Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Minneapolis Star Tribune)   Here is the only negative review of Guardians of the Galaxy (so far), but what's even stranger is this critic claims Marvel movies are built on "an unshakeable foundation of self-seriousness"   (startribune.com ) divider line 84
    More: Stupid  
•       •       •

2751 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 28 Jul 2014 at 4:51 PM (1 year ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



84 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-07-28 03:15:43 PM  
The Marvel universe, of course, isn't entirely lacking comedy, as we've seen in "Iron Man" and "The Avengers." But on the whole, the Marvel kingdom is built on an unshakable foundation of self-seriousness

WTF? Iron Man and The Avengers aren't serious....but the rest (what's left in the Marvel movie universe, Thor?) is? What is he babbling about?

I think he's thinking not of Marvel but DC, where even Superman is a murdering emo biatch.
 
2014-07-28 03:57:08 PM  

Mugato: The Marvel universe, of course, isn't entirely lacking comedy, as we've seen in "Iron Man" and "The Avengers." But on the whole, the Marvel kingdom is built on an unshakable foundation of self-seriousness

WTF? Iron Man and The Avengers aren't serious....but the rest (what's left in the Marvel movie universe, Thor?) is? What is he babbling about?

I think he's thinking not of Marvel but DC, where even Superman is a murdering emo biatch.




Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.

He felt bad about killing someone doesn't make him emo- it makes him a human


But other than that, You are right. Marvels alien invasion was much more hilariously done than Man Of Steel. I mean, we wouldn't want the drama of bad things happening to get in the way of "Hulk Smash"
 
2014-07-28 04:05:21 PM  
The resulting scrum for the orb introduces several more seekers

Didn't Scrum For the Orb play Coachella this year?
 
2014-07-28 04:46:43 PM  

Darth_Lukecash: Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.


How many other people were killed during the massive fight in Metropolis.
 
2014-07-28 04:52:23 PM  

ManateeGag: Darth_Lukecash: Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.

How many other people were killed during the massive fight in Metropolis.


Doesn't mean Supes murdered them ...
 
2014-07-28 04:53:30 PM  

ManateeGag: Darth_Lukecash: Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.

How many other people were killed during the massive fight in Metropolis.


4, well 4 and half if you count the dwarf, but really who does?

/and 1.2 million hookers but as we all know they arent even people
//which is why its ok to kill them
 
2014-07-28 04:59:41 PM  
men in spandex

Oooh, edgy. Do any of them actually wear spandex in the movies?
 
2014-07-28 04:59:48 PM  
No one complains about all the people Captain America killed.
 
2014-07-28 05:00:23 PM  

spcMike: No one complains about all the people Captain America killed.


Not true. Red Skull complained.
 
2014-07-28 05:04:37 PM  
Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.
 
2014-07-28 05:05:05 PM  

ManateeGag: Darth_Lukecash: Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.

How many other people were killed during the massive fight in Metropolis.


Most were killed in the initial attack, while Superman was trying to take down the terriforming engine.

Some movies are more lighthearted others are darker. Room for both without tearing down the other
 
2014-07-28 05:05:26 PM  

spcMike: No one complains about all the people Captain America killed.


That's because no one saw that movie. And by "no one" I mean "me." I didn't see that movie.

I tried. I just ... ugh. No thanks.
 
2014-07-28 05:06:01 PM  

spcMike: No one complains about all the people Captain America killed.


Well he was a soldier in WWII.
 
2014-07-28 05:07:49 PM  

This text is now purple: spcMike: No one complains about all the people Captain America killed.

Not true. Red Skull complained.


And it was World War II. Little upset hydra distanced themselves from nazis. Nazis are good bad guys.
 
2014-07-28 05:10:15 PM  
Disappointed John C. Reilly fan was apparently expecting a laff-riot and got something more similar in tone to every other Marvel movie.
 
2014-07-28 05:10:40 PM  
From the article:

It takes more than a soundtrack full of '70s tunes, a talking raccoon and a few gags about "Footloose" to be funny. It's "zany" in quotes.

You know, you don't have to tell us it's in quotes when you write it down.  That's what those " marks you put around the word are.

c2.staticflickr.com
 
2014-07-28 05:12:50 PM  
What's his Fark handle?
 
2014-07-28 05:13:29 PM  
How has this already pivoted to discussing  Man of Steel again?  Can we just have a daily designated MoS biatchfest/apologist thread so that threads about other movies can be about, y'know,  other movies?

Really looking forward to GotG, have been for two years now.  I can't believe I'm almost 72 hours away from the Thursday night show in glorious IMAX 3D.
 
2014-07-28 05:14:37 PM  

Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.


The closest I've seen is Boyhood, which just came out and has 154/156 positive reviews.
 
2014-07-28 05:17:25 PM  

Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.


I know Man on Wire got 100%. And I think Toy Story 2 did also.

