If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(KKTV Colorado Springs)   Southwest Airlines: Complain about our service on social media? Kiss your reserved seat good-bye until you delete the complaint   (kktv.com) divider line 145
    More: Asinine  
•       •       •

8420 clicks; posted to Main » on 24 Jul 2014 at 1:29 AM (17 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



145 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-07-24 12:12:45 AM  
GasBeingPouredOnFire.jpg
 
2014-07-24 12:15:12 AM  
You are now free to do as you're told
 
2014-07-24 12:36:18 AM  
Dude was a douchebag.

He only paid for one ticket to get in the first boarding group; and then wanted to get the rest of his group in free.

Something else doesn't ring quite true about his story.

How did the agent know about the tweet and see the content?

Because most agents really don't have ability to leave their post while boarding is in progress for some tweet time.

To get a farken TWEET reviewed by authorities at airport is some pretty good douchbag grade behavior.

He mentioned the gate agents name...no one knows his followers on his tweet list.
That could be threatening.
 
2014-07-24 12:49:05 AM  
You know who should have a talk show? That gay flight attendant from Jet Blue who grabbed two beers and slid down the emergency slide while on the tarmac at laguardia a few years ago. If watch that dude's talk show. I'd like to hear his thoughts on things. Put him on late night with Kato next to him and Tan Mom as his band leader. I'd watch that.
 
2014-07-24 01:18:09 AM  

nickdaisy: You know who should have a talk show? That gay flight attendant from Jet Blue who grabbed two beers and slid down the emergency slide while on the tarmac at laguardia a few years ago. If watch that dude's talk show. I'd like to hear his thoughts on things. Put him on late night with Kato next to him and Tan Mom as his band leader. I'd watch that.


You. You're the reason we can't have good TV.

/farking reality show shiat
 
2014-07-24 01:34:13 AM  
lh6.googleusercontent.com

I'm freaking out! I am FREAKING out!
 
2014-07-24 01:34:39 AM  
Outside of Fark, I really have no place to share my disdain of goods and services online. This has lead me to be happily oblivious to many new social trends until long after they are over (Tebowing, Planking, God knows what else), and has allowed me to seamlessly travel through the rank and file of religious, political and social hypocrites without once letting on I am opposed to their BS.

It's a wonderful life that hasn't caused me much trouble, aside from missing occasional party invites sent out on Facebook.
 
2014-07-24 01:38:18 AM  

optikeye: Dude was a douchebag.

He only paid for one ticket to get in the first boarding group; and then wanted to get the rest of his group in free.

Something else doesn't ring quite true about his story.

How did the agent know about the tweet and see the content?

Because most agents really don't have ability to leave their post while boarding is in progress for some tweet time.

To get a farken TWEET reviewed by authorities at airport is some pretty good douchbag grade behavior.

He mentioned the gate agents name...no one knows his followers on his tweet list.
That could be threatening.


What do Hitler's boots taste like?   :  )
 
2014-07-24 01:39:02 AM  
P.S. - Godwin made a pithy remark.  Not a law.  It's not a law.  Hitler.  Hitler.  Grow up.
 
2014-07-24 01:41:37 AM  
www.quickmeme.com
 
2014-07-24 01:44:42 AM  
What is the proper tip for TSA agents for a happy ending during the  screening process?
 
2014-07-24 01:45:47 AM  
i'd make a youtube video of me burning those vouchers talking about how insulting an effort that was.
 
2014-07-24 01:45:59 AM  
If you're going to tweet something like that, wait until the plane leaves the gate. It's not as if you have to turn your phone off anymore...
 
2014-07-24 01:52:16 AM  
It's been awhile since I've flown Southwest, but since when do they reserve seats?
 
2014-07-24 01:52:23 AM  
I have lifetime flight benefits on SWA, and I know to keep your mouth shut. Sounds like this guy was trying the "Pay attention to me, or else I'll be a biatch" card, and got thumped in the nuts.
He says he won't fly SWA, but if the company he sends him on SWA, you bet he'll be a bit more cognizant of the perils of being a douche.
 
