If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Action A Go-Go)   This? Oh, this is no big deal. It's just the FIRST FULL REVIEW OF THE GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY. Yep, nothing to see here. Move along, move along   (actionagogo.com) divider line 198
    More: Cool, Guardians of the Galaxy, Benicio Del Toro, Josh Brolin, Marvel Cinematic Universe, light rock, talking animals  
•       •       •

8368 clicks; posted to Geek » on 23 Jul 2014 at 6:37 AM (22 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



198 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-07-23 12:04:51 AM  
Did anyone see the cast on Kimmel last night? It seemed painfully obvious they weren't even trying to answer any of the quiz questions so the little girl would feel smart.
 
2014-07-23 12:05:34 AM  
I have been stoked to see this, and am even more stoked that it comes out the week of my birthday.

Was tentatively thinking about Lucy for this weekend, but the fact that we're three days away from the release and there isn't a single review out there never bodes well.
 
2014-07-23 12:22:13 AM  
Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips
 
2014-07-23 12:30:52 AM  
I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.
 
2014-07-23 12:35:14 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.


I was in the moment that I realized that they were bringing Rocket Racoon in. I'm still in. This weekend, mebbee...
 
2014-07-23 12:54:58 AM  

hubiestubert: Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.

I was in the moment that I realized that they were bringing Rocket Racoon in. I'm still in. This weekend, mebbee...


Yeah, a violent raccoon.

"cute"
 
2014-07-23 01:19:30 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: hubiestubert: Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.

I was in the moment that I realized that they were bringing Rocket Racoon in. I'm still in. This weekend, mebbee...

Yeah, a violent raccoon.

"cute"


Hey, I loved his four part mini-series in the 80s. I LIKE the comics. I like what Marvel is doing with their movies finally, after YEARS of really crappy ones. I just wish that DC would their sh*t together on their film franchises, and put someone like Bruce Timms in charge of their live action films, in the way they've let him produce their animated shows. Marvel is taking a chance, but on a property that is fun. Cripes. Years of "dark and gritty" reboots, and finally folks are putting some humor and fun into films, and people are pissing and moaning?  Let me guess, you hated Death: The High Cost of Living because Bachalo went with Death as something "cute." Hated the Vorpal Bunny? Jeebus Frist, it doesn't have to be all doom and gloom.

Mind you: I LIKED John Carter. Because it was fun. Because it made my inner 12 year old squeeeee! to see Woola and Green Martians, and tharks and airships, and radium rifles and white apes and Red Martians parade their metal, in a Barsoom that exceeded my imagination even.

You want to blame someone for Rocket Raccoon, blame Bill Mantlo, the Beatles, and all the weed he was smoking in 1974. But let's not pretend he's a "new" character. Or that he was created just for goofiness and a product tie in. Cripes, the little fella started off buddying up with the Hulk. And it was fun then, and it's still fun today.
 
2014-07-23 02:06:18 AM  

hubiestubert: Darth_Lukecash: hubiestubert: Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.

I was in the moment that I realized that they were bringing Rocket Racoon in. I'm still in. This weekend, mebbee...

Yeah, a violent raccoon.

"cute"

Hey, I loved his four part mini-series in the 80s. I LIKE the comics. I like what Marvel is doing with their movies finally, after YEARS of really crappy ones. I just wish that DC would their sh*t together on their film franchises, and put someone like Bruce Timms in charge of their live action films, in the way they've let him produce their animated shows. Marvel is taking a chance, but on a property that is fun. Cripes. Years of "dark and gritty" reboots, and finally folks are putting some humor and fun into films, and people are pissing and moaning?  Let me guess, you hated Death: The High Cost of Living because Bachalo went with Death as something "cute." Hated the Vorpal Bunny? Jeebus Frist, it doesn't have to be all doom and gloom.

Mind you: I LIKED John Carter. Because it was fun. Because it made my inner 12 year old squeeeee! to see Woola and Green Martians, and tharks and airships, and radium rifles and white apes and Red Martians parade their metal, in a Barsoom that exceeded my imagination even.

You want to blame someone for Rocket Raccoon, blame Bill Mantlo, the Beatles, and all the weed he was smoking in 1974. But let's not pretend he's a "new" character. Or that he was created just for goofiness and a product tie in. Cripes, the little fella started off buddying up with the Hulk. And it was fun then, and it's still fun today.




