If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(AlterNet)   "If you're a leftie, the Democratics don't care about your opinion. What they want is your vote, in exchange for exactly nothing. They're political parasites, draining the idealism of progressives while neutering and exploiting mainline liberals"   (alternet.org) divider line 222
    More: Obvious, Democratic Party, abusive relationships, election promise, hillary, democratic legitimacy, liberals  
•       •       •

1990 clicks; posted to Politics » on 05 Jul 2014 at 8:25 PM (10 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



222 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-07-05 05:55:14 PM
Ted, stick to comics.
 
2014-07-05 06:06:09 PM
i48.tinypic.com
 
2014-07-05 06:09:49 PM
And Republicans don;t give a shiat either - they want your vote in exchange for worse than nothing.  Not only are they political parasites, draining the dreams of teatards while exploiting mainline conservatives, they also make laws that actively disenfranchise and work against the interests of the people who vote for them.

BSABSVD
 
2014-07-05 06:22:32 PM
I find that my opinion is universally ignored by people of all political points of view...
 
2014-07-05 06:25:19 PM
I still say the far right is the more dangerous, because the right is coming dangerously close to turning our democracy into a plutocracy. The far left just wants.. wants... uh... whatever it is they want.
 
2014-07-05 06:41:13 PM
Still better than the tea baggers
 
2014-07-05 06:49:05 PM
Voting for the lesser of two evils still leaves you voting for evil.
 
2014-07-05 07:00:04 PM
Well, f*ck that!  I'm voting Republican!
 
2014-07-05 07:10:10 PM

Therion: Voting for the lesser of two evils still leaves you voting for evil.


Correction:

It has you voting for less evil.

If I gave you a choice between you losing one eye or both eyes, which would you pick?
 
2014-07-05 07:11:09 PM

Therion: Voting for the lesser of two evils still leaves you voting for evil.


Both sides are bad. So vote Cthulhu.
 
2014-07-05 07:23:00 PM
In blaming and shaming the oppressed, the powerless, the left colludes with the right. There's no reason to look to the left for justice, so people look to the right for order.
-Some quote
 
2014-07-05 07:31:22 PM
"Hillary Clinton, a conservative warmonger ideologically indistinguishable from Dwight Eisenhower"

This is not the insult you think it is.
 
2014-07-05 07:40:16 PM
So there should be four major parties now: Tweedle-Dee, Tweedle-Dumb, Tweedle-Dumber and Tweedle-Dumbass. You pick which one is which.
 
2014-07-05 08:17:49 PM

This About That: I still say the far right is the more dangerous, because the right is coming dangerously close to turning our democracy into a plutocracy. The far left just wants.. wants... uh... whatever it is they want.


The far right is far more likely to take a up arms against a democratically elected government because: "they're leaving us no choice".
 
2014-07-05 08:28:19 PM
Classic BSABSVR.  The GOP's only hope at this point is that the Democrats suffer a split in the party like the GOP did.

If not, they're screwed, and not in the good way.
 
2014-07-05 08:30:05 PM
TLDR version:

I don't understand how a two-party system works.
 
2014-07-05 08:31:34 PM
Well, that insightful article shifted my worldview entirely.  Thanks to the author, subby, and Drew for this website.
 
2014-07-05 08:32:33 PM
Comedian Bill Maher gave them a million cash dollars,

Cash money?  Greeny leafy spendy money?  Fundage and such?
 
2014-07-05 08:33:18 PM

dookdookdook: Greeny leafy spendy money?


This phrase makes me laugh.
 
2014-07-05 08:33:59 PM
When one side is offering me nothing for my vote and the other side is offering to harm me for me vote, suddenly nothing becomes something.
 
2014-07-05 08:35:44 PM
If you're a leftie or a minority, the Democrats don't care about your opinion. What they want is your vote, in exchange for exactly nothing. Well if you're anybody really.
 
2014-07-05 08:38:08 PM
So vote Republican? Seriously?
 
2014-07-05 08:38:24 PM
Let the Teabaggers join the Nazi party and the Liberals join the Green party.  It's really where each belongs anyways.

//first to Godwin this up
 
2014-07-05 08:40:10 PM
Our number one issue is the destruction of the GOP.

They are too damn dangerous. We have to do this even if it requires us to damage our country by taking risks to ensure the GOP does not win.

We need to get over this bullshiat "Its wrong when we do it" mentality because principles are only subject to what one feels on a specific day.

To abandon the Democrats now will result in a GOP sweep. There is no other choice. If we dont keep on voting Democrat then we will destroy the nation much quicker than we would with our party at the helm.

/No, this post is not serious
//We become who we hate by talking like Republicans
///Wishes Warren would run.
 
2014-07-05 08:40:13 PM
I dunno. Decent health care, a minimum wage, 40 hour work weeks, public education, and civil rights seems pretty good to me.
 
2014-07-05 08:40:39 PM
Time to rally around Hillary.