Checking...

Man on Wire - 151 out of 151.

Toy Story 2- 163 out of 163.
 
2014-07-28 05:18:13 PM  
Didn't know Armond White resorted to pseudonyms
 
2014-07-28 05:18:57 PM  
All I got from that review is that the reviewer doesn't like comic book movies. The joke's on you, Mr. Movie Critic. Given the current returns on DC and Marvel properties, cartoon heroes are going to comprise somewhere between 50-70% of your workload for roughly the next decade.
 
2014-07-28 05:19:52 PM  
Here's the question - what rating has this dude given to the other Marvel movies? Is he down on all of them? If so, it doesn't make his critique  wrong, it just means it should be read in that light.
 
2014-07-28 05:25:17 PM  
Someone mentioned in the Wonder Woman thread that the big difference is Marvel doesn't fark with the look of its characters. They are exactly like their comic counterparts. Stars and stripes Cap? Sure. Hot rod red and yellow Ironman? You bet. Green motherfarking Hulk? Of course. The Asgardians wear WHAT?! Okay, let's do that. We'll make it look cool somehow (and they did! Loki's helmet could've looked lame but instead it's totally badass).

But DC is seemingly terrified of its characters' costumes and keeps trying to update them, make them more gritty or something. Can't have a Superman wearing red underoos. No one will accept a WW in star-spangled hot pants. And we've now had 7 Batman movies (soon to be 8) with constantly changing black costumes and not yet one attempt at the yellow logo on the chest or anything resembling the classic Adam West outfit.

And that's the difference right there. DC seems to be constantly trying to make its characters/movies something they're not. Like they're grand socio-political statements on society or something. Marvel keeps things simple: They're comic books. They're comic book movies. Don't try to complicate things with hamfisted messages, deep introspection or moralizing.
 
2014-07-28 05:27:14 PM  

Ishkur: Someone mentioned in the Wonder Woman thread that the big difference is Marvel doesn't fark with the look of its characters. They are exactly like their comic counterparts. Stars and stripes Cap? Sure. Hot rod red and yellow Ironman? You bet. Green motherfarking Hulk? Of course. The Asgardians wear WHAT?! Okay, let's do that. We'll make it look cool somehow (and they did! Loki's helmet could've looked lame but instead it's totally badass).

But DC is seemingly terrified of its characters' costumes and keeps trying to update them, make them more gritty or something. Can't have a Superman wearing red underoos. No one will accept a WW in star-spangled hot pants. And we've now had 7 Batman movies (soon to be 8) with constantly changing black costumes and not yet one attempt at the yellow logo on the chest or anything resembling the classic Adam West outfit.

And that's the difference right there. DC seems to be constantly trying to make its characters/movies something they're not. Like they're grand socio-political statements on society or something. Marvel keeps things simple: They're comic books. They're comic book movies. Don't try to complicate things with hamfisted messages, deep introspection or moralizing.


This would be a good critique if not for the insane success and popularity of Nolan's Batman trilogy. And wasn't the Green Lantern movie pretty faithful to the look of that comic?
 
2014-07-28 05:30:44 PM  

farbekrieg: ManateeGag: Darth_Lukecash: Superman did not murder anyone. He killed Zod protecting a family. Legally it would be self defense onBehalf of another.

How many other people were killed during the massive fight in Metropolis.

4, well 4 and half if you count the dwarf, but really who does?

/and 1.2 million hookers but as we all know they arent even people
//which is why its ok to kill them


When they are alive they're call girls, when they're dead, they're just hookers! Archer taught me that.
 
2014-07-28 05:32:22 PM  
Did a bit of reading up on Jack Coyle and he apparently didn't like any of the Marvel movies that he reviewed.  He comes off as a nose-in-the-air doofus.  Typical critic nonsense.

I'm not surprise he panned GotG.
 
2014-07-28 05:33:48 PM  

DamnYankees: This would be a good critique if not for the insane success and popularity of Nolan's Batman trilogy.


Well, you know, there's no accounting for taste.
 
2014-07-28 05:33:49 PM  

Ishkur: But DC is seemingly terrified of its characters' costumes and keeps trying to update them, make them more gritty or something. Can't have a Superman wearing red underoos. No one will accept a WW in star-spangled hot pants. And we've now had 7 Batman movies (soon to be 8) with constantly changing black costumes and not yet one attempt at the yellow logo on the chest or anything resembling the classic Adam West outfit.


Well to be fair, the Superman and Wonder Woman costumes are a lot sillier than any in the Avengers. As for the Batman costumes, the ones from the Burton films had the yellow emblem and I don't think I need to go into the silliness of the Schumacker suits. The X-Men had all black uniforms instead of yellow spandex, that wasn't Marvel Studios per se but there's no reason why they would be any more faithful.
 
