Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ESPN)   It's YOUR MEGA NFL PREVIEW POWER RANKINGS from ESPN, with LOTS OF ALL CAPS to really highlight how bad their ranking system is this year   ( espn.com) divider line
    More: Unlikely, MATT BOWEN, American football positions, American football, Super Bowl, DAN GRAZIANO, season, tight end, offensive line  
•       •       •

1556 clicks; posted to Sports » on 05 Sep 2017 at 2:40 PM (6 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



159 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2017-09-05 01:48:27 PM  
... whar graf....
 
2017-09-05 02:09:49 PM  
Dear ESPN. Welcome to my new least favorite design ever.
 
2017-09-05 02:18:08 PM  
Do they still list them from the best record to the worst record?

/go iggles
//to HELL
 
2017-09-05 02:19:04 PM  
Now that I CTFL, I won't be doing THAT again.  Yikes.
 
2017-09-05 02:22:14 PM  
1.  WHAT A TERRIBLE WEBSITE DESIGN.  ( i know, 'You'll get over it'.)

2.  #17 (sounds about right), projected over/under on wins at 8.5.  Yes on both.  I think this is at best a 10 win team but I think 9-7 and no wild card.  i like hte defensive core (despite the FA losses) but I don't think Palmer stays healthy and i think this is not a lost season but just a season.
 
2017-09-05 02:44:57 PM  

Gubbo: Dear ESPN. Welcome to my new least favorite design ever.


Yeah, if that's gonna be the go-to design for the season, we'd better find some other "power rankings" before I firebomb my farking computer. That was like Jake from State Farm hideous.
 
2017-09-05 02:45:01 PM  
What, were people complaining their rankings weren't IN YOUR FACE enough?
 
2017-09-05 02:45:21 PM  
No way three NFC East teams are in the top 11.  Sorry, uh uh, ain't happenin'.
 
2017-09-05 02:45:32 PM  
Has anyone mentioned how terrible that site design is, because it was horrendous.
 
2017-09-05 02:47:49 PM  
Jesus farking Christ on a cracker, I read the thread and had no idea it could be that ugly. wow.

Also, 22 seems about right for the 'Skins. Though I think they're good for at least 8 wins, since teh division as a whole is very good at stepping on their own dicks, so the over/under is too low.
 
2017-09-05 02:49:03 PM  
1) doesn't seem to be a power rankings, so not sure if it counts.
2) you know how I know this was designed for mobile (where it's only a little ugly, as opposed to being completely offensive)?
 
2017-09-05 02:49:34 PM  
7 for the Chiefs? Seems a bit high, but now that I've seen the upside with Mahomes I'm cautiously optimistic that ol' Alex will feel the pressure to actually toss a pass downfield every now and then.
 
2017-09-05 02:49:35 PM  
WHAR GRAF/JAKE ETC?
 
2017-09-05 02:50:15 PM  
The Game of Shame for Week 1 will feature the New York Jets in Buffalo to face the Bills.

img.fark.net

May the gods have mercy on all who must watch this game.
 
2017-09-05 02:50:54 PM  
That layout made me hate ESPN and the NFL even more ...
 
2017-09-05 02:50:57 PM  
Jesus Christ.  Now I have eyeball cancer.

Whar chemo?  Whar?
 
2017-09-05 02:54:40 PM  
Whar--

BKITU: ... whar graf....


DANGIT!
 
2017-09-05 02:55:26 PM  
Also go Niners, almost no where else to go but up. Almost

/Almost
//Cries
///Go Niners!
 
2017-09-05 02:58:45 PM  
Oh it can't be that ba... GAAAH!!

Seeing the Steelers at #2 took some of the sting out of my eyes though.

*\o/*
 
2017-09-05 02:59:48 PM  

IAmRight: 1) doesn't seem to be a power rankings, so not sure if it counts.
2) you know how I know this was designed for mobile (where it's only a little ugly, as opposed to being completely offensive)?


Too bad its completely impossible to make one version of a site for mobile and another for desktop.
 
2017-09-05 03:02:01 PM  
I actually checked in the URL to make sure subby hadn't accidentally linked to the mobile version.

Turns out this is the only version. Gah.
 
2017-09-05 03:02:56 PM  

IAmRight: 1) doesn't seem to be a power rankings, so not sure if it counts.
2) you know how I know this was designed for mobile (where it's only a little ugly, as opposed to being completely offensive)?


I'm on mobile. Slots 13 and 17 were blank, I had to click on them to see what the team's were.
Tried it twice, same thing.
 
