Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Kotaku)   The 22 best-reviewed video games that still haven't gotten a sequel. Meanwhile, Call of Duty XIV: Yet Another Warzone expected by Christmas   (kotaku.com) divider line 193
    More: Interesting, Tim Schafer, metacritic, Epic Games, World of Goo, Grim Fandango  
•       •       •

5194 clicks; posted to Geek » on 06 Aug 2014 at 8:20 AM (41 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



193 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-08-06 07:06:35 AM  
Minecraft basically gets a sequel every couple months.  It's to the point now that they're just adding crap for the sake of adding crap.

Minecraft did not need the farking Killer Rabbit of Caerbannog in it.
 
2014-08-06 08:23:57 AM  
Because we can always come up with another warzone.
 
2014-08-06 08:25:00 AM  
Missing Conker's Bad Fur Day.
 
2014-08-06 08:25:20 AM  
The Last of Us came out only 14 months ago and it's already being remastered.  It doesn't need a sequel (yet at least)  Gaming journalism is actively TRYING to make the industry worse by asking for yearly sequels apparently.

/mad that you made me click a kotaku link, that website is garbage
 
2014-08-06 08:33:29 AM  
They are remastering Grim Fandango for the PC, as it turns out - even Linux. I never played it back when. Hmmm.
 
2014-08-06 08:33:33 AM  
Blocked at work, anyone care to copy pasta the list here?
 
2014-08-06 08:33:41 AM  

A challenger appears: Gaming journalism is actively TRYING to make the industry worse by asking for yearly sequels apparently.


among other vectors, yes
 
2014-08-06 08:34:43 AM  

Grither: Blocked at work, anyone care to copy pasta the list here?


#1 is the last of us and that should tell you all you need to know about this list
 
2014-08-06 08:35:49 AM  
And isn't that the reason for the season?

God bless us, everyone.
 
2014-08-06 08:35:59 AM  

A challenger appears: The Last of Us came out only 14 months ago and it's already being remastered.  It doesn't need a sequel (yet at least)  Gaming journalism is actively TRYING to make the industry worse by asking for yearly sequels apparently.

/mad that you made me click a kotaku link, that website is garbage


came in here to say "a year old game on this list? what the fark?"
 
2014-08-06 08:36:34 AM  

Grither: Blocked at work, anyone care to copy pasta the list here?


A couple things that were intended to be stand-alone titles from the get-go (e.g. Grim Fandango) plus a bunch of stuff new enough that the development cycle on the inevitable sequel hasn't finished yet (e.g. Dishonored), plus some shiat that's literally been out less than a year (Shovel Knight).

Nothing you couldn't tell us didn't have a sequel off the top of your head via basic logic, essentially.
 
2014-08-06 08:36:34 AM  
*edit: Shovel Knight on this list as well? didn't that game come out a month ago?
 
2014-08-06 08:38:18 AM  

Jim_Callahan: Grither: Blocked at work, anyone care to copy pasta the list here?

A couple things that were intended to be stand-alone titles from the get-go (e.g. Grim Fandango) plus a bunch of stuff new enough that the development cycle on the inevitable sequel hasn't finished yet (e.g. Dishonored), plus some shiat that's literally been out less than a year (Shovel Knight).

Nothing you couldn't tell us didn't have a sequel off the top of your head via basic logic, essentially.


i'm disappointed Destiny doesn't have a sequel
 
2014-08-06 08:38:25 AM  
It's almost like a lot of those games were good because of their stories and atmospheres whereas games like CoD and Madden are played primarily for their mechanics and multiplayer aspects.

Might lead one to believe that what makes games like Ico and Brothers such standouts is that they're unique and that uniqueness disappears with a sequel because you can't just slap some new art and maps in and call it a day.

In fact, I'll tell you what Colossus is if you take out the unique storyline and just slap some new enemies and weapons into the game and call it a sequel: Monster Hunter. And the Monster Hunter series farking sucks.
 
