitting behind their keyboards now, plunking away about how awesome they were, and how everyone else is shiat.

I helped with the Kurdish refugees from Iraq in 1996. A lot of good was done, but a lot of shiattery too. I watched guys who were tired throw kicks at the kids as they were standing in line for food. I saw them yell at the mothers and their children.  Make no mistake; there are assholes a-plenty in the military, but they will paint themselves as saints.

And it's not like I'm being all self-righteous. Man, I was a farktard lazy-ass too, but at least I'm not using my veteran's status as a shield--so many vets I know would be more-than-happy to straight-up export anyone who's not like them right out the country, as though they were a second-hand commodity. They like to talk in terms of "service before self", but they forget about the whole "give me your tired, your poor" thing.

But point that out to them? O hell no.

And the asshattery goes even deeper. I'm not even getting into the racism in the military. Don't get me wrong, it's a meritocracy, but behind doors, once rank is gone, there is all sorts of racism. At least, 20 years ago, it was that noxious brew.

Stop masturbating to the military, please, Trumpers!
 
2017-09-26 07:07:28 AM  
Hyperbole and Minutia: [everything this guy said]

You're god damned right.
 
2017-09-26 07:07:49 AM  

Schroedinger's Glory Hole: Why is Villaneuva getting a free pass for being a bad teammate, don't they teach Army values at West Point?


http://pittsburgh.cbslocal.com/2017/09/25/alejandro-villanueva-speaks​-​about-national-anthem/amp/

Pittsburgh Steelers lineman Alejandro Villanueva says the national anthem ordeal has gotten out of control and he is taking the blame.

"Unfortunately, I threw my teammates under the bus, unintentionally," Villanueva said in a press conference Monday.

[...]

During his press conference, the former Army Ranger says he is absolutely okay if teammates kneel or sit during the national anthem.

"People that are taking a knee are not saying anything negative about the military, they're not saying anything negative about the flag, they're just trying to protest the fact that there are some injustices in America," Villanueva said
.
 
2017-09-26 07:09:08 AM  

fusillade762: How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive serve people they personally don't like?


Let's be accurate.
 
2017-09-26 07:19:48 AM  

Cpl.D: Taking a knee is disrespect? Since when? Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee? Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?


Kneeling is a sign of submission. What are the football players submitting to?
 
2017-09-26 07:24:03 AM  
Yuck. This is supposedly a 'good' article from the NRO, but it boils this argument down in the most simplistic terms: that government (Trump) cannot  ever tell private industry (NFL, or google) what to do, ever. This is completely the wrong takeaway for this moment.

The most telling moment was the swipe at college liberals. No, you're 'free speech' is not getting trampled upon when your 'speech' is nothing more than racial theories that were rendered obsolete the moment the first GIs liberated the quarantine block at Dachau over 72 years ago and more educated college kids take the time to shout your dumb ass down.
 
2017-09-26 07:24:15 AM  
Another vet here, who doesn't see anything wrong with kneeling during the anthem, and doesn't really understand why we have to play it before a football game in the first farking place.

And the jingoistic blind nationalistic flag-humping mindless my-country-can-do-no-wrong patriotism (hopefully blind and mindless, although I know there's a lot like Trump who are merely using it as a racist excuse) strikes me as much more actually dangerous than someone taking a knee ever could be.

It's the kind of attitude that got people into thinking "Nah, we don't need all those extra bodies to take over Iraq.  We're so badass we can do it on the cheap."
 
2017-09-26 07:24:32 AM  

Destructor: Cpl.D: Taking a knee is disrespect? Since when? Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee? Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?

Kneeling is a sign of submission. What are the football players submitting to?


Kneeling can be a sign of submission.  It doesn't mean this was.  I see it as a sign of respectful protest.  They're not in the way, they're not drowning anything out, they're just not participating.  They're literally protesting in the way people have loudly demanded people do for months now.  Why isn't it good enough?
 
2017-09-26 07:26:03 AM  
As a human being, how do you write both of these things in the same article without bursting into flames?

"How many leftists who were yelling "free speech" yesterday are only too happy to sic the government on the tiny few bakers or florists who don't want to use their artistic talents to celebrate events they find offensive? "

"If we no longer fight to secure the same rights for others that we demand for ourselves"

Because gays are icky so it's ok?  fark you. You tried to be a broken clock and farked that up too.
 
2017-09-26 07:29:17 AM  
Free speech means the freedom to protest your government without fear of being punished by the government.

Public accommodation means that if you operate a business in the public sphere, you may not discriminate based on gender, race, age, disability, religion, or in many states, sexual orientation.

The inability of people on the right to understand either of these concepts is just infantile.
 