Hey I like all of the Star Wars movies, so I know fun. I like a good serious sci-fi too, like Moon.

I guess I want Superheroes to be considered a valid dramatic genre, capable of being more than jus "fun" I want some serious, I want some action, I wan some silly. I want some family orientated.

But Marvel is starting to drift into late Roger Moore James Bond Camp. When I watch a Marvel film, I don't feel the drama of what is supposed to be a deadly threat. They have been undermining what should be serious moments. The last Thor movie was undermined by silly moments- like the two "Dorkable" lab assistants roaming round what should have been a battlefield. Thor taking the train back to the battle. Or in Iron Man 3, the goofiness of Mandarin, or the armor falling apart after getting hit by a truck, undermining a great rescue sequence.

Compare that to Man of Steel, which treated the caracter serous and asked the question "How would the world react to an actual alien invasion and that there is an all powerful alien among them?" And yeah, the devastation of Metropolis was "grim and grity"...because if that shiat actually happened it would be grim and gritty.

Don't get me wrong, I loved the Avengers- but at no point in time did I ever think that the alien invasion was anything serious or have any repercussions.

Take for example Winter Soldier: Even before he finds out Hydra takeover, he wants the Helicarrier dismantled. This is a World War II veteran, who lived with the Pearl Harbor experience as a citizen. We get attacked by aliens, and he wants these defenses to be destroyed.

Like I said, I like fun, but Marvel movies have been getting under my skin. So I've been enjoying the hell out of the DC stuff.
 
2014-07-23 02:22:10 AM  

texdent: Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips


Kinda THIS.

I even avoided the Kimmel cast interview for that reason.

I want to go in as blissfully unaware as I can manage. I know I'm going to see this regardless of reviews or Box Office numbers.

I intend to smoke a joint of hippie crippler go in and buy the biggest tub of popcorn available to man or God and then go and enjoy a FUN comic book flick.

Even if it doesn't meet or exceed my ridiculously high expectations I will still no doubt enjoy it better than anything else available to screen that day.

hubiestubert: I just wish that DC would their sh*t together on their film franchises, and put someone like Bruce Timms in charge of their live action films,


From your mouth to God's ear, Hubie!
 
2014-07-23 02:29:32 AM  

texdent: Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips


The review didn't contain much in the way of spoilers, if that helps.
 
2014-07-23 06:51:11 AM  
So, about 9 days left.  Gonna be a long 9 days..
 
2014-07-23 06:54:49 AM  
Couldn't give a rat's ass about Marvel, but James Gunn is an interesting director, so I'll give it a shot. However, I will wait a week to reduce the number of fanboys in the crowd.

/Made the mistake of going to Winter Soldier on opening day. The guys behind me insisted on making sure the whole theater know how well versed they were on all things Captain America.
 
2014-07-23 06:55:26 AM  
cdn.memegenerator.net
 
2014-07-23 07:05:13 AM  

fusillade762: texdent: Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips

The review didn't contain much in the way of spoilers, if that helps.


I don't know what you consider spoilery, but this so-called "review" just straight up tells you the plot.  As in literally "at the start this happens, then this happens, then this happens, and it turns out this is this, and these are the bad guys and their motivation is this, then this happens, and this guy does this."

Seriously do not read it if you want to go into the film relatively ignorant.
 
2014-07-23 07:12:08 AM  
Don't hurt me, but a positive review from what looks like a rinky-dink website and reads like it was written by a true believer doesn't inspire my hopes much.
 
2014-07-23 07:17:28 AM  
Are all you nerds turning on the movie just days before it comes out? For shame.
 
2014-07-23 07:27:27 AM  

Fano: Are all you nerds turning on the movie just days before it comes out? For shame.


Well how else would they remain contrarian dorks?
 
2014-07-23 07:30:04 AM  
Won't be reading the article, not that spoilers have affected me in years, but because I've learned that, with all movies, i'm better off just waiting and seeing it. No reviews, hell, if I can managed it, the shortest trailer possible, just enough to give me a ballpark on production values, and that's it.

I'll be seeing GotG as soon as feasibly possible.
 
2014-07-23 07:42:59 AM  
That wasn't a review. It was a poorly-edited synopsis.
 
2014-07-23 07:44:39 AM  

asquian: Won't be reading the article, not that spoilers have affected me in years, but because I've learned that, with all movies, i'm better off just waiting and seeing it. No reviews, hell, if I can managed it, the shortest trailer possible, just enough to give me a ballpark on production values, and that's it.