2014-08-06 08:38:31 AM  
Including games from the last few years is very confusing.
 
2014-08-06 08:39:55 AM  
I would love to play an updated version of Karnov.
 
2014-08-06 08:40:57 AM  
can't wait for nethack 2
 
2014-08-06 08:44:42 AM  

Jim_Callahan: A couple things that were intended to be stand-alone titles from the get-go (e.g. Grim Fandango) plus a bunch of stuff new enough that the development cycle on the inevitable sequel hasn't finished yet (e.g. Dishonored), plus some shiat that's literally been out less than a year (Shovel Knight).

Nothing you couldn't tell us didn't have a sequel off the top of your head via basic logic, essentially.


Hahah ok, thanks!
 
2014-08-06 08:49:56 AM  

Tyrone Slothrop: Missing Conker's Bad Fur Day.


And we're done here.
 
2014-08-06 08:50:30 AM  

dookdookdook: Minecraft basically gets a sequel every couple months.  It's to the point now that they're just adding crap for the sake of adding crap.

Minecraft did not need the farking Killer Rabbit of Caerbannog in it.


Because if there's one thing Dookdookdook hates it's additional content in a creative building game.
 
2014-08-06 08:51:52 AM  
I know Spec Ops: The Line was the last of a series, but darn it if it wasn't a great game that I'd love to see a sequel to...

/obviously not with the same characters
 
2014-08-06 08:52:43 AM  

AdamK: came in here to say "a year old game on this list? what the fark?"


yeah same here, list is BS right out of the gate.  #4 came out this year wtf do they think a game takes months to make?  #17 and #21 came out last year also.  So out of 22, 4 of them are 1 year or less old.
 
2014-08-06 08:53:17 AM  
Wake me up when CoD brings back a co-op campaign mode.
 
2014-08-06 08:53:49 AM  
The only criteria for the list is as follows:
1) Has to have a rating of at least 90% on Metacritic
2) Cannot already be a sequel or have a sequel

Since many of the retro titles are being judged against newer games, (It's not like MetCritic was around in 1989.) the ratings are a bit skewed towards recent titles.  But this list goes on to break its own rules by including Ico and Shadow of the Colossus.

Conker really needs a sequel but I'm not sure that it would have the same impact on the XOne that it had on a Nintendo console.
 
2014-08-06 08:54:15 AM  

jso2897: They are remastering Grim Fandango for the PC, as it turns out - even Linux. I never played it back when. Hmmm.


I remember that game as wicked funny and fun.  Full Throttle also, I think i liked that one better.
 
2014-08-06 08:59:49 AM  

No Line For Beer: Conker really needs a sequel but I'm not sure that it would have the same impact on the XOne that it had on a Nintendo console.


Conker also came out when South Park was a new thing, and the notion of "cute" things being perverse and foul was still something of a novelty in mainstream pop culture.

Now, he'd just get compared to Rocket Raccoon and Ted.
 
2014-08-06 09:00:17 AM  
No love for Arcanum
 
2014-08-06 09:01:22 AM  
Sins of a Solar Empire?
Freelancer?
/DNRTA
 
2014-08-06 09:04:03 AM  
That list is annoying as hell... There are games on it that are pretty much new still and they are crying that there is no sequel to it. List should of had a time limit added to it. Example should be anything before 2010 which would of given the developers time to actually produce a sequel. So why would The Last of Us, which came out late last year, have a sequel already? Now some of the games on the list like Ico and Shadow of the Colossus are technically getting a sequel / prequel when Team Ico's new game comes out whenever that is.
 
2014-08-06 09:12:20 AM  
I can has a TIE Fighter update?
 
2014-08-06 09:14:48 AM  
Despite there being multiple sequels back in the day, I find this to be a great time to demand a next gen Road Rash.
 