2014-07-28 05:34:33 PM  

DamnYankees: Ishkur: Someone mentioned in the Wonder Woman thread that the big difference is Marvel doesn't fark with the look of its characters. They are exactly like their comic counterparts. Stars and stripes Cap? Sure. Hot rod red and yellow Ironman? You bet. Green motherfarking Hulk? Of course. The Asgardians wear WHAT?! Okay, let's do that. We'll make it look cool somehow (and they did! Loki's helmet could've looked lame but instead it's totally badass).

But DC is seemingly terrified of its characters' costumes and keeps trying to update them, make them more gritty or something. Can't have a Superman wearing red underoos. No one will accept a WW in star-spangled hot pants. And we've now had 7 Batman movies (soon to be 8) with constantly changing black costumes and not yet one attempt at the yellow logo on the chest or anything resembling the classic Adam West outfit.

And that's the difference right there. DC seems to be constantly trying to make its characters/movies something they're not. Like they're grand socio-political statements on society or something. Marvel keeps things simple: They're comic books. They're comic book movies. Don't try to complicate things with hamfisted messages, deep introspection or moralizing.

This would be a good critique if not for the insane success and popularity of Nolan's Batman trilogy. And wasn't the Green Lantern movie pretty faithful to the look of that comic?


also, Burton's Batman had the yellow logo on the chest.
 
2014-07-28 05:39:36 PM  
Hollywood had me at psychotic, gun-toting raccoon. No reviews necessary.
 
2014-07-28 06:09:03 PM  
Yeah, completely self-absorbed seriousness from Marvel.

I know nobody in the theatre I saw The Avengers in laughed at "puny god." Or Cap finally understanding WTF someone was referencing. Or Galaga. Didn't even sense a smile in the crowd when Thor paused for a second with thought then hung his hammer up on the coat-rack in Dark World.

/"he wants a tower built to the heavens with his name on-- son of a biatch!" still gets me when less than sober
//where there many jokes or gags in the CA movies? Those are the only ones that really take a serious tone
///sure they aren't comedies, but not wanking in the mirror either as TFA thinks
\we may be feeding the troll here...
 
2014-07-28 06:22:00 PM  

DamnYankees: Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.

I know Man on Wire got 100%. And I think Toy Story 2 did also.

Checking...

Man on Wire - 151 out of 151.

Toy Story 2- 163 out of 163.


Meh. This is the only site I trust for my film reviews.

As you can see, Mary Poppins is the greatest film ever.

/I first encountered that site in the mid-late 90s; and it still rocks that style.
 
2014-07-28 06:26:04 PM  

CyberKultist: Yeah, completely self-absorbed seriousness from Marvel.

I know nobody in the theatre I saw The Avengers in laughed at "puny god." Or Cap finally understanding WTF someone was referencing. Or Galaga. Didn't even sense a smile in the crowd when Thor paused for a second with thought then hung his hammer up on the coat-rack in Dark World.

/"he wants a tower built to the heavens with his name on-- son of a biatch!" still gets me when less than sober
//where there many jokes or gags in the CA movies? Those are the only ones that really take a serious tone
///sure they aren't comedies, but not wanking in the mirror either as TFA thinks
\we may be feeding the troll here...


Nobody laughed at "puny god" the first time I saw Avengers. They were all still laugh/cheering from Hulk smashing Loki, so it was too loud to hear it. I legitmate found out about that line on Fark after I'd seen the movie. Opening night was awesome.

The Cap movies tend to have less jokes, partly due to the subject matter of his movies (war for the first, massive corruption in the intelligence community in the second), but Papa Stark and Tommy Lee Jones provide some comic relief in the first and Falcon and Widow do the same in the second, without any of the characters feeling silly or like they are just comic relief.

Hulk was lacking in the funny. Like the second joke happens an hour and ten minutes into the movie.
 
2014-07-28 06:35:40 PM  

iron de havilland: DamnYankees: Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.

I know Man on Wire got 100%. And I think Toy Story 2 did also.

Checking...

Man on Wire - 151 out of 151.

Toy Story 2- 163 out of 163.

Meh. This is the only site I trust for my film reviews.

As you can see, Mary Poppins is the greatest film ever.

/I first encountered that site in the mid-late 90s; and it still rocks that style.


CapAlert was a staple here on Fark for many years, but that was well before your time. It was back when balls were getting stuck in chairs and one Farker was impregnating damn near everybody.
 
2014-07-28 06:35:48 PM  
Doesnt he know not to raise the ire of the legions of comic book dorks?
 
2014-07-28 06:37:22 PM  

DamnYankees: And wasn't the Green Lantern movie pretty faithful to the look of that comic?


Green Lantern had so many things wrong with it, the costumes were the least of its problems.

That, and Ryan Reynolds has somehow become Box Office Poison Numero Uno.
 
