Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(TFN Insider)   Creationist really upset that biology text book correctly says humans and chimps share most of their DNA, files a complaint with Texas Education Agency to force a change. Chairwoman of TEA tells staff she's "looked into" his complaint and he is right   (tfninsider.org) divider line 240
    More: Asinine, Texas, teaching of evolution, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Texas Freedom Network, biology textbooks, Texas Education Agency, creationists  
•       •       •

5232 clicks; posted to Politics » on 07 Aug 2014 at 2:37 PM (51 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



240 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-08-07 12:55:19 PM  
Dear FSM, the passage in question doesn't even really threaten Creationism.  It would seem natural to me that an Intelligent Designer would reuse things that work, so why wouldn't His creation have similar DNA. So stating that chimps and humans have nearly identical DNA would, imho, be praise to a conservative, non-wasteful Creator.

It's mind boggling the number of people who think "because I SAY" is a valid argument.  It's no wonder the Right has become such big fans of Putin - disregarding objective facts in favor or conflicting ideology was a hallmark of Soviet Communism, wasn't it?
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2014-08-07 01:06:38 PM  
This seems to be a log of blog outrage over a nonevent. The Board of Education chair initially took the complaint at its word. The complaint said there was an error and "[publishers] agreed to revise." It turned out the publishers had not agreed to revise their textbooks, and the BOE did not force them to.
 
2014-08-07 01:07:16 PM  
My religious beliefs conflict with observable, verifiable facts? Must be a problem with those facts!
 
2014-08-07 01:08:45 PM  
This doesn't surprise me in the least. I spend time in Texas every year, and I'm absolutely floored by the level of ignorance of seemingly very smart, educated people. The schism of their intelligence with their religious beliefs is astounding. These people have masters degrees, one is even a Geologist, and they seem to treat science as a faith and religion as a fact.

rwhamann: It's mind boggling the number of people who think "because I SAY" is a valid argument.


And so much this. Just because someone repeats ignorance, increasing their volume as they repeat it, it doesn't make them, or the statement correct at all, it simply means more people can witness their ignorance. But, this being Texas and all, it's amazing to watch other join in and agree with the ignorance.
 
2014-08-07 01:11:27 PM  
so, anti-science people often lie huh? this is my surprised face :|
 
2014-08-07 01:14:16 PM  
Not once, in the history of ever, has science had to be redacted because of religion. Not once.
 
2014-08-07 01:15:49 PM  
In any case, Cargill claimed in her email (click on the image below) that Frey told her publishers McGraw-Hill, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and STEMscopes "quickly agreed to revise" their textbooks after he told them that  similar passages about chimp and human DNA in their textbooks were also inaccurate.

I have bad news for you, dear. He lied to you. Then you went full retard without checking with the publishers:

"Pearson has been very hard-nosed during this adoption, so I hope staff at least agrees that these 3 items must be changed, especially knowing that 3 other publishers agreed to the changes. If the science experts at McGraw, Houghton, and STEMscopes agreed with Neal, that says a lot. Neal does his homework, and I looked into it too, just to be sure. The research is solid, accurate and current."
 
2014-08-07 01:15:49 PM  

ZAZ: This seems to be a log of blog outrage over a nonevent. The Board of Education chair initially took the complaint at its word. The complaint said there was an error and "[publishers] agreed to revise." It turned out the publishers had not agreed to revise their textbooks, and the BOE did not force them to.


Groups like ERA work full-time to pressure education boards to drop actual science in favor of their theocratic bullshiat. They are "on" all the goddamn time. They pressure the boards, bankroll their moron brigade to run for those offices and the like.

Ignore them at your peril.
 
2014-08-07 01:18:29 PM  
What if the publishers just tell these derpers that they are making the changes but then just not do it.
Clearly these people don't read that much, odds are they won't notice.
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2014-08-07 01:20:56 PM  
rwhamann

The publisher's response to the criticism is a better explanation than the blog commentary: http://tfninsider.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Pearson_Response_Hum a nsChimps.pdf.

