Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Mother Jones)   Other economists review the credentials of David Brat, the teabagger who just defeated Eric Cantor. The tag should let you know what they had to say   ( motherjones.com) divider line
    More: Obvious, David Brat, Google Scholar, House Majority Leader, Eric Cantor  
•       •       •

6201 clicks; posted to Politics » on 13 Jun 2014 at 4:18 PM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



261 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2014-06-13 01:15:58 PM  
TLDR version: "free market economist" is code for "stupid asshole"
 
2014-06-13 01:19:46 PM  
I'm guessing this guy has a hard-on for Supply Side Jesus.
 
2014-06-13 01:29:01 PM  
Lied on resume...CHECK
 
2014-06-13 01:30:37 PM  
But he went to PRINCETON


/divinity school
 
vpb [TotalFark]
2014-06-13 01:45:35 PM  
his economic expertise has been "recognized by his peers"-

I'm guess we're talking peers in the tea party here.
 
2014-06-13 01:51:51 PM  

vpb: his economic expertise has been "recognized by his peers"-

I'm guess we're talking peers in the tea party here.


No doubt that means he gets a free pass on any spelling errors.
 
2014-06-13 02:08:49 PM  
i.imgur.com
 
2014-06-13 02:12:21 PM  

vpb: his economic expertise has been "recognized by his peers"-

I'm guess we're talking peers in the tea party here.


Peers when he was in grad school.  And by "His economic expertise", we mean "the expertise of his prof, with whom he wrote a couple papers that he now takes full credit for".
 
2014-06-13 02:36:32 PM  
Dave "I don't know much about the minimum wage but I know immigration has nothing to do with it" Brat? That guy?
 
2014-06-13 02:58:35 PM  
Brat has published several articles as part of the Southeast INFORMS conference, which is organized by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, a society for professionals in the field of operations research and analytics. This group peer reviews papers and publishes them online. Referring to a Brat paper on Ayn Rand published online by INFORMS, Barry List, a spokesman for the group, observed, "It's more like a thought piece than a fully-fledged academic paper." Brat's other papers in the journal are similar in that regard; they are not research-oriented works, but essays on topics including the mortgage crisis and education policy . . . . BB&T Bank, whose former president now heads the Cato Institute, seems satisfied with Brat's work. The bank is funding a program that Brat runs at Randolph-Macon to help promote the ideas of libertarian icon Ayn Rand.

I'm shocked, shocked, that the writings of a teabagger "economist" would consist of what essentially seems to be Ayn Rand fan-fic.
 
2014-06-13 03:49:12 PM  
My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.
 
2014-06-13 03:54:23 PM  

markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.


My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.
 
2014-06-13 04:03:21 PM  

propasaurus: My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.


And yet my esteemed opponent's record of a mere 60 greenlights in roughly the same DECADE proves that he's an unmotivated slacker who will always put his personal interests ahead of the Fark public's.  These types of people, who seemingly coast through life doing the absolute bare minimum to help others are exactly why it's important that you want a talented, highly motivated Farker like me on the job day-in and day-out, making sure that your best interests are at the forefront of our Fark nation's interests.

Oh and if elected, I promise I will put a new Oldsmobile in every driveway, a chicken in every pot, and a beer in every fridge!
 
vpb [TotalFark]
2014-06-13 04:04:22 PM  
The funny thing about Atlas Shrugged is that it's basically a fantasy written by a playwright who want's to get even with the Bolsheviks for farking up her childhood after the revolution.

It reminds me of a Vernor Vinge book where being an anarchist magically imbued some farmer with such superpowers of creativity and efficiency that he was able to defeat the army of an entire country with his homemade arsenal.
 
2014-06-13 04:06:09 PM  

vpb: his economic expertise has been "recognized by his peers"-

I'm guess we're talking peers in the tea party here.


Not necessarily.

People can recognize my expertise in playing baseball.   I can make an error without actually being on the field.  How can that not be recognized?
 
2014-06-13 04:21:31 PM  
I bet his college dorm mate hated this guy.
 
2014-06-13 04:22:59 PM  
I'm voting for the new guy.

Because he's the new guy.
 
2014-06-13 04:23:03 PM  
Considering the condition of the economy today, I'd say the current batch of wankers are morons as well. He'll fit in just fine.
 