2014-07-24 01:52:59 AM  
I'm trying to decide what I hate more - air travel or Twitter.
 
2014-07-24 01:54:30 AM  
I fly Southwest more than I do any other airline and the process for boarding is pretty farking obvious:

Wheelchairs and children flying alone
A group tickets
Families
B group
C group

If you're in the A group and your family isn't, you either pay to move them up to A group (you can do that at check in sometimes) or you suck it up and wait. It's not that difficult. Hell, they announce it prior to starting the boarding process every time I fly with them.

I don't like Southwest pulling the guy from the plane for a non-threatening tweet (that's a pretty douchey move) but the guy should know how things work with the airline by now (or at least did some research ahead of time).
 
2014-07-24 01:56:53 AM  
Tool
 
2014-07-24 01:59:05 AM  

bunner: optikeye: Dude was a douchebag.

He only paid for one ticket to get in the first boarding group; and then wanted to get the rest of his group in free.

Something else doesn't ring quite true about his story.

How did the agent know about the tweet and see the content?

Because most agents really don't have ability to leave their post while boarding is in progress for some tweet time.

To get a farken TWEET reviewed by authorities at airport is some pretty good douchbag grade behavior.

He mentioned the gate agents name...no one knows his followers on his tweet list.
That could be threatening.

What do Hitler's boots taste like?   :  )


Here's a challenge...Post your real name, workplace, and when you work; here on this thread.

You wouldn't get away with that anyways because it's against the FARQ.

What this guy did was post the real name, workplace, on a tweeterverse page. And was apparently proud about it, to the agent in real life and verbal about it because otherwise it wouldn't have been discovered.

Okay...you think that's cool...but it was framed in anger.

You or the gate agent do not know what others have that info. Heck...you wouldn't want you name posted here on this thread.

If I knew your name, address, work location...would that be MY free speech to post here or back tract through though any IP address you used for any forum and attach your name to your posts. Really? Would that be cool with you? Because you know "HITLER".
 
2014-07-24 02:08:25 AM  

optikeye: Here's a challenge...Post your real name, workplace, and when you work; here on this thread.

You wouldn't get away with that anyways because it's against the FARQ


This is a forum.  There's no promise of anything.  He got jerked around by a company, probably illegally, by expressing his dissatisfaction with their service.  A corporation has reasonable expectation that people are required to censure their opinions of their service.  And trying to make them out to be some poor little injured party doesn't change that.

optikeye: If I knew your name, address, work location...would that be MY free speech to post here or back tract through though any IP address you used for any forum and attach your name to your posts. Really? Would that be cool with you? Because you know "HITLER".


www.thedi.ca
 
2014-07-24 02:21:11 AM  
img.fark.net
 
2014-07-24 02:22:01 AM  
Here is what really happened:

Duff Watson apparently had a disagreement with a Southwest Airlines agent when she allegedly wouldn't let his young children board with him during priority boarding, forcing the group to wait, according to KKTV sister station

He then got into a pissing match with the SW agent, who overstepped her authority & revoked his priority boarding, at some time after Douchebag Watson had posted his Tweet. (My guess, but bet I'm right).

See, this is why "being polite" should really take precedence over "It's mah right to be an asshole!" even on the sacred 1st Amd. grounds of cyberspace. Just STFU Douchebag, and realize that you only got priority boarding for yourself, not for your bratty kids. And you, Miss Holierthanthou Gatenazi, would it kill you or anyone else to let the kids board early? Or are you slave to the idea "If we let one person do it, I can never possibly say no to anyone ever again throughout time because I had my spine removed?"

Sheesh, people. Get some balls.
 
2014-07-24 02:28:19 AM  
Who the fark pays for priority boarding?
 
2014-07-24 02:35:01 AM  

optikeye: Dude was a douchebag.

He only paid for one ticket to get in the first boarding group; and then wanted to get the rest of his group in free.

