Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Courthouse News Service)   Woman sues Yelp in hopes of being paid for her free reviews. Legal analysts give her case three out of five stars   (courthousenews.com) divider line 53
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

4675 clicks; posted to Main » on 11 Aug 2014 at 3:28 PM (38 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



53 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-08-11 02:27:47 PM  
Not going to work. Nobody made her voluntarily write those reviews.

And lots of businesses have a mix of paid employees and volunteers. For example, odds are the administrative staff at the local animal shelter is paid, but there are a bunch of volunteers who are not paid, because they agreed to work for free, by choice.

Honestly, Yelp is sort of confusing to me. I've used it twice - when I was provided exceptional service beyond a doubt. I don't understand people who use it for anything but "fark this company, they screwed me" type reviews or "this company is the best thing since sliced bread and I MUST tell the world" type reviews.
 
2014-08-11 03:31:13 PM  
Since when did Yelp start holding guns to reviewers heads, forcing them to write up commentaries on the various establishments they visit?

Oh they didn't?

Fark you!
 
2014-08-11 03:31:39 PM  

serpent_sky: Not going to work. Nobody made her voluntarily write those reviews.

And lots of businesses have a mix of paid employees and volunteers. For example, odds are the administrative staff at the local animal shelter is paid, but there are a bunch of volunteers who are not paid, because they agreed to work for free, by choice.

Honestly, Yelp is sort of confusing to me. I've used it twice - when I was provided exceptional service beyond a doubt. I don't understand people who use it for anything but "fark this company, they screwed me" type reviews or "this company is the best thing since sliced bread and I MUST tell the world" type reviews.


It does seem to be a case of    -1 + 1 = 0.     Useless as tits on a boar hog.
 
2014-08-11 03:31:52 PM  
i898.photobucket.com
 
2014-08-11 03:34:04 PM  
ibankcoin.com
 
2014-08-11 03:34:55 PM  
I am going to write about 500 reviews tonight (just in case)
 
2014-08-11 03:35:21 PM  
Steven Hawkings has better legs to stand on than this suit.  The attorney filing it should be sanctioned.  Shame on  him
 
2014-08-11 03:36:26 PM  
I'm going to sue Drew for all my witty comments. And anyone who said comments too.

You all owe me a nickel!
 
2014-08-11 03:37:46 PM  
I'm announcing my suit of FARK. For submitting all my witty comments and articles. Doing the paid work of valuable employees of FARK.com

//I can be paid in Totalfark if you like.

///No please don't...
 
2014-08-11 03:38:02 PM  
Does that mean Drew is going to have to pay his schills? Hell, I'd schill for some UltraFark, but I would probably take it too far.
 
2014-08-11 03:38:38 PM  

MindStalker: I'm announcing my suit of FARK. For submitting all my witty comments and articles. Doing the paid work of valuable employees of FARK.com

//I can be paid in Totalfark if you like.

///No please don't...


Almost simulpost!!!!
 
2014-08-11 03:39:33 PM  

Mudd's woman: serpent_sky: Not going to work. Nobody made her voluntarily write those reviews.

And lots of businesses have a mix of paid employees and volunteers. For example, odds are the administrative staff at the local animal shelter is paid, but there are a bunch of volunteers who are not paid, because they agreed to work for free, by choice.

Honestly, Yelp is sort of confusing to me. I've used it twice - when I was provided exceptional service beyond a doubt. I don't understand people who use it for anything but "fark this company, they screwed me" type reviews or "this company is the best thing since sliced bread and I MUST tell the world" type reviews.

It does seem to be a case of    -1 + 1 = 0.     Useless as tits on a boar hog.


Miss Piggy would be offended.
 
2014-08-11 03:40:00 PM  

Anayalator: [ibankcoin.com image 490x360]



No offense, but... Ew.
 
gja
2014-08-11 03:40:11 PM  
Wow, some people have WAAAAAAY too much time on their hands.
 
Ant
2014-08-11 03:43:30 PM  

serpent_sky: Honestly, Yelp is sort of confusing to me. I've used it twice - when I was provided exceptional service beyond a doubt. I don't understand people who use it for anything but "fark this company, they screwed me" type reviews or "this company is the best thing since sliced bread and I MUST tell the world" type reviews.


I've tried to rate every restaurant I go to, but it just didn't work. It's just not very fun or interesting to write reviews of average food. I have run across a few inexplicable 5 stars though. One was a BBQ place in Seaside, OR* that was quite literally one of the worst meals I've ever paid for.

*If you want to know the name of the place, it's probably the only BBQ place in Seaside, OR
 
2014-08-11 03:43:32 PM  
Seems like she's pissed that she was banned for writing positive reviews in exchange for $$$.

http://m.startribune.com/business/?id=231834031
 
2014-08-11 03:43:33 PM  

Anayalator: [ibankcoin.com image 490x360]


I've never met a woman with that much gumline that wasn't "a bit off"
 
2014-08-11 03:43:38 PM  

ColonelCathcart: MindStalker: I'm announcing my suit of FARK. For submitting all my witty comments and articles. Doing the paid work of valuable employees of FARK.com

//I can be paid in Totalfark if you like.