2014-07-28 06:38:44 PM  

HawgWild: spcMike: No one complains about all the people Captain America killed. That's because no one saw that movie. And by "no one" I mean "me." I didn't see that movie. I tried. I just ... ugh. No thanks.


Really? I think they are the best of the Marvel Movies. Well Iron Man 1 may be better than Captain America 2 but the first Captain America movie is the best.

Thor is a distance distance 6 and 7th. And that with the unbelievable crush I have on Jaimie Alexander!

i.imgur.com
i.imgur.com
i.imgur.com

my goddess...
 
2014-07-28 06:42:28 PM  

soporific: CapAlert was a staple here on Fark for many years, but that was well before your time. It was back when balls were getting stuck in chairs and one Farker was impregnating damn near everybody.


Wow, I hadn't though of that site in a while. The 1995 era web design, the rampant psychosis. It's fun for a while but gets old quick.
 
2014-07-28 06:42:42 PM  

soporific: iron de havilland: DamnYankees: Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.

I know Man on Wire got 100%. And I think Toy Story 2 did also.

Checking...

Man on Wire - 151 out of 151.

Toy Story 2- 163 out of 163.

Meh. This is the only site I trust for my film reviews.

As you can see, Mary Poppins is the greatest film ever.

/I first encountered that site in the mid-late 90s; and it still rocks that style.

CapAlert was a staple here on Fark for many years, but that was well before your time. It was back when balls were getting stuck in chairs and one Farker was impregnating damn near everybody.


i.chzbgr.com
 
2014-07-28 06:48:28 PM  

Mugato: soporific: CapAlert was a staple here on Fark for many years, but that was well before your time. It was back when balls were getting stuck in chairs and one Farker was impregnating damn near everybody.

Wow, I hadn't though of that site in a while. The 1995 era web design, the rampant psychosis. It's fun for a while but gets old quick.


It's useful if you want to know how many tattoos, piercings and children being disrespectful to their parents are in the movie.
 
2014-07-28 06:50:59 PM  

soporific: iron de havilland: DamnYankees: Fonaibung: Only negative review "so far," that is. Is there any movie that never received a single negative review? The odds are that more will come, even if the overall sentiment is very positive.

I'm seeing it a couple of weekends after opening. I am excited.

I know Man on Wire got 100%. And I think Toy Story 2 did also.

Checking...

Man on Wire - 151 out of 151.

Toy Story 2- 163 out of 163.

Meh. This is the only site I trust for my film reviews.

As you can see, Mary Poppins is the greatest film ever.

/I first encountered that site in the mid-late 90s; and it still rocks that style.

CapAlert was a staple here on Fark for many years, but that was well before your time. It was back when balls were getting stuck in chairs and one Farker was impregnating damn near everybody.


Poor Fb-, his life is being consumed by his progeny.
 
2014-07-28 07:00:38 PM  
Jesus are people really upset that someone didn't like a movie they haven't even seen yet? This shiat is over the top.
 
2014-07-28 07:04:02 PM  

fusillade762: It's useful if you want to know how many tattoos, piercings and children being disrespectful to their parents are in the movie.


And it turns out that Yoda...isn't a Christian.
 
2014-07-28 07:06:50 PM  
Ya know what the GotG Racoon reminds me of?

oyster.ignimgs.com
 
2014-07-28 07:16:12 PM  

Ow! That was my feelings!: Hollywood had me at psychotic, gun-toting raccoon. No reviews necessary.


lots of fun moments in CA:WS, which is easily the most serious Marvel movie so far.

"Was he wearing a parachute."  -- "No.  No, he was not."
"On your left."
"Secure the engine room, THEN find me a date." -- "I'm multitasking!"
 
2014-07-28 07:34:29 PM  

skyotter: Ow! That was my feelings!: Hollywood had me at psychotic, gun-toting raccoon. No reviews necessary.

lots of fun moments in CA:WS, which is easily the most serious Marvel movie so far.

"Was he wearing a parachute."  -- "No.  No, he was not."
"On your left."
"Secure the engine room, THEN find me a date." -- "I'm multitasking!"


"I do what he does. Just slower."
 
2014-07-28 07:36:33 PM  

Ow! That was my feelings!: Ya know what the GotG Racoon reminds me of?

[oyster.ignimgs.com image 460x276]


That reminds me of another Fark old-timer who seems to have vanished.
 
2014-07-28 07:43:39 PM  

fusillade762: Ow! That was my feelings!: Ya know what the GotG Racoon reminds me of?

[oyster.ignimgs.com image 460x276]

That reminds me of another Fark old-timer who seems to have vanished.


This Fark middle ager be curious, who's that? csb welcome.
 
2014-07-28 07:48:13 PM  
Stop disliking what I like!

Please, Fark, stop the fanboy stuff
 
Displayed 50 of 84 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report