Something else doesn't ring quite true about his story.

How did the agent know about the tweet and see the content?

Because most agents really don't have ability to leave their post while boarding is in progress for some tweet time.


This does smell a bit like bullshiat to me as well.  I've flown Southwest for literally decades and only once have I ever had any sort of personnel problem with them.  The one time I did a supervisor actually stepped in, corrected the issue, and personally apologized to us for this gal being a see you next tuseday (short version: she found one of our checked items was over the 50lb limit, then checked and sent away all our other bags, then told us about the overweight item now that we had no way to move things around).  Not only that, we got a call a week later from a regional manager who let us know that the aforementioned see you next tuesday was no longer employed by Southwest.

The point being, I cannot see a Southwest employee actually pulling this kind of shiat without someone with more brains and decency vetoing the idea.  The company is generally staffed by... not happy people exactly, but definitely not angry petty jackholes.  Now, could I see airport security doing this "because of privacy concerns" or something similar?  Absolutely.  Pity the article doesn't say who exactly pulled him off the plane and demanded he delete the tweet.

The other thing I'll point out is that the only info we have on the content of the tweet is what he claims was in it.  If it was phrased poorly/threateningly then getting pulled off the plane is hardly surprising.
 
2014-07-24 02:37:31 AM  

Gyrfalcon: Here is what really happened:

Duff Watson apparently had a disagreement with a Southwest Airlines agent when she allegedly wouldn't let his young children board with him during priority boarding, forcing the group to wait, according to KKTV sister station

He then got into a pissing match with the SW agent, who overstepped her authority & revoked his priority boarding, at some time after Douchebag Watson had posted his Tweet. (My guess, but bet I'm right).

See, this is why "being polite" should really take precedence over "It's mah right to be an asshole!" even on the sacred 1st Amd. grounds of cyberspace. Just STFU Douchebag, and realize that you only got priority boarding for yourself, not for your bratty kids. And you, Miss Holierthanthou Gatenazi, would it kill you or anyone else to let the kids board early? Or are you slave to the idea "If we let one person do it, I can never possibly say no to anyone ever again throughout time because I had my spine removed?"

Sheesh, people. Get some balls.


If we just followed my advice, and banned families from airplanes, this wouldn't happen.

Everyone just flies in a military style empty plane.

i.dailymail.co.uk

Luggage is screened and sent separately in a sister plane.
 
2014-07-24 02:44:07 AM  
I fly for work. A lot. On Sourhwest alone I've had A-List Preferred (50 one way flights in a calendar year) over a year now and I'm on track for the next and highest tier, Companion Pass (100 one ways in a year). This guy apparently has just A-List, the first tier, which is 25 one ways in a year. There are little benefits at each level (such as free wifi at the preferred level or literally a free second ticket on every flight for companion pass), but boarding priority is one of the biggest benefits.

See, with Southwest, there's no assigned seats. Everyone gets a boarding group (A, B, or C) and a boarding number (1-60), and then you pick any seat you want. A group boards first, then B, then C, all in numerical order - if you're like C24 then you're probably going to sit in a middle seat between two fat guys because that's all that's left. A1-A15 is always "Business Select," which is Southwest's version of first class - you can get almost any seat you want (meh) and one free drink (meh). Otherwise, A16-A60 and the Bs and Cs are divvied up amongst the booked passengers as they check in for the flight. The best numbers are reserved for those of us in the glorious master race of frequent fliers (IE - if 20 people on the flight are in any of those tiers then A16-A36 are going to them, with Companion Pass getting the best, then Preferred, then just A-List), and the rest go to Jim Bob, Sally Mae, and the rest of the unwashed masses. When you check in, you get the best boarding group and number that's available to you - which means if you're flying Southwest and you don't have any status or aren't flying Business Select, you better be watching the clock to check in right when 24 hours hit or you will have a shiatty seat and you'll have to check your carry on because Southwest still f'ing uses 737-300s with the old overhead compartments that won't fit crap. Now, you can spring for early check in - Southwest automatically "checks you in" 36 hours prior to the flight and you get the best boarding group and seat at that time - not worth it if you've got status like me, but totally worth it if you don't.

