Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(National Review)   The National Review reveals the liberals dirtiest secret; they've just been PRETENDING to like smart people. So vote Republican   (nationalreview.com ) divider line
    More: Obvious  
•       •       •

1731 clicks; posted to Politics » on 02 Aug 2014 at 4:21 PM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



203 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2014-08-02 01:02:20 PM  
Do they charge per word there? I could probably write a few pages of word salad and make it big judging by the lack of quality of this post.
 
2014-08-02 01:12:45 PM  
As opposed to conservatives, who are quite open about their hatred of intellectualism?
 
2014-08-02 01:18:40 PM  
Answering a question about Obama's cameo on Cosmos, Tyson was laconic. "That was their choice," he told Grantland. "We didn't ask them. We didn't have anything to say about it. They asked us, 'Do you mind if we intro your show?' Can't say no to the president. So he did."

One wonders how easy it would have proved to say "No" to the president if he had been, say, Scott Walker.


Weird, I woke up this morning and the first thing I did was wonder aloud what would happen if Scott "FAS-face" Walker asked NdGT if he could intro the next Cosmo.

You know, cos of how highly probable that scenario is.

What a weird, passive-aggressive, mish-mash, word salad of an article that was.

Smart and Nerd are now political terms because hipsters?

More like the Right have consistently proven themselves to be no friends of facts or science.

In fact, time and time again they are ardent foes of science (especially biology) and actual history as well.

Not surprising that more and more actual smart people don't want to identify as Republican anymore.

NRO is trying to blame the left for the right's own failings here in an article that tries to both be smart and decry smart at the same time which unsurprisingly fails spectacularly at both efforts.
 
2014-08-02 01:20:45 PM  
If that were true, liberals would like NRO
 
2014-08-02 01:36:12 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: If that were true, liberals would like NRO


Ayup! Nice one.

/Much pithier than my effort.
 
2014-08-02 01:46:30 PM  
This thing where anyone on the internet can write any horseshiat that comes into their head is getting out of hand. Sure, I write any horseshiat that comes into my head but it's restricted to here and I can be ignored. This is a supposedly reputable news rag.
 
2014-08-02 01:59:55 PM  
It just galls these people that Neil deGrasse-Tyson is better looking, smarter, more charismatic, and more popular than they are.
 
2014-08-02 02:08:30 PM  
One of the hallmarks of the NRO's writing is the amazing (and unerring) characteristic of being able to spot a glaring internal self-contradiction in the first few paragraphs of virtually any article. The 'article' immediately pouts about those "liberals" crapping on people who don't agree with them:

FTFA: "All told, one suspects that Tyson was...instead referring to everybody who is not in their coterie. That, alas, is his way."

And then within a few sentences proceeds to perform the exact same rhetorical manuever by naming an entire class of terrible people populated by the usual suspects :

FTFA: "and, really, anybody who conforms to the Left's social and moral precepts while wearing glasses and babbling about statistics."

and thus enabling everyone to know that this was indeed 1) an NRO piece and 2) giving it as much credence and respect as the piece's author gave to his audience by including such glaring errors.

Protip: Using a thesaurus doesn't make you or your "patois" sound any smarter. It just means you used a thesaurus, Mr. Cooke.
 
2014-08-02 02:25:16 PM  
Conservatives just PRETEND they're not insecure, tiny-dicked babies.
 
2014-08-02 02:34:07 PM  
FTFA: One part insecure hipsterism, one part unwarranted condescension, the two defining characteristics of self-professed nerds are (a) the belief that one can discover all of the secrets of human experience through differential equations and (b) the unlovely tendency to presume themselves to be smarter than everybody else in the world.

Neil deGrasse Tyson...hipster.

i595.photobucket.com
 
2014-08-02 02:43:27 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: If that were true, liberals would like NRO


truth

I love when the goptards argue that dumb brown people are dumbly voting for dems. Voting against their own interests. you know, because god and family.

They might be dumb, but they can tell that the goptards dont give two shiats about them.

FOOD STAMPS? nope
minimum wage? NOPE
jobs programs? NOPE

even if you have a job now, if you were POOR when you were younger, you remember how the government helped. even if it were just the government cheese.

Strange, that those of us who were HELPED in our past, wish to continue helping the next generations.

/teahadists are destroying america, vote democrats
 
2014-08-02 02:44:40 PM  
img.fark.net


Dumbass doesn't know the difference between a nerd and a geek.

"I get sick with fear talking to people," he says. "It sucks."

That is a nerd.

 Most of them spend their time on television speaking fluently, debating with passion, and hanging out with celebrities.

That is a geek.
 
2014-08-02 02:55:22 PM  
the unlovely tendency to presume themselves to be smarter than everybody else in the world.

Point of fact: Neil deGrasse Tyson and Bill Nye don't have to presume themselves to be smarter than anyone who works at NRO.  That is an observable fact.