The point is not to deny that humans are similar to higher primates. Considering humans to be primates is consistent with the standard view of evolution as well as the notion that God reused working parts when creating Man. The point is to cast doubt on the ability of evolution to explain relationships among primates. If science look weaker, creationism looks relatively stronger.
 
2014-08-07 01:25:27 PM  

ZAZ: This seems to be a log of blog outrage over a nonevent. The Board of Education chair initially took the complaint at its word. The complaint said there was an error and "[publishers] agreed to revise." It turned out the publishers had not agreed to revise their textbooks, and the BOE did not force them to.


Nein.

this is the Chairwoman's e-mail to her staff clearly trying to achieve the opposite outcome and claiming to support his position.   this is a lot more than "taking him at his word":

"Pearson has been very hard-nosed during this adoption, so I hope staff at least agrees that these 3 items must be changed, especially knowing that 3 other publishers agreed to the changes. If the science experts at McGraw, Houghton, and STEMscopes agreed with Neal, that says a lot. Neal does his homework, and I looked into it too, just to be sure. The research is solid, accurate and current."
 
2014-08-07 01:42:47 PM  
I've never shared any of my DNA with a chimp, though there was this one time I shared it with a woman who didn't shave.

/Don't judge me.
 
2014-08-07 01:46:06 PM  

Magorn: ZAZ: This seems to be a log of blog outrage over a nonevent. The Board of Education chair initially took the complaint at its word. The complaint said there was an error and "[publishers] agreed to revise." It turned out the publishers had not agreed to revise their textbooks, and the BOE did not force them to.

Nein.

this is the Chairwoman's e-mail to her staff clearly trying to achieve the opposite outcome and claiming to support his position.   this is a lot more than "taking him at his word":

"Pearson has been very hard-nosed during this adoption, so I hope staff at least agrees that these 3 items must be changed, especially knowing that 3 other publishers agreed to the changes. If the science experts at McGraw, Houghton, and STEMscopes agreed with Neal, that says a lot. Neal does his homework, and I looked into it too, just to be sure. The research is solid, accurate and current."


The part where she outright lied about the other two publishers quickly agreeing to changes in order to pressure Pearson to follow suit is especially rich. How very Christian of her.
 
2014-08-07 01:55:13 PM  

dittybopper: /Don't judge me.


It's a bit late for that.
 
2014-08-07 02:01:39 PM  
60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.
 
2014-08-07 02:09:38 PM  

vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.


we share almost that much with a banana!
 
2014-08-07 02:13:04 PM  

FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!


Then why don't I have wings or a peel? Answer me THAT, science man!
 
2014-08-07 02:18:25 PM  

vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.


If we don't share the majority of our DNA with a chimp, then we share even less with a fruit fly.

I think science should just give up and let the theocrats do whatever they like, and then a few hundred years from now we can have a second Renaissance Period. We obviously need a refresher course on how awful the Dark Ages were.
 
2014-08-07 02:24:43 PM  

vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.


Maybe *your* DNA fly boy!
 
2014-08-07 02:30:36 PM  

UberDave: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

Maybe *your* DNA fly boy!


horrornews.net

Brundlefly!
 
2014-08-07 02:35:10 PM  
I know two Breitbart/WND/FR/etc. - reading, far-right nutballs with Biology degrees (who try to claim to be centered "independents" of course), one of them being a former teacher.  I should throw this out there for them to analyze just for the lulz.
 
2014-08-07 02:38:22 PM  

rwhamann: Dear FSM, the passage in question doesn't even really threaten Creationism.  It would seem natural to me that an Intelligent Designer would reuse things that work, so why wouldn't His creation have similar DNA. So stating that chimps and humans have nearly identical DNA would, imho, be praise to a conservative, non-wasteful Creator.

It's mind boggling the number of people who think "because I SAY" is a valid argument.  It's no wonder the Right has become such big fans of Putin - disregarding objective facts in favor or conflicting ideology was a hallmark of Soviet Communism, wasn't it?


the fabric of the universe is far from perfect. It was a bit of botched job, you see. We only had seven days to make it.
i.dailymail.co.uk
 
vpb [TotalFark]
2014-08-07 02:42:18 PM  
I suspect they think the idea of sharing your DNA with apes sounds like a sinful temptation.
 