Lichtman's algorithm has a 100% track record of predicting popular vote outcomes of presidential elections since 1984.

100%.

Eight out of eight.

Lichtman makes his calls a year or more out from elections. He sometimes predicts contrary to the pundit class, making calls that seemed nearly impossible at the time he made them. It was on LIchtman's advice, for example, that Bill Clinton even ran for the Democratic nomination in 1992, when Democratic heavyweights like Mario Cuomo declined to run believing Bush I unbeatable.

Lichtman's model tells us that a seriously contested incumbent party primary process hurts the incumbent party, even though a seriously contested challenging party process doesn't hurt the challenging party. can't be a perfect model.

Hillary is the heir-apparent. If she doesn't run, there's no clear frontrunner to rally around. The Democratic primary will be another clusterf*ck.

Republicans (and Fark's Republican mod squad) understand this very well. That's why they've been hammering Hillary so far lately, hitting especially on the bogus message that she's "unelectable."

She's electable. After 20 years in public life subjected to the far right's most vicious and persistent slander campaigns, Hillary has retained generally high favorability ratings among the American people. She's better vetted than any candidate ever. She's avoided implication as a perpetrator in any real scandal. Based on ideologically neutral criteria, she is the most qualified candidate in the country for the job.

And in a general election matchup, she trounces any GOP heavyweight you can name. Even if you unskew those polls by five points, she still wins.

Lots of people like other candidates better than Hillary. I get that. Those who know my posts would likely describe me as a member of the Democratic Party's progressive base. I'm very liberal on most issues. I like some other candidates better than Hillary.

But I like keeping any Republican out of the White House much more.
 
2014-07-05 08:42:13 PM
It's true; the Democrats have long since abandoned any pretense of being left of center.  The sad part is, they're still the only option that prevents the absolutely batshiat farking crazy Republicans from gaining power.
 
2014-07-05 08:45:26 PM
Does the author ever stop to think how moderate conservatives feel about their party? Both the far left and moderate conservatives have been left behind by the rightward drift. The Democratic Party has slid into the vacuum and the Republicans are marginalizing themselves in the long run. Those of us in the center (most of the electorate) are watching the R's ride off into the sunset. That's my perspective.
 
2014-07-05 08:46:49 PM

Baz744: Time to rally around Hillary.

Lichtman's algorithm has a 100% track record of predicting popular vote outcomes of presidential elections since 1984.

100%.

Eight out of eight.

Lichtman makes his calls a year or more out from elections. He sometimes predicts contrary to the pundit class, making calls that seemed nearly impossible at the time he made them. It was on LIchtman's advice, for example, that Bill Clinton even ran for the Democratic nomination in 1992, when Democratic heavyweights like Mario Cuomo declined to run believing Bush I unbeatable.

Lichtman's model tells us that a seriously contested incumbent party primary process hurts the incumbent party, even though a seriously contested challenging party process doesn't hurt the challenging party. can't be a perfect model.

Hillary is the heir-apparent. If she doesn't run, there's no clear frontrunner to rally around. The Democratic primary will be another clusterf*ck.

Republicans (and Fark's Republican mod squad) understand this very well. That's why they've been hammering Hillary so far lately, hitting especially on the bogus message that she's "unelectable."

She's electable. After 20 years in public life subjected to the far right's most vicious and persistent slander campaigns, Hillary has retained generally high favorability ratings among the American people. She's better vetted than any candidate ever. She's avoided implication as a perpetrator in any real scandal. Based on ideologically neutral criteria, she is the most qualified candidate in the country for the job.

And in a general election matchup, she trounces any GOP heavyweight you can name. Even if you unskew those polls by five points, she still wins.

Lots of people like other candidates better than Hillary. I get that. Those who know my posts would likely describe me as a member of the Democratic Party's progressive base. I'm very liberal on most issues. I like some other candidates better than Hillary.

But I like keeping any Republic ...


Some of us progressives do take issue with Hillary and her nonsensical economic views. This is the biggest problem I believe. I would highly prefer it if our next President of the United States wasnt once on the board of Wal-Mart
 
2014-07-05 08:47:47 PM

Baz744: Eight out of eight.


Obligatory

Seriously, eight out of eight isn't as impressive as it sounds. Wasn't there an octopus selecting the winner of sports matches with as much accuracy until the one time it finally wasn't accurate?
 
2014-07-05 08:48:22 PM
What have the republicans done to advance lgbt rights versus what the democrats have done for them?

Oh that's right they oppose gay rights.

In that case it's democrats all the way baby.
 
2014-07-05 08:48:30 PM

dookdookdook: Comedian Bill Maher gave them a million cash dollars,

Cash money?  Greeny leafy spendy money?  Fundage and such?


img.fark.net

Gimme that gubmint money-check!!
 
2014-07-05 08:48:43 PM

ginandbacon: "Hillary Clinton, a conservative warmonger ideologically indistinguishable from Dwight Eisenhower"

This is not the insult you think it is.