There are also three tiny exceptions to this: preboarding, A-List boarding, and family boarding. Preboarding is for people with disabilities and typically need a wheelchair to get down to the plane (although one time I saw a basketball team made up of deaf teenagers get to preboard due to their disability, which seems kinda silly) - these guys ALWAYS go first (which makes sense, you want them to sit in the front and those seats go first) but they can't sit in the emergency exit rows due to their disabilities (or even if they're family members who get to tag along). After the preboarding, A1-A60 boards. After that, anyone who has a ticket and has status but is in the B or C group (usually because they bought a ticket w/in 36 hours of the flight, on standby, etc) gets to board. Then there's family boarding - families flying with children age 4 or under and are in the B or C group. The idea is that there are still plenty of rows/seats open where they can sit as a family (which will make everyone's flight go better).

So, with all of that said, here's what the article is implying: jackass has the base tier status and scored himself an A group boarding pass, but the rest of his family was stuck flying steerage and they're too old to qualify for family boarding, so jackass tries to drag his family along with him while he boards (thinking he's entitled to it) and the gate agent did EXACTLY what she should have done - told him to fark off and his family had to wait their turn. I've seen this shiat on about 1 in every 3 to 4 flights I take on Southwest and it's always some entitled asshat who just barely made A-List while the rest of us who fly all the farking time are giving the "pay attention to the farking rules, idiot" look. (even that extra ticket from Companion Pass is at the steerage level - if those people don't get that special treatment, then why would someone who spends four times less money get it?)

If Captain Jackass really wanted to board/sit with his family, he had plenty of other options:

1. Buy Buisness Select for everyone. Expensive, but a guaranteed way to get the best selection and board together.

2. Buy early check in for his family. That's $12.50 one way per head, significantly cheaper than Business Select but it would've put his family in the upper As or the very low Bs (I've been on plenty of DEN to MSP flights, they probably would've gotten A50 or so). They're not boarding right with him, but they'd be very close and it would be within reason for him to go further back into the plane and use kindness to get people to leave the seats near him open for his family (as opposed to them being like in the B40s).

3. He just boards with them. There's nothing saying he has to board right with his number, that's just the earliest he can board. Your family isn't full of road warriora - suck it the fark up, buttercup.
 
2014-07-24 02:46:38 AM  

doglover: Gyrfalcon: Here is what really happened:

Duff Watson apparently had a disagreement with a Southwest Airlines agent when she allegedly wouldn't let his young children board with him during priority boarding, forcing the group to wait, according to KKTV sister station

He then got into a pissing match with the SW agent, who overstepped her authority & revoked his priority boarding, at some time after Douchebag Watson had posted his Tweet. (My guess, but bet I'm right).

See, this is why "being polite" should really take precedence over "It's mah right to be an asshole!" even on the sacred 1st Amd. grounds of cyberspace. Just STFU Douchebag, and realize that you only got priority boarding for yourself, not for your bratty kids. And you, Miss Holierthanthou Gatenazi, would it kill you or anyone else to let the kids board early? Or are you slave to the idea "If we let one person do it, I can never possibly say no to anyone ever again throughout time because I had my spine removed?"

Sheesh, people. Get some balls.

If we just followed my advice, and banned families from airplanes, this wouldn't happen.

Everyone just flies in a military style empty plane.

[i.dailymail.co.uk image 850x565]

Luggage is screened and sent separately in a sister plane.


"Empty"? That's the fullest plane I've ever seen!!
 
2014-07-24 02:52:06 AM  
I like boarding last. That way I choose whom I sit next to. You wouldn't believe all the d-bags who sit next to me to chat me up. I'll take the old dude who hasn't had a woodie since the 60s over some 40-ish guy who thinks he's still got game...
 
2014-07-24 02:53:20 AM  

Elegy: Who the fark pays for priority boarding?