2014-08-07 02:43:16 PM  
How can you complain about a fact about DNA when you don't even know what the fark DNA is?

"Duuuuuuhhh...My parents taught me the world is run by a magic man and I'm confused by everything now."
 
2014-08-07 02:43:16 PM  
Published July 9, 2014


So subby clicked around a bit and found old news?
 
2014-08-07 02:44:15 PM  

nmrsnr: FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!

Then why don't I have wings or a peel? Answer me THAT, science man!


It's true that you have...

No appeal!

/yyyyeeeahhhhhh
 
2014-08-07 02:44:52 PM  
And the Lord spake unto Matthew and said, "Nay, ye do not share any DNA with the tribe of apes, and ye certainly are not an ape thyself. If thine child's textbook publisher doth say the opposite, produce a bug up thine butt until my glory smites those libtards on Earth as it is in Heaven."
 
2014-08-07 02:45:23 PM  

nmrsnr: FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!

Then why don't I have wings or a peel? Answer me THAT, science man!


That is not what the woman meant when they said you lacked appeal.
 
2014-08-07 02:45:48 PM  
So after reading that the publishers didn't change it, despite the lies from this chairwoman?

GOOD!  Now, oust her for lying to the public.
 
2014-08-07 02:46:16 PM  
Really, creationists.  If you can't cope with reality, that's your problem.  Quit trying to fark things up for the rest of us.
 
2014-08-07 02:46:31 PM  
Oh God, not this again....
 
2014-08-07 02:47:15 PM  
How long before Texas is just a bunch of people walking around speaking mambo dogface to the banana patch?
 
2014-08-07 02:47:43 PM  

moothemagiccow: And the Lord spake unto Matthew and said, "Nay, ye do not share any DNA with the tribe of apes, and ye certainly are not an ape thyself. If thine child's textbook publisher doth say the opposite, produce a bug up thine butt until my glory smites those libtards on Earth as it is in Heaven."


That was pretty good. Had you started it with "Verily, verily" I would have thought you were channeling Joseph Smith.
 
2014-08-07 02:48:50 PM  

meat0918: So after reading that the publishers didn't change it, despite the lies from this chairwoman?

GOOD!  Now, oust impeach her for lying to the public.

/ftfy
//just found out this is an impeachable offense.

 
2014-08-07 02:50:42 PM  

ZAZ: The publisher's response to the criticism is a better explanation than the blog commentary: http://tfninsider.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Pearson_Response_Hum a nsChimps.pdf.


That was beautiful. They even turned their own arguments and citations against them.
 
2014-08-07 02:50:58 PM  
To: Reality
CC: Science; Facts; Truth

Why can't you just conform to my outdated belief structure?  My pastor says different things than you and they make more sense because they don't require as much critical thinking.  Which is something I do not like.  I like Jesus and those nice songs we sing about him.  Furthermore I am not a monkey and never have been.  I don't need to know about your fundamental building blocks of life, Jesus was made of wine and crackers.  So there.

                                                                                  -Regards,
                                                                                             Creationists
 
2014-08-07 02:52:07 PM  
Chimps are also deneying they share DNA with Texas Creationists
 
2014-08-07 02:52:22 PM  

rwhamann: Dear FSM, the passage in question doesn't even really threaten Creationism.  It would seem natural to me that an Intelligent Designer would reuse things that work, so why wouldn't His creation have similar DNA. So stating that chimps and humans have nearly identical DNA would, imho, be praise to a conservative, non-wasteful Creator.

It's mind boggling the number of people who think "because I SAY" is a valid argument.  It's no wonder the Right has become such big fans of Putin - disregarding objective facts in favor or conflicting ideology was a hallmark of Soviet Communism, wasn't it?


img4.wikia.nocookie.net
 
2014-08-07 02:54:28 PM  
The Texas Education Agency's official motto?