2017-09-05 03:04:45 PM  
I didnt need a damn apostrophe, autocorrect.
 
2017-09-05 03:10:07 PM  

Gubbo: Dear ESPN. Welcome to my new least favorite design ever.


They could have used Comic Sans.
 
2017-09-05 03:10:49 PM  

rickythepenguin: 1.  WHAT A TERRIBLE WEBSITE DESIGN.  ( i know, 'You'll get over it'.)


Not sure you will. I don't think I will.

They aren't using this for the regular PR this year are they?
 
2017-09-05 03:14:35 PM  

Fireproof: I actually checked in the URL to make sure subby hadn't accidentally linked to the mobile version.

Turns out this is the only version. Gah.


I wish I made a mistake.

/subby
 
2017-09-05 03:17:07 PM  
GOOO Falcons!  Sooo ready for foolsball to distract me from the foolsball in the Whitehouse.
 
2017-09-05 03:18:00 PM  

ariseatex: Fireproof: I actually checked in the URL to make sure subby hadn't accidentally linked to the mobile version.

Turns out this is the only version. Gah.

I wish I made a mistake.

/subby


That presentation is so bad it makes me long for the days of Geocities websites.  WTF ESPN???
 
2017-09-05 03:18:04 PM  

Galloping Galoshes: No way three NFC East teams are in the top 11.  Sorry, uh uh, ain't happenin'.


I hate to break it to you, but the Iggles will struggle to get to 8-8.  And probably won't beat the Cowboys even once.
 
2017-09-05 03:20:40 PM  

lindalouwho: IAmRight: 1) doesn't seem to be a power rankings, so not sure if it counts.
2) you know how I know this was designed for mobile (where it's only a little ugly, as opposed to being completely offensive)?

I'm on mobile. Slots 13 and 17 were blank, I had to click on them to see what the team's were.
Tried it twice, same thing.


Get a better phone, then :-P

(Those two were the longest names, so I assume they were too wide for your phone's display to handle.)
 
2017-09-05 03:22:25 PM  
That is some grade A crap site design. It's a damned slideshow.
 
2017-09-05 03:24:32 PM  
huh.  CBS has the Cards at 7 and i don't see SI's rankings.

17 to 7.  interesting.
 
2017-09-05 03:26:43 PM  
Wait, the Panthers are 10th, the Eagles are 11th, the Vikings 12th.... yet the Bucs are 13th and the Texans are *19th*?

*The Texans with anything but Brock at QB are a Playoff team. Their D is that good and their set pieces at WR and RB are legit.
*The Buccaneers havda better record then all 3 of those teams and didn't get worse
*The Eagles are massively over-rated (AGAIN).
* I can buy the Panthers going up higher in the ratings if they win a few games, not yet though. Not off 6-10.
*The Vikings are mediocre as fark until the offensive line proves otherwise (or Delvin Cook magically goes beast mode during the season)

Man these rankings are exceptionally bad, even for ESPN.

/Vikes fan.
 
2017-09-05 03:27:07 PM  

cgraves67: That is some grade A crap site design. It's a damned slideshow.


You have a better way to show the rankings quickly on mobile while also providing all that information in a way that makes sense on a phone?

I get that the typeface is awful and the first page is pretty stupid, but the list being formatted that way is fine, considering how long the article would be. Makes for a quick scroll to see rankings and see what's said about teams you care about.
 
2017-09-05 03:27:30 PM  

Marcus Aurelius: Galloping Galoshes: No way three NFC East teams are in the top 11.  Sorry, uh uh, ain't happenin'.

I hate to break it to you, but the Iggles will struggle to get to 8-8.  And probably won't beat the Cowboys even once.


I disagree on "struggle" to make 8-8, I feel like that's probably right for them, with the chance of a little better, with 10-6 as an absolute ceiling.

They have one of the best defensive lines in football, and with an improvement at corner they might get a few sacks.

Offense is a question mark, but it is at least as good as last year.
 
2017-09-05 03:29:57 PM  

rickythepenguin: huh.  CBS has the Cards at 7 and i don't see SI's rankings.

17 to 7.  interesting.


They also have the Chargers and Dolphins in the top 12. So they are their own special kind of derp.

https://www.cbssports.com/nfl/news/nfl-power-rankings-patriots-starti​n​g-no-1-is-the-only-safe-bet-on-this-list/
 
2017-09-05 03:30:09 PM  
It's also cool that you can sort by division, although sorting by conference should be available.

Also, Steelers at 2 is silly.