Fly 15 flights over 5 weeks and only get to board with the last third of the people on the flight - that $12.50 starts looking mighty cheap.
 
2014-07-24 02:55:10 AM  

diaphoresis: I like boarding last. That way I choose whom I sit next to. You wouldn't believe all the d-bags who sit next to me to chat me up. I'll take the old dude who hasn't had a woodie since the 60s over some 40-ish guy who thinks he's still got game...


Look for the guys wearing the noise canceling Bose headphones. They're 90% road warriors who just plain don't give a fark about the people around them and won't bother you for the entire flight.
 
2014-07-24 03:05:53 AM  
Southwest, like any business owner, should have just used these guys:

www.reviewrls.com
 
2014-07-24 03:14:11 AM  

Gyrfalcon: "Empty"? That's the fullest plane I've ever seen!!


Only of people. Also those seats pop out. I'm not sure how long it takes, but I think that's just a normal C-130 because that's what I googled for. You could remove some and put in a bar. A single's mile high mixer flight would be awesome, I think.
 
2014-07-24 03:14:49 AM  
As of just a couple of months ago, Southwest had no twitter presence, i suspect that hasn't changed.
 
2014-07-24 03:32:52 AM  
So what I get from stories like this is that the Twitterverse or Tweeterverse or Twatterverse or whatever you call it is full of twits and tweets and twats all twittering and tweetering and twattering about other twits and tweets and twats in some great big twittercirlcle tweeterjerk twatterfest.
 
2014-07-24 03:35:28 AM  

bunner: optikeye: Here's a challenge...Post your real name, workplace, and when you work; here on this thread.

You wouldn't get away with that anyways because it's against the FARQ

This is a forum.  There's no promise of anything.  He got jerked around by a company, probably illegally, by expressing his dissatisfaction with their service.  A corporation has reasonable expectation that people are required to censure their opinions of their service.  And trying to make them out to be some poor little injured party doesn't change that.

optikeye: If I knew your name, address, work location...would that be MY free speech to post here or back tract through though any IP address you used for any forum and attach your name to your posts. Really? Would that be cool with you? Because you know "HITLER".


Actually...it appears that Duff Whatshisname was jerking SWA around, and the agent was--understandably--tired of his shiat. Didshe do anything herself? I doubt it, since how could she possibly have seen the tweet. More, I highly doubt the guy was pulled from the plane for a tweet. But, then again, the only person we've heard from is Duff Thatsnotreallymyname.
 
2014-07-24 03:36:02 AM  

doglover: Gyrfalcon: "Empty"? That's the fullest plane I've ever seen!!

Only of people. Also those seats pop out. I'm not sure how long it takes, but I think that's just a normal C-130 because that's what I googled for. You could remove some and put in a bar. A single's mile high mixer flight would be awesome, I think.


C130's are louder than hell though so you'd have to use sign language to communicate. I just flew on one last month from Coronado to McChord. There were only 7 of us and it was glorious not to have to deal with a packed plane. Not to mention the free aspect of Space A travel.
 
2014-07-24 04:28:08 AM  

bunner: P.S. - Godwin made a pithy remark.  Not a law.  It's not a law.  Hitler.  Hitler.   Grow up.


Yeah, about that...

What do Hitler's boots taste like?   :  )
 
2014-07-24 04:30:19 AM  

bunner: P.S. - Godwin made a pithy remark.  Not a law.  It's not a law.  Hitler.  Hitler.  Grow up.


It was actually less a remark and more a theory--one which has often been true.
 
2014-07-24 05:09:50 AM  
so...his virtual issue had real feedback?

maybe hold back on biatching about service until that service is complete?
 
2014-07-24 05:26:03 AM  

Solon Isonomia: diaphoresis: I like boarding last. That way I choose whom I sit next to. You wouldn't believe all the d-bags who sit next to me to chat me up. I'll take the old dude who hasn't had a woodie since the 60s over some 40-ish guy who thinks he's still got game...