///No please don't...

Almost simulpost!!!!


Honestly, it was a 3 way big pig peaches, you and me all had the same idea at the same time. It was all rather obvious though.
 
2014-08-11 03:44:04 PM  

Mr.Hawk: Anayalator: [ibankcoin.com image 490x360]


No offense, but... Ew.


That's Angie from Angie's List, Mr. Hawk.

Is this story not about her?

/DNRTFA
 
2014-08-11 03:44:41 PM  

Magorn: Steven Hawkings *(NO "S")

Oscar Pistorius has better legs to stand on than this suit.  The attorney filing it should be sanctioned.  Shame on  him

/ftfy
 
2014-08-11 03:46:59 PM  

MindStalker: ColonelCathcart: MindStalker: I'm announcing my suit of FARK. For submitting all my witty comments and articles. Doing the paid work of valuable employees of FARK.com

//I can be paid in Totalfark if you like.

///No please don't...

Almost simulpost!!!!

Honestly, it was a 3 way big pig peaches, you and me all had the same idea at the same time. It was all rather obvious though.


Wow, a tripost! I didn't notice yours though, maybe it was too small ;)

/hot dog down a hallway
 
2014-08-11 03:47:18 PM  

Anayalator: Mr.Hawk: Anayalator: [ibankcoin.com image 490x360]


No offense, but... Ew.

That's Angie from Angie's List, Mr. Hawk.

Is this story not about her?

/DNRTFA


Dunno. DNRTFA either. Still though. That is a lot of gums.
 
2014-08-11 03:48:17 PM  
Since when do Yelp employees get paid to write reviews?
 
2014-08-11 03:50:45 PM  

p the boiler: I am going to write about 500 reviews


I don't think that's how the song goes.
 
2014-08-11 03:54:51 PM  
i have a feeling something else is going on here.

like they found out that yelp pays people to write reviews and maybe takes money from business owners to pay this reviewers.

and, the people filing this lawsuit know it's a bs lawsuit.  but, if they can file the lawsuit, and immediately shove out the discovery requests (since they probably know some information exists, they just need to get to it), perhaps with injunctions to prevent destruction of evidence and other technical formalities... and then, yelp will either settle out of court because it doesn't want this information to get out, or this information will get out.

either way, the people suing don't win, they just get a settlement or the satisfaction of farking over yelp.

/ that's my kneejerk thought, because I don't see their cause of action.  however, i don't do employment law, so how knows.  get involved with federal labor nonsense is like sleeping with your cousin.  it's just not the same.
 
2014-08-11 03:55:17 PM  

ColonelCathcart: Does that mean Drew is going to have to pay his schills? Hell, I'd schill for some UltraFark, but I would probably take it too far.


a big part of Fark is the comment section and we aren't getting paid.

/please won't some think of the trolls
 
2014-08-11 03:56:10 PM  
I like reading reviews on yelp, sometimes you find a real gem and you can just read about how they biatch about everything.
/why do you even go out to eat?
//why do you even go out for that matter?
 
2014-08-11 04:00:35 PM  

MindStalker: I'm announcing my suit of FARK. For submitting all my witty comments and articles. Doing the paid work of valuable employees of FARK.com

//I can be paid in Totalfark if you like.

///No please don't...


To whomever bought me Totalfark just now, I hate you.....
 
gja
2014-08-11 04:02:00 PM  
 
2014-08-11 04:04:03 PM  
Was this re-filed?  Looks like it was dismissed in February.
 
2014-08-11 04:04:40 PM  

Trivia Jockey: Was this re-filed?  Looks like it was dismissed in February.


Hmm, link didn't work.  Here:

http://legalnewsline.com/issues/class-action/247569-yelp-class-action - dismissed-from-federal-court
 
2014-08-11 04:08:36 PM  
Some years ago, the game, Ultima Online had a volunteer corps of "Counselors" who helped players out with questions, reports of abuse, and escalated matters up to in-house paid CSRs or Devs when needed.  A group of them got together and sued Electronic Arts for wages not dissimilar to this lady.

The entire situation caused UO to eliminate the program over night.  I'm not sure what the final settlement was.  I'd look it up but anything game-related is blocked at work.

I worked at SOE at the time and we made changes to our similar program for EverQuest (Guide program).

There are a whole list of "tests" to determine if an employer/employee relationship exists, and the person understanding or even outright agreeing to be "unpaid" is not one of them.

(not saying that she's not a spiteful biatch though)
 
2014-08-11 04:09:06 PM  

Endive Wombat: Since when did Yelp start holding guns to reviewers heads, forcing them to write up commentaries on the various establishments they visit?

Oh they didn't?

Fark you!


They did that around the same time that companies were forcing employees to work at places for minimum wage.
 
2014-08-11 04:13:25 PM  
I thought all Yelp reviews were fake. I trust a review on Yelp about as far as I can throw it.
 
2014-08-11 04:17:04 PM  

70Ford: I thought all Yelp reviews were fake. I trust a review on Yelp about as far as I can throw it.