2017-09-26 07:30:52 AM  

Alphax: I was a cub scout and a boy scout, long ago.  I see nothing to complain about, nothing disrespectful, unless you are offended by the idea of black people doing things without your express permission.


Like rebroadcasting an NFL game?

///I know.  I'm not sorry, though.
 
2017-09-26 07:34:46 AM  

Cpl.D: Kneeling can be a sign of submission. It doesn't mean this was. I see it as a sign of respectful protest. They're not in the way, they're not drowning anything out, they're just not participating. They're literally protesting in the way people have loudly demanded people do for months now. Why isn't it good enough?


I get what the idea here is I support that idea. However, disrespecting the anthem by not standing doesn't seem like the optimal way to do it. I'd much rather see a black-power salute (Olympic 1968 style), personally. I feel that would be far more effective.

Standing is the one thing you should do during the anthem. That's a show of solidarity in the finer, best things in the nation.

The reason it's a bad idea is your handing ammo to the worst parts of the opposition. You're calling into question an American tradition about unity. The opposition will do things like point out things like: "Slaves kneel. Men stand." That runs counter to what is trying to be achieved here.
 
2017-09-26 07:39:03 AM  

Cpl.D: I'll weigh in ever so briefly here, for whatever little it may be worth.  I was a servicemember of two branches and I am a veteran of war.  This protest, the kneeling?  I know some rather sad people are trying to paint it as disrespect towards the flag or towards veterans, but I find that absolutely ridiculous.  They're using the rights I fought for them to retain, and they're doing it in an absolutely respectful way.

Taking a knee is disrespect?  Since when?  Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee?  Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?  Of course not.  As a service member, I am expected to stand at attention when the anthem plays.  Expected to, but not demanded to.  And that's service members, in uniform, not old veterans out of it, and certainly not civilians.  Putting your hand on your heart or your knee on the ground, both are the same to me.  It doesn't matter.

For the longest time people complained about anyone and everyone protesting for whatever reason.  "Don't block the sidewalks!  Don't protest in the street!  Don't chant, don't be loud!  Be quiet, be respectful!"  Well, here's some protestors, and they're protesting the way you've demanded they should for the longest time.  And that's STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?

As a veteran of war, I say, fark YOU.  It's their right, I defend that right, and I defend my right to tell you to pound it up your mealy-mouthed, lemon-faced, sallow asses.  Pick a new faux outrage to divert attention away from what terrible people you are and have been.  We see anyway, but go ahead and run up the tally before the scores are called in.  Clearly you can't protest in a respectful way like these kneelers can.


When I got out I would get dirty looks and nasty comments while and after the anthem played. I was used to standing at attention with a hat on so I kept my arms down and often my head covered, or in my hand at my side if I thought more clearly.

Having some fat civilian slob lecture me about patriotism was either entertaining or burned, depending on how messed up I was that day. I also had to be pushed to my feet by kids or wife when they asked veterans to stand. I didn't want attention.

I wish our schools taught critical thinking, self reflection, and empathy rather than just attempting to produce brainwashed cogs for the economy.

The same friend who has hated a neighbor for 15 years because of a lost tool will tell me people need to get over shiat. You know, the blacks, gays, indigenous peoples...whatever group your talking about who in the past or still today are not treated as full citizens, full humans.

The fact that countries all over the planet are made up lines across tribes and religions, depending on how western treaties fell, has no connection in his mind to trouble today.

Nor the raping and pillaging of other nations our government and corporations have done to support us being "No 1 biatch!", and are in fact still doing.

Trump won't lose his core. Some of my friends and family. They like being lied to. They just want a daddy to tell them they are great.

I don't know where this comment is going. I got depressed when I started typing. Sorry.
 
2017-09-26 07:41:10 AM  

Cpl.D: I'll weigh in ever so briefly here, for whatever little it may be worth.  I was a servicemember of two branches and I am a veteran of war.  This protest, the kneeling?  I know some rather sad people are trying to paint it as disrespect towards the flag or towards veterans, but I find that absolutely ridiculous.  They're using the rights I fought for them to retain, and they're doing it in an absolutely respectful way.

Taking a knee is disrespect?  Since when?  Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee?  Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?  Of course not.  As a service member, I am expected to stand at attention when the anthem plays.  Expected to, but not demanded to.  And that's service members, in uniform, not old veterans out of it, and certainly not civilians.  Putting your hand on your heart or your knee on the ground, both are the same to me.  It doesn't matter.

For the longest time people complained about anyone and everyone protesting for whatever reason.  "Don't block the sidewalks!  Don't protest in the street!  Don't chant, don't be loud!  Be quiet, be respectful!"  Well, here's some protestors, and they're protesting the way you've demanded they should for the longest time.  And that's STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?