/hopefully McCaffrey and Cook become stars this year
//then I will be unstoppable in FFB
 
2017-09-05 03:31:39 PM  
(Okay, CBS's list looks nice in mobile)
 
2017-09-05 03:32:59 PM  
There some reason everyone's so high on the Steelers this year? Did they get to Bell's stash?
 
2017-09-05 03:40:12 PM  

Jim from Saint Paul: They also have the Chargers and Dolphins in the top 12. So they are their own special kind of derp.


i don't really 'do' preseason football (i've watched the sum total of......ehhh.......literally about 2 minutes of preseason action) but i have heard a lot of folks selling the Chargers.  dunno.

i'd like to see SI's rankings and Foxsports, just to get a sense of where teams are.

i forget where i saw it, but within the past day or so I saw someone with the Vikings in the NFC Championship, which made me chortle.  nothing against them - i just found that curious.
 
2017-09-05 03:41:07 PM  

IAmRight: There some reason everyone's so high on the Steelers this year? Did they get to Bell's stash?


There were 1 game away from going to the super bowl last season. This season Martavis Bryant is back and they got a couple good draft picks in James Conner and TJ Watt.
 
2017-09-05 03:43:03 PM  
Go* Bears.


*Lose close.
 
2017-09-05 03:43:39 PM  

Jingle Strangle: IAmRight: There some reason everyone's so high on the Steelers this year? Did they get to Bell's stash?

There were 1 game away from going to the super bowl last season. This season Martavis Bryant is back and they got a couple good draft picks in James Conner and TJ Watt.


Yeah, I was hoping the Seahawks would grab Watt. The AFC is weak, though.
 
2017-09-05 03:45:19 PM  
Ha! Jets *are* the worst.

/sorry Jets fan(s?).
 
2017-09-05 03:46:57 PM  

Jingle Strangle: IAmRight: There some reason everyone's so high on the Steelers this year? Did they get to Bell's stash?

There were 1 game away from going to the super bowl last season. This season Martavis Bryant is back and they got a couple good draft picks in James Conner and TJ Watt.


Also, Big Ben, Antonio Brown, Le'Veon Bell, and unbelievably James Harrison.
 
2017-09-05 03:48:31 PM  

IAmRight: cgraves67: That is some grade A crap site design. It's a damned slideshow.

You have a better way to show the rankings quickly on mobile while also providing all that information in a way that makes sense on a phone?

I get that the typeface is awful and the first page is pretty stupid, but the list being formatted that way is fine, considering how long the article would be. Makes for a quick scroll to see rankings and see what's said about teams you care about.


I'd rather have everything on a single page like it used to be. Maybe have the details in expandable sections if you need to tighten up the presentation. You could even preface it with a list of links that would automatically scroll down to the correct point for each team and a "return to top" button for each. But I loathe loading slides.
 
2017-09-05 03:50:47 PM  

Jim from Saint Paul: * I can buy the Panthers going up higher in the ratings if they win a few games, not yet though. Not off 6-10.


..well bear in mind like 7 of those 10 loses were a possession away from being wins. Not saying they were a 13-3 team, just that they weren't as bad as 6-10 suggests.
 
2017-09-05 03:55:31 PM  
Yep, that website is ugly alright.
 
2017-09-05 03:57:46 PM  

The Bestest: Jim from Saint Paul: * I can buy the Panthers going up higher in the ratings if they win a few games, not yet though. Not off 6-10.

..well bear in mind like 7 of those 10 loses were a possession away from being wins. Not saying they were a 13-3 team, just that they weren't as bad as 6-10 suggests.


To which I retort that the Vikings 2013 season with Leslie Frazier taught me that you are what your record says you are.

We went 5-10-1. Lost 4 games on the last drive of the other team. "One possession away" means that we could be 9-6-1. But we didn;t win those games. We lost them and lost them consistently. We are who the record says we were. Same with the Panthers.

That is also why I said if they go out and win a few games to start that they could get ranked highly again without it being erroneous. Gotta earn it a little bit first IMO.
 
2017-09-05 04:04:23 PM  

rickythepenguin: i forget where i saw it, but within the past day or so I saw someone with the Vikings in the NFC Championship, which made me chortle. nothing against them - i just found that curious.


God I wish. That O line probably won't allow it.

Unless Randall McDaniel, Todd Steussie, Phil Loadholt and the corpse of Korey Stringer come marching out of the locker room, I think not.

/Todd had a false start while I type this post
 
Displayed 50 of 159 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report