2014-06-13 04:23:28 PM  

markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004


How many modmins have you sucked off?
 
2014-06-13 04:25:20 PM  

Sin_City_Superhero: Lied on resume...CHECK


Not really.  It's a lot subtler than that according to TFA


Smeggy Smurf: Considering the condition of the economy today, I'd say the current batch of wankers are morons as well. He'll fit in just fine.



Yep, it's not like ABS/MBS/CDS securities were developed by Austrian douchebags who couldn't imagine conflicts of interest existing in the real world.  Definetly wasn't guys like this that got us here.  Nope.
 
2014-06-13 04:28:30 PM  

propasaurus: markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.

My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.


My fellow candidate's 60 greenlit headlines proves he is inexperienced and incapable of understanding what the problem actually is. We need somebody who can get their hands around the issues before they take action. I've shown time and again that I think twice and then cut once. Vote for me, Serious Black.
 
2014-06-13 04:28:32 PM  

markie_farkie: propasaurus: My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.

And yet my esteemed opponent's record of a mere 60 greenlights in roughly the same DECADE proves that he's an unmotivated slacker who will always put his personal interests ahead of the Fark public's.  These types of people, who seemingly coast through life doing the absolute bare minimum to help others are exactly why it's important that you want a talented, highly motivated Farker like me on the job day-in and day-out, making sure that your best interests are at the forefront of our Fark nation's interests.

Oh and if elected, I promise I will put a new Oldsmobile in every driveway, a chicken in every pot, and a beer in every fridge!


Brew (and it had damned well better be good), or GTFO.
/Keep the farking Olds.
 
2014-06-13 04:33:40 PM  
Mother Jones isn't a fan? My God, what have we done?
 
2014-06-13 04:33:45 PM  
That's like saying Chuck Manson doesn't clean his cell.
The guy's bonkers - I think that about covers it.
 
2014-06-13 04:35:01 PM  
On his CV, Brat notes that he presented papers at the Association of Private Enterprise Education Annual Conference in 2009 and 2012. A spokesman for that event says the conference features approximately 400 papers and "accepts most of those papers which are submitted."

Isn't that true of most conferences? Most of the abstracts are accepted. The presentations aren't peer reviewed or anything beforehand. That's the whole point of the conference, to get your idea/paper out there to be critiqued by your peers in the field and to discuss these ideas openly. It's kind of strange to criticize a conference for being typical.
 
2014-06-13 04:35:58 PM  
Would that Obama had undergone the kind of scrutiny the leftists seem to think is needed whenever a non-leftist comes on the scene.

By the way, this "teabagger" got essentially no support from national Tea Party movement groups, neither financially nor rhetorically. Methinks "tea partier" is the new "neocon" or "racist": a handy pejorative to be applied indiscriminately and without the least understanding or caring of what it actually means.
 
2014-06-13 04:36:44 PM  

Serious Black: propasaurus: markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.

My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.

My fellow candidate's 60 greenlit headlines proves he is inexperienced and incapable of understanding what the problem actually is. We need somebody who can get their hands around the issues before they take action. I've shown time and again that I think twice and then cut once. Vote for me, Serious Black.


I am not voting Third Party, there are two established parties, The Propublicans and the Makiecrats and voting for you would be throwing away a vote and costing the mainstream candidate closest to resembling my beliefs to lose.  Good day sir.
 
2014-06-13 04:39:26 PM  
Brat got elected to the United States House of Representatives (well, eventually, probably). What have these other so-called  economists done?

/dnrtfa
 
2014-06-13 04:41:41 PM  

jjorsett: Would that Obama had undergone the kind of scrutiny the leftists seem to think is needed whenever a non-leftist comes on the scene.

By the way, this "teabagger" got essentially no support from national Tea Party movement groups, neither financially nor rhetorically. Methinks "tea partier" is the new "neocon" or "racist": a handy pejorative to be applied indiscriminately and without the least understanding or caring of what it actually means.



Yeah, Obama recieved no scrutiny. You go with that.
 
2014-06-13 04:42:43 PM  
Hahaha. The Tea Party is nuanced and complicated? Really?
 