I'll be seeing GotG as soon as feasibly possible.


I've found even telling people "watch this, it's really good" instead of letting them select it themselves or saying "it's alright" grossly affects their experience toward the negative.

Something about being surprised in at least a small way that really helps.
 
2014-07-23 08:06:01 AM  

Fano: Are all you nerds turning on the movie just days before it comes out? For shame.


Wait until AFTER the film comes out and the fanboys declare it the worst movie of all time because Ronan doesn't act exactly the way he did in the funnybooks.
 
2014-07-23 08:23:58 AM  

if_i_really_have_to: fusillade762: texdent: Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips

The review didn't contain much in the way of spoilers, if that helps.

I don't know what you consider spoilery, but this so-called "review" just straight up tells you the plot.  As in literally "at the start this happens, then this happens, then this happens, and it turns out this is this, and these are the bad guys and their motivation is this, then this happens, and this guy does this."

Seriously do not read it if you want to go into the film relatively ignorant.


Yeah, I wish the first full review wasn't some idiot who doesn't know how to review movies. Had to stop as it turned into a fifth-grader's book report on Huckleberry Finn.
 
2014-07-23 08:24:04 AM  

Fano: Are all you nerds turning on the movie just days before it comes out? For shame.


Real nerds hated it as soon as the movie was announced because nerds hate everything.
 
2014-07-23 08:30:26 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.


This isn't like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.  This is light-hearted space opera.

One thing Marvel's been very good at is keeping distinct tones for each of their franchises, even while making them feel like they're parts of an overall universe.  That's why all their movies work.  Seriously, there's been 9 or 10 Marvel movies so far; can you imagine how sick of them we'd be if they were all the same?
 
2014-07-23 08:30:49 AM  

swahnhennessy: That wasn't a review. It was a poorly-edited synopsis.


I hate this crap. I'd love to read a review. A summary is not a review!
 
2014-07-23 08:36:11 AM  
Can't wait to torrent this (no f'ing way am I going to set foot in the theater. Too many loud asshole teens and other r-tards are sure to show up to make the film near-impossible to watch there).
 
2014-07-23 08:39:04 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: Yeah, a violent raccoon.

"cute"


The fact that I have a chance to enjoy this a lot and you have a chance of not is doublemint good.
 
2014-07-23 08:44:40 AM  
blacksportsonline.com
 
2014-07-23 08:45:17 AM  

TV's Vinnie: Can't wait to torrent this (no f'ing way am I going to set foot in the theater. Too many loud asshole teens and other r-tards are sure to show up to make the film near-impossible to watch there).


There probably won't be anything other than a shiatty cam for a while. If you're lucky you'll get a washed out Asian rip with giant subtitles over the bottom third a few weeks from now.

I don't even bother with that shiat for years now.  Screener or Bluray rip or nothing.
 
2014-07-23 08:47:16 AM  

HeartBurnKid: This isn't like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.  This is light-hearted space opera.


Exactly.  I'm not sure where this Scott Pilgrim talking point came from or why it keeps getting regurgitated.  I'm well aware I'm not the first (or last) person to say this so I'm regurgitating as well, but the better parallels here would be  Galaxy Quest or  Fifth Element.  If it didn't have the Marvel brand slapped on it the conversation would be totally different.  Or the conversation would be nonexistent since fewer people would care.
 
2014-07-23 08:50:55 AM  
I finally got around to watching MAN OF STEEL last night on one of the movie channels, and it just
felt.... wrong... for the character.  I'm not talking about Henry Cavill as Supes (he was actually pretty
good), nor about his much-discussed fight with Zod. The overall feel of the movie was WAY too dark,
and that fills me with a fair amount of dread for the upcoming DC movies, since it may well be that in
order to differentiate themselves from Marvel they'll put everyone in black leather and make them all
brooding and angsty.  Granted, the latest batch of Marvel movies have had some pretty dark overtones
themselves, but they seem to have been able to leaven that with a healthy dose of fun and light
heartedness.

What does this have to do with GotG?  When I saw the first GotG I was a bit put off by the overt jokiness
of it, but it really grew on me, and I am really looking forward to it now since, unlike any of the previous
ones, it is not (as far as I can see) going over and adapting existing comic book plotlines for the movies,
and I am quite interested in seeing how they pull off doing a movie that can be taken on its own terms.

