Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Stuff.co.nz)   In the bizarre rules of golf, tournament player has to decide whether to strip down to his underwear and jump into a pond to find his ball, or take a two-stroke penalty   ( stuff.co.nz) divider line
    More: Strange, Golf, Wicks, David Wicks, senior David Wicks, two-stroke penalty, NCAA championship berth, NCAA regional tournament, Penalty  
•       •       •

841 clicks; posted to Sports » on 19 May 2017 at 11:20 AM (26 weeks ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



20 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2017-05-19 09:36:20 AM  
Good thing there's no alligators in Louisiana. Oh, wait.
 
2017-05-19 10:53:35 AM  
Hell, I can find both of them by just loosening my belt.
 
2017-05-19 11:23:07 AM  
Does this apply to the LPGA too?   Asking for a friend
 
2017-05-19 11:29:36 AM  

Magorn: Does this apply to the LPGA too?   Asking for a friend


I hope so.

img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-05-19 11:42:35 AM  
I strip down and give myself a few penalty strokes.
 
2017-05-19 11:53:13 AM  
I always thought that you could change balls as soon as you got to the green.

/have done that thousands of times...
 
2017-05-19 12:54:48 PM  

SirDigbyChickenCaesar: I always thought that you could change balls as soon as you got to the green.

/have done that thousands of times...


He had marked the ball and before replacing it dropped the ball and it went it the drink. So, it was the ball he intended to use to play out the hole.
 
2017-05-19 01:27:22 PM  
Alas, it was not a fruitful trip into the drink. Wicks found about 30 balls but none of them were his, and he ended up eating the penalty for a double-bogey 6.

Son, you seem like a good guy. Let me give you a little advice. The next time this happens, here's how this goes.

"Oh shiat, I dropped my ball into the lake."
"What was it?"
"Titleist 2."
...
"Found it."
"That's a Maxfli 4."
"That's what I said."

If the conversation goes any further with you standing there soaking wet in your f*cking underwear, then your next step is to see how many penalty strokes the precious Rules assess you for swinging your driver at people's heads.
 
2017-05-19 01:38:24 PM  
The Jacksonville University could either strip down to his underwear and jump into a pond to find his ball, or he could take a two-stroke penalty.

How does a university do this? I suspect rule 34 and some cool CGI might come into play for this one.
 
2017-05-19 01:38:35 PM  
Find that a**hole in the crowd that yells at every tee off and throw him in the lake. If he doesn't find the right ball, back in he goes until he does find it, or the gators find him.
 
2017-05-19 02:10:10 PM  

semiotix: Alas, it was not a fruitful trip into the drink. Wicks found about 30 balls but none of them were his, and he ended up eating the penalty for a double-bogey 6.

Son, you seem like a good guy. Let me give you a little advice. The next time this happens, here's how this goes.

"Oh shiat, I dropped my ball into the lake."
"What was it?"
"Titleist 2."
...
"Found it."
"That's a Maxfli 4."
"That's what I said."


Except that on the first tee every competitor in the group shows their ball and markings to each other, so they all know exactly what brand/type each is playing before the round starts.
 
2017-05-19 02:16:59 PM  
That is easy

img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-05-19 02:21:22 PM  

Bonerific: SirDigbyChickenCaesar: I always thought that you could change balls as soon as you got to the green.

/have done that thousands of times...

He had marked the ball and before replacing it dropped the ball and it went it the drink. So, it was the ball he intended to use to play out the hole.


Just looked the rule up.  He didn't meet the conditions for changing a ball out.  Wow my handicap just went WAY up...
 
2017-05-19 02:23:45 PM  

ChrisDe: Magorn: Does this apply to the LPGA too?   Asking for a friend

I hope so.

[img.fark.net image 640x377]

s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.comView Full Size

i.ytimg.comView Full Size

wac.450f.edgecastcdn.netView Full Size
 
2017-05-19 03:51:42 PM  
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
2017-05-19 04:41:20 PM  
Testicles.
 
2017-05-19 05:39:31 PM  

berniex: Except that on the first tee every competitor in the group shows their ball and markings to each other, so they all know exactly what brand/type each is playing before the round starts.


I know. I just have a thing about the Rules of Golf.

99.99% of us aren't good enough at the game for it to make any sense whatsoever to play by the Rules. By the rules, sure, if you want. But not the Rules. There's no honor or dignity in solemnly adding two strokes to your score because you accidentally let the clubhead touch the bunker sand ten yards from your ball. At best that's accountancy, at worst it's moral masturbation.

The other 0.01%, which probably includes this guy, are too good for the Rules. Nothing about golf is enhanced because somebody noticed the wind from a practice swing moving a guy's ball one pixel on their high-def screen and called it in to the PGA.
 
2017-05-19 06:17:18 PM  

Cataholic: [img.fark.net image 309x240]


Nice!
 
2017-05-19 11:09:34 PM  
He didn't have to strip down to his skivvies.

He did have to find the ball.
 
2017-05-20 03:07:41 AM  

semiotix: berniex: Except that on the first tee every competitor in the group shows their ball and markings to each other, so they all know exactly what brand/type each is playing before the round starts.

I know. I just have a thing about the Rules of Golf.

99.99% of us aren't good enough at the game for it to make any sense whatsoever to play by the Rules. By the rules, sure, if you want. But not the Rules. There's no honor or dignity in solemnly adding two strokes to your score because you accidentally let the clubhead touch the bunker sand ten yards from your ball. At best that's accountancy, at worst it's moral masturbation.

The other 0.01%, which probably includes this guy, are too good for the Rules. Nothing about golf is enhanced because somebody noticed the wind from a practice swing moving a guy's ball one pixel on their high-def screen and called it in to the PGA.


We're talking golf here, right? So this is appropriate:
img.fark.netView Full Size
 
Displayed 20 of 20 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report