Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Shadowlocked)   Arrested Development Season 4 reviewed. [Insert meta-joke.]   (shadowlocked.com ) divider line
    More: Interesting  
•       •       •

2112 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 02 Aug 2014 at 10:12 AM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



33 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-08-02 08:14:04 AM  
Come ON!
 
2014-08-02 09:24:17 AM  
I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.
 
2014-08-02 10:03:13 AM  
Season 4 was completely different in every way from the seasons that came before is and was utterly fantastic.
 
2014-08-02 10:13:50 AM  
Wow. Way to be on top of things, reviewer.
 
2014-08-02 10:19:43 AM  

Earthworm Jim Jones: I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.


Buy dvds.
Borrow dvds.
Pirate them.

You can probably even find a stream from projectfreetv or something.
 
2014-08-02 10:22:48 AM  

Shostie: Wow. Way to be on top of things, reviewer.


I think the review is for the DVDs, which are only just now being released.
 
2014-08-02 10:27:02 AM  

Grey Street: Shostie: Wow. Way to be on top of things, reviewer.

I think the review is for the DVDs, which are only just now being released.


Ah. I guess that makes a bit more sense.
 
2014-08-02 10:27:26 AM  
FTFA: "with Tambor pulling double duty as George Sr's equally moral free twin brother Oscar"

For someone who claims to be as big a fan of the show as this reviewer did, he sure didn't watch the first 3 seasons very critically, now did he? I mean christ; that's the only way anyone could tell the two twins apart half the time...
 
2014-08-02 10:30:46 AM  

firesign: FTFA: "with Tambor pulling double duty as George Sr's equally moral free twin brother Oscar"

For someone who claims to be as big a fan of the show as this reviewer did, he sure didn't watch the first 3 seasons very critically, now did he? I mean christ; that's the only way anyone could tell the two twins apart half the time...


Have you seen season 4? The statement is more accurate there.

Also sleeping with your twin's wife and scamming the son into buying bad lad may indeed be considered immoral behavior to some.
 
2014-08-02 10:36:24 AM  
Season 4 of Arrested Development was like hooking up with and old girlfriend. You find that she may look the same, but she has changed in a number of ways. At first, you resent the changes and you just want the old her back. But the more time you spend with her, the more you realize you can come to love the new her.

/"Daddy needs to get his rocks off" made me laugh as hard as anything else did all last year.
 
2014-08-02 10:39:19 AM  

Smackledorfer: firesign: FTFA: "with Tambor pulling double duty as George Sr's equally moral free twin brother Oscar"

For someone who claims to be as big a fan of the show as this reviewer did, he sure didn't watch the first 3 seasons very critically, now did he? I mean christ; that's the only way anyone could tell the two twins apart half the time...

Have you seen season 4? The statement is more accurate there.

Also sleeping with your twin's wife and scamming the son into buying bad lad may indeed be considered immoral behavior to some.


Valid points, but I would definitely argue the "equally" bit....
 
2014-08-02 10:43:25 AM  

gunga galunga: Season 4 of Arrested Development was like hooking up with and old girlfriend. You find that she may look the same, but she has changed in a number of ways. At first, you resent the changes and you just want the old her back. But the more time you spend with her, the more you realize you can come to love the new her.

/"Daddy needs to get his rocks off" made me laugh as hard as anything else did all last year.


I enjoyed s4.  It was absolutely no s1-3.  I've binge watched them all and I don't recall any episodes that I sat there thinking "is this one going to end let's get to the good stuff" but I know if I ever watch S4 again there will be plenty of that.  The last half came together well, and the first couple were nice, but then I recall a dead zone in the middle.  They also ruined the family dynamic too much with michael becoming incompetent. Terry Crews was great though.
 
2014-08-02 10:46:50 AM  
am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.
 
2014-08-02 10:49:37 AM  

mahavishnunj: am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.


It is worth pushing past the hump.  Of course now you'd have to restart and take the hump all over or risk missing a lot. I'd go for it.
 
2014-08-02 10:51:24 AM  

mahavishnunj: am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.


I made it more than half, I couldn't finish either.  I didn't find anything particularly funny or enjoyable and came to the realization that I genuinely disliked every one of the characters.
 
2014-08-02 10:54:32 AM  

gadian: mahavishnunj: am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.

I made it more than half, I couldn't finish either.  I didn't find anything particularly funny or enjoyable and came to the realization that I genuinely disliked every one of the characters.


Now, I do find plenty that's fun and enjoyable about them, but i realized that this particular descriptor could be readily applied to most of Netflix's in-house shows (huge example: House of Cards, but the rest too.) Apparently it's their bread & butter. Huh.
 
2014-08-02 10:56:08 AM  

Smackledorfer: gunga galunga: Season 4 of Arrested Development was like hooking up with and old girlfriend. You find that she may look the same, but she has changed in a number of ways. At first, you resent the changes and you just want the old her back. But the more time you spend with her, the more you realize you can come to love the new her.

/"Daddy needs to get his rocks off" made me laugh as hard as anything else did all last year.

I enjoyed s4.  It was absolutely no s1-3.  I've binge watched them all and I don't recall any episodes that I sat there thinking "is this one going to end let's get to the good stuff" but I know if I ever watch S4 again there will be plenty of that.  The last half came together well, and the first couple were nice, but then I recall a dead zone in the middle.  They also ruined the family dynamic too much with michael becoming incompetent. Terry Crews was great though.


Michael was always just as selfish and incompetent as everyone else, it was just less noticeable because everyone around him, himself included, acted like he wasn't.
 