On a desktop, laptop, or mobile device?

This is important.
 
2014-08-11 04:18:22 PM  
I think they should countersue her for not reporting her time accurately, and request that she reimburse them.
 
2014-08-11 04:32:08 PM  

ItsMyNameYouCantHaveIt: 70Ford: I thought all Yelp reviews were fake. I trust a review on Yelp about as far as I can throw it.

On a desktop, laptop, or mobile device?

This is important.


I'd imagine they would all become mobile devices.
 
2014-08-11 04:37:09 PM  
Yeah, good luck with that honey. 99.99%: nothing will happen and some lawyers get paid. %0.01: you get some money and every review portal website on the internet shuts down forever. So DIAF.

I assume all individual reviews are fake and evaluate based on trends, and even then I assume the trend is at least 50% bullshiat.
 
2014-08-11 04:48:32 PM  
Sounds like she's perfect for the paid, pretentious douche position. They should just hire her.
 
2014-08-11 04:49:24 PM  
So, it looks like she was getting cash from restaurants for a positive review, and when Yelp found out, they banned her. Now she wants to get paid by Yelp for her cash-enhanced reviews. Hmmmmm.
 
2014-08-11 04:55:43 PM  
YELP is for assholes. If you're using for anything other than directions to the establishment, store hours or the menu, you're an A-1 schmuck. There I said it. Yelp about it.
 
2014-08-11 05:21:31 PM  

cyberspacedout: ItsMyNameYouCantHaveIt: 70Ford: I thought all Yelp reviews were fake. I trust a review on Yelp about as far as I can throw it.

On a desktop, laptop, or mobile device?

This is important.

I'd imagine they would all become mobile devices.


I like the cut of your jib.
 
2014-08-11 05:24:35 PM  

Ant: serpent_sky: Honestly, Yelp is sort of confusing to me. I've used it twice - when I was provided exceptional service beyond a doubt. I don't understand people who use it for anything but "fark this company, they screwed me" type reviews or "this company is the best thing since sliced bread and I MUST tell the world" type reviews.

I've tried to rate every restaurant I go to, but it just didn't work. It's just not very fun or interesting to write reviews of average food. I have run across a few inexplicable 5 stars though. One was a BBQ place in Seaside, OR* that was quite literally one of the worst meals I've ever paid for.

*If you want to know the name of the place, it's probably the only BBQ place in Seaside, OR


Must be The Grey whale.
 
2014-08-11 05:48:30 PM  
The plaintiff's complaints are absurd. 1st world problems, indeed.

From a huffpost article from last year,she stated in her lawsuit that she was pressured to write more reviews to stay elite. That's such a load of hooey. That's not how the "elite" system works on yelp.

The system is arbitrary and their feedback on their reasoning is poor, which is why i declined elite status this year, after years of being one.

But this lawsuit is a joke.
 
2014-08-11 06:16:36 PM  

The sofa: They did that around the same time that companies were forcing employees to work at places for minimum wage.


No one is suing companies claiming they're obligated to pay more than minimum wage. They're just suggesting that companies who will not pay more should not be given welfare, just like people who will not work are not given welfare.

I think it would be very reasonable for Yelp to compensate the people who produce useful content for their site. It's not illegal to accept donations, but it's also not irrational to pay the people who make you money.
 
2014-08-11 06:47:18 PM  
I like Yelp. It's a good way to find restaurants when I'm out of town (or new ones where I live). You can search for all kinds of shiat on Yelp. For instance, on the Yelp mobile app, if you type in the word "gay," it will suggest "cruising spots" as one of the options. Pretty good reading right there.
 
2014-08-11 06:49:32 PM  

profplump: They're just suggesting that companies who will not pay more should not be given welfare, just like people who will not work are not given welfare.


What planet do you live on? The overwhelming majority of welfare recipients do no work, at least work in the formal employment sense that the Bureau of Labor Statistics uses the term work.
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2014-08-11 08:43:07 PM  
Endive Wombat

The law means what it says (or what judges say it says). American law generally forbids for-profit companies from accepting "volunteer" unpaid labor. Policymakers fear hourly employees will be pressured to "volunteer" to stay late for no extra pay. Industries will try to abuse unpaid interns instead of hiring real employees.

Yelp's volunteer labor probably is genuine volunteer labor (or is being paid by somebody else for SEO type work) but the law doesn't care.  It prohibits a large number of of acts, some of which most people would consider abusive and some of which most people would think ought to be allowed.
 
2014-08-11 09:34:22 PM  

Anayalator: [ibankcoin.com image 490x360]


I have not seen that much gum since I volunteered to clean the bottom of the desks at the local high school.

/cue Family Guy cutaway
 
2014-08-11 09:41:44 PM  

CaptainBeer: YELP is for assholes. If you're using for anything other than directions to the establishment, store hours or the menu, you're an A-1 schmuck. There I said it. Yelp about it.


2 out of 5 Stars.

Accurate in what is offered from said establishment.  Brash and condescending.  Reeks of anal sex with deceased dog in front of young children care center.  Would not Yelp again.
 
Displayed 50 of 53 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report