If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Atlanta Journal Constitution)   Proving once again that the new replay system is in no way controversial, umpires review an unreviewable play and overturn the call   (ajc.com) divider line 18
    More: Fail  
•       •       •

1286 clicks; posted to Sports » on 08 Jul 2014 at 6:11 PM (7 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



18 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-07-08 01:06:23 PM
I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.
 
2014-07-08 02:38:07 PM

strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.


They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.
 
2014-07-08 06:14:16 PM
That call was reviewable and was correctly overturned.
 
2014-07-08 06:18:59 PM

strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.


Having not read the article, I feel confident in saying that missing a judgment call, even after replay, is going to happen. However, a misapplication of the rules shouldn't happen at the major league level of any the sports.
 
2014-07-08 06:25:25 PM

Koman Coulibaly: That call was reviewable and was correctly overturned.


You're just mad that you weren't in Brazil to make sure the score was Brazil 22, Germany 3
 
2014-07-08 06:29:47 PM
The whole "neighborhood play" is stupid. If a guy goes for a take-out slide, call interference and put both him and the batter out. If it's egregious, toss him from the game.
 
2014-07-08 06:30:33 PM

roc6783: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

Having not read the article, I feel confident in saying that missing a judgment call, even after replay, is going to happen. However, a misapplication of the rules shouldn't happen at the major league level of any the sports.


I 100% agree.
 
2014-07-08 06:35:47 PM
Isn't it nice that the controversies are now over really rare/debatable/strange rulings and situations, rather than "that guy was safe by a step but was called out" or something like that?

They need to have a more specific definition of what entails a neighborhood play.  Mets announcers were wondering if the fact that it was a sacrifice bunt made it not a neighborhood play, somehow.  At the very least, clarify whether or not why the 2b came off the base early mattered.  Simmons wasn't coming off to avoid the runner; he was coming off to turn the double play quicker.  Up until now, nobody'd really thought about whether or not that should factor in, and then some umps decided that it does.
 
2014-07-08 06:35:55 PM
Just knowing a "neighborhood play" rule exists make me want to watch baseball even less.
 
2014-07-08 06:36:43 PM

KingKauff: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.


Can you review whether or not something is a neighborhood play?
 
2014-07-08 06:36:50 PM
"neighborhood play" is idiotic to begin with. It's either on the bag or not.
 
2014-07-08 06:54:57 PM
I love that baseball's answer to take-out slides is something as idiotic as the neighborhood play.

I saw one in a playoff game last year where the shortstop was a good 2+ feet off the bag, and the runner was still called out...
 
2014-07-08 06:56:10 PM

worlddan: Koman Coulibaly: That call was reviewable and was correctly overturned.

You're just mad that you weren't in Brazil to make sure the score was Brazil 22, Germany 3


You know, you kinda got the score right, just the wrong teams
 
2014-07-08 06:59:09 PM

Dafatone: KingKauff: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.

Can you review whether or not something is a neighborhood play?


No, you can't. That's why Fredi was arguing and got tossed then made those remarks.
 
2014-07-08 07:21:12 PM

KingKauff: Dafatone: KingKauff: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.

Can you review whether or not something is a neighborhood play?

No, you can't. That's why Fredi was arguing and got tossed then made those remarks.


Do the umps then have to "call" the neighborhood play, like an infield fly rule?
 
2014-07-08 08:45:44 PM

Dafatone: KingKauff: Dafatone: KingKauff: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.

Can you review whether or not something is a neighborhood play?

No, you can't. That's why Fredi was arguing and got tossed then made those remarks.

Do the umps then have to "call" the neighborhood play, like an infield fly rule?


Who really knows?
 
2014-07-09 09:41:17 AM

Dafatone: KingKauff: Dafatone: KingKauff: strangeguitar: I understand this is the first year for replay in the MLB, but this incident is part of the problem. Baseball has many varied rules (some very obscure). I'd like to see it succeed, but so far it ain't too pretty.

They changed the rule not too long ago to be that you can't review an "in the neighborhood" play, which this obviously was.

Can you review whether or not something is a neighborhood play?

No, you can't. That's why Fredi was arguing and got tossed then made those remarks.

Do the umps then have to "call" the neighborhood play, like an infield fly rule?


I don't think so, but that wouldn't be a bad idea. At least that would put the onus on them to make such a call. Then the manager wouldn't have to potentially waste a challenge.
 
2014-07-09 09:44:54 AM
I'm sure the anti-replay crowd is getting a nice froth going, but this is just another hiccup that can happen when you institute a new system into something long established. What this article doesn't talk about, obviously, are all the good replay challenges that were raised, verified properly, and forgotten about by the next at-bat. If the replay system was mostly bad, instead of mostly good, we'd have stories as bad or worse than this one every single day. Thankfully we don't.
 
Displayed 18 of 18 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report