(That, and I have a thing for Zoe Saldana when she's painted in non-human skin colours.....)
 
2014-07-23 08:58:15 AM  

DjangoStonereaver: I finally got around to watching MAN OF STEEL last night on one of the movie channels, and it just
felt.... wrong... for the character.  I'm not talking about Henry Cavill as Supes (he was actually pretty
good), nor about his much-discussed fight with Zod. The overall feel of the movie was WAY too dark,
and that fills me with a fair amount of dread for the upcoming DC movies, since it may well be that in
order to differentiate themselves from Marvel they'll put everyone in black leather and make them all
brooding and angsty.  Granted, the latest batch of Marvel movies have had some pretty dark overtones
themselves, but they seem to have been able to leaven that with a healthy dose of fun and light
heartedness.

What does this have to do with GotG?  When I saw the first GotG I was a bit put off by the overt jokiness
of it, but it really grew on me, and I am really looking forward to it now since, unlike any of the previous
ones, it is not (as far as I can see) going over and adapting existing comic book plotlines for the movies,
and I am quite interested in seeing how they pull off doing a movie that can be taken on its own terms.

(That, and I have a thing for Zoe Saldana when she's painted in non-human skin colours.....)


Zoe Saldana looks pretty damn good without the paint.
 
2014-07-23 08:58:21 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: Compare that to Man of Steel, which treated the caracter serous and asked the question "How would the world react to an actual alien invasion and that there is an all powerful alien among them?" And yeah, the devastation of Metropolis was "grim and grity"...because if that shiat actually happened it would be grim and gritty.


Man of Steel was just not fun. It tried to be grim and gritty, but just didn't work right. When someone says they're here to inspire "Hope" and they deliver the opposite, it's hard to enjoy it.

You want proper "grim and gritty" out of a comic movie? Only one word:

download.gamezone.com
 
2014-07-23 09:07:41 AM  

Alphax: DjangoStonereaver: I finally got around to watching MAN OF STEEL last night on one of the movie channels, and it just
felt.... wrong... for the character.  I'm not talking about Henry Cavill as Supes (he was actually pretty
good), nor about his much-discussed fight with Zod. The overall feel of the movie was WAY too dark,
and that fills me with a fair amount of dread for the upcoming DC movies, since it may well be that in
order to differentiate themselves from Marvel they'll put everyone in black leather and make them all
brooding and angsty.  Granted, the latest batch of Marvel movies have had some pretty dark overtones
themselves, but they seem to have been able to leaven that with a healthy dose of fun and light
heartedness.

What does this have to do with GotG?  When I saw the first GotG I was a bit put off by the overt jokiness
of it, but it really grew on me, and I am really looking forward to it now since, unlike any of the previous
ones, it is not (as far as I can see) going over and adapting existing comic book plotlines for the movies,
and I am quite interested in seeing how they pull off doing a movie that can be taken on its own terms.

(That, and I have a thing for Zoe Saldana when she's painted in non-human skin colours.....)

Zoe Saldana looks pretty damn good without the paint.


Oh yes (a bit skinny for my tastes perhaps, but I'm not complaining):

static.comicvine.com

But, As hot as she is normally, when she was a Na'avi well....

I'll be in my cryotube....
 
2014-07-23 09:08:41 AM  
I don't want reviews.  I just want to see the farking movie.
 
2014-07-23 09:11:47 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: Compare that to Man of Steel, which treated the caracter serous


I don't know if there is a modern Marvel film that i would put below Man of Steel.  Seriously, that film was a disjointed mess wherein everything character bounces around doing things not for actual reasons, but because plot said so.  The portrayal of Jonathan Kent, for example, is so schizophrenic that i was kinda relieved when he died.  The closest i can think of from marvel that was as badly put together and wrong to the source material might be the Norton Hulk.  But even that was at least in keeping with the basics of the comic.
 
2014-07-23 09:15:09 AM  
Meanwhile Robert Downey Jr is going to keep playing Iron Man.
 
2014-07-23 09:15:46 AM  

Teiritzamna: Darth_Lukecash: Compare that to Man of Steel, which treated the caracter serous

I don't know if there is a modern Marvel film that i would put below Man of Steel.  Seriously, that film was a disjointed mess wherein everything character bounces around doing things not for actual reasons, but because plot said so.  The portrayal of Jonathan Kent, for example, is so schizophrenic that i was kinda relieved when he died.  The closest i can think of from marvel that was as badly put together and wrong to the source material might be the Norton Hulk.  But even that was at least in keeping with the basics of the comic.