Did they just call Eisenhower a warmonger? The guy who regularly ranted and tried to stop the military industrial complex and direct it all to infrastructure?

Not only would the modern conservative movement not accept him, he be called a socialistic monster.
 
2014-07-05 08:49:32 PM
I'm not clicking on that link. My click (or lack there of) may not make a difference, but it's the principle. All politicians are political parasites who only pander for votes. I vote Democrat because at least a few of their beliefs line up with mine.
 
2014-07-05 08:49:56 PM
So instead of voting for a party that MIGHT NOT help me, I should vote for a party that WILL NOT help me. Got it.
 
2014-07-05 08:51:33 PM
Even if the bullshiat in that article is 100% true, the Democrats are STILL by far the least terrible choice of many terrible choices.
 
2014-07-05 08:52:14 PM

Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: So instead of voting for a party that MIGHT NOT help me, I should vote for a party that WILL NOT help me. Got it.


What are you talking about? Did you read the link?
 
2014-07-05 08:53:31 PM
No Sher, shiatlock.

This is half the Republican outrage against President Obama.  He is so far into the traditional "Right" political agenda that he has handed the GOP to the bat guano crazy uber-right.  (The other issue the GOP has is that President Obama persists in identifying himself as "black".)  But you'd think anyone who could p!ss off Jesse Jackson the way the President has would get the GOP nomination ahead of some RINO from Texas.
 
2014-07-05 08:53:56 PM

ginandbacon: "Hillary Clinton, a conservative warmonger ideologically indistinguishable from Dwight Eisenhower"

This is not the insult you think it is.


It is to me. What the hell did Ike do but get a bunch of people to like him? Where on earth do you think Zuckerberg got his inspiration for Facebook's "Like" button? I like Ike, duh! It's a BUTTON.

Look, look and observe....the root of all evil: the essence of 1950s slacktivism.

encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com
 
2014-07-05 08:55:24 PM

Taxbongo: Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: So instead of voting for a party that MIGHT NOT help me, I should vote for a party that WILL NOT help me. Got it.

What are you talking about? Did you read the link?


From the article:
Voting-age progressives, on the other hand, are adults. When will they kick the Democratic Party to the curb, as Ricki Lake used to say?
Probably not in time for 2016. But they ought to.



The implication is if I can't be happy with the Democrats as a liberal, I should find some other party. From an election standpoint, that's basically saying vote Republican.
 
2014-07-05 08:56:28 PM

limeyfellow: Did they just call Eisenhower a warmonger? The guy who regularly ranted and tried to stop the military industrial complex and direct it all to infrastructure?


He's also the president who directed the CIA to help overthrow the democratically elected government of Iran and replace it with a brutal monarchy because BP was upset over the Iranians actually wanting to profit from their own natural resources. Today's theocracy in Iran, while not completely Eisenhower's fault, does have its roots in his decision to put western Cold War and business interests ahead of democratic principles.
 
2014-07-05 08:59:12 PM
Even if everything in subby's headline is true, they also have the redeeming characteristic of being able to at least theoretically keep Republicans out of elected offices.
 
2014-07-05 08:59:41 PM
If the Dems serve no other purpose than to keep the warmongering deficit spending economy wrecking GOP out of power, that's good enough for me.
 
2014-07-05 08:59:46 PM

Kuta: I dunno. Decent health care, a minimum wage, 40 hour work weeks, public education, and civil rights seems pretty good to me.


"BULLY!"
 
2014-07-05 09:00:16 PM

Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: Taxbongo: Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: So instead of voting for a party that MIGHT NOT help me, I should vote for a party that WILL NOT help me. Got it.

What are you talking about? Did you read the link?

From the article:
Voting-age progressives, on the other hand, are adults. When will they kick the Democratic Party to the curb, as Ricki Lake used to say?
Probably not in time for 2016. But they ought to.


The implication is if I can't be happy with the Democrats as a liberal, I should find some other party. From an election standpoint, that's basically saying vote Republican.


So you are saying that you are scared? Got it
 
2014-07-05 09:02:58 PM
Ted Rall is a bigot and draws racist political cartoons that aren't at all thoughtful. This screed is worse than his political cartoons. He is laughing at Fark for linking to it.
 
2014-07-05 09:03:00 PM
Whatever. If what you said were true we'd still be waiting for an end to DOMA, Don't Ask Don't tell, ACA, and gawk only knows what else. Absolutists get absolutely nothing.
 
2014-07-05 09:03:24 PM

Therion: Voting for the lesser of two evils still leaves you voting for evil.


Sadly... in America, voting for anything outside of those two evils is equal to not voting.
 
2014-07-05 09:04:17 PM
The truth of the matter is, The Democratic party is the closest thing to "politically organized" American Lefties are able to get.
 
2014-07-05 09:05:32 PM
At this point the Overton window has moved into the next house over and is on its way down the block.
 
Displayed 50 of 222 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report