2014-08-02 11:00:19 AM  

Delta1212: Michael was always just as selfish and incompetent as everyone else, it was just less noticeable because everyone around him, himself included, acted like he wasn't.


He was always messed up, but no he was not as incompetent as everyone else, and I would say much less selfish.  I agree to disagree though.

He was certainly never in a position to wind up homeless.
 
2014-08-02 11:02:49 AM  

Earthworm Jim Jones: I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.


I'm one of those without Netflix as well, don't feel alone.

I caught up on all 3 seasons OnDemand because FXX shows them.

Now I need to weigh if this new season will finally make me pull the trigger on getting Netflix.
 
2014-08-02 11:04:10 AM  

Smackledorfer: mahavishnunj: am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.

It is worth pushing past the hump.  Of course now you'd have to restart and take the hump all over or risk missing a lot. I'd go for it.


Yeah, the second Gob episode (with Tony Wonder) absolutely killed what little momentum it had. Jump ahead to the Maeby/George Michael episodes at the end, which are gold.
 
2014-08-02 11:10:41 AM  

fatalvenom: Earthworm Jim Jones: I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.

I'm one of those without Netflix as well, don't feel alone.

I caught up on all 3 seasons OnDemand because FXX shows them.

Now I need to weigh if this new season will finally make me pull the trigger on getting Netflix.


I only subscribed to Netflix (free month trial) just for Season 4 and canceled it when I finished watching it. Just put in a new email address and use up a weekend on it. The season's a little odd due to the structure and not quite as good as the others but still solid.
 
2014-08-02 11:41:06 AM  
Fark the farkin Hey Fark app I lost everything I wrote. Season 4 is bad and you all should feel bad for enjoying it.
 
2014-08-02 11:54:50 AM  

mahavishnunj: am i the only one that couldnt finish it? i think i made it about halfway through and had to bail.


I'm with you on that. After loving 1-3, I found 4 unwatchable and finally bailed during Ep. 8.
 
2014-08-02 12:08:03 PM  

Smackledorfer: Also sleeping with your twin's wife and scamming the son into buying bad lad may indeed be considered immoral behavior to some.


welcometofark.jpg
 
2014-08-02 12:17:27 PM  
Them?

Just introduced the girlfriend to AD via a binge watch of all the seasons.  Season 4 has always been my least favorite, but there are some really good parts.  "Is there a little girl here all alone?  Daddy needs to get his rocks off!" is unbelievably contrived, strained, over-extended, and so funny I pee a little from laughing so hard.

The great part about the show has always been that there are really no likeable characters.  George Michael is the closest, and his innocence is what does it (except for -- you know -- the active, persistent incest).  Michael has always been selfish and smug, but in comparison to the rest of the family he comes off looking like a great guy.  Put that same character in a different show and I guarantee you he comes off as slimy.

I don't think Season 4 is bad by any means, and I was really impressed that back at the beginning of Season 1 Lindsay mentioned that she doesn't care about ostriches...  Sometimes the show is like a master's course in tight writing.  I'm a big fan of meta humor.  One of my favorite shows.
 
2014-08-02 12:21:43 PM  
It wasn't funny. Gob stammering for thirty seconds was really painful. The gay angle was not very good or compelling. Tobias was good.
 
2014-08-02 12:35:51 PM  
I can sum up Arrested Development's season 4 in 4 words:

"Too little, Too late."

Sorry, netflix. You tried, but Season 4 just didn't feel like arrested development. Whether it was the actors suddenly aging 6 years, or if it was that it just felt different, I don't know. It just didn't feel like arrested development's style - it was like they were trying to modernize the camera work, while ignoring that subtle jokes and flashbacks were the backbone of arrested development.
 
2014-08-02 12:56:48 PM  

Somaticasual: I can sum up Arrested Development's season 4 in 4 words:

"Too little, Too late."

Sorry, netflix. You tried, but Season 4 just didn't feel like arrested development. Whether it was the actors suddenly aging 6 years, or if it was that it just felt different, I don't know. It just didn't feel like arrested development's style - it was like they were trying to modernize the camera work, while ignoring that subtle jokes and flashbacks were the backbone of arrested development.


not only that, it was just bad writing. there wasnt a single laugh in like 6 episodes. that was not how it went before. if it were some amazing meta joke that paid off at the end, it was too much nonsense to get to that point. i just prefer to believe the whole season never happened, like highlander 2. which never happened.
 
2014-08-02 01:00:51 PM  
I've almost finished my review of the final episode of Seinfeld.
 
2014-08-02 02:13:18 PM  

Earthworm Jim Jones: I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.


You can stream it on Amazon now as well.
 
2014-08-02 02:42:19 PM  

Smackledorfer: Earthworm Jim Jones: I've only seen a few a episodes and I loved all of them. I need to find a way to binge watch from the beginning but I'm one of the seven people in the world without Netflix.

Buy dvds.
Borrow dvds.
Pirate them.

You can probably even find a stream from projectfreetv or something.


Your local library may have the DVDs as well.

Seasons 1-3 were spectacular. Season 4 was meh, but has its moments.
 
2014-08-02 04:10:41 PM  
Though its ambitions were admirable, the fourth season was hampered by too much time passing, the absence of the original writers (save for Hurwitz), and the incompatible schedules of the cast meant lots of stand-ins, ADR, and really disjointed framing and editing. The "faki-cam" was super distracting too.
 
2014-08-02 06:50:15 PM  
S4 had so many great scenes. Michael trying and repeatedly failing to kick the tumbleweed had me in stitches.
 
Displayed 33 of 33 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter








In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report