2014-08-06 09:15:15 AM  
Tier List

Motherfarking Art -
The Last of Us, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem

Pretty Good - Shovel Knight

Not Terrible - Dishonored

Lol - World of Goo, Minecraft, Braid, Cave Story, Guacamelee!

Farking Lol - Flower, Journey, Limbo, Fez, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

No Opinion - Grim Fandango, Vagrant Story, Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, Mark of the Ninja, Blast Corps, Spelunky, Beetle Adventure Racing

Prove me wrong, children.
 
2014-08-06 09:17:20 AM  
Pong?
 
2014-08-06 09:18:19 AM  
This game needs a sequel.

I remember it was so much fun playing 2-players on my cousin's Genesis when we were kids.

I believe the creator tried to Kickstarter a sequel last year, but the Kickstarter failed.
 
2014-08-06 09:19:55 AM  

AdamK: A challenger appears: The Last of Us came out only 14 months ago and it's already being remastered.  It doesn't need a sequel (yet at least)  Gaming journalism is actively TRYING to make the industry worse by asking for yearly sequels apparently.

/mad that you made me click a kotaku link, that website is garbage

came in here to say "a year old game on this list? what the fark?"


Over half of that list is less than 18 months old if that helps any. It's a farking joke. Jesus, there used to be a time when new games took, and I know you may need to sit down for this part, YEARS to come up with a sequel. Because it was new. And it wasn't the exact same engine. Exact same graphics. Exact same narrow story line as the last iteration.
 
2014-08-06 09:20:30 AM  
Missing from the list:
X-Wing vs Tie Fighter.
 
2014-08-06 09:24:15 AM  

Fano: I can has a TIE Fighter update?


jayphat: Missing from the list:
X-Wing vs Tie Fighter.


This so much!  Also a Freespace & Freespace 2 remakes would be nice.
 
2014-08-06 09:25:21 AM  
The only ones I've played were Dishonored, which was good, if forgettable; and Minecraft, where the term 'sequel' doesn't quite make sense.

Dishonored was a good excercise in world building, and the gameplay was quite fun. Definitely more of a 'press X to win fight' game, but the characters were well rounded (except for the player).

If you require additional content for Minecraft, waiting on Mojang's development schedule is annoying. They release new stuff every month or so if you're playing on the weekly builds, but stable releases are few and far between.

Which is why mods and ModPack launchers are the way to go.
 
2014-08-06 09:25:35 AM  
Would be fun to see Zack & Wiki get a sequel too.  Point-and-click adventures are an almost extinct species on modern consoles.  It was awesome to see one show up last-gen, and so well done too.
 
2014-08-06 09:25:39 AM  

jayphat: Jesus, there used to be a time when new games took, and I know you may need to sit down for this part, YEARS to come up with a sequel. Because it was new. And it wasn't the exact same engine. Exact same graphics. Exact same narrow story line as the last iteration.


Uh, not to be a dick, but when was this, exactly?  Was it the nineties, when you had classics like Unreal Tournament, Descent II, and Doom II, and Warcraft II released on one-year turnarounds?  Or was it the eighties, when games like Super Mario Bros. (whose first sequel as a Japanese-only release that recycled all the assets) and Mega Man also got sequels on one-year turnarounds?
 
2014-08-06 09:26:26 AM  

To The Escape Zeppelin!: dookdookdook: Minecraft basically gets a sequel every couple months.  It's to the point now that they're just adding crap for the sake of adding crap.

Minecraft did not need the farking Killer Rabbit of Caerbannog in it.

Because if there's one thing Dookdookdook hates it's additional content in a creative building game.


Every time Minecraft updates, it creates a massive ordeal for the community, since 95% of Minecraft's popularity is built on user-created mods/server software/minigames/etc..  And since Minecraft isn't open-source, every time there's an update someone literally has to decompile it and release it as an unofficial (illegal) source file for developers to work from.  After the last major update (1.7), it took several months for the decompilation to even happen, by which time Mojang was already talking about the next update.
 
2014-08-06 09:27:52 AM  

jso2897: They are remastering Grim Fandango for the PC, as it turns out - even Linux. I never played it back when. Hmmm.


Grim Fandango is already playable on Linux.

/Site is very, very slow.
//Application runs well, though.
 
2014-08-06 09:28:02 AM  

Mike_LowELL: Tier List

Motherfarking Art - The Last of Us, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem

...

No Opinion - Grim Fandango, Vagrant Story, Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, Mark of the Ninja, Blast Corps, Spelunky, Beetle Adventure Racing

Prove me wrong, children.


Vagrant Story belongs in the 'Motherfarking Art' section
 
2014-08-06 09:28:28 AM  

Mike_LowELL: Tier List

Motherfarking Art - The Last of Us, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem

Pretty Good - Shovel Knight

Not Terrible - Dishonored

Lol - World of Goo, Minecraft, Braid, Cave Story, Guacamelee!

Farking Lol - Flower, Journey, Limbo, Fez, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

No Opinion - Grim Fandango, Vagrant Story, Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, Mark of the Ninja, Blast Corps, Spelunky, Beetle Adventure Racing

Prove me wrong, children.


I would have a list similar but I would add Demon's Soul. Freaking Love that game. I know Dark Souls is a spiritual sequel but I want to return to the world of Demon's Soul as well. Also wish Kingdom of Amalur: Reckoning got a sequel but that will never happen.

Other games:
Red Steel 2 needs a sequel. Need more Old Western Gun / Sword fun
Mirror's Edge is getting one and I am happy about it
DMC was opened to one
As mentioned earlier, X-Wing / TIE Fighter
We need a new Quake too.
 
2014-08-06 09:30:33 AM  
Why is the quality of a piece of media always taken to mean that it should be incessantly sequeled?  It's like deciding that if you love your wife it means you need to have another one.
 
2014-08-06 09:33:02 AM  
Okami needs a real sequel.  I don't think the DS-only successor really counts.
 
2014-08-06 09:33:59 AM  
Deus Ex deserves a sequel. A quality prequel was released, but a follow-up to the original story would nonetheless be welcome.
 
2014-08-06 09:35:02 AM  
Chrono Trigger
(.. I am going to pretend Chrono Cross does not count, that game may as well have been set in it's own universe)

The World Ends With You (or just another game in that style?)

Godhand

Megaman Legends 2 (FARK YOU CAPCOM)

Breath of Fire series (AGAIN,FARK YOU CAPCOM, what you are calling BOF 6 is... yeaaaah.)

Terranigma
 
2014-08-06 09:35:28 AM  

dragonchild: No love for Arcanum


Because it was a terrible, god awful, mess.

The controls were crap, it was buggier than aunt Mildred's four week old corpse on the maggot farm, and even when you got past all that it STILL was not a good game. It's competitors were fallout and Baldur's Gate.

I desperately wanted to like the game, and have bought it off GoG in the past year just to see if it was nostalgia making me think it sucked. It wasn't.

I would like to see a similar game, where fantasy balances technology, but not Arcanum2.
 
2014-08-06 09:36:39 AM  

kroonermanblack: dragonchild: No love for Arcanum

Because it was a terrible, god awful, mess.

The controls were crap, it was buggier than aunt Mildred's four week old corpse on the maggot farm, and even when you got past all that it STILL was not a good game. It's competitors were fallout and Baldur's Gate.

I desperately wanted to like the game, and have bought it off GoG in the past year just to see if it was nostalgia making me think it sucked. It wasn't.

I would like to see a similar game, where fantasy balances technology, but not Arcanum2.


Yeah... the story of Arcanum was good. I quite liked it (and actually rather liked the twist and the villain's motivations), but, among many other things, "Balance" was not something that game had.
 
Displayed 50 of 193 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report