As a veteran of war, I say, fark YOU.  It's their right, I defend that right, and I defend my right to tell you to pound it up your mealy-mouthed, lemon-faced, sallow asses.  Pick a new faux outrage to divert attention away from what terrible people you are and have been.  We see anyway, but go ahead and run up the tally before the scores are called in.  Clearly you can't protest in a respectful way like these kneelers can.


This veteran agrees with every word you wrote.
 
2017-09-26 07:43:29 AM  

Destructor: Standing is the one thing you should do during the anthem. That's a show of solidarity in the finer, best things in the nation.


Where does it say you're supposed to stand for the anthem?  Heck, where in their job description does it say they're supposed to do anything at all for the anthem?  They're paid millions of dollars to play football, not listen to music and stare at a piece of cloth.  I'd actually rather see them stretching during that downtime so they don't get injured and decrease the quality of play on the field.
 
2017-09-26 07:44:53 AM  

Cpl.D: I'll weigh in ever so briefly here, for whatever little it may be worth.  I was a servicemember of two branches and I am a veteran of war.  This protest, the kneeling?  I know some rather sad people are trying to paint it as disrespect towards the flag or towards veterans, but I find that absolutely ridiculous.  They're using the rights I fought for them to retain, and they're doing it in an absolutely respectful way.

Taking a knee is disrespect?  Since when?  Catholics, when you pray, do you still take a knee?  Did you ever do this in an attempt at a subtle swipe at your god?  Of course not.  As a service member, I am expected to stand at attention when the anthem plays.  Expected to, but not demanded to.  And that's service members, in uniform, not old veterans out of it, and certainly not civilians.  Putting your hand on your heart or your knee on the ground, both are the same to me.  It doesn't matter.

For the longest time people complained about anyone and everyone protesting for whatever reason.  "Don't block the sidewalks!  Don't protest in the street!  Don't chant, don't be loud!  Be quiet, be respectful!"  Well, here's some protestors, and they're protesting the way you've demanded they should for the longest time.  And that's STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR YOU?

As a veteran of war, I say, fark YOU.  It's their right, I defend that right, and I defend my right to tell you to pound it up your mealy-mouthed, lemon-faced, sallow asses.  Pick a new faux outrage to divert attention away from what terrible people you are and have been.  We see anyway, but go ahead and run up the tally before the scores are called in.  Clearly you can't protest in a respectful way like these kneelers can.


Dumbasses are trying to spin it as bowing down to Trump.  Yes, they are that farking dumb.
 
2017-09-26 07:47:19 AM  

LL316: Where does it say you're supposed to stand for the anthem?


It's a custom.

LL316: Heck, where in their job description does it say they're supposed to do anything at all for the anthem?


It's not a requirement. Do it or don't... as your heart instructs.

LL316: They're paid millions of dollars to play football, not listen to music and stare at a piece of cloth. I'd actually rather see them stretching during that downtime so they don't get injured and decrease the quality of play on the field.


FWIW and IMHO, the anthem shouldn't be played at sporting events. YMMV.
 
2017-09-26 07:48:50 AM  

spudvol: Before Trump's Sonic Vomit about the NFL-

Kaepernick had no job
Owners were viewed as racists
Ratings were in the toilet

After Trump's speech-

Ratings soar
Owners are viewed as heroes
Kap still has no job

Everybody wins (except Kaepernick)

The owners got their money's worth out of Trump.


Here is the problem

Look at the stands. Bottom section, $500 seats. Mostly all white pro gun conservative football loving Americans

These are the people the players are pissing off.

Yes, they have a right to protest whatever they want, but those fans will stop coming to games, stop buying jerseys and stop watching games on TV

End of the day? NFL revenues go down, players make less money

Don't believe me? Go read some of the psychopathic comments on infowars
 
2017-09-26 07:49:26 AM  

ginandbacon: Free speech means the freedom to protest your government without fear of being punished by the government.

Public accommodation means that if you operate a business in the public sphere, you may not discriminate based on gender, race, age, disability, religion, or in many states, sexual orientation.

The inability of people on the right to understand either of these concepts is just infantile.


Thisity this this.
 
2017-09-26 07:50:20 AM  
You can fark with the bill of rights, civil rights, medicare, medicaid and social security, but when you mess with football and NASCAR, that's over the line, Smokey.
 
2017-09-26 07:51:06 AM  
In the space of less than 24 hours this weekend, the president of the United States did more to politicize sports than ESPN has done in a decade of biased, progressive programming.

Talking heads yelling at each other over slam dunk highlights is progressive programming?
 