Look for the guys wearing the noise canceling Bose headphones. They're 90% road warriors who just plain don't give a fark about the people around them and won't bother you for the entire flight.


Thanks for the advice... I'll see how it works next month.
 
2014-07-24 05:30:25 AM  

Danger Avoid Death: So what I get from stories like this is that the Twitterverse or Tweeterverse or Twatterverse or whatever you call it is full of twits and tweets and twats all twittering and tweetering and twattering about other twits and tweets and twats in some great big twittercirlcle tweeterjerk twatterfest.


This post sums up how I feel about Twitter so well that I'm going to save it.  Forever.

/Twitter is the dumb
 
2014-07-24 05:30:29 AM  

doglover: but I think that's just a normal C-130


It's too wide for a C-130. It looks like a C-17 to me.
 
2014-07-24 05:36:52 AM  
cheap a$$ tried to rip them off
and screw the other flyers who actually paid to chose their seats first
and was a total jerk when they called him on his shiat

boo farking hoo
 
2014-07-24 05:39:13 AM  
Gyrfalcon: ...
 Or are you slave to the idea "If we let one person do it, I can never possibly say no to anyone ever again throughout time because I had my spine removed?"

Sheesh, people. Get some balls.


This can create issues further down the line.  Say the kids had been allowed to board - I bet the guy would thrown an even bigger tantrum in the future if another agent said no.

It seems people today will take a small kindness/break and then go nuclear asshat if their don't always get that break.
 
2014-07-24 05:39:57 AM  
they don't always they dammit.
 
2014-07-24 05:51:12 AM  
Captain McDouchebag acts like a douche then runs off squealing on social media when he gets treated like a douchebag.

News at 11!
 
2014-07-24 05:57:33 AM  

shintochick: doglover: Gyrfalcon: "Empty"? That's the fullest plane I've ever seen!!

Only of people. Also those seats pop out. I'm not sure how long it takes, but I think that's just a normal C-130 because that's what I googled for. You could remove some and put in a bar. A single's mile high mixer flight would be awesome, I think.

C130's are louder than hell though so you'd have to use sign language to communicate. I just flew on one last month from Coronado to McChord. There were only 7 of us and it was glorious not to have to deal with a packed plane. Not to mention the free aspect of Space A travel.


Its certainly loud, but it helps if you remember to codge a set of those 'Mickey Mouse Ears' from one of the ground crew out on the flight line to use in addition to the little yellow foam ones they give you, so you can get some sleep. 
Only ones I have ever flown on had no middle seats - just lots of cargo and/or vehicles and spare plane parts down the middle.
Loud as hell and cold as hell, and you have to carry a little emergency oxygen bottle in a sling (no place for a mask to drop down from), but its a bit warmer if you climb up high and put an air mattress on top of the crates to nap. Those jump seats along the side really suck after a few hours. Also, bring a bag lunch. Otherwise, fun way to fly.
 
2014-07-24 06:25:24 AM  

diaphoresis: I like boarding last. That way I choose whom I sit next to. You wouldn't believe all the d-bags who sit next to me to chat me up. I'll take the old dude who hasn't had a woodie since the 60s over some 40-ish guy who thinks he's still got game...


Even the old dudes may still have some game left in them. The wise ones just know who is and is not available.
 
2014-07-24 06:43:04 AM  

doglover: Gyrfalcon: "Empty"? That's the fullest plane I've ever seen!!

Only of people. Also those seats pop out. I'm not sure how long it takes, but I think that's just a normal C-130 because that's what I googled for. You could remove some and put in a bar. A single's mile high mixer flight would be awesome, I think.


I thought it was a C-17.
 
2014-07-24 06:48:00 AM  

Elegy: Who the fark pays for priority boarding?


That's what I'm thinking. We all get there at the same time and 9 times out of 10, I could be towards the back of the plane and still see the people in front when we're all waiting to walk off the plane. I could see buying first class maybe, but this is paying more to sit at the front of the bus.
 
Displayed 50 of 145 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report