"Thank Jeebus for Mississippi/"
 
2014-08-07 02:54:33 PM  

God can't even change a textbook.



imageserver.moviepilot.com
 
2014-08-07 02:54:43 PM  

GameSprocket: nmrsnr: FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!

Then why don't I have wings or a peel? Answer me THAT, science man!

That is not what the woman meant when they said you lacked appeal.


Ohh, so close, but you were a minute slow and didn't have the CSI bad pun "yeeeah" so I'm gonna have to give the points to PanicMan. As a consolation prize you get a copy of Fark "home edition" where you can read the newspaper and grumble that you submitted the story with a better headline.
 
2014-08-07 02:55:50 PM  

FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!


That easy to explain libtardo. Allow me...
powermapler.files.wordpress.com
 
2014-08-07 02:57:02 PM  
Fact: The grape ape cartoon shares over 95% of it's DNA with the grape ape strain of cannabis...

img.geocaching.com

www.godermag.com
 
2014-08-07 02:58:11 PM  
To be fair, they're willing to admit that certain people are related to apes.

Just not white people.
 
2014-08-07 03:00:57 PM  

Jairzinho: FlashHarry: vernonFL: 60 percent of human DNA is the same as a fruit fly.

we share almost that much with a banana!

That easy to explain libtardo. Allow me...
[powermapler.files.wordpress.com image 241x209]


God designed it so it can go up your butt.
 
2014-08-07 03:01:39 PM  

hardinparamedic: ZAZ: The publisher's response to the criticism is a better explanation than the blog commentary: http://tfninsider.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Pearson_Response_Hum a nsChimps.pdf.

That was beautiful. They even turned their own arguments and citations against them.


Wow, no lie. What's fascinating, though, is that this Neal Frey (or someone else doing the research) went through who knows how many scientific papers, looking specifically for blurbs that they could use out of context to make their position look stronger. That must have taken quite a bit of work.
 
2014-08-07 03:03:24 PM  
Everyone in here should watch The Revisionaries on Netflix. It's about the Texas SBOE going through the standards approval, specifically with regards to science education and evolution.

Make sure you have nothing heavy or breakable nearby, because you'll want to throw something at the TV.
 
2014-08-07 03:03:32 PM  

jayhawk88: hardinparamedic: ZAZ: The publisher's response to the criticism is a better explanation than the blog commentary: http://tfninsider.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Pearson_Response_Hum a nsChimps.pdf.

That was beautiful. They even turned their own arguments and citations against them.

Wow, no lie. What's fascinating, though, is that this Neal Frey (or someone else doing the research) went through who knows how many scientific papers, looking specifically for blurbs that they could use out of context to make their position look stronger. That must have taken quite a bit of work.


And it's especially amusing that their first argument is "Rank cherry-picking".
 
2014-08-07 03:03:40 PM  

jayhawk88: hardinparamedic: ZAZ: The publisher's response to the criticism is a better explanation than the blog commentary: http://tfninsider.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Pearson_Response_Hum a nsChimps.pdf.

That was beautiful. They even turned their own arguments and citations against them.

Wow, no lie. What's fascinating, though, is that this Neal Frey (or someone else doing the research) went through who knows how many scientific papers, looking specifically for blurbs that they could use out of context to make their position look stronger. That must have taken quite a bit of work.


I honestly have a feeling that they have someone at a place like the Discovery Institute who's entire purpose in drawing a paycheck is to go through studies and cherrypick citations they can use to gish gallop in an attempt to show they know what they're talking about.
 
2014-08-07 03:03:53 PM  

jayhawk88: Wow, no lie. What's fascinating, though, is that this Neal Frey (or someone else doing the research) went through who knows how many scientific papers, looking specifically for blurbs that they could use out of context to make their position look stronger. That must have taken quite a bit of work.


No kidding, having to slog through all those scientific lies to find the nuggets of Truth.

Onward Christian soldier!
 
Displayed 50 of 240 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report