2017-09-26 07:55:45 AM  

smerfnablin: spudvol: Before Trump's Sonic Vomit about the NFL-

Kaepernick had no job
Owners were viewed as racists
Ratings were in the toilet

After Trump's speech-

Ratings soar
Owners are viewed as heroes
Kap still has no job

Everybody wins (except Kaepernick)

The owners got their money's worth out of Trump.

Here is the problem

Look at the stands. Bottom section, $500 seats. Mostly all white pro gun conservative football loving Americans

These are the people the players are pissing off.

Yes, they have a right to protest whatever they want, but those fans will stop coming to games, stop buying jerseys and stop watching games on TV

End of the day? NFL revenues go down, players make less money

Don't believe me? Go read some of the psychopathic comments on infowars


The issue would be solved in a heartbeat if Trump could just say something reassuring and inspiring.

So... don't hold your breath.
 
2017-09-26 07:57:39 AM  

Hyperbole and Minutia: You know, I'm a veteran too, and this whole pornographical, hagiographacal , hysterionnical, bullshiateronnical is so fet up.

Stop masturbating to the military, please. Some of the most unsavory people I've ever met was while I was in the military (or they were assholes I met after I got out).

I worked with a guy who would hide behind his veterans status like a shield--every little shiatty thing he did he'd play the veteran card. "I wasn't in the Army for 20 years to come here to cause problems!". Yet every problem had his prints on it...

It's an insult to every other veteran who served honorably and just got-on with their lives.

I get the feeling that a lot of trump supporters are the same kinds of people. I.e. they might have done their duty, but how virtuous were they?  Did they just go about doing their jobs, or did they excel at it like they like to think they did--like we were taught in basic training...

I tell you what, I knew a lot of fark-tards in the military who were only doing the bare minimum. But I'm sure-as-shiat-sure now they're the ones sitting behind their keyboards now, plunking away about how awesome they were, and how everyone else is shiat.

I helped with the Kurdish refugees from Iraq in 1996. A lot of good was done, but a lot of shiattery too. I watched guys who were tired throw kicks at the kids as they were standing in line for food. I saw them yell at the mothers and their children.  Make no mistake; there are assholes a-plenty in the military, but they will paint themselves as saints.

And it's not like I'm being all self-righteous. Man, I was a farktard lazy-ass too, but at least I'm not using my veteran's status as a shield--so many vets I know would be more-than-happy to straight-up export anyone who's not like them right out the country, as though they were a second-hand commodity. They like to talk in terms of "service before self", but they forget about the whole "give me your tired, your poor" thing.

But point that out to them? O hell no.

And the asshattery goes even deeper. I'm not even getting into the racism in the military. Don't get me wrong, it's a meritocracy, but behind doors, once rank is gone, there is all sorts of racism. At least, 20 years ago, it was that noxious brew.

Stop masturbating to the military, please, Trumpers!


Good post, thank you.

The military, first responders, everyone in any job. No one is a saint or a hero. Some people have heroic moments. A few have them far more often than others.

And by heroic moment it may mean telling simeone who is rude to you to have a nice day, giving $50 to a charity and not telling anyone, handing your lunch to someone on the street when you don't have money to buy another one.

Everyone I met in the military was just a person, with fears and faults.

Thanks for your comment, and your service. Even if you were a slacker.
 
2017-09-26 08:02:51 AM  
So it looks like Jim Kelly is about the only person not suppoerting the players.
https://sports.yahoo.com/jim-kelly-rails-bills-players-kneeling-hope-​n​ext-week-stand-181429969.html
Even Rex Ryan said he "did not sign up for this" when he supported Trump.
 
2017-09-26 08:03:04 AM  

roc6783: ginandbacon: Free speech means the freedom to protest your government without fear of being punished by the government.

Public accommodation means that if you operate a business in the public sphere, you may not discriminate based on gender, race, age, disability, religion, or in many states, sexual orientation.

The inability of people on the right to understand either of these concepts is just infantile.

Thisity this this.


It's amazing, isn't it? These really aren't particularly complicated ideas. And yet...How do these poor fools manage to turn their computers on to post their idiocy? Or remember to breathe?
 
2017-09-26 08:07:01 AM  

fortheloveof: spudvol: Before Trump's Sonic Vomit about the NFL-

Kaepernick had no job
Owners were viewed as racists
Ratings were in the toilet

After Trump's speech-

Ratings soar
Owners are viewed as heroes
Kap still has no job

Everybody wins (except Kaepernick)

The owners got their money's worth out of Trump.

Kaepernick has raised awareness of police executing black people, which I suspect is more important to him than the job.


Oh, is that what this is all about? From the reactions of people upset about it I thought it was about the flag and anthem.

/sarcasm, if you couldn't tell
 
Displayed 50 of 193 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report