2014-06-13 04:42:47 PM  

schnee: Brat got elected to the United States House of Representatives (well, eventually, probably). What have these other so-called  economists done?

/dnrtfa



Written papers on economics?
 
2014-06-13 04:43:20 PM  
I'm a loner, Dottie. A rebel.
 
2014-06-13 04:44:04 PM  
It does raise the question of how blatantly incompetent can you be and still win because of gerrymandering in your district. Two days after winning this guy has skeletons tumbling out of his closet like nobody' business, with no end in sight (what's next? Klan connection?) and he apparently can't help but blurt out the first inanity that comes into his head. In short, he is very quickly demonstrating himself to be utterly unfit to hold office; in fact, dangerously incompetent. Will a Republican majority still elect him to office? Will people willingly vote for someone they know is going to bungle his job and fail to represent their interests in Congress? 'Cause I gotta say, whew... that isn't the way we do it around here...
 
2014-06-13 04:45:05 PM  

Serious Black: propasaurus: markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.

My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.

My fellow candidate's 60 greenlit headlines proves he is inexperienced and incapable of understanding what the problem actually is. We need somebody who can get their hands around the issues before they take action. I've shown time and again that I think twice and then cut once. Vote for me, Serious Black.


Serious Black says he thinks twice and cuts once, but what do we really know about him?

He's on the record as saying "America is seriously farked up." With such a low opinion of The United States of America, you have to wonder what he does have a high opinion of. Ebola? Vegan Bacon? Satan? A ban on yoga pants threads? The scariest part is what we just. don't. know.
 
2014-06-13 04:46:01 PM  
Lemme guess.  Liberal "experts" in his field are trying to slander his good name?
 
2014-06-13 04:47:05 PM  
These two papers appear in Google Scholar and are cited by other academics. Since then, Brat "has published in places of little consequence to the profession," says Dr. Nicolaus Tideman, an economics professor at Virginia Tech.


I have actually heard of Tideman. I wish he were the one running for public office.

/Smart guy. I like his Georgist viewpoint.
//He'd probably be branded a fascist commie anarchist or something if he actually ran, though.
 
2014-06-13 04:48:48 PM  

sendtodave: Lemme guess.  Liberal "experts" in his field are trying to slander his good name?


good name? Slander?
 
2014-06-13 04:48:58 PM  
From TFA: Referring to a Brat paper on Ayn Rand published online by INFORMS, Barry List, a spokesman for the group, observed, "It's more like a thought piece than a fully-fledged academic paper." Brat's other papers in the journal are similar in that regard; they are not research-oriented works, but essays on topics including the mortgage crisis and education policy.

In other words, he blogs.  Except he only posts once or twice a year, and his posts are less likely to be viewed than a teenager's LiveJournal.
 
2014-06-13 04:49:01 PM  

Ed Grubermann: markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004

How many modmins have you sucked off?


Well you really only have to suck one if you have done your homework
 
2014-06-13 04:49:26 PM  

vpb: his economic expertise has been "recognized by his peers"-

I'm guess we're talking peers in the tea party here.


Peers are the source of that trickle-down I keep hearing about, right?
 
2014-06-13 04:50:35 PM  

clambam: It does raise the question of how blatantly incompetent can you be and still win because of gerrymandering in your district. Two days after winning this guy has skeletons tumbling out of his closet like nobody' business, with no end in sight (what's next? Klan connection?) and he apparently can't help but blurt out the first inanity that comes into his head. In short, he is very quickly demonstrating himself to be utterly unfit to hold office; in fact, dangerously incompetent. Will a Republican majority still elect him to office? Will people willingly vote for someone they know is going to bungle his job and fail to represent their interests in Congress? 'Cause I gotta say, whew... that isn't the way we do it around here...


The deep Reds will still vote for him no matter what. The moderate Reds (do those actually exist anymore?) may stay home instead of voting. The only chance is that he actually scares independents enough that they get up and vote.
 
2014-06-13 04:51:28 PM  

OneTimed: sendtodave: Lemme guess.  Liberal "experts" in his field are trying to slander his good name?

good name? Slander?



I'll take "Things Republicans don't understand" for $100, Alex.
 