While it is arguably the 'worst' of the MCU films, the Norton HULK was good enough that I wished I was
more of a fan of the comic.  It sure as hell had a great set-up for all the Super Soldier stuff that came
in CA:FA, THE AVENGERS, CA:TWS and even IM3 and AoS.
 
2014-07-23 09:18:11 AM  

fusillade762: texdent: Not reading any reviews for the movie nor watching any clips

The review didn't contain much in the way of spoilers, if that helps.


If you have only seen the trailers for GG, there are a couple of major spoilers in there, but only if you haven't watched some of the other MCU movies in their entirety.


*Spoilers*

The MCU is leading up to Infinity Gauntlet saga.
 
2014-07-23 09:23:35 AM  

Darth_Lukecash: I don't know why, but I am getting bad vibes off of the movie.  It seems too "cute" for me.  I didn't like the "cute" factor of Iron Man 3.  I would rather if they would go more like Winter Soldier or Dark Knight.

Scott Pilgrim had good reviews, but failed at the Box Office.  I really liked Scott Pilgrim as a movie.


Scott Pilgrim was "cute" as shiat.  I dont understand your argument.
 
2014-07-23 09:26:13 AM  
Meh might DVR it when it gets shown on TBS in a few years.
 
2014-07-23 09:29:16 AM  

texdent: Meanwhile Robert Downey Jr is going to keep playing Iron Man.


Is that a problem?
 
2014-07-23 09:31:55 AM  

texdent: Meanwhile Robert Downey Jr is going to keep playing Iron Man.


When he said he was probably done, I figured it was just that his contract was out and he's in it for contract negotiations. Same when I heard them say they'd happily replace him.  Glad to hear he's open to negotiate.

I just hope he doesn't hold out for too much money. He's already getting a crapload per movie and if he's expecting a big raise, it may screw up the budget. I don't know. Just happy to hear he might be Iron Man again and not just some supporting role as Stark in Avengers 2.
 
2014-07-23 09:32:00 AM  

Grotesk: texdent: Meanwhile Robert Downey Jr is going to keep playing Iron Man.

Is that a problem?


Hell no. RDJ is Tony Stark
 
2014-07-23 09:32:59 AM  
I've said previously that I would resort to hiring a violent hobo to watch my kids while the wife and I watch GotG, but now I've discovered the wife and kids will be out of town that weekend. I'm contemplating betraying our marriage trust and watching it without her.
 
2014-07-23 09:36:12 AM  

shower_in_my_socks: Was tentatively thinking about Lucy for this weekend, but the fact that we're three days away from the release and there isn't a single review out there never bodes well.


Are you from the future? Because the movie comes out August 1st, not this Friday.
 
2014-07-23 09:38:05 AM  
I'm not sure why, but I don't get the hipe. It just doesn't look that good to me. I feel the more "trailers" they out out there, the less I want to see it.

/let me know when the plot is on Wikipedia
 
2014-07-23 09:40:13 AM  

cgraves67: I've said previously that I would resort to hiring a violent hobo to watch my kids while the wife and I watch GotG, but now I've discovered the wife and kids will be out of town that weekend. I'm contemplating betraying our marriage trust and watching it without her.


Why don't you hire the violent hobo to go see the movie and tell you about it. That way you still get an idea of what it's about, you don't betray your marriage, and who knows, the violent hobo might try to stab someone in the theater. That's always a funny story to tell.
 
2014-07-23 09:46:00 AM  

That Reilly Monster: I'm not sure where this Scott Pilgrim talking point came from or why it keeps getting regurgitated.


Yeah, that threw me for a loop too.  Edgar Wright fanboys pissed off about Ant-Man?

/don't get me wrong, I loved Scott Pilgrim
 
2014-07-23 09:47:03 AM  

cgraves67: I've said previously that I would resort to hiring a violent hobo to watch my kids while the wife and I watch GotG, but now I've discovered the wife and kids will be out of town that weekend. I'm contemplating betraying our marriage trust and watching it without her.


Depends. How much do you love your wife and vice versa? I mean, a truly loving wife will forgive your movie adultery. A nerd wife will probably kill you in your sleep for this betrayal with a replica of Ice, ancestral blade of the Stark family.
 
Displayed 50 of 198 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report