Oh and - NRO headline on Oct 26, 2012: Barring some sudden change, Mitt Romney will win the popular vote - Nate Silver doesn't have to presume anything either.
 
2014-08-02 03:08:03 PM  

Doctor Funkenstein: FTFA: One part insecure hipsterism, one part unwarranted condescension, the two defining characteristics of self-professed nerds are (a) the belief that one can discover all of the secrets of human experience through differential equations and (b) the unlovely tendency to presume themselves to be smarter than everybody else in the world.

Neil deGrasse Tyson...hipster.

[i595.photobucket.com image 479x269]


who the hell uses diffyQs in science?
all human experience? HAHA HAH HAHAHAHA HAH HAA

no, science tries to explain that which can be explained. as the mass of all human knowledge expands, we are able to explain more things.

Super conductors, used to be magic, but we now think we can explain them. Might still be wrong.
Big bang theory and age of the universe. Used to 8000 years because some moron counted the bible, we now think it some 14-15 billion years. If and when a better theory comes into vogue, that age will change.  If and when we have a new value for hubble's constant, that will change.

unlike stupid people who are unable to comprehend, unlike ignorant people who are unwilling to learn something new, geeks and nerds are able to learn new things and change their point of view.
on any topic.
 
2014-08-02 03:10:06 PM  
Just like the NRO is pretending to be smart?
 
2014-08-02 03:11:26 PM  
Liberals have Neil deGrasse-Tyson. Conservatives have Ted Nugent. The defense rests.
 
2014-08-02 04:08:32 PM  
Damn you libs telling me my degree was sexy!  I believed you!
 
2014-08-02 04:25:35 PM  
I should quit my job and just write conservative bullshiat on the internet.
 
2014-08-02 04:26:10 PM  
FYI: National Report is fake news.
 
2014-08-02 04:27:30 PM  

Fantasta Potamus: FYI: National Report is fake news.


Silly me. I thought it said National Report, it's National Review.

It's getting hard to keep them all straight.
 
2014-08-02 04:30:05 PM  
Written by someone who's pissed that it's now cool to be smart.
 
2014-08-02 04:33:06 PM  

Fantasta Potamus: FYI: National Report is fake news.


That'd be nice if TFA was from the Report.
 
2014-08-02 04:34:07 PM  

Delta1212: Written by someone who's pissed that it's now cool to be smart.


Based on the 'Reality'-TV count, I believe you to be fractally mistaken.  Farkers aren't a big enough fraction of the population to overcome the derp parroted by the mouthbreather/sisterfarker/godbotherers.
 
2014-08-02 04:34:10 PM  
Democrats: Come as you are.
Republicans: Come as we are. Better yet, don't come at all.
 
2014-08-02 04:34:46 PM  

Fantasta Potamus: Fantasta Potamus: FYI: National Report is fake news.

Silly me. I thought it said National Report, it's National Review.

It's getting hard to keep them all straight.


I see you posted this before mine.

Snark retracted.
 
2014-08-02 04:35:11 PM  
one part unwarranted condescension

Oh no, the condescension is quite warranted.
 
2014-08-02 04:37:24 PM  
This is what you get when you have a generation of Southern Republicans who learned physics by watching the General Lee jump the Chattahoochee
 
2014-08-02 04:37:25 PM  
Did that article really just list a bunch of professionals with years of education and experience in their fields and then proceed link them to "hipster nerdism"? They're not real nerds because, what, they're not bullied by jocks or something? People celebrate them instead of avoid them? They're not shy bordering on anti-social? Should they wear more pocket protectors?
 
2014-08-02 04:38:01 PM  

Somacandra: FTFA: "and, really, anybody who conforms to the Left's social and moral precepts while wearing glasses and babbling about statistics."


Um, I'm guilty of those things. What does that make me (dnrtfa)?
 
2014-08-02 04:51:48 PM  
Did I just read a high school burn book?
 
2014-08-02 04:52:58 PM  
William Buckley would be proud.
 
2014-08-02 04:53:48 PM  
FTFA: One part insecure hipsterism, one part unwarranted condescension, the two defining characteristics of self-professed nerds are (a) the belief that one can discover all of the secrets of human experience through differential equations and (b) the unlovely tendency to presume themselves to be smarter than everybody else in the world.

Someone's still mad that he got laughed at for eating all the paste.
 
2014-08-02 04:53:51 PM  

SilentStrider: It just galls these people that Neil deGrasse-Tyson is better looking, smarter, more charismatic, and more popular than they are.


In their defense, though, he's smarter, more charismatic and more popular than most people, including you and me.

/"better looking" is too subjective for me to say whether or not he's better looking than most people
//to me, he ain't Mick Jagger-level ugly, but he's not exactly as Adonisesque as John Barrowman either
 
2014-08-02 04:57:44 PM  

Bith Set Me Up: Democrats: Come as you are.
Republicans: Come as we are. Better yet, don't come at all.


Which is all you ever need to know about both parties when it comes to intelligence. Ideological purity can only come from having a completely closed mind.
 
2014-08-02 04:57:54 PM  
Not surprising, really.  Nobody likes smart people.

NOBODY.
 
2014-08-02 04:59:11 PM  
And conservatives pretend to like the dumb ones.

I think the libs are ahead.
 
2014-08-02 05:01:04 PM  
Read that as 'National Report reveals liberals' dirtiest secret' so totally expected satire with bandwagons of Teacups jumping with joy onto the faux Truth® train.

Was all sad and stuff upon realizing it was actually National Review, the place where Teapublican writers go to die before being buried at WND.

Then realized National Review is just as much hysterical satire as National Report, though the former remains completely unaware of it, so I was all happy again and shiat.
 
2014-08-02 05:07:08 PM  

ReverendJynxed: And conservatives pretend to like the dumb ones.


Like them? They elect them to national office.
 
2014-08-02 05:10:54 PM  

thebrotherhoodofevilgeeks.files.wordpress.comrlv.zcache.com

 
2014-08-02 05:11:01 PM  
So, we can add "geek" and "nerd" to the list of things the GOP is afraid of?

/I know intelligence is already on the list but now they're being specific
 
2014-08-02 05:13:13 PM  

quatchi: Answering a question about Obama's cameo on Cosmos, Tyson was laconic. "That was their choice," he told Grantland. "We didn't ask them. We didn't have anything to say about it. They asked us, 'Do you mind if we intro your show?' Can't say no to the president. So he did."

One wonders how easy it would have proved to say "No" to the president if he had been, say, Scott Walker.

Weird, I woke up this morning and the first thing I did was wonder aloud what would happen if Scott "FAS-face" Walker asked NdGT if he could intro the next Cosmo.

You know, cos of how highly probable that scenario is.

What a weird, passive-aggressive, mish-mash, word salad of an article that was.

Smart and Nerd are now political terms because hipsters?

More like the Right have consistently proven themselves to be no friends of facts or science.

In fact, time and time again they are ardent foes of science (especially biology) and actual history as well.

Not surprising that more and more actual smart people don't want to identify as Republican anymore.

NRO is trying to blame the left for the right's own failings here in an article that tries to both be smart and decry smart at the same time which unsurprisingly fails spectacularly at both efforts.


This. So much this.
 
2014-08-02 05:15:57 PM  

hawcian: Did that article really just list a bunch of professionals with years of education and experience in their fields and then proceed link them to "hipster nerdism"? They're not real nerds because, what, they're not bullied by jocks or something? People celebrate them instead of avoid them? They're not shy bordering on anti-social? Should they wear more pocket protectors?


Yup. They forget that those of us who were nerds and geeks in HS are now grown ups with professional jobs.
 
2014-08-02 05:19:57 PM  
There are some educated liberals in the big cities...and millions of uneducated liberal sheeple on welfare.
 
2014-08-02 05:20:26 PM  

brigid_fitch: hawcian: Did that article really just list a bunch of professionals with years of education and experience in their fields and then proceed link them to "hipster nerdism"? They're not real nerds because, what, they're not bullied by jocks or something? People celebrate them instead of avoid them? They're not shy bordering on anti-social? Should they wear more pocket protectors?

Yup. They forget that those of us who were nerds and geeks in HS are now grown ups with professional jobs.


Soon...
 
2014-08-02 05:20:53 PM  
To quote conservative philosopher Rick Santorum smart people will never be on their side.
 
2014-08-02 05:22:22 PM  

Friction8r: There are some educated liberals in the big cities...and millions of uneducated liberal sheeple racist hicks on welfare.


You misspelled Tea Baggers.
 
2014-08-02 05:22:51 PM  

Friction8r: There are some educated liberals in the big cities...and millions of uneducated liberal sheeple on welfare.


You write for NRO, correct?
 
2014-08-02 05:23:24 PM  

Friction8r: There are some educated liberals in the big cities...and millions of uneducated liberal sheeple on welfare.


24.media.tumblr.com
 
2014-08-02 05:27:37 PM  

Friction8r: There are some educated liberals in the big cities...and millions of uneducated liberal sheeple on welfare.


There are some educated conservatives in the big cities....and millions of uneducated conservative sheeple on welfare.
 
2014-08-02 05:27:46 PM  

King Something: In their defense, though, he's smarter, more charismatic and more popular than most people, including you and me.



well yeah, this is true.


/"better looking" is too subjective for me to say whether or not he's better looking than most people
//to me, he ain't Mick Jagger-level ugly, but he's not exactly as Adonisesque as John Barrowman either


I don't normally have much a meter on other men, but to me, he's one of the few I can gauge to definitely be attractive. As is Barrowman.
 
Displayed 50 of 203 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report