2014-06-13 04:52:13 PM  

jigger: Isn't that true of most conferences? Most of the abstracts are accepted. The presentations aren't peer reviewed or anything beforehand. That's the whole point of the conference, to get your idea/paper out there to be critiqued by your peers in the field and to discuss these ideas openly. It's kind of strange to criticize a conference for being typical.


That's generally true in economics.  The larger ones (SEA, Western, etc.) will accept most that come in within reason.  The more specialized conferences sometimes get a bit more picky if they feel they have a reputation to keep up, or if they are afraid they can't get enough people to run all the sessions required for the papers.

Also, I think it was specifically noted because a lot of people don't realize that getting a paper accepted for presentation isn't really much of an accomplishment.  Sure, it sounds like you're awesome getting three or four papers into conferences each year, but in reality it just doesn't mean much.
 
2014-06-13 04:53:54 PM  

Lord_Baull: jjorsett: Would that Obama had undergone the kind of scrutiny the leftists seem to think is needed whenever a non-leftist comes on the scene.

By the way, this "teabagger" got essentially no support from national Tea Party movement groups, neither financially nor rhetorically. Methinks "tea partier" is the new "neocon" or "racist": a handy pejorative to be applied indiscriminately and without the least understanding or caring of what it actually means.


Yeah, Obama recieved no scrutiny. You go with that.


Is this the new No True Scotsman defense?
 
2014-06-13 04:54:04 PM  

clambam: t does raise the question of how blatantly incompetent can you be and still win because of gerrymandering in your district. Two days after winning this guy has skeletons tumbling out of his closet like nobody' business, with no end in sight


Yeah exactly how incompetent was Cantor's reelection campaign that they didn't find this crap before the primary, or is this Cantor's staff releasing the Kracken a little too late
 
2014-06-13 04:54:10 PM  

Nuuu: From TFA: Referring to a Brat paper on Ayn Rand published online by INFORMS, Barry List, a spokesman for the group, observed, "It's more like a thought piece than a fully-fledged academic paper." Brat's other papers in the journal are similar in that regard; they are not research-oriented works, but essays on topics including the mortgage crisis and education policy.

In other words, he blogs.  Except he only posts once or twice a year, and his posts are less likely to be viewed than a teenager's LiveJournal.



The good news is, his posts are just as relevant as a graduate students submitting work for practice .
 
2014-06-13 04:55:18 PM  

Based on his dissertation, well, the abstract of his dissertation, I'm not bored enough to actually read it, I get the feeling that his understanding of economics hinges on whether there will be an uprising


img.fark.net

 
2014-06-13 04:56:16 PM  

UrukHaiGuyz: Serious Black: propasaurus: markie_farkie: My record of 1118 Fark greenlights since 2004, as well as being mentioned in 601 threads in the last 180 days probably makes me more qualified to hold that elected office.

My esteemed opponent points to his record of 1118 FARK greenlights, but that just shows he's an entrenched insider. He's not the solution, he's part of the problem. What we need is an outsider like me. I won't be part of the status quo. My record clearly shows I have what it takes to get us moving forward again, not stagnating in the past 1118 threads.

My fellow candidate's 60 greenlit headlines proves he is inexperienced and incapable of understanding what the problem actually is. We need somebody who can get their hands around the issues before they take action. I've shown time and again that I think twice and then cut once. Vote for me, Serious Black.

Serious Black says he thinks twice and cuts once, but what do we really know about him?

He's on the record as saying "America is seriously farked up." With such a low opinion of The United States of America, you have to wonder what he does have a high opinion of. Ebola? Vegan Bacon? Satan? A ban on yoga pants threads? The scariest part is what we just. don't. know.


How dare you suggest that I hate yoga pants threads! I was the first Farker who created a yoga pants thread! You know, it's people like you who intentionally misrepresent the records of Fark Politicians that make good-natured people like me who just want to clean up the website turn around and hand the keys back to corrupt Farkers like yourself.
 
2014-06-13 04:56:38 PM  
If this is the worst liberals can dig up on Brat, he's going to win by 20 points.
 
2014-06-13 04:56:40 PM  
To be more specific he wasn't a "real" Tea Partier because he didn't get the blessing of the "National" branch? Does the Tea Party even have a national branch?
 
Displayed 50